Fev sacked

• Thread starter Thread starter compass

THE Brisbane Lions will present axed forward Brendan Fevola with a take-it-or-leave-it payout offer of about $1 million
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...vola-as-a-payout/story-e6frf9jf-1226009696728

Are these amateurs serious? Is this how that rabble of an organization does business? Do they not understand that once they decided to terminate his contract for convenience then they are required to pay it out in full?

I don't condone Fev's behavior and think he's a clown but he is obligated to receive every last cent that he is entitled to, even if that means going to court to get it.

He does not owe them any favours here.

So far nobody at the club has been able to explain what the breaches were.

Well, why am I the only one who seems to know about two end of season incidents in October? One where he was drunk, another when he went missing. I thought the club had made this known, but nobody seems to know about it.

When he played up on New Year's Eve, that was the last straw, and Fev was always going to be sacked after that. All these people carrying on as though Fevola is being hard done by are really annoying the hell out of me.

Well, why am I the only one who seems to know about two end of season incidents in October? One where he was drunk, another when he went missing. I thought the club had made this known, but nobody seems to know about it.

When he played up on New Year's Eve, that was the last straw, and Fev was always going to be sacked after that. All these people carrying on as though Fevola is being hard done by are really annoying the hell out of me.
Amen. Hilarious that Fevola is playing that card.

THE Brisbane Lions will present axed forward Brendan Fevola with a take-it-or-leave-it payout offer of about $1 million
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...vola-as-a-payout/story-e6frf9jf-1226009696728

Are these amateurs serious? Is this how that rabble of an organization does business? Do they not understand that once they decided to terminate his contract for convenience then they are required to pay it out in full?

I don't condone Fev's behavior and think he's a clown but he is obligated to receive every last cent that he is entitled to, even if that means going to court to get it.

He does not owe them any favours here.

Not exactly. Not sure of the details, but the reported $1.9m from what I have read is his full salary, complete with incentives, match fees etc. His base salary would probably be around $1.2m, which is where the original $1.5m payout sum in the papers came from (middle ground payout). This is all guess work though.

Brisbanes statement said "persistent and serious breaches of contract" were why he was sacked.

So far nobody at the club has been able to explain what the breaches were. At the presser they could've said stuff like "We can't go into that now" or "We can't say as we've been advised by Brendans medical team not to". But no. They just repeated the same thing over and over.

The whole thing is making Brisbane's board look like a joke. They claim something then fail to justify it. Weak, pathetic leadership from those in charge. And all because they've failed to answer one simple question.

Give it a rest mate, the more times you repeat it doesn't make it true.

I'll give you a short run down on the possible incidents being referred to.

First, the proven:
- Revolver-nightclub-while-getting-rehab-for-his-injury incident
- Noise complaint ejection incident
- NYE incident (which he is expected to plead guilty to).

Then there is the strongly alleged:
- Missing a compulsory injury rehab session
- Run in with teammate at training
- Unspecified misbehavior on the trip to China (now confirmed in the article below - note there were two separate incidents from that trip).

And the rumored:
- BBQ incident
- Family day incident (later dis proven)
- Probable other unreported/undisclosed incident/s.

Assuming one of the last two columns incidents happened or something else unreported found it's way back to the club, that is more than enough to sack someone with Fev's track record. Don't forget, after the last incident, the club had a list of 7 or 8 indiscretions which it was going to use as ammo to sack him, until he was found not guilty. There have probably (definately) been more since then. I hope this satisfies your obsessive and somewhat baffling obsession with being told all details of a player who never even played for your club.

FTR, I would of kept him on, but I see the sense in moving him on.

EDIT: This article has also just been released.

Can't help but think Fev's sacking has been planned to the last detail by Voss for some time. No idea why to be honest - Brisbane will be an absolute joke this year. Worse than Fitzroy.

The trade of Fev to Brisbane will go down as easily the worst trade ever. It is extremely funny that Bradshaw will still be going around this year whilst the "younger" Fev is finished. From this one trade the list of players Brisbane has lost is astounding to say the least.

Very disappointed that the Hawks only play them once.

So So wrong, all of this.

IF their were any breaches, he would have been notified and his manager Lynchy would have known. He was not. They and the AFLPA have no idea why he has been sacked.

Our club is amateur hour.

We are now saying we are not paying his full contract, tough, take it or leave, and you are not able to talk about it either.Playing hard ball with a player who is in a mental health ward for depression. Such a bad look. So inhuman, and cruel.
We have people gloating about how with the money we are saving we can afford to keep Clarke. Disgusting.

Worst of all we had the club say yesterday they were doing this for him on medical advice.

wow. Have they not heard of confidentiality, fev's medical people would not speak to the club and say hey sack him. It looked like an afterthought on the clubs behalf to make it look like they cared.

the stigma of mental illness is australia is very real.this behavour and attitude makes it worse. plays to the sheeple who know so little.
We are a cruel club. We do not care for our players.

Now we have Black and Power no longer a VC as of yesterday.

So because I support another club I'm not allowed to ask questions? "What business is it of yours" comes across as very defensive. I think Brisbane are a good club, usually quite like them. But the people in charge are coming across incredibly poorly. They're being asked simple questions and failing to answer them. That suggests they have something to hide. That intrigues me.

I am a member, all my friends and family as well. We want the truth, we want to think the club would not do this to one of our players.
That we would not cast them aside when they are getting help for a mental illness.
That we would honour a contract. That we care about our players, not discard them like used teatowels, when a younger cheaper model becomes available.

Actually Campbell, I think it very poor to use depression as an excuse for repeated behavioral indiscretions in the workplace. No employer should have to put up with ongoing issues such as this. Their duty is to their other employees and owners above all else.

They have stated that they will continue paying for his medical care and are providing a payout.

Actually Campbell, I think it very poor to use depression as an excuse for repeated behavioral indiscretions in the workplace. No employer should have to put up with ongoing issues such as this. Their duty is to their other employees and owners above all else.

They have stated that they will continue paying for his medical care and are providing a payout.

goodness me kimp.

what has he actually done, repeated behavoural indiscretions. Yiu make him sound like a monster.

He is mentally ill. He is receiving clinical inpatient care for that.

He needs his employer to support him in his job( which he is mighty fine at doing mind you). He doesnt need this public humiliation and denegration by his employer.

This is a very bad PR exercise for our club. Do you think the sponsers will be happy with this ?

and IF we choose to sack him, then we pay ut his whole contract owed. Not a penny less.

and we dont go cap in hand to the AFL for salary cap allowances to cover this. We made the decision we wear the decision.

We don't know Campbell that's the point. But I'm happy for his employer who is informed to make that decision based on the best interests of the club.

I also think the sponsors will be relieved.

And Campbell have a little think what it would be like having a fellow employee being hounded for gambling debts. Reckon that would be somewhere conducive to a winning atmosphere? Or should that also be tolerated?

We don't know Campbell that's the point. But I'm happy for his employer who is informed to make that decision based on the best interests of the club.

I also think the sponsors will be relieved.

You do know he is an inpatient suffering clinical depression. He will have detoxed off alcohol as well. Lynchy has said this...

One would hope that our club would have made any decision about his playing n consultation with lynchy and fev. Not to just have made a decision and tell them on Sunday night, No options entered into.

Also one would hope that we would not play this out on the media , to humiliate a mentally ill person so publically.Fev is shattered, he is mentally ill. This is wrong. The process we are using is wrong.

The outcome could have been the same, but handled a lot better. Not rushed, not cruel.

NO sponsors would not be liking this at all. W are showing we are poorly managed by the way we are doing this.

Campbell we've done one media presentation. How are the Lions playing it out In the media?

It is also people like you who are demanding that the Lions publicly list all his indiscretions how does that stance correlate with what you've just written?

Lynch also stated that Fev would be staying in the facility until the Lions informed him of his future. He dictated the terms under which Fev was told. Hard to blame the Lions for that.

Campbell we've done one media presentation. How are the Lions playing it out In the media?

It is also people like you who are demanding that the Lions publicly list all his indiscretions how does that stance correlate with what you've just written?

Lynch also stated that Fev would be staying in the facility until the Lions informed him of his future. He dictated the terms under which Fev was told. Hard to blame the Lions for that.

What you mean like leak a bit here... leak a bit there... Tell him he's sacked, hold a press conference stating we can't say anything... leak a bit more...

This post is just stupid and anyone saying Fev was hard done by is stupid... In general, people dont force you to take drugs, binge drink or commit violence, infact you are educated early at how you shouldnt do this....

End of day , Fev is a elite athlete....getting paid elite dollars, so to say he should recieve help like a local scum bag then thats stupid, because thats what comes with being a elite athlete, he chose to play afl.

Also the thing thats most stupid is that if its Fev or Krakour or Cousins for that matter, THEY CHOSE! to do what they did, they made the decision to take those drugs or do whatever they did....They were the ones who were so on themselves they had no self control and couldnt help themselves....end of day its there own fault....And anything but being a man/ adult about it and looking for sympathy is what children do...and children dont play football so there goes your afl contract.

But repeating myself now, end of day, THEY CHOSE! to do what they did, they abused there priveledges, im sure for example if you were with Cousins when he was all doped up, that he thought hes shit didnt stink and he thought he could get away with it...Maybe i grew up in a different neighbourhood or beliefs but end of the day they tried to live the high life and now people who dont have to give them a lifeline....

Opened with me at $1.10 but has drifted slightly after Sheeds released a presser saying they weren't interested.

I believe this is a tactic to drive his price down from any rival bidders so that GWS can keep their cap for Swan/Daisy/Bartel/Clark/Scully etc and then once the year is just about over...

BAM!!!

Fev is a Giant!

$1.35 right now. It'll be interesting to see how everything goes with Alex should he come back and play for Beaconsfield. There will be MASSIVE crowds at the MPNFL games if he does sign.

That we care about our players, not discard them like used teatowels, when a younger cheaper model becomes available.

Kinda ironic that that's exactly how he came to the club, as the younger (but well, not so cheaper) model to Bradshaw...

As for Fev being mentally ill? Of course he's mentally ill, but it's all his own doing. Anyone who drinks that much, continually messes up as a result, makes poor lifestyle decisions and ruins his family life would suffer from depression.

Fev's mental illness isn't the cause of his actions, it's the result of them. For anyone to suggest that the Lion's should be held responsible for his actions they're barking up the wrong tree here. I feel as bad for Fev as anyone, he's at his lowest point right now and needs alot of support, but that's where friends and family come into it, if he doesn't have a strong support network then I really feel for the guy. But he shouldn't be looking at Brisbane to save him.

He has done nothing but cause them grief since his arrival at the Lions (a team that gave him a lifeline when noone else would, and gave him the ultimate show of faith by *not putting behavioural clauses in his contract). If being dumped by the Blues at a point where his gambling debt was spiraling out of control was not enough to get him to pull his head in then I don't know what odds he has to be up against to straighten his act up.

When I go to work I make sure I leave my personal life at home so that it doesn't effect my working life. If I have a huge weekend I make sure I lay up and recover on Sunday so that I'm good for Monday. I don't go on benders on a Sunday night because I know I'll feel like crap on Monday and won't be able to perform. He's a professional sportman for fuchs sake, his fitness and mental well being are paramount to him performing on the field. Throughout his career he has failed to keep his personal life in check, and regardless of whether he seems to believe that it doesn't effect him once he walks on the field, there's no doubt that it's finally at the point where it is effecting his footy (probably always has, he was just talented enough to get away with it).

Brisbane have lost here, there was no way this was going to end without Brisbane looking bad, at this point they just have to worry about the club and not the individual.

*was probably their biggest mistake

actions, it's the result of them. For anyone to suggest that the Lion's should be held responsible for his actions they're barking up the wrong tree here. I feel as bad for Fev as anyone, he's at his lowest point right now and needs alot of support, but that's where friends and family come into it, if he doesn't have a strong support network then I really feel for the guy. But he shouldn't be looking

It's highly likely, sonny, that in due course life will give you one right up the (**^&%(&*). Your crocodile tears are offensive.

THe Lions took on a drunken child for a shitload of cash.

They sacked a drunken child who had not changed since they hired him.

But by a strange coincidence the money they hope to save might help them keep at least one decent player ofthemany who are trying to jump ship.

\Wot a coincidence.