Favourite past players?

Thread is for past players! Don't jinx him before round 1!

Wish Monkey Paw GIF by Leroy Patterson
Oops missed that thanks TheBoss!

For non-footballing reasons, replace him with;

Steven Tingay

I got his first ever autograph in front of his mum after a preseason game in the rooms at the G. He was probably 15 years old and scrawny as a stick. I wasn’t even certain he was a player but the others were all pointing me in his direction. I would have been not 6 years old - and I remember him cracking it at his mum for making a big deal about it.

I also admire how much steroids he must have done to change his body. Those beach biceps.. 💪

Glenn Lovett

Met him once at a local footy game when I was wearing a Dees hat. He came over and asked me who my favourite player was at the Dees (Garry Lyon at the time probably). I had no idea who he was and he asked if I liked that Glenn Lovett player. About 10 years old I think I said he was ok but a bit soft and always injured. Luckily I redeemed myself by telling him that Glenn Lovett was my Mums favourite. I remember him telling me that some people thought he looked like Glenn Lovett and I told him he had more hair than Lovett.

He was a lovely guy and made a really nice effort to come over and chat with me for a few minutes.

One of the old blokes came and told me afterwards that it was Glenn Lovett and I was really chuffed.

Paul Hopgood

Went to Brewmanity in South Melbourne a few months ago and he was there with a bunch of other old Dees. I think he’s a part owner with Neitz and a couple of others. We were pissed but he was a bloody lovely guy and I really enjoyed his company. Others I was impressed with (just really friendly and easy to chat with) were Neitz, Powell and after an initial uncertainty Strawbs Odwyer opened up and was actually a very nice guy to chat with as well.

Worth checking out Brewmanity if you like a beer. Decent pub and you’re sure to see a few old Dees floating around.

Yeah I remember.

Another good one was Marcus Seecamp punching Brad Pearce in the mouth vs Carlton at Princes Park. I reckon that was in 1998 (but may have been 2000).
1998 Round 4 at quarter time. Pearce gives him a jab in the guts as Marcus is backing to take his kick, so Seacamp throws a swinging arm on the way out

Jeff White, Stynes, Jakovich, Ricky Jackson and Schwarz.

I liked Dean Kent because he chatted to me at training when in the recovery group once and has nice eyelashes.

I can't remember their name but there was some guy who we recruited from Geelong who played ****-all games for us. The story goes one of the opposition players was trying to "get under his skin" by having a go at the club (and specifically) Mark Neeld, and he responded by saying all the players hated Neeld because he was a potato. No idea who that dude was but I'm very happy we recruited him and I hope he is doing well.

Tom Gillies Maybe?

No one ever mentions Jordie McKenzie.

I liked him, just kind of a meh tagger in a forgotten couple of eras. Always seemed to have a blinder against the bummers for some reason, Like Sylvia and Richmond

Was a great stich up giving Oliver the #13 after he got delisted

Neil Crompton, Bernie Massey, Tassie Johnson, Tony Anderson, Brian Roet, Frank Davis, Frank Adams, Hassa Mann.

Jordan Gysberts!

Shannon 'Premiership Experience' Byrnes?

David Rodan another great Neeld-era pickup