Golf Favourite Golf Course's

• Thread starter Thread starter camsmith

I played Jacks Point in Queenstown in August when over skiing with the wife and kids.. Seriously unbelievable scenery and a very very good golf course.
The whole course is under the remarkables mountain range with half the holes overlooking the lake at Queenstown.
It cost around $120 AUD with cart and hire set which was a full set of R11's.
Well worth a hit if you are over there but the wind chill factor was unbelievable in winter as it was blowing about 40kms an hour and so ****ing cold.

The other course I played on my travels last year was Sea Temple in Port Douglas.. Whilst I am not sure it deserves to be in the top 50 in Australia it was in incredible condition and was a solid resort course. It was originally called "the links at port Douglas" but it's more resort layout than links..well worth a game if you are up that way

Glad to hear you enjoyed it and that it was in good nick again. Will have to pay it a visit again some time soon. They've added quite a few of those bunkers in recent years, especially the huge ones between the tees and greens on the par 3's. They make those holes pretty spectacular now!

As you enjoyed the Open course, you probably will also like St Andrews Beach, which is a similar quality championship course. Last night I tried to upload one of the pics I took when I played there, but I think it was going to be too big, so it didn't get accepted. I'll have to learn how to downsize them, so I can post some of them on here.
I just checked out their website and they say their course has just been ranked #11 in Australia by Golf Digest Australia (which if true, means that there are 3 public access courses within 10 minutes of each other down there that are ranked in the best 15 or so courses in the country!- the others being The Dunes and Moonah Legends), so that gives you an indication of how good it is. It was designed by Tom Doak, from the US, who also designed Barnbugle Dunes (Tas) and Cape Kidnappers (NZ), which are two of the most renowned and talked about new courses in the world of recent years (both considered in the top 50 in the world already!). St Andrews Beach is his only other course in Aus or NZ.
Many of the other championship courses down the peninsula have huge greens, but the main thing I remember about St A B was that the greens were relatively small and tough to hit, especially with longer irons. You need to be seriously pinpoint. It's a very challenging course, like I know the Open course to be. Here are some pics of it:

http://www.golfselect.com.au/armchair/courseView.aspx?course_id=1740&x=1#Gallery

The bunkering does look great on the par 3s, pretty intimidating also. For the longer holes, when most of my best drives for the day ended up bouncing into the bunkers it does become frustrating..I guess I needed some practice with my bunker shots anyway! Was hitting them out pretty well by the end..

It was in pretty good condition, the fairways look to have all been converted to the drought tolerant grass but were all pretty consistent. Also managed to find more balls than I lost which is a positive. Was fairly busy yesterday morning, however it's probably expected in the holiday period.

The bunkering does look great on the par 3s, pretty intimidating also. For the longer holes, when most of my best drives for the day ended up bouncing into the bunkers it does become frustrating..I guess I needed some practice with my bunker shots anyway! Was hitting them out pretty well by the end..

It was in pretty good condition, the fairways look to have all been converted to the drought tolerant grass but were all pretty consistent. Also managed to find more balls than I lost which is a positive. Was fairly busy yesterday morning, however it's probably expected in the holiday period.
That is a bummer when your good ones end up in the sand! Glad to hear you were hitting them well by the end though. At least they don't necessarily have the huge lips that some down that way have.
Apparently the new grass on the fairways has cut their water needs down by 45%, so they'll be happy about that.
And that is another good course for finding balls, in my experience. When we stayed next door at the resort I remember going in there once or twice at night and having a look for balls in the trees, along the first fairway and finding about 20 in a few minutes. Around that time I pretty much didn't have to buy any golf balls as I was regularly playing at those courses down there and would go in the rough for a few minutes and come out with enough to last me a few more games!

true about finding balls, if you have patience and if you have time. managed to snaffle 2 titilests on the ocean first yesterday! oh you'll find many of these at the national. probably all were once mine!! i seem to enjoy donating balls back to teh club!

that's the thing about the courses there. newbies reckon they can take on the course head on and clear bunkers etc. but with deep burrows, slopes and slick almost unreadable greens an attitude like that will tear you apart.

so the moral of the story is, course management (which really goes for every course)

as for taking photos, just dont hold anyone up :D
I have the patience (it doesn't usually take long) and time is not usually an issue, as I almost exclusively play latish in the arvo, as I have little interest in playing during peak times, unless for a special circumstance, like a golf day/open day, or something like that and it's usually cheaper then, too (at courses down the Peninsula, so I can play more often for my $).
I like to be able to cruise around at my own pace and really take in the surrounds and the course and be able to take pics and so on, without any need to rush (except for trying to get 18 in before dark).
I especially love it down there when I'm about the only one on the course (unless I'm playing with a mate) and it's getting near dusk, at the end of a beautiful summers day and you can hear the waves crashing in the distance, amid the otherwise quiet evening. It's like heaven then. Just amazing. :thumbsu:

Played Kew again on Sunday. Hands down, it is as good as it gets.

heard good things about kew. will have to get there one day.

moonah course on saturday chewed me up and spat me out 24 hours after a good round. that's the thing with the courses @ national (especially the ocean course)....wind gets up and its a totally new ball game.

Took a drive through Flinders Golf Club today (the road along the top of the cliff runs through/alongside the golf course) and walked along a couple of the holes and have to say I was really impressed with how the course was looking. Fairways looked fantastic (top notch couch grass) and the greens and tees also looked very good.
Looked like it would be a good time for a game there, especially if it's a nice still, sunny day. :thumbsu:

you really need to get out of that postcode mate if you think these courses are up there with the best.

so yourself a favour & head down to the morntington peninsula, there are about 10 public courses in that area alone that are better than kew, la trobe, yarra bend. let alone the privite ones down that way

Great thread. I've been very fortunate to play some really great overseas courses so

Pebble Beach (ocean holes are incredible, inland pretty average but tournament history adds a fair bit)
St Andrews ( strange in places but so much history)
Bandon Dunes
Royal Dornoch
Barnbougle Dunes
TPC Sawgrass ( just great fun to play)
Carnoustie
Kingsbarns
Kapaula Plantation ( probably too high but just such a spectacular setting)
NSW

Honourable mention to Wolf Creek which is extraordinary although very artificial

I've walked Augusta at the 2010 Masters, but can't see how I'll ever get to play it

Having said all that, the Melbourne sand belt and Mornington Peninsula has more high quality golf courses than anywhere in the world in a 50 k radius, easily

Have played at Blue Canyon in Thailand, top course and is good fun playing with a caddy when there's something of a language barrier too. Very hot day, so the drink kiosks every 3 holes come in handy..

Great thread. I've been very fortunate to play some really great overseas courses so

Pebble Beach (ocean holes are incredible, inland pretty average but tournament history adds a fair bit)
St Andrews ( strange in places but so much history)
Bandon Dunes
Royal Dornoch
Barnbougle Dunes
TPC Sawgrass ( just great fun to play)
Carnoustie
Kingsbarns
Kapaula Plantation ( probably too high but just such a spectacular setting)
NSW

Honourable mention to Wolf Creek which is extraordinary although very artificial

I've walked Augusta at the 2010 Masters, but can't see how I'll ever get to play it

Having said all that, the Melbourne sand belt and Mornington Peninsula has more high quality golf courses than anywhere in the world in a 50 k radius, easily

mate i bow to thee. that list is as impressive as you'll get! 2 thumbs up and a hard on from me.

Have played at Blue Canyon in Thailand, top course and is good fun playing with a caddy when there's something of a language barrier too. Very hot day, so the drink kiosks every 3 holes come in handy..

respect to your azn adventure.

have played golden gulf in sth china. i agree, good fun playing with a caddy especially when she goes to fish ur ball out of the immense rough etc.

pics?

Checking out Lost Farm again Australia Day. Went a while back when things were just getting finished. Personally i preferred it to Barnbougal Dunes, but i can't put my finger on why. Got around a dozen fellow golf brahs going down so should be a good day.

You been down and checked it out PN?

pics?

Checking out Lost Farm again Australia Day. Went a while back when things were just getting finished. Personally i preferred it to Barnbougal Dunes, but i can't put my finger on why. Got around a dozen fellow golf brahs going down so should be a good day.

You been down and checked it out PN?

havent been down there brah. dont need to when you can play on gods 3 courses every week (come at me).

just kidding.

i dont believe in god.

would love to head down to dem tassie courses!

havent been down there brah. dont need to when you can play on gods 3 courses every week (come at me).

just kidding.

i dont believe in god.

would love to head down to dem tassie courses!

haha I'm jelly

I'm hoping to save up the pennies a bit and swim across to the big smoke later this year

will work on dat der putting for them lightning greens

Yep well we certainly kept them busy that day. Tough course, and I was happy to pull out a few good shots! Not cheap, but it's one of those things that we just had to do!

Just a heads up guys, if any of you have the iPhone app "Scoopon" there is a deal going today which sees a round for two at Eynesbury Championship Golf Course for $59 which would seem to be pretty good value. Thought a few here would like to snap up the deal.

Golf Australia's top 100

1-10
Royal Melbourne West
Kingston Heath,
Barnbougle Dunes
Lost Farm
NSW
RM East.
National Moonah
Victoria
Metropolitan
Royal Adelaide

11-20
St Andrews Beach
Woodlands
The Lakes
Lake Karrinyup
Kennedy Bay
Newcastle
Peninsula North
National Old
Commonwealth
Barwon Heads

21-30
Royal Sydney
13th Beach
Kooyonga
Moonah Legends
The Dunes
Royal Queensland
Magenta Shores
Peninsula South
Glenelg
Grange West

31-40
The Australian
Portsea
Joondalup
The Cut
National Ocean
Brookwater
Yarra Yarra
Hamilton Island
Elanora
Huntingdale

41-50
Moonah Links
Royal Canberra
Glades
Spring Valley
Concord
Vintage
The Vines
Hope Island
13th Beach Creek
Terrey Hills (50)

51-60
The Grand
Sanctuary Lakes
Healesville
Port Fairy
Pelican Waters
Settlers Run
Long Island
Pacific Harbour
Sanctuary Cove
Ranfurlie

61-70
Heritage
Meadow Springs
Sanctuary Cove Palms
Bonville
Mt Lawley
Links Lady Bay.
Coolum
Avondale
Cranbourne
Sandhurst Champions

71-80
Cottosloe
Pacific Dunes
Secret Harbour
The Western Australian
Twin Creeks
Capricorn
Eyensbury
St Michaels
Kalgoorlie
Twin Waters

81-90
Sorrento
Narooma
Lakelands
Riversdale
Heritage
Tasmaina
Royal Perth
Kooindah Waters.
Horsham
Alice Springs

91-100
Royal Hobart
Keysborough
Sandhurst North
Murray Downs
Yearing Meadows
Southern
Paradise Palms
Castle Hill
North Lakes
Pymble

I've played 14 - need to get out more given I've got reciprocal right with about 8 more.

Kew is easily better than Portsea, which I played 4 times this summer. Don't know how Sorrento made that list, it is an average course. Too small.

Here's a question - who's played at nhill golf course? Playing that one on the weekend, and for some stupid reason, olinda tomorrow.

Golf Australia's top 100

1-10
Royal Melbourne West
Kingston Heath,
Barnbougle Dunes
Lost Farm
NSW
RM East.
National Moonah
Victoria
Metropolitan
Royal Adelaide

11-20
St Andrews Beach
Woodlands
The Lakes
Lake Karrinyup
Kennedy Bay
Newcastle
Peninsula North
National Old
Commonwealth
Barwon Heads

21-30
Royal Sydney
13th Beach
Kooyonga
Moonah Legends
The Dunes
Royal Queensland
Magenta Shores
Peninsula South
Glenelg
Grange West

31-40
The Australian
Portsea
Joondalup
The Cut
National Ocean
Brookwater
Yarra Yarra
Hamilton Island
Elanora
Huntingdale

41-50
Moonah Links
Royal Canberra
Glades
Spring Valley
Concord
Vintage
The Vines
Hope Island
13th Beach Creek
Terrey Hills (50)

51-60
The Grand
Sanctuary Lakes
Healesville
Port Fairy
Pelican Waters
Settlers Run
Long Island
Pacific Harbour
Sanctuary Cove
Ranfurlie

61-70
Heritage
Meadow Springs
Sanctuary Cove Palms
Bonville
Mt Lawley
Links Lady Bay.
Coolum
Avondale
Cranbourne
Sandhurst Champions

71-80
Cottosloe
Pacific Dunes
Secret Harbour
The Western Australian
Twin Creeks
Capricorn
Eyensbury
St Michaels
Kalgoorlie
Twin Waters

81-90
Sorrento
Narooma
Lakelands
Riversdale
Heritage
Tasmaina
Royal Perth
Kooindah Waters.
Horsham
Alice Springs

91-100
Royal Hobart
Keysborough
Sandhurst North
Murray Downs
Yearing Meadows
Southern
Paradise Palms
Castle Hill
North Lakes
Pymble

I've played 14 - need to get out more given I've got reciprocal right with about 8 more.

I have played 51 of these and there are some head scratching inclusions and exclusions on the list.. Royal qld for example should be ranked around 70 at best.The course has been butchered beyond belief with the latest redesign.
For what it's worth metropolitan is my favorite course in Australia and yes I have played rm west,kingston Heath, barnbougle etc

Kew is easily better than Portsea, which I played 4 times this summer. Don't know how Sorrento made that list, it is an average course. Too small.

Not a chance at all.. Kews not a bad track though..good members course