Feedback, Suggestions and Requests Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter skeetz

I was thinking it might be a good idea to have a thread in here where people can post some feedback, suggestions, requests etc about the individual buddy threads.
That way we can keep that kind of stuff out of the buddy threads themselves.

Good idea, although sometimes I'm happy to see anything at all in a thread - it shows that someone cares.

Ah, but Opti, I didn't say the only notable exception.:p

Now stop spluttering all over me and have a cough lozenge.:D
that is true snag. i was making some fun out of it exam study just doesnt provide enormous amounts of entertainment

I, like Swanny, will be doingmy "buddy" thread every week from now on as my boy Dawes has finally hit the "Big Stage".

Just a quicky, who is Jack Anthony's Buddy?

I would have thought a Buddy Board was for positive comments not negative crap people post on the normal threads!!!!!!!

Will we have a buddy board for 2009? And if so, who will organise the draft? Nick Savo did it last year, but he's gone........

I'll put my hand up for either Tarks or Sam Iles if they're not already taken. The lads have inspired me this year.

Oh RRRooocccaaa, if only you knew.............It was bigger than the national draft last year. We all had to nominate for consideration, then Nick Savo put all our names in a program hat and posted the arbitrarily generated order and we picked accordingly. I was thrilled to have a high pick - 3 or 5, can't remember - and naturally selected Rocca.

Regrettably, a number of posters failed to honour their commitments, which meant that some players didn't get much coverage. I don't mean buddies of players who were injured, or who couldn't get a game, but some buddies of top players should have passed on their player if they didn't have time to post.

Maybe Jabso can suggest someone to organise the draft this year. I think he was involved last time.

I'm thinking of heading in a different direction. How about a Wikipedia project or even a new Collingwood wiki? It's all pie in the sky stuff at the moment but to have users help out to create an online enyclopedia of our club or at least update Collingwood articles on wikipedia would be interesting. Although you'd have to adhere to strict formatting and writing/editing rules (with our own wiki we could have a bit more freedom).

It's a bit ambitious but it's something I'd like to look at in the future.

As far as this board goes, if it has enough interest I'd give the go ahead to someone who would want to run the draft.

I'm thinking of heading in a different direction. How about a Wikipedia project or even a new Collingwood wiki? It's all pie in the sky stuff at the moment but to have users help out to create an online enyclopedia of our club or at least update Collingwood articles on wikipedia would be interesting. Although you'd have to adhere to strict formatting and writing/editing rules (with our own wiki we could have a bit more freedom).

It's a bit ambitious but it's something I'd like to look at in the future.

As far as this board goes, if it has enough interest I'd give the go ahead to someone who would want to run the draft.

Yeah but Jabso, it sounds as if it would have to be informed and factual. What would I do if couldn't just make things up?:confused::( Be reasonable.

would it be possible, as a carlton supporter, to have a collingwood buddy thingo?
i have a massive respect for the pies, and have somewhat followed them throughout the whole year (except against us of course)

Will we have a buddy board for 2009? And if so, who will organise the draft? Nick Savo did it last year, but he's gone........

I would like to keep Dawes for next season...I only got a couple of weeks out of him so far....:D

I also do Jack as no-one else was....but I would be happy for someone to put their hand up.

would it be possible, as a carlton supporter, to have a collingwood buddy thingo?
i have a massive respect for the pies, and have somewhat followed them throughout the whole year (except against us of course)

Many years ago I was waiting for a bus, my car had broken down, and a guy sat next to me at the bus stop.
We had a cordial chat about footy and generally shot the shit as blokes do while waiting for a bus.
Then he just spat out "would you like to come home to my place and play some chess and have some wine and stuff?":eek::eek::eek:

Your post made me feel the same way as I did that day.....that is a the weirdest request.....:eek::eek:

Mate your a Carlton supporter...not that there is anything wrong with that...it's just wrong that's all....:D:D

Many years ago I was waiting for a bus, my car had broken down, and a guy sat next to me at the bus stop.
We had a cordial chat about footy and generally shot the shit as blokes do while waiting for a bus.
Then he just spat out "would you like to come home to my place and play some chess and have some wine and stuff?

Your post made me feel the same way as I did that day.....that is a the weirdest request.....

Mate your a Carlton supporter...not that there is anything wrong with that...it's just wrong that's all....:D

But we all want to know, Pie Eyed, did you go?:confused:

To the Carlton supporter - surely you've got some half-decent Carlton players you could write up instead? How do we know you're not a one-man fifth column?:eek:

Then he just spat out "would you like to come home to my place and play some chess and have some wine and stuff?":eek::eek::eek:

Your post made me feel the same way as I did that day.....that is a the weirdest request.....:eek::eek:

Mate your a Carlton supporter...not that there is anything wrong with that...it's just wrong that's all....:D:D

HAHAHAHA

pie eyed you're a hoot

Indeed! It could have been a real life-ending... I mean life-changing moment :)

Mmmm... awkward moment. Could be worse - could have happened at the start and then you had a whole hours' wait with him in silence!

No I didn't go.
It made the next 5 or so minutes waiting for my bus fairly tense though.
I was only 18 or so and being naive, it took me a while to catch on that this guy was hitting on me.....:eek:

First thoughts were "this guy's a nutter"....then the brain started to kick in and...well... what do you do?

An odd feeling though...

To the Carlton supporter - surely you've got some half-decent Carlton players you could write up instead? How do we know you're not a one-man fifth column?:eek:

one-man fifth column:confused:

yes, there are heaps of carlton players i'd like to write up about, including armfield, griggsy and jamo, but seeings as i always tend to be going to collingwood matches, and watching them on TV, and just taking a special interest in the club, i was just curious as to whether i am able to take a pies player for a buddy :D
but ONLY if there werent enough collingwood supporters doing their own buddys, seeings as i wouldnt update it AS much as i would if it were a blues player.

did that make sense ? :)

one-man fifth column:confused:

yes, there are heaps of carlton players i'd like to write up about, including armfield, griggsy and jamo, but seeings as i always tend to be going to collingwood matches, and watching them on TV, and just taking a special interest in the club, i was just curious as to whether i am able to take a pies player for a buddy :D
but ONLY if there werent enough collingwood supporters doing their own buddys, seeings as i wouldnt update it AS much as i would if it were a blues player.

did that make sense ? :)

To be a Pies Buddy Reporter - an honourable estate - you'd need to know what a "Fifth column" was, for a start. This is a very articulate forum.

Why not write a sample piece of 150 words on a Pies player of your choice, and we'll review your efforts.

We do appreciate your interest.

To be a Pies Buddy Reporter - an honourable estate - you'd need to know what a "Fifth column" was, for a start. This is a very articulate forum.

Why not write a sample piece of 150 words on a Pies player of your choice, and we'll review your efforts.

We do appreciate your interest.

Could my age be an excuse for not knowing what a fifth column is? :p

But anyway, I did it on Travis Cloke, but i have a feeling its a bit more than what you asked for:D

Travis Cloke, the youngest of the Cloke brothers, was taken at pick 38 by the Collingwood Football Club under the father/son rule in the third round of the AFL Draft in 2004.
Clokey made his debut the following year, as a scrawny blonde 18 year old kid on ANZAC day against the Dons infront of a healthy crowd of 70,000, where he made an impact at CHF, having 8 inside 50s, and one goal. Playing good footy, Cloke then cemented himself a spot for 14 out of the next 15 games, whilst earning a Rising Star nomination against Hawthorn in round 10, where he kicked 1 goal, before he was omitted at seasons end.
2006 was a shocking season for Trav, failing to get consistent games, and being a late withdrawel twice during the home and away season, and even though he played a couple of matches in the backline, he was only able to kick 6.12 in the space of 15 games.
After a dismal first two seasons Cloke was named in the Collingwood side in round 1, against the Kangas at the MCG. Since then Cloke had been named in each game, starting at his preferred position at CHF. After finally starting to get some consistancy into his games, he played a ripper against the side he debuted against, having 13 marks, 4 score assists, and a slightly inaccurate 1goal and 3 behinds. After the ANZAC game Cloke kicked 9 goals in 4 matches, including 3.4 against the mighty, mighty blues in round 7.
At age 20, Cloke was awarded the Copeland trophy, at Collingwoods Best & Fairest, after being arguably one of the best players in their September campaign.

Could my age be an excuse for not knowing what a fifth column is? :p

But anyway, I did it on Travis Cloke, but i have a feeling its a bit more than what you asked for:D

Travis Cloke, the youngest of the Cloke brothers, was taken at pick 38 by the Collingwood Football Club under the father/son rule in the third round of the AFL Draft in 2004.
Clokey made his debut the following year, as a scrawny blonde 18 year old kid on ANZAC day against the Dons infront of a healthy crowd of 70,000, where he made an impact at CHF, having 8 inside 50s, and one goal. Playing good footy, Cloke then cemented himself a spot for 14 out of the next 15 games, whilst earning a Rising Star nomination against Hawthorn in round 10, where he kicked 1 goal, before he was omitted at seasons end.
2006 was a shocking season for Trav, failing to get consistent games, and being a late withdrawel twice during the home and away season, and even though he played a couple of matches in the backline, he was only able to kick 6.12 in the space of 15 games.
After a dismal first two seasons Cloke was named in the Collingwood side in round 1, against the Kangas at the MCG. Since then Cloke had been named in each game, starting at his preferred position at CHF. After finally starting to get some consistancy into his games, he played a ripper against the side he debuted against, having 13 marks, 4 score assists, and a slightly inaccurate 1goal and 3 behinds. After the ANZAC game Cloke kicked 9 goals in 4 matches, including 3.4 against the mighty, mighty blues in round 7.
At age 20, Cloke was awarded the Copeland trophy, at Collingwoods Best & Fairest, after being arguably one of the best players in their September campaign.

A good effort, griggsy - usefully economical too. Your spelling and punctuation will benefit from visits to the following thread;
http://www2.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=414538

The issue of the 5th column must be resolved. I'm afraid we cannot extend special consideration on the basis of age to non-Pies posters.

As you may have read here, nothing has yet been decided about the 2009 Buddy Board, but if you watch this sub-forum, and are still interested, we will consider the possibility of making you an Honorary Pies Poster. If there are no serious objections to the in-principle involvement of a Carltonian, you may then submit your application for the position of Buddy Reporter, but those of black and white blood will naturally be given preference.

However, I must warn you that there may be resistance to having outsiders post here in our hallowed cyber spaces.