Universal Love Feel The Love.

Yes it was him I suggested he post in point form.
My understanding is he was not highly skilled with technology and struggled to articulate his thoughts.
His account is still active although he hasn't been on this year.
I thought the poetic posting related to those who wrote Haiku sr36?
I assumed that sr36 was referring to darkyprotector because I figured sr would have known a haiku when he saw one and been more specific about writing in poetry form.

Plus I think haikus are a stupid form. They have no rhythm, so who cares about the syllable counts?

Not to say there aren't some great haikus. I just don't get why there is a formula that must be followed.

Good point
Edit: ^ Seems he does 🤣

Plus I think haikus are a stupid form. They have no rhythm, so who cares about the syllable counts?

Not to say there aren't some great haikus. I just don't get why there is a formula that must be followed.
Haiku poetry
It follows a formula
Why is that so hard?

Haikus need to be really well written to be worth the read. The last line needs to be truly inspired and totally focus the haiku's message or point. I never really enjoyed writing them. What I am confined to saying in 17 syllables, I would prefer to be able to expand over a couple of hundred words. Never liked sonnets much either because of the constraints in rhyme and form.

The Japanese have always been into miniature and precise forms, and even their apartments and houses are an object lesson in how to cram a lot into a very limited space. Even their dogs are uniformly kept on very short chains out front of their houses. Sumo bouts are short and sharp affairs unlike the ritualistic lead up to each fight in which the fighters psych each other out. There's the bonsai trees. Not being Japanese, I can appreciate their enjoyment of all things short and small but don't share their love for it. On the other hand, they can drag things out interminably, like tea ceremonies, which have to be amongst the most boring rituals in the world to endure.

What a great thread. I reckon most of us could waffle on about a lot of our fellow posters and still leave plenty out by mistake. I apologise in advance.

76woodenspooners, Vicky Park and Magpie Girl for being mods and teachers par excellence and giving so much to the board. VP has the best name on the board also

TheGreatGrundy cause he writes beautifully and is interesting

Kirby sharp footy analysis and sense of humour

Robroy22 love the passion and knowledge and love that he has humbly surfed 81 Bells on the big day before the contestants, near 20' before they let the pros out I believe. Sorry but anyone who has done that has lived an experience that is dreamtime for the rest of us.

Scodog10 and Apex36 the twins of footy knowledge and robust board discussion

Quicky for all round knowledge of the Pies and interesting opinions

Knightmare for the work and knowledge of the dratees

Snoop Dog not seen these days but knew more about footy than anyone for mine. Loved his opinions

JMac for being jmac

TradeDraft for being great

Anzacday Maggie5 and jathanas for all their work and doing a great selfless job

Bad Horse cause he is so interesting

WalterBlaknWhte ottoman BringouttheGimp posting stylists

sr36 for great Collingwood analysis

sideswipe for being the best smartarse I know and toning it down so thoroughly on the board. Also, and maybe I shouldnt say this, but he is one of the honourable and best people I know who probably doesnt understand how much I admire him. Beautiful family but tough circumstances but he just get on with life. Proud of him.

What a great thread. I reckon most of us could waffle on about a lot of our fellow posters and still leave plenty out by mistake. I apologise in advance.

76woodenspooners, Vicky Park and Magpie Girl for being mods and teachers par excellence and giving so much to the board. VP has the best name on the board also

Robroy22 love the passion and knowledge and love that he has humbly surfed 81 Bells on the big day before the contestants, near 20' before they let the pros out I believe. Sorry but anyone who has done that has lived an experience that is dreamtime for the rest of us.

Snoop Dog not seen these days but knew more about footy than anyone for mine. Loved his opinions

JMac for being jmac

sideswipe for being the best smartarse I know and toning it down so thoroughly on the board. Also, and maybe I shouldnt say this, but he is one of the honourable and best people I know who probably doesnt understand how much I admire him. Beautiful family but tough circumstances but he just get on with life. Proud of him.

Apology accepted.

Lockdown sucks.

This board is made up of wonderful people who don’t always agree.

That’s OK, as long as you are still OK.

The rules of this thread are simple. Post something you love about another poster. No negative vibes. You can post as many times as you like.

I’ll get the ball rolling…

I love TheGreatGrundy because he writes beautifully and makes me laugh.

Give it a go, you might just feel better.

My thoughts today are for the real J-Mac and his family.
Such a tragic end to a young life.
His death shook our club.

I’m a jmac too but I share your well wishes.

Also it united us with Port Adelaide for a period of time. I think it was almost the closest I have felt to the supporters of another club. It was indeed a tragedy.

JMac for being jmac

I almost didn’t give you a like for all that over the top praise for that dickhead sideswipe who I’m sure you’ve confused with someone who wouldn’t murder their babysitter.

JMac for being jmac

Thanks for the kind words GC but surfing big Bells that day and surfing big waves anywhere is about the people you do it with. We were never gonna pass up an opportunity that day cos they come about so rarely. Best part was after the "pro's" had finished (lol) so many of us were already out at Southside and just took up where we'd left off. The Ch. 7 Chopper stayed buzzing around for quite a while and Bill Rowley (snr) actually got the longest wave I'd ever seen at Bells from Rincon through past "the Button".... the party at Claw's place afterwards was epic!

As someone afraid of what lurks beneath the surface of the sea, I have the greatest respect for surfers, Robroy22. I don't know how you people can sit out at sea on your boards waiting for a wave, your legs dangling in the water, and not be concerned about losing a limb or two or being stung by some passing jellied, tentacled or slithering creature. I guess it helps if you have good balance and can stand on your board without constantly falling off into the water. Scuba diving was the antidote to my fear as it allowed me to view what I feared was moving around beneath me.

TGG....if you're a diver then you know as well as I do that there's times and places where you just know its gonna be "toothy"....but we water people tend not to think about it all that much. Out at Cactus in the 70's there used to be a couple of absolute "trucks" of white pointers that would come into the bay everyday at turn of tide and you could sit and watch them from the cliffs. Like clockwork they were! Tended to space your surfs there a couple of hours before or after the change of tide!

I wasn't a diver, Robroy22 - I did 5 dives over a couple of weeks in the Philippines with about 10 minutes of instruction on sharing mouthpieces before the first dive. I would have liked to have followed up back here by getting qualified, but didn't. You obviously learned how to read the movements of the sharks and time your surfs accordingly. In your situation, I reckon I would be sitting with my feet up on the board desperately trying to balance while waiting for a wave. Or better still, I would be on the shore watching you.

:thumbsu: All good mate, life's pretty good on the beach too eh?

Too true. Sort of. I am a very average surfer but I have been heading off since I was 15 and just love it even though life gets in the way all the time. One of the sad things of covid was i did a trip to Lombok in 2019 to a great spot for average surfers like myself. Was planning return trips, hopefully next year. Feel for all the people working and living over there whose livlihood woould be smashed.

To surf the waves you have surfed and be that good, wow. Recent lockdown also cost me a couple of weekends getting to shape a board in Preston with Zak who i guess you probably know. On hold for now but something to look forward to.

JMac for being jmac

I'd agree with all your choices GC, but i couldn't forget Jen who just keeps me connected to in season training and long pre season campaigns.
I also recall we had the most fantastic VFL posters who used to attend and give a wonderful, almost real time, gameday report. I know i would always refer to their bests to determine possible team inclusions.

I'd agree with all your choices GC, but i couldn't forget Jen who just keeps me connected to in season training and long pre season campaigns.
I also recall we had the most fantastic VFL posters who used to attend and give a wonderful, almost real time, gameday report. I know i would always refer to their bests to determine possible team inclusions.
Yep we always leave out plenty. I could include plenty more but Jen2310 is a rare gem. Also JB1975 for prompting me to remember the quality of his posting

Laurie Holden for those podcasts he put together that possibly no one listened to. He almost succeeded in making Magpie Girl and myself sound as though we knew what we were talking about

I love everyone.

When I go to bars and clubs with my mates Spiz and Ari and that.. I use a lot of BF terminology phrases terms and words or whatever you call em and that re to pick up and that re.. like.. I'll sit at a bar or whatever.. chatting to someone and that re.. with a nice cocktail or whatever re.. and say.. 'oh that's so faux'.. followed by a bit of a laugh and that re.. or 'can we change the narrative'. My mates Spiz and Ari are like.. what are you talking about re.. what's this shit and that re.. faux and narratives and that re.. are you allright and that re.. and I'm like.. shut up re.. eloquence and sophistication is not only in a Mossimo shirt re.. or in making sure your Gemi is always in mint condition for Chap lapping it re.. it's about fine tuning your skills and that re.. it works and that re.. and they're like shut up re.. and I'm like.. yeah allright re.. results.. they're the ones still trying to pick up on the dancefloor and that at the end of the night and that re..

Is that greatness or what re.. it's those lil 1/8 1/4 1/2%ers that can make a difference in the end.

Live love laugh learn improve etc etc..

Yep we always leave out plenty. I could include plenty more but Jen2310 is a rare gem. Also JB1975 for prompting me to remember the quality of his posting

Laurie Holden for those podcasts he put together that possibly no one listened to. He almost succeeded in making Magpie Girl and myself sound as though we knew what we were talking about
I‘d forgotten that we used to do those weekly podcasts GC 😁

I think there’s an archive of them in the Nest somewhere

Too true. Sort of. I am a very average surfer but I have been heading off since I was 15 and just love it even though life gets in the way all the time. One of the sad things of covid was i did a trip to Lombok in 2019 to a great spot for average surfers like myself. Was planning return trips, hopefully next year. Feel for all the people working and living over there whose livlihood woould be smashed.

To surf the waves you have surfed and be that good, wow. Recent lockdown also cost me a couple of weekends getting to shape a board in Preston with Zak who i guess you probably know. On hold for now but something to look forward to.
Zak Koniaris right? Very talented. My parents and his were family friends growing up in View Bank.

Universal Love Feel The Love.