Fev sacked

• Thread starter Thread starter compass

There won't be many winners in this but plenty of losers

But in the end we may have dodged a bullet by Voss choosing Brisbane over us. He has effectively given away Hendo, Rischitelli, Bradshaw and Kane Lucas for Callum Bartlett and indirectly lost Sherman and Brennan as well.

As well as Bartlett we also got a couple of top 20 picks for some of those players as well as Polec for Brennan so it's not too bad.

Shit, you reckon getting drunk on NYE and having a run in with a work colleague at a BBQ would get you sacked?

I can't speak for others, but in my line of employent, yes it would. I'd be sacked in minutes ... and I wouldn't be taking $1.4 million dollars with me either.

not good news for anyone.

I don't think Brisbane have given much of a perception of being "supportive" to fev at any stage tbh. Its always appeared to me that Voss thought this would be a quick fix to success - and when he realized that it wouldn't be, and he had totally ****ed up the foundations of the club in that one pre-season - Fev was the scape goat and they have been looking for a way to get out of paying his contract in the salary cap for 12 months now.

Hope fev does take them to the cleaners - and i will be furious of the lions do not have to include his payments in the salary cap. Does anyone know what the situation was with the eagles vis cousins and Saints with Clarke regarding their cap?

Do NOT even go there Carlton fan!
Sorry, but you've sacked a guy that is in rehabilitation for a mental health condition.

His indiscretions at the Lions total an impending court issue that has yet to be found one way or the other and hitting a baseball through some bloke's car.

If he has indeed been 'institutionalised' for depression, I'm not sure how kindly the AFL will take to his sacking, and am wondering whether this will go under Brisbane's TPP should any payout occur.

Gotta love the hypocritical Brisbane fans who said their club's superior 'culture' would stop this from happening. :o

Two can play that game.

Yes I'm sure we called our reigning leading goal kicker a hack.

He has turned out to be however. He cost you Lachie Henderson, Kane Lucas, helped alienate Bradshaw and Rischitelli to the point where they would eventually leave the club, may well leave you $700,000 short in the salary cap over the next couple of years, which could see high-end talents such as Rich or Clark leave due to the mismanagement of the club.Then again, perhaps I don't comprehend the full extent of this "drama".

From the accounts presented, I'm assuming this case that is yet to be heard will only deal Fev a slap on the wrist from the courts.

Completely irrelevant and underpinned by a generous dose of hindsight. There's nothing to say that he wasn't getting counselled however, considering clubs would like to keep that under wraps as best they could. Then again, perhaps his problems only spiralled out of control in the year of his sacking.

At Wet-and-Wild, Voss assured you, your members, and the club that Fevola wouldn't pose any problems, and more pertinently, that the support structures would be put into place to stop this from happening.

They weren't.

Well like 99% of Brisbane Fans and Co we were willing to give the guy a chance and as it turns out it was a ****ing stupid move. Everyone deserves a chance IMO What they do with it though is entirely up to them

Do NOT even go there Carlton fan!

Why shouldn't they go there. Carlton sacked him because he had used his last chance too many times and they thought they couldn't help him anymore. They also gave him a fair chance to continue his career somewhere else. Make no mistake Carlton would take a healthy minded Fev if that was the option - they loved him for his skill but they also appreciated his unique character. Like most people with depression - his emotions and behaviour were extremely erratic. He could be the nicest and most honest guy in the room - and he could also be the angriest and dumbest. Carlton loved him when he was motivated and being his happy self, and pitied and mourned when he was down and self destructing. Brisbane just didn't give a **** - they knew the massive risk involved and lived in fear of the worst case scenario - and because of this, they obviously never had the emtional connection to this guys flaws & issues - they just treated him like a threat and liability.

The lions, especially voss - has looked like someone who knew they had made a massive mistake of judgement and just wanted to get rid of it as soon as possible and limit the financial cost by any means possible. You knew the issues of his mental health before you got him, and now you have just dumped him at his lowest point - with absolutely no chance for him to do the one thing he actually enjoys, and continue his career, for 12 months.

Richmond still have a rookie spot on their list where we can fill a spot - does anyone know if we could use this on a mature age recruit? Pretty sure we could as we had Casserley training for the spot.

Not saying we should or would take on another one of these types again now Fev onbiously doesn't fit in our plans. butI would be curious to what the rule would be on it - And if the tig's did show an interest in taking him on as a rookie, would the AFL or the Lions try and block it - or use it as an excuse to not pay him his money

Sorry, but you've sacked a guy that is in rehabilitation for a mental health condition.

His indiscretions at the Lions total an impending court issue that has yet to be found one way or the other and hitting a baseball through some bloke's car.

If he has indeed been 'institutionalised' for depression, I'm not sure how kindly the AFL will take to his sacking.

The only difference between what Carlton done to Fev and what Brisbane did to Fev is that he was in Rehab/ Just got out of rehab when Brisbane sacked him.

Why shouldn't they go there. Carlton sacked him because he had used his last chance too many times and they thought they couldn't help him anymore. They also gave him a fair chance to continue his career somewhere else. Make no mistake Carlton would take a healthy minded Fev if that was the option - they loved him for his skill but they also appreciated his unique character. Like most people with depression - his emotions and behaviour were extremely erratic. He could be the nicest and most honest guy in the room - and he could also be the angriest and dumbest. Carlton loved him when he was motivated and being his happy self, and pitied and mourned when he was down and self destructing. Brisbane just didn't give a **** - they knew the massive risk involved and lived in fear of the worst case scenario - and because of this, they obviously never had the emtional connection to this guys flaws & issues - they just treated him like a threat and liability.

The lions, especially voss - has looked like someone who knew they had made a massive mistake of judgement and just wanted to get rid of it as soon as possible and limit the financial cost by any means possible. You knew the issues of his mental health before you got him, and now you have just dumped him at his lowest point - with absolutely no chance for him to do the one thing he actually enjoys, and continue his career, for 12 months.

From everything I've heard we felt much the same as Carlton did rather than your analysis.

Take his dismissal as you want, I really love watching the bloke play and am not totally behind it, but lets wait until his contract comes out and we see what clauses he broke. He would have to have broken some multiple times for this to occur with a lack of payout - the AFLPA and co (not to mention court) wouldn't allow it otherwise. I highly doubt Angus Johnson would either.

It's just bad for everyone involved and is the story of the week currently. We'll all move on and we can actually have a proper discussion (although on the main board, perhaps not, this is borderline Bay13 for the most part) when the facts come out.

Fev got paid big bucks and decided to spend it on hitting the piss and gambling. If I lost my wife and kept getting myself in the shit because I acted like a dick and drank too much I'd probably be depressed and depending on alcohol too.

This isn't a bloke who had to work at a factory all day. This is a guy who had the world at his feet and chose to keep ****ing his chances up.
Whether they were big or small indiscretions.
He was in the perfect environment to put his time and effort into something an he chose the wrong path. I'm sure every other player would like to be blowing their money on pokies an piss too.

Everyone can whinge about an unfair dismissal,
But even if they didn't sack him today... How much longer was it going to take before he forced them to?

In response to an earlier post that I CBF finding,
if they tear up his contract and pay him out then he is free to play wherever he wants, providing there is no cooling off period in the contract or clause stating that he can't be employed by the competition for a period of time, which I doubt there would be.

Sheedy said yesterday that he would not be recruiting Fev to GWS.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...t-brendan-fevola/story-e6frf9jf-1226008730322

From everything I've heard we felt much the same as Carlton did rather than your analysis.

Take his dismissal as you want, I really love watching the bloke play and am not totally behind it, but lets wait until his contract comes out and we see what clauses he broke. He would have to have broken some multiple times for this to occur with a lack of payout - the AFLPA and co (not to mention court) wouldn't allow it otherwise. I highly doubt Angus Johnson would either.

It's just bad for everyone involved and is the story of the week currently. We'll all move on and we can actually have a proper discussion (although on the main board, perhaps not, this is borderline Bay13 for the most part) when the facts come out.

mate, my family are all blues fans - i used to go watch them play near every week with my dad and saw the love they all had for that bloke. When he was self destructing, it broke their heart. not cos he was letting them down, but because he was doing this to himself "Again".

I moved up to brisbane about 9 months before fev got recruited by Voss. I can flat out tell you how your club and supporters reacted, loved and cared for Fev is not a pube on the relationship he and the carlton faithful had. Afew of your supporters might of enjoyed him, but a i doubt any of them loved him and gave a shit about his health. And i don;t reckon voss was thinking about any of that when he recruited him - he was thinking goals and thats it.

Fev got paid big bucks and decided to spend it on hitting the piss and gambling. If I lost my wife and kept getting myself in the shit because I acted like a dick and drank too much I'd probably be depressed and depending on alcohol too.

?

****ing idiot, naive w***er:thumbsd:

you have no ****ing idea of what mental depression is. What are you from, the stone age? Do you reckon every alcho is a depressed after they start drinking? They drink as a reaction to the depression - go climb back under the rock you came from mate and we'll come defrost you once the ape's have taken back over the earth.:thumbsd::mad:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...evola-in-the-afl/story-e6frf9jf-1226009127080

It cost them Lachie Henderson and the No.12 draft pick directly and was executed in such a clumsy way, Daniel Bradshaw left immediately and Michael Rischitelli and Jared Brennan walked out after the 2010 season.

In effect, Fev cost five players and a three-year deal worth $2.1 million, with Carlton paying $100,000 for each of the first two years.

rabble of a club, all for a position they already had depth in....

no winners here whatsovever....accept carlton I guess.

As the eternal optimist, I'd like to think Fev can spend the year getting right on track and go out with a couple of years of mid tier paid footy for a club in need.

****ing idiot, naive w***er:thumbsd:

you have no ****ing idea of what mental depression is. What are you from, the stone age? Do you reckon every alcho is a depressed after they start drinking? They drink as a reaction to the depression - go climb back under the rock you came from mate and we'll come defrost you once the ape's have taken back over the earth.:thumbsd::mad:

Ok ill ask you this, Lets just say a gunmen goes on a shooting spree, He gets caught and goes to jail. He claims he did this because he was depressed, Does this make him any less guilty because he was depressed? Are the jury going to go easier on here because he was Depressed? is he gonna get any sympathy simply because he was depressed?

The answer for me would be no, no, and no Why? as serious as depression is he is old enough to know between right and wrong. As an AFL player he would had access to Counsellors, and doctors and could have seen anyone at any time.

Fevola has had so many chances given to him during his AFL career and yet he still chose to act up and do the wrong thing. If you constantly **** up at a job that you have you get fired and thats exactly what Brisbane has done. They and I'm sure alot of their fans have just about enough of hearing about Fevola in the news etc etc. I honestly feel for fev right now I just hope he gets his life back on track, BUT he only has his self to blame here he was given a chance by the Lions and instead of starting off fresh he decided to muck up.

Pretty piss poor to sack someone in rehab. The bloke got pissed on NYE. What else has he done?

This reeks of those clowns from AFL House.

Lynch has stated that Fev was not leaving until his future at the Lions was known so what choice did the Lions have?

I am of the opinion that no one here knows the full facts. No one knows why he is in the facility he is in and no one here knows his diagnosis. The club has stated the will support Fev. How about holding out judgement until we see how that goes.

As a recruiter J Brown makes a great footballer. Interesting that Voss is rightly copping much deserved flak but that Graeme Allan has to this stage pretty much avoided scrutiny given that it has been reported that as the then Lions Footy Manager he approved the trade.

He more than approved the Trade, he instigated and implemented it.

Give me a ****ing break. He checked himself into rehab in an attempt to save his job. It didn't work, now let's see how long he stays there.

Zero sympathy for this idiot. Doesn't deserve to carry the Lion's drinks let alone play another game.

Feel sorry for Fev but he has absolutely nobody to blame but himself. Voss has got a bit of explaining to do.

This is my view. Fact is had he not been an 80 plus per season goal kicker he would have been sacked for his behaviour a few years ago. He has had a lot of chances. I hope this is finally the wake up call that shocks him into getting his life in order.

Not going to blame Voss. He backed himself to get the best out of Fev and he couldn't but coaches have to take punts sometimes.