Favourite Footy Moments

These are biased, of course.

Plugger taking that 1 hand mark in his first game for Sydney in 1995.

Plugger kicking a point to put the Swans in the Grand Final.

Plugger kicking his 1300th goal.

Sitting in the cheer squad in the 1998 quarter final against St Kilda, leading by 3 points and Winmar kicks along the ground from the goalsquare to try and put the Saints in front, minute to go. I'm sure the reason he missed was because the entire cheer squad was trying to blow it the other way.

Paul Roos' 300th game in 1996, beating the Kangaroos by 78 points.

Coming back from 47 points to beat the roos by 4 at the Roos first SCG home game. Welcome to Sydney, Carey!

Saying goodbye to PK and Dunks at Stade Oz, with a win. Even if it did break our hearts to see Paul and Andrew going a year early.

And now for some less biased ones.

Seeing Brissie beat Essendon in the 2001 GF.

Seeing Brissie beat the Wobbles in the 2002 GF.

Seeing Adelaide beat the Roos in the 98 GF. Couldn't happen to a nicer team than North.

• Banned
Originally posted by CharlieG
These are biased, of course.

Plugger taking that 1 hand mark in his first game for Sydney in 1995.

Plugger kicking a point to put the Swans in the Grand Final.

Plugger kicking his 1300th goal.

Sitting in the cheer squad in the 1998 quarter final against St Kilda, leading by 3 points and Winmar kicks along the ground from the goalsquare to try and put the Saints in front, minute to go. I'm sure the reason he missed was because the entire cheer squad was trying to blow it the other way.

Paul Roos' 300th game in 1996, beating the Kangaroos by 78 points.

Coming back from 47 points to beat the roos by 4 at the Roos first SCG home game. Welcome to Sydney, Carey!

Saying goodbye to PK and Dunks at Stade Oz, with a win. Even if it did break our hearts to see Paul and Andrew going a year early.

And now for some less biased ones.

Seeing Brissie beat Essendon in the 2001 GF.

Seeing Brissie beat the Wobbles in the 2002 GF.

Seeing Adelaide beat the Roos in the 98 GF. Couldn't happen to a nicer team than North.
They're great moments.

Lions Back 2 Back - Lynchys reaction in 2001 (priceless) & in 2002 when vossy managed to get lynchy to accept the premership cup with him :D

Lions 1 point win vs essedon

Crows Back 2 Back

Modra's Marking at his best

Second showdown - crows by 7pts

Crows 97 prelim final vs doggies

1991 final crows v hawks

Rehnys last game - felt very sad =8(

Simply Being There...

Simply being there to witness the almighty Joffa stand tall and proud and adorn the legendary gold wig and coat at the 24 minute mark of the last quarter of the 2002 Preliminary Final Collingwood vs Adelaide at the MCG, This forth meant I was about to see my beloved Collingwood in a Grand Final...I shed happy tears to see Joffa proclaim in one defining gesture that Collingwood had beaten the Crows...On a glorious September Saturday afternoon...

Best day of my footy life... Totally different story the following week though...*sigh* That's what I love about footy!!!

Radio Shark.

Final siren Rnd 22 1998, Lions V Saints.
End of a horror year, end of career for the much loved Andy Bews, and ending it all with a Win. The relief and emotion of the night was incredible.

Final Siren GF 2001 - never have before, and can't see where in the future, I will ever feel like that again. Absolutely amazing feeling, too hard to put into words.

Originally posted by roostersgal4eva
Lions 1 point win vs essedon
All great moments, but this one (assuming you're referring to Brisbane) was as the Bears, in their second-last game - 1996 Qualifying Final at the Gabba. I was there, and I think I left part of my stomach behind at the time.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius

All great moments, but this one (assuming you're referring to Brisbane) was as the Bears, in their second-last game - 1996 Qualifying Final at the Gabba. I was there, and I think I left part of my stomach behind at the time.

Haha BoM I know what you mean on that one - we still drag the old tape out now and then.

Amazing how so few ppl in a poorly accustic stadium can make so much noise that you can barely hear the siren!

• Banned
The AFL Grand Final in 2001 and 2002 where Brisbane beat an over confident Essendon and Collingwood to go back to back.

1990 Anzac day - Collingwood vs Essendon. It was interesting to see the Pies come from behind to win by 2 points.

Sam Newman when he was in Ballarat. He was interviewing some of the Ballarat footy supporters and when he came towards me and dropped his guts causing me to take 5 steps back. too much curry!!

if your going to correct someone, at least get YOUR facts right. It was the Bears 3rd last game. They made it to the Prelim that year. ;)

Anyway, where do I start....

First ever game, Essendon v Melb at Windy Hill, 1976. Blethyn kicked 7.

VFL Park 1981, Essendon flogged a previously unbeaten Collingwood by 10 goals before a then record crowd of 79,000+ (that record only lasted 1 or 2 weeks!)

1983 Elimination Final Ess v Carl. The firsat time I saw the Bombers win a Final

1984 GF Ess v Hawks - What more nees to be said - what a comeback

Skip a few years....

1993 many great games including the Ess v WCE game at the 'G in the H & A rounds - what a classic. We knew we were a contender after that game. Then of course the PF comeback Ess v Adelaide. Tim Watsons goal, Michael Longs brilliance. Even Rehns great mark was a highlight. Then of course the GF Ess d Carl. Michael Long, again, Mercuri, Olarenshaw etc tore the Blues apart. Game over a 1/4 time and the rest of the day was spent celebrating.

2000 Just a superb season by the Bombers. The only downside was that Terry Wallace spoiled the game by introducing flooding to it's optumim level. Worse still was that we should have beat it and it would have gone away, but we let them get up in the last quarter with a bit of poor kicking for goal and complacency.

That'll do me, and not one eyed in the slightest....:D

Collingwood v Essendon, 1990 Grand Final

Collingwood v Essendon, Anzac Day 2002 (was my fav at the time)
Collingwood v Carlton, Round 18 2002 (was close to Anzac Day)
Port Adelaide v Collingwood, Qualifying Final 2002 (Took over from Anzac Day. Being there was absolutely amazing. Walking through the city streets at midnight and getting egged by numerous Port Supporters made it even better. And all the Crows people loved us.)
Collingwood v Adelaide, Preliminary Final 2002 (Absolutely amazing atmosphere. Unbelievable day. Not quite up to the standard of the Qualifying Final though)

sorry - ive got so used to calling brizzie the lions

i remember watching it on telly & its amazing how many players where playing then that played in the back 2 back - it what made 2001 & 2002 so great cause most of the players waited sooooooooooo long to get a flag!

seeing lynchy get his premership medalian was the biggest thrill id had in footy :D

1985 - Malcolm Blight taking a trademark speccy on John Riley's head in his last match for Woodville. At 35.

And, of course, THAT goal after the siren at Princes Park.

Originally posted by Generalissimo
Bill Brownless's goal after the siren against the Dogs in '94.
I was at that game, too, it was a beauty. In fact I had stopped off at the 'G on my way home from Waverly after watch North beat the Hawks in extra time.

Without doubt, that is the best day I ever had at the Footy that did not include the Bombers.

Beating St Kilda in the 92 semi final inspired by a magnificent Chris Grant performance

The first quarter against Sydney in the 1997 qualifying final

Beating the Eagles by 70 in the 98 qualifying final

Beating Essendon in 2000

Keeping Carlton to 1.10 in 1990

Coming from 40 down at 3/4 time to beat the Crows in 1999

Beating Geelong in Douggies 322nd game

The last game at Whitten Oval when we fixed up the Eagles

Beating Geelong at Kardinia for the first time in yeasr in 1994

Beating the Eagles in Perth in 1997

Kinger kicking 7 against Melbourne in 2001

Favourite individual moment was Kingers goal of the year in 2000 and Chris Grants goal against Essendon in 2000

Watching the Cats belt the Tigers (who were regard as that years dark horse), on a cold and blustery Saturday arvo, at Waverley, in September 95. It put us through to yet another GF, and for one whole week we were able to seriously dream of finally taking out that elusive premiership.

Playing Little League for the Cats in 97 against the Kangas. Although we lost our match, the Cats later on got up and beat the Kangas in a thriller. It was one of the most hard and desperate matches I'd ever seen.

And whenever the Cats beat Collingwood or Essendon. I would also say Hawthorn, but that hardly ever happens.

Let me see

Watching the Eagles beat Collingwood from the old terraces along Roberts Road in the first WC game I attended in 1987.

The 1990 first semi - first ever finals win (the 1990 QF wasn't bad either, shame we drew).

1992 final at Subiaco d Hawthorn in the first ever finals win at home

1992 GF. Particularly the "cork in the ocean".

1994 GF.

1996 - Beating the Crows by 135 at Subiaco in the most powerful performance by the Eagles ever.

Beating the Doggies by 5 points in finals week 1, 1999 when we were written off (followed by a monster lowlight when we were again forced to play away)

Beating Melbourne in 2001 after a bucketload of losses on the trot.

Rd 22 2002 beating the Roos to make the finals.

Meeting players for the first time and getting my pic taken with them is the specialist footy moment for me particularly when i met Spider and Ricky.

Seeing first Spider game (saints vs hawks at waverley 97/98ish)
Spider kicking 6 against West Coast on his birthday to win one of the best comeback games i've seen

Last game at Vic Park was a very special day. Found it far more emotional than the grand final this year even.

Last game at Waverley was a fairly memorable moment same as first time going to Colonial.

Grand finals are another special footy moment. My first was in 99 and even though i didn't fully follow them back then it was still something to never forget.

One right off the top of my head is the Box Hill Hawks Premiership in 2001.
Being raised as a BH supporter by my dad, also raised as a BH supporter, I have BH in my blood and the Hawthorn influence added even more emotion to the day.

Will never forget it.

Favourite Footy Moments