Female Goal Umpires

• Thread starter Thread starter crowie

RooDog said:
umm yer but i only do independent schools because im relatively young in comparison to most of the other blokes at SANFL level, even 17s level!! you going to SANFL next year?

yeah figured u were younger...they have goal umps and boundary umps for Idenpendent Schools dont they???

yeah ill get in contact with the coach out at the SANFL by the end of the footy season, see how i go! can only try out ;)

Tyson20 said:
yeah figured u were younger...they have goal umps and boundary umps for Idenpendent Schools dont they???

yeah ill get in contact with the coach out at the SANFL by the end of the footy season, see how i go! can only try out ;)

yes they do only in the 1st 18 comp though, they dont in 2nd and 3rds.. i umpire in the 1sts so yer i get them everyweek! they will probably take you for a trial, if not come to independents next year because that way if you are really good they will put you into 17s during the year! yer im only 19!

RooDog said:
yes they do only in the 1st 18 comp though, they dont in 2nd and 3rds.. i umpire in the 1sts so yer i get them everyweek! they will probably take you for a trial, if not come to independents next year because that way if you are really good they will put you into 17s during the year! yer im only 19!

yeah ill basically see what they want to do with me, they may tell me to go thru Independent schools and come up that way (im not familiar with the path they like up and coming Umpires take to get to SANFL level)...

u done any 17's this year?

Tyson20 said:
yeah ill basically see what they want to do with me, they may tell me to go thru Independent schools and come up that way (im not familiar with the path they like up and coming Umpires take to get to SANFL level)...

u done any 17's this year?

nope, you have to be a favourite to be sent up to 17s during the year and i definately am not one of them because even though im the fittest and best runner out there i muck around at training and make jokes and dont really try my hardest all the time and the coaches dont like me because i dont treat everything so seriously like the bloke they sent out to do 17s, hopefully i will have a trial with the 17s in february though but ive only been a member of independent schools for 2 years, they like you to be there atleast 2 befor going to 17s! its all to political for my liking as well!

In VAFA down here, which my club compete in we have several female umpires. One in partiuclar, Leah Gallagher umpires mostly B Section games, but has done a few A grade games this year. Di Whiteley would have to be one of the most hard working, umpring mostly D1-D4 section games but also some u19 games. She also umpires FIDA football of a Sunday.

Boundary umpires in the VAFA, there are several females including one (can't remember her name) who does A, B, and C section games.

RooDog said:
nope, you have to be a favourite to be sent up to 17s during the year and i definately am not one of them because even though im the fittest and best runner out there i muck around at training and make jokes and dont really try my hardest all the time and the coaches dont like me because i dont treat everything so seriously like the bloke they sent out to do 17s, hopefully i will have a trial with the 17s in february though but ive only been a member of independent schools for 2 years, they like you to be there atleast 2 befor going to 17s! its all to political for my liking as well!

oh bit of a s... stirrer hey!!?? :p

yeah i have heard it is pretty political, which im hoping isnt the case but definitely am not suprised to hear it! its even political out at the ammos where all the oldies wouldnt be able to handle me doin divvy 1 all year and getting a GF high up (of course if i deserved it, not saying i do)...its def the reason why i hvnt been given as many divvy 1 games as some of the guys out there think i should have!

i was even told early in the season by one dude (ex sanfl guy who didnt make it, blames everything from injuries to personal crisis, but in reality he is just crap) that i wouldnt be doing divvy 1 this year because they have a policy where by first yr umps dont get to divvy 1 in their 1st yr. A week later i did my first divvy 1 game with him! he was a bit quiet that day... :D

Tyson20 said:
oh bit of a s... stirrer hey!!?? :p

yeah i have heard it is pretty political, which im hoping isnt the case but definitely am not suprised to hear it! its even political out at the ammos where all the oldies wouldnt be able to handle me doin divvy 1 all year and getting a GF high up (of course if i deserved it, not saying i do)...its def the reason why i hvnt been given as many divvy 1 games as some of the guys out there think i should have!

i was even told early in the season by one dude (ex sanfl guy who didnt make it, blames everything from injuries to personal crisis, but in reality he is just crap) that i wouldnt be doing divvy 1 this year because they have a policy where by first yr umps dont get to divvy 1 in their 1st yr. A week later i did my first divvy 1 game with him! he was a bit quiet that day... :D

yer im like the ultimate sh*t stirrer, i just try to make training fun! oh there is a lot of politics, i would be set if i were a goal umpire though, my old man is an ex league goal umpire, my old mans cousin is one of the goal umpires coaches at SANFL but i dont want to be a goal uumpire! there use to be a policy like that before my old man went there but he like changed it and gave all the young guys a go in Divvy 1, does Nick rogers still goal umpire?

RooDog said:
yer im like the ultimate sh*t stirrer, i just try to make training fun! oh there is a lot of politics, i would be set if i were a goal umpire though, my old man is an ex league goal umpire, my old mans cousin is one of the goal umpires coaches at SANFL but i dont want to be a goal uumpire! there use to be a policy like that before my old man went there but he like changed it and gave all the young guys a go in Divvy 1, does Nick rogers still goal umpire?

yeah he does...he did the divvy 1 GF last year apparently! i hvnt had the chance to umpire with him yet...he seems like a pretty cool dude!

damn shame ur old man isnt the coach now, i may have had a better go plus he may have been able to get my foot in the door in the SANFL! :D :p

its stupid favouring all the old guys, when they will all be there next year! surely you have to pick your best umpires, and when round 1 came along and after only seeing me in 1 trial game Bruce tells me that i "should" be doing divvy 1 games, and yet ive been stuck in divvy 2 all year! meh, politics smolitics!

Tyson20 said:
yeah he does...he did the divvy 1 GF last year apparently! i hvnt had the chance to umpire with him yet...he seems like a pretty cool dude!

damn shame ur old man isnt the coach now, i may have had a better go plus he may have been able to get my foot in the door in the SANFL! :D :p

its stupid favouring all the old guys, when they will all be there next year! surely you have to pick your best umpires, and when round 1 came along and after only seeing me in 1 trial game Bruce tells me that i "should" be doing divvy 1 games, and yet ive been stuck in divvy 2 all year! meh, politics smolitics!

yer Nick is a total dude! he did like divvy 1 GF when my old man was there! who did he do it with last year do you know? my old man use to have a great dislike for the older blokes!! get use tot he politics mate it only gets worse

RooDog said:
yer Nick is a total dude! he did like divvy 1 GF when my old man was there! who did he do it with last year do you know? my old man use to have a great dislike for the older blokes!! get use tot he politics mate it only gets worse

he did with Jack Thompson (ur old man wld know him, ex league guy) i reckon they'll both get it this yr too!

im not suprised ur dad didnt like some of the old blokes, friggin annoying! :rolleyes:

Tyson20 said:
he did with Jack Thompson (ur old man wld know him, ex league guy) i reckon they'll both get it this yr too!

im not suprised ur dad didnt like some of the old blokes, friggin annoying! :rolleyes:

yer im sure my old man knows him!! yes they are all them oldies, can i ask who your dad was?

Tyson20 said:
u can...but i wont tell ya here :D

first name was Tony!

EDIT: Better still it is Tony, not was haha :o

nar thats fair enough i wouldnt post my surname in here either!