Fed Cup 2010

Thank goodness for that. Dellaqua is plain trash, and I hate ing so blunt, but she frankly sucks.

Well, wait to see what happens with Alicia's singles, although for some reason they've gone with Suarez Navarro instead of Martinez Sanchez. Alicia is still going to smashed just as badly.

My theory is that they'll play Sam for the doubles now.

She may have lost that set 6-1, but I reckon 5 of the 7 games went to deuce, meaning Alicia isn't out of this yet.

But to be realistic, Molik just has to make this match last as long as possible so Stosur can get more time to rest up for the deciding doubles.

You really are a muppet who doesn't know much about tennis.

I know overweight players do not play tennis very well. I am sorry but for a tennis player Casey is on the pompous side!

Great win.
Sammy. Really without her we'd be still in zonals.

Next tie is in late April, lets hope we actually have a 2nd singles player. Jelena..

Aussie win, and if anyone ever has a go at Sam Stosur I'll back her right up.

3 matches, 3 wins, the most important of those was that 1st one where she came from a set down to win her singles game against a top 30 player.

Would love to see Sam make the top 10, she has worked so hard.

Great win by the Aussies, now the question whether or not to bring back Dokic if she wants to play, I'd say yes, unless Molik hits form before the April playoff tie.

Got to be impressed with Sam stepping up this tie, hopefully this can show her that she can be able to deal with being Australia's top player and being such highly ranked a bit better. Great work.

Great victory from the girls. A massive effort overcoming Spain. Now only 1 win away from the world group again, I have no idea the last time they were in the world group of Fed Cup tennis but it is great they are this close again.

That doubles performance was impressive, especially against such a strong doubles opponent. Stubbs played very well.

Huge plaudits must go to Stosur, who stepped it up this weekend and led Australia to the win.

On second thoughts, it could be an interesting predicament for Jelena Dokic if we end up facing Serbia in Serbia.
France would be ideal though, or the US if they manage to lose the unloseable.

Back from the tennis, had an awesome time. :thumbsu:

Stosur you little ripper! That was probably the best match I've seen her play, definitely the best live, and then she backed it up with a great showing in the doubles. Her serve was firing big time today, the second serve was just deadly and AMG was having a whole heap of trouble simply trying to return it.

As for the second singles match, nothing at all against Casey but I was pleased when I heard they were opting for Molik. Firstly because I gave Casey no shot at winning and secondly because I was pretty certain it meant Sammy would then play the doubles. Thank her speedy win the singles for that. Anyway, as it turned out Molik played one of the worst matches I've ever seen anyone play, it was embarrassing for her. I lost count how many times she shanked the ball off the frame, missed by a mile, or was passed due to her sluggish movement. It was a real shame to see her play at such a low standard.

I was pretty confident for the doubles and they played a very good match. Was an enjoyable game, felt the Aussies were always on top and deserved the straight sets win.

Lovely weather, good, involved crowd, and terrific to see the Aussies win the tie! :thumbsu: I'll get some pics up tomorrow.

As for the second singles match, nothing at all against Casey but I was pleased when I heard they were opting for Molik. Firstly because I gave Casey no shot at winning and secondly because I was pretty certain it meant Sammy would then play the doubles. Thank her speedy win the singles for that. Anyway, as it turned out Molik played one of the worst matches I've ever seen anyone play, it was embarrassing for her. I lost count how many times she shanked the ball off the frame, missed by a mile, or was passed due to her sluggish movement. It was a real shame to see her play at such a low standard.

Great that you were able to go support the girls and see a win. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

After seeing Molik play, do you now think Dellacqua should have kept her spot? I certainly do, and after watching Molik today it confirmed my thoughts. While Dellacqua was not great yesterday against AMG, she was mostly competitive. That is a hell of a lot more than you could say for Molik today, it was pretty hard to watch. Dellacqua would have put up much more of a fight today against Suarrez Navarro (waiting for the response from someone about how terrible Dellacqua is).

Onto the next tie, we need Dokic back in the team to have a shot of making it through to the world group. She is our 2nd best player and we need her to comeback from her disappointing Australian summer.

Pretty much praying for a home tie for us, I would say that is our only hope.

We'll see how the next couple of months go but in my view Dellacqua is showing a bit more promise then Molik and who the hell knows with Dokic, she might not even play a match till then.

I must admit I make this comment without having watched any of the matches on Saturday, but I was very surprised that Molik replaced Casey in the reverse singles today. Molik who has come off a couple of Futures wins and an epic choke against an ordinary player in the 1st round of the Aus Open, as opposed to Casey who made the 3rd round there, and gave Venus Williams a very good match in doing so. Dellacqua might have had a stinker on Saturday (as I said, I didn't watch), but she was always a better chance to win than Molik today.

Dellacqua is not the world's greatest player, but she is decent enough and, at this point in time, far superior to Molik and probably Dokic. I think a lot of people like to stick the boot in because she's a bit chubby, not particularly attractive and a bit of a bogan generally.

Epic match between Wickmayer and Radwanska.

Radwanska won the first set 6-1.
Was up a break in the second.

When I checked back it was 6-6 in the tiebreak.
Radwanska then had 3 match points (2 on her serve) which she failed to convert. Wickmayer duly converted her one set point.

Radwanska then led 2-1 in the 3rd.
Wickmayer won the next 3 to be 4-2 (and serving)
Radwanska then won the next 3 to be 5-4 (and serving)

Wickmayer then broke back.

Too bad no live stream.

Fed Cup 2010