Review Favourite Footy Park/AAMI Stadium memory?

Was dating a girl during 05 and 06 and we went to every home game together, what a great period of time to be a supporter. Barely saw a loss that whole time and had some really memorable wins, like the dream final, the match against Essendon where we kicked 30 goals, and so on.

As much as it was a pain to get to, there's a part of me that misses the ritual of eating in the West Lakes food court before a match.
Loved the 'doubles' (2 snags in a hot dog roll with sauce and onions) in the seaton high car park on the walk to the ground

The 2011 SANFL Grand Final easily number 1 for me and loved the double header SANFL footy finals.

Some of my earliest footy memories are watching West Torrens at Footy Park, back in the days when you'd watch the Reserves on the TV before going to the game.

I remember a State of Origin game we beat Victoria and remember Tony Francis playing well in that game.

I went to the first Crows game vs Hawthorn and the first Showdown vs Port.

Growing up at Henley - West Lakes was easy to get to. The footy is much better at Adelaide Oval, but West Lakes served its purpose.

Rd 17 2013 vs Geelong
I was 2 goals adrift in the supercool happytime goal kicking competition
I selected matty Wright
First goal of game, cool
3 more, very nice
Game winner.

2 goal should adrift, into 4 in the lead.

Oh, and we were 12th, vs 2nd, no Tex, no danger, and came back from 30 points adrift halfway through the 3rd quarter. And Geelong missed two Stevie j kicks (1 by Bartel, 1 by Taylor) at goal in the final 2 minutes (maybe even minute?)

Ps. I only memorise the Wright selection, 1st goal, bag, game winner, comeback, Taylor miss, and tex/Walker laughing in the stands while it was heavy rain. I had to double check full details for whole post.

My favourite memory was a cold night in the early 90's, my mini league team was chosen to play the half time game (back when they let you play the entire oval). We were in the Crows Colours which was amazing. I had the Tony McGuinness number 11 plastered all over my back. Its safe to say when the average kick was around 15-20m the game usually end up being pretty low scoring. By the mid way point in the second half the team wearing the Fitzroy colours had a narrow 2 points to nothing lead.

The crowd was getting restless (or drunk).

Then, in the dying minutes my mate Leigh bombed a monster 25m kick out of defense to my other mate Aaron on the wing. Aaron soccered the ball along the wing, and then soccered it again (Aaron wasn't very good, he mainly soccered the ball whenever it was near him). The ball moved to just inside the 50m arch, where the number 11 (This guy) managed to get a handle on the ball, run his full measure, and kick it as far as I could to our teams best player Michael (Cause in Mini League you always played your best player 1 out, 15m from goal). Nonchalantly Michael pushes his man off him and takes an easy chest mark! The Crowd actually start to take interest as Michael (a 5'9 13 year old Barossa lad) begins his walk back to his mark... And yep, you guessed it... The Siren blasts!

Both teams have made their way into the 50m as he lines up the kick. The Crowd goes strangely quiet. Michael leans back and kicks the ball as far as he could, (1 maybe 2 rows back) straight over the goal umpires head. Surprisingly the cheers from the crowd at the ground were deafening. At least it felt that way to the 12 year old kids standing on Footy Park for the first time in their life as their team wins a game after the siren in front of 50 thousand people!

There are a lot of great memories from Footy park, but nothing will top that for me!

Many favourite memories... But the 1993 season covers my favourite memory of Footy Park. To have front row tickets to every home game in 93 to watch Modra in action in a golden era was awesome.. very privileged and lucky to have been able to say I was there at all the home games in 93 as a 10 year to see Modramania.

1. His 3rd quarter blitz against Fitzroy in round 4
2. 10 goals and MOTY against North Melb
3. 13 goals against Richmond
4. averaging 5 or 6 goals weekly.

Other memories from etched in my head:

1993 v Collingwood.. win to play finals after a shocking 1dt term to then hit the from in the 2nd then go on with it it. unreal day on a warm August day.
1994, Modra 13 goals against Carlton
1991 Jamo goal after the siren against the roys
1995 come back win against the Hawks. Mcleods winner
1992 Hodges 11 goals against the Cats
1997 Showdown 2.. the come back
1997 Semi final win over the Cats
1998 Showdown 4.. thrashing Port Power.. such an enjoyable day at the footy.
2013 Bon Jovi concert.

R3, 2008 (showdown) was probably my favourite match attended: simply a brutal game. Vince was a colossus in that game.

Favourite SANFL memory is seeing Central win a GF.

My first game there was the QF in 1997. I just wanted to see Modra lol.

Worst memory would be Rehn's injury in the '99 preseason.

It's definitely not a favorite but the most vivid memory I have that I can recall in the clearest detail is the game against Collingwood where Tarrant kicked after the siren.
I didn't get to many games before we moved to Adelaide Oval. I live in the deep South and Footy Park was such a pain in the ass to get to.
This was one of the few games I did go to. Was absolutely shattered.

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/2010/010920100716.html

A team with a 20 year old Danger, 19 year old Davis, 23 year old Douglas, 21 year old Henderson, 20 year old Jaensch, 21 year old Mackay, 20 year old Sloane, 23 year old Tippett and 20 year old Walker taking down Geelong with Ablett, Bartel, Chapman, Corey, Enright, Kelly, Ling, Mackie, Mooney, Scarlett, Selwood, Taylor all arguably at their prime.

Funnily enough, it was an Escort cup match back in the 80s. Would have been probably 16...so we were drinking and it was Sturt V Glenelg. My two mates were both Sturt supporters and it 3/4 time Sturt had a 61 point lead. They both laughed at me and said we could go if I wanted but we was still had a bottle of scotch and coke mixed up to go...so we hung around

Last quarter Glenelg kicked 10 goals 3 to nothing with a goal kicked after the siren. Only time I celebrated a pre season game like it was a final.

Other highlights were various early 80s state games
Glenelg GF wins
sneaking into the members area as teenagers ( always good)

And there was a guy who was, well these days they say special but in the 80s he was a "Minda" called "Brian" who was always loud in his support of Norwood. He never quite would have grasped how funny he was (maybe he did and he was just incredibly dead pan with his humour...and I'm the special one...I don't know) but I remember him dying about 10 years or so back and he got a write up in the Obits on the Saturday Addy. I remember one day when Brian was cheering Norwood on and my mate did a spot on impersonation of him and Brian turned around (with his hand shielding his eyes from the sun like he always did) look at my mate and say " hey, you sound just like me, just not as smart" Best put down I have ever heard

Cant help but think we may have crossed paths JP. Given you have The Yahl Cricket Club as one of your other teams, and the fact I played on that ground at least once every summer up until 1987. And also the above post puts you roughly about the same age as me.

I do remember Brian. Very unique individual. Had a comeback answer for everything. Quite funny most times.

1993 vs Collingwood. That chant "we're in the finals - *clap clap clapclap clap*
2006 vs Essendon when we kicked 30 goals. actually went into the game thinking 30 goals was a possibility. when Kenny slotted the last with 2 seconds to go, the whole stadium erupted! i'm regrettably on the replay when we kicked the 30th jumping up and down like an idiot
the 2007 bay 114 movement. best meetup gang ever
2012 semi vs freo - awful crowd, but one of the loudest and best I've been in. that was my last game in Adelaide before moving to Melb. Nice to go out with a win

Funnily enough, it was an Escort cup match back in the 80s. Would have been probably 16...so we were drinking and it was Sturt V Glenelg. My two mates were both Sturt supporters and it 3/4 time Sturt had a 61 point lead. They both laughed at me and said we could go if I wanted but we was still had a bottle of scotch and coke mixed up to go...so we hung around

Last quarter Glenelg kicked 10 goals 3 to nothing with a goal kicked after the siren. Only time I celebrated a pre season game like it was a final.

Other highlights were various early 80s state games
Glenelg GF wins
sneaking into the members area as teenagers ( always good)

And there was a guy who was, well these days they say special but in the 80s he was a "Minda" called "Brian" who was always loud in his support of Norwood. He never quite would have grasped how funny he was (maybe he did and he was just incredibly dead pan with his humour...and I'm the special one...I don't know) but I remember him dying about 10 years or so back and he got a write up in the Obits on the Saturday Addy. I remember one day when Brian was cheering Norwood on and my mate did a spot on impersonation of him and Brian turned around (with his hand shielding his eyes from the sun like he always did) look at my mate and say " hey, you sound just like me, just not as smart" Best put down I have ever heard
I remember Brian! Lovely chap!

Chad Cornes' dream final. The best time ever. I'll never forget the look on my mate's face turning around looking at the Power supporters (what was left of them after 3/4 time - I've never seen a mass exodus like it...but you know, Crows supporters leave early n' all:rolleyes:) The delight in their suffering was plastered all over his dial. Don't think I've laughed so hard since. (except for Eagles goals after the siren against Port. Yeah I laughed pretty hard at that)

Some of these have been mentioned...

Fleetwood Mac 1977 (with Kevin Borich as the support act)
Bob Dylan 1978

Kicking 30.8 v Essendon, with the crowd going off after McGregor kicked the 30th, and Kenny said afterwards he didn't realise what the fuss was about.

Modra taking another hanger, and Troy Bond looking at his teammates with a "did you see that?!" grin.

Modra's 1993 MOTY.

2006 Prelim v West Coast; when the Weagles ran out and their song started playing, I said "eff this!" and turned and raised my arms to gee up the crowd behind me (I was in the front row) and within seconds the entire NW corner of the ground was emitting a deafening "ADDER-LAYDE!" chant. :)

But perhaps the most memorable / awesome: The 2006 QF v Freo, when we were coming back in the third quarter before running over them in the last. The crowd was deafening, the chant lasted all through the 3Q break, Dougie ran from the bench with a bloody nose to gee up his teammates, it was probably the most awesome crowd experience I have been a part of.

Lost of Memories.
1987-1990 - Going to watch Norwood games at Footy Park and sitting right by the players race hanging over the fence getting all the players signatures whil they watched the reserves.
1991 - First ever game against Hawthorn. Rod Jamesons kick after the siren against Fitzroy.
1992 - Scott Hodges 8 goals against Brisbane and 11 against Geelong
1993 - Mods mark against Kangaroos and his 10. Missing out on Mods 13 against Richmond as I was on holidays. Game against Collingwood last game of the year.
1995 - 18 Year old Andrew Mcleod kicking the sealer against Hawhorn.
1997 - Both finals
Funny I seem to remember the older days more than the more recent ones.

Chad Cornes' dream final. The best time ever.

I was watching in a bar on the Gold Coast (wedding). Had to bribe the Thugby watchers with Bundy & Coke to get them to give me some time on the TV. At one stage one of them said "what do you need to keep watching that for? You're killing them."

Well, duh.

I have too many to mention but the one that I will is 1 of the state of origin games vs the Vics, (can't remember what year), when Tony Hall kicked that amazing goal. Forever after that it was called the "Tony Hall" pocket. I was right next to him when he did it.
Also 1993 vs Nth Melbourne Modra's mark of the year over Micky Martin in the goal square. My favourite mark of any player of all time.

* 1984 or 1985 when Geelong played Norwood in a pre-season game (I remember Jacko dancing around and getting in Craig Balme's face)
1985 Fosters Cup (played on Tuesday nights during the season I think), the Jacko/Balme shenanigans are right at the start of the match:

For me, plenty of winning matches (and painful losses) in the minor round and finals watching Norwood.
Best would be premierships of 1982, 1997 and 2013 (missed 1984).

Various state matches in the 80s and 90s.
SA gave Victoria a spanking in 1983 and then there was the 1984 epic with Kernahan kicking 10.

First Crows pre-season match against Geelong (was stunned at the crowd going ape for a standard defensive mark).
The match where Hodges kicked 11.
A bunch of others that are a blur now!

Saw the Stones there in the 90s as well.

Not sure about favourite .. my first however was as a very young fella taken to the 1977 GF by family friends

Anyway, walking into the ground and tried find spot near the northern goal end .. it was reasonably full already. Looking around a mixture of Poort and Glunelg flogs, a lot of them sucking on king browns. Epic fight broke between a Pooort flog and a Glenelg chap in a s**t brown leather jacket. They punched on for a bit, Poort flog kept falling over though. Clearly he was drunker.

About 30 minutes later the game started, Freddie Phillis and Tim Evans started punching onion the goal square just before the first bounce .. comedy gold

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/2010/010920100716.html

A team with a 20 year old Danger, 19 year old Davis, 23 year old Douglas, 21 year old Henderson, 20 year old Jaensch, 21 year old Mackay, 20 year old Sloane, 23 year old Tippett and 20 year old Walker taking down Geelong with Ablett, Bartel, Chapman, Corey, Enright, Kelly, Ling, Mackie, Mooney, Scarlett, Selwood, Taylor all arguably at their prime.
Your favourite game was McLeod’s last?
Looking back on that it’s a depressing day :(

Cant help but think we may have crossed paths JP. Given you have The Yahl Cricket Club as one of your other teams, and the fact I played on that ground at least once every summer up until 1987. And also the above post puts you roughly about the same age as me.

Didn't move down here til 2008 probably know most of the people you played against, well those who haven't passed away sadly

Also remember Fev sinking us from the nw boundary a couple of years in a row. Back when Carlton used to travel to Adelaide.
I was at that game, on that flank. Devastated me!

I remember thinking to myself, "I'll never like that dreadlocked idiot as long as I live"....

You'll be happy to know I kept that promise to myself!

Chad Cornes' dream final. The best time ever. I'll never forget the look on my mate's face turning around looking at the Power supporters (what was left of them after 3/4 time - I've never seen a mass exodus like it...but you know, Crows supporters leave early n' all:rolleyes:) The delight in their suffering was plastered all over his dial. Don't think I've laughed so hard since. (except for Eagles goals after the siren against Port. Yeah I laughed pretty hard at that)
Both Champagne moments in my book!