Fev hypothetical

• Thread starter Thread starter Cthublhu

A few things, first mate, very rare a club or league suspends a guy without just cause (they would quickly run out of money from being sued). So it is just a matter of time before the rest of the penalty is announced (although we may not get all the sordid details). If he is also accused of breaking the law then he will get the presumption of innocence and get to plead his case.

And the person Fevola attacked on brownlow night did not wish to press it, and fair enough, there are enough morons out there that are apologists for tools like this that as sad as it is, it is sometimes better to walk away rather than risk recriminations from the unstable out there. It takes courage either way. He dodged a bullet there, sadly for the rest of the community, he did not cop his right whack. One day he will.

Dead wrong if you think you read religious posts from me, I am an atheist. I may have a moral compass but not borne of religious conviction. (Religions are part of the problem). So excuse me for that compass but I prefer living life with respect, self and from others.

I am happy to be judged by the standards I set myself. Am near 50 and have never been charged or accused of anything more than a traffic infringement. (Although a neighbor once asked me to turn the stereo down, which I gladly agreed to). There is a very good reason for that, and it aint cos I am good at hiding my crimes. If you live a moral life these things dont happen to you. Pretty simple really. I do treat others how I would like to be treated, and I wouldn't like a fire extinguisher set off at me or have my property urinated on or have myself or those I love or like placed in a head lock by some buffoon, I dont intimidate others around me with unruly behavior in public, I dont get drunk and make a tool of myself. In short I am not a disgrace of a person (I have called him this many times) and I dont defend the indefensible. Now if you want to call that some kind of righteousness you are free to, I call it normal responsible social behavior.

Ok well I withdraw the religious comments - may have been you arguing religion with another poster???

I don't disagree with anything you said about being a good member of society and as a consequence things like this don't happen to such people.

But I disagree with you simply rushing to judge the bloke. From what I am hearing (from a senior lions person) this is storm in a teacup.

There's a well known Retreads poster who's still claiming the Lions won the Fev trade.

:)

They did. They are going to get a slew of good draft picks over the next few years as a direct result of that trade. :eek:

Thers going to be alot of egg on faces IF these accusations turn out to be a load of rubbish.

I'm not going to judge until the facts are out. I have been a big Fev supporter but even i will turn if these accusations are true.

Ok well I withdraw the religious comments - may have been you arguing religion with another poster???

I don't disagree with anything you said about being a good member of society and as a consequence things like this don't happen to such people.

But I disagree with you simply rushing to judge the bloke. From what I am hearing (from a senior lions person) this is storm in a teacup.

I think people assumed I was religious because I dont approve of professional athletes (or anyone of elevated privilege because of being in the public eye) abusing that privilege by getting drunk and unruly in public. No worries, I am not offended by it, more amused by it. I have both ears pierced and tattoos, just another misjudgment based on belief.

It may be a storm to some that dont look dimly on such behavior but unfortunately for the male bonding minded crew, they are out of step with modern values of decency and respect for women so of course they would think that. I doubt he will stay a lion and in fact doubt he will play again. If it were a first offence nah scratch that, there is really no mitigation, he has form and has run out of chances. Its over for him and rightly so. He got way way too many chances. It may come to pass that he has not broken the law but he has crossed the line we all know is there, once too often. Did I say once too often? Ha, my bad.

I think people assumed I was religious because I dont approve of professional athletes (or anyone of elevated privilege because of being in the public eye) abusing that privilege by getting drunk and unruly in public. No worries, I am not offended by it, more amused by it. I have both ears pierced and tattoos, just another misjudgment based on belief.

It may be a storm to some that dont look dimly on such behavior but unfortunately for the male bonding minded crew, they are out of step with modern values of decency and respect for women so of course they would think that. I doubt he will stay a lion and in fact doubt he will play again. If it were a first offence nah scratch that, there is really no mitigation, he has form and has run out of chances. Its over for him and rightly so. He got way way too many chances. It may come to pass that he has not broken the law but he has crossed the line we all know is there, once too often. Did I say once too often? Ha, my bad.

Again moralistic tripe.

So if a woman (or a group of women) said to Fev show us your penis and Fev did so in an environment where no one but those women could see, then one woman bragged to her partner, who then told the husband of another women in the group, who got mad and complained to the club - is that a sackable offence? Two consenting adults wanting to privately expose their genetials to each other?

Fev will be wearing black and white stripes in 2011!

The only reason he didn't go there in the first place was because Carlton did not want to deal with Collingwood, If Brisbane decide to get rid of him I guaran-damn-tee you he will be playing for the Pies in 2011.
Not if Adrian Anderson has anything to do with it.

After last years "non incident" in the wee small hours after the Brownlow, the AFL were desperate for an official complaint to be lodged so that they could punish him. There wasn't, so they couldn't.

The cross hairs and laser sight are now firmly aimed at Fev's career, and if this turns out to have any sort of substance I suspect Fev will be the second player to have a 12 month holiday, effectively ending his career (as I suspect he'll get a bit "Elvis" on us with a 12 month lay off).

Might just help the Lions out of a spot though, salary cap wise...........although I suspect Fev might take them to court over it.........

So far:
Us - Lose Fev, gain Henderson and Lucas
Lions - Get Fev, Lose Henderson, Lucas, Bradshaw, Rischitelli, +/- Brennan........and Fev.

Wow.......not in the Tigers or Freo's worst days could they have attempted such draft and trade blundering...........truly magic.

Anyone still think we should have taken Voss over Ratts?:o

The way I read one of the articles is that he exposed himself to a woman with her children present - this part wasn't elaborated on.

If there were children in plain sight, he will never play this sport again.

Again moralistic tripe.

So if a woman (or a group of women) said to Fev show us your penis and Fev did so in an environment where no one but those women could see, then one woman bragged to her partner, who then told the husband of another women in the group, who got mad and complained to the club - is that a sackable offence? Two consenting adults wanting to privately expose their genetials to each other?

If it happened in a public place yes. Of course. In fact I am dumbfounded anyone could ask this. It is not about what took place but the circumstances around it.

If Fev sprays a fire extinguisher at his cousin while both are drunk in their own house is that something to get upset about? No of course not but thats not what happened.

If Fev gets drunk at home and urinates on the shower door is that something we ought to get upset about? No of course not, but thats not what occured is it.

You starting to get my point or do I need to list them all?

He was in a public place not a private room. (A car parked on a public street is a public place).

FFS, you just dont want to see it do you.

So far:
Us - Lose Fev, gain Henderson and Lucas
Lions - Get Fev, Lose Henderson, Lucas, Bradshaw, Rischitelli, +/- Brennan........and Fev.

Wow.......not in the Tigers or Freo's worst days could they have attempted such draft and trade blundering...........truly magic.

Anyone still think we should have taken Voss over Ratts?:o

Also pencil in all the draft picks he traded away for recycled's. He even signed Raines up on a 3 year contract. Perhaps Vossy should follow Fev out the door.

:)

I don't know why but I get the impression you wear a long trench coat and frequent parks in the late afternoon there, jono. :confused:

Only on weekends....during the week I spend my time as a corporate lawyer.

But seriously maybe it is just a generation y thing but sex in a public place isn't that big of a deal to me. When I was at uni myself and one of the girls I studied law with used to kill 2 hours between a lecture and a tute at night by having a shag in the botanical gardens in Brisbane. Granted you could pick a spot at night private where people couldn't see what you were doing but I find it hard to judge someone getting it on in a public place if it is discrete. Have you never joined the mile high club? I flew first class with Emirates to Hong Kong and bought the wife on a business trip just so we could try out the first class suite.

Are you kidding me? We just weeded the disease out why would we bring it back? Does it look like he's improved himself? NO! So AFAIC he's yesterdays news and good riddance to bad rubbish.

If it happened in a public place yes. Of course. In fact I am dumbfounded anyone could ask this. It is not about what took place but the circumstances around it.
Exactly right.

How long does it take for a grown man to understand that his job limits what he can and cannot do.

Circumstances are key, and the fact that he was in public is precisely what makes it such an offence.

But seriously maybe it is just a generation y thing but sex in a public place isn't that big of a deal to me. When I was at uni myself and one of the girls I studied law with used to kill 2 hours between a lecture and a tute at night by having a shag in the botanical gardens in Brisbane. Granted you could pick a spot at night private where people couldn't see what you were doing but I find it hard to judge someone getting it on in a public place if it is discrete. Have you never joined the mile high club? I flew first class with Emirates to Hong Kong and bought the wife on a business trip just so we could try out the first class suite.
You and 'bluepride' will be best mates soon!

Gen Y thing you think? Next time the partners are having a meeting, why not politely knock on the door and relate to them that little story and see how fast it takes for them to ask you to clear out your desk. Nah bet you wont, cos you know as well as we do, that a lot hinges on expecting others to take it the same way, which is why, when you are in the public eye and on a big fat paycheck and dont want to risk it, you keep stuff like that off the front pages, or in your case dont blab it to the partners. Gen Y thing, yep. :rolleyes:

Gen Y thing you think? Next time the partners are having a meeting, why not politely knock on the door and relate to them that little story and see how fast it takes for them to ask you to clear out your desk. Nah bet you wont

Have worked in two law firms and everyone knew who was shagging who. There was a lot of shagging.

... and some pretty adventurous stories

It actually bonded us as a group :thumbsu:

Can't remember one person being dismissed for it though. And I worked in the employment law department

There isnt a chance, even in a hypothetical there is still no chance.

I do get to mingle with a couple of "influentials" at Carlton and the fact is Swann and Icke would have released him for nothing last year (thankyou Brisbane). It was accepted that we would have lost but there are only so many chances you can give to the clown, he was doing more damage to the brand than a trade was worth.

They fined him, suspended him, counselled and supported him, gave him every chance to turn it around (honestly he just had to lay off the grog for a few more years).......nothing worked.

The bloke needs serious help but the AFL lifestyle will never be able to provide it which is such a shame because he is an awesome talent.

Have worked in two law firms and everyone knew who was shagging who. There was a lot of shagging.

... and some pretty adventurers stories

It actually bonded us as a group :thumbsu:

Can't remember one person being dismissed for it though. And I worked in the employment law department

Be honest now, how long you reckon you would last if the name of your firm was mentioned on the front pages of the papers every time (actually not even every time, try just once) it happened.

You dont have to answer cos I wont believe you if you deny it to be the case. And while your at it, have a wonder how you would go if your "bonding" cost the firm a key client. Nah no-one ever got sacked over it.

To be fair.

Would you put it past a gambler to chase his loss? So on that basis, could you see Voss trading GC compensation pick to Saints to pick up Lovett?

Edit, Lovett could be picked up for free, but based on how dumb the Voss trade spree looks now, he would be dumb enough to give up the pick anyway. Parrot has made a career out of pointing out the Wallets Miller farce, this is now looking like a balanced crew by comparison to the Vossmeister.

Gen Y thing you think? Next time the partners are having a meeting, why not politely knock on the door and relate to them that little story and see how fast it takes for them to ask you to clear out your desk. Nah bet you wont, cos you know as well as we do, that a lot hinges on expecting others to take it the same way, which is why, when you are in the public eye and on a big fat paycheck and dont want to risk it, you keep stuff like that off the front pages, or in your case dont blab it to the partners. Gen Y thing, yep. :rolleyes:

I am a partner.

Oh and you clearly don't understand how law firms work - that sort of thing is par for the course.

... and some pretty adventurous stories

It actually bonded us as a group
:thumbsu:

The women especially, ExMan...