Roast FFS Selectors

Douglas gold pass all year

Hendo put back in the side to early

LT not AFL standard

Danger not fit

Wright fails consistently to impact a game

Grigg sub 4-5 weeks in a row when the side is screaming for good skills and footy IQ

M Crouch continually ignored

Lack of courage to play someone like Aitken at HF
Hard to disagree but you assume we can drop all of these players and replace with those that will make more of a contribution. I dont think its quite that simple.

I think Crouch, Kerridge and Laird must be inclusions if we're serious about moving forward. Wright, Mackay and Shaw out. Get Henderson out of the backline (into the subs vest) and replace with Laird, Pods to the backline in place of Shaw, Kerridge to replace Mackay and Crouch for Wright.

No one complained about said selections before the game. Just sayin'. Kings of hindsight.

Wright the only exception but you'd be pushing shit up hill to say that cost us the game.

Grow up and stop making stupid threads.
NOt true.
Look through some of the "Changes for next week" threads over the past month. There has been plenty of disquiet about team selections.
Not advocating for all changes to be made at once and agree we don't have the players to make all of those replacements. But some change has been called for weeks.

No one complained about said selections before the game. Just sayin'. Kings of hindsight.

Wright the only exception but you'd be pushing shit up hill to say that cost us the game.

Grow up and stop making stupid threads.
I absolutely complained about selection.

Massive oversight not to play Kerridge IMO - once again last night our one way midfield gave up 62 I 50's. We have no defensive minded midfielders when going is tough.

I think I've written enough about Henderson

The fact they selected Shaw shows you just how stupid our coaching panel really is.

I think it was the case of...

Do we pump up Shaws trade value or Play Rutten for one final hurrah despite the game going past him?

I can sum up David Mackay's impact on the game of football -

Was at a pub last night full of Richmond supporters - When Mackay got concussed one of the guys I was talking to was 'Who is he?' - I replied 'David Mackay' - 'Never heard of him'

and then as the stretcher came from the ground, some other Richmond supporter said something to the affect of 'Probably the biggest round of applause he's had in his 10 or so game career'

I didn't feel the urge to let them know he was drated in 2006 - Played over 100 games and just signed a 4 year deal....

I think it was the case of...

Do we pump up Shaws trade value or Play Rutten for one final hurrah despite the game going past him?

How can you pump up Shaw's trade value exactly? If anything his value when from zero to -100 last night.

Massive oversight not to play Kerridge IMO - once again last night our one way midfield gave up 62 I 50's. We have no defensive minded midfielders when going is tough.

People are utterly obsessed about our shitty forward structures and our defense. Nobody is willing to look at the real problems in the midfield. It's so incredibly overrated. When the chips are down, our mids fold faster than superman on laundry day. Bunch of overhyped, overpaid figjams.

How can you pump up Shaw's trade value exactly? If anything his value when from zero to -100 last night.

Not going to argue with that, he was crap... that said, had he played well, who knows, we might of got a third rounder for him.

We didn't lose this game at the selection table. This thread has been done to death. There really aren't that many players in the SANFL "tearing it up" every week who don't get a shot. See Grigg, Lyons, Cameron, etc.

Agree completely here. It was our so called 'wet weather gameplan' or whatever you want to call what we dished up last night that cost us big time.

Richmond were harder at the ball and first to it every single god damn time. They wanted it more and it showed. Not sure if our players were really that cooked from last weeks effort up at the Gabba, but we looked seriously off the pace and soft, when yet we have players like Crouch, Douglas, Danger, Wright, Sloane who all should have really stood up in those conditions. Its too bad that 50,500 rocked up to watch that game and yet the 22 most important people at that ground were nowhere to be seeno_O

When we have 22 performers, we play some bloody brilliant footy, but as soon as a handful start trailing off and we leave it to a few to carry us, the result is absolutely disgusting. Whether that was a fitness issue last night, or just another one of those bumps in the road for our developing list, it was not good. As much as I was disgusted with the way we were trying to play in those conditions, our effort was just as miserable.

Another few things....

People calling for Douglas' head? Please.... What a ****ing joke. Despite his injury and his obvious struggle with it since, Douglas is literally the only player who week in and week out when I go to games, I back him in to perform. He tackles hard, he chases, he's literally the ONLY player in our 22 who actually lowers the eyes when kicking into the 50 instead of blazing away. I cannot believe the shit he copped on here, its like 2012 all over again. He is a vital component to our midfield and does so much, he'd literally be the very last person Id drop along with Crouch.

Not sure why people are calling for Grigg's head either. He performed okay and his work in close is good. He and Crouch are literally the only midfielders who are willing to throw their weight around. Bringing him on for Mackay was a welcome change for me given the conditions.

Hendo needs to go for now, he's nowhere near ready. Same Shaw was also blowing hard at stages in the game. Didnt look match fit at all.

Tex needs to seriously teach Jenkins how to fire up and get angry. If Jenkins had Tex's enthusiasm he could seriously be a 50 goal forward. But yet he kicks a bag of 4 one game and then mopes around like a little ****ing sook for the rest of the game. Someone get stuck into this guy and let him know that he has 20+kgs on 90% of the competition and he should be throwing his weight around.

In saying that my changes would be:

In: Rutten, LJ
Out: Shaw, Henderson

Want to bring Kerridge and Thompson in but for who? Wright? Can we really afford to lose another outsider in Mackay?

Last of all....

The ****ing umpires are a bunch of miserable c*nts!

That was beyond a joke im sorry, I cannot even begin to comprehend that Sloane overturned goal and the Hendo push in the back. Absolutely ****ing useless:mad:

People calling for Douglas' head? Please.... What a ****ing joke. Despite his injury and his obvious struggle with it since, Douglas is literally the only player who week in and week out when I go to games, I back him in to perform. He tackles hard, he chases, he's literally the ONLY player in our 22 who actually lowers the eyes when kicking into the 50 instead of blazing away. I cannot believe the shit he copped on here, its like 2012 all over again. He is a vital component to our midfield and does so much, he'd literally be the very last person Id drop along with Crouch.

Douglas is a decent player but he's had a very poor year. Maybe it's injury that's causing it but I don't blame people for lumping shit on him. He's an experienced senior player. We have a right to expect our seniors to be AFL standard and he hasn't come close this year.

Honestly Douglas was absolutely terrible last night. It just seemed like everything he touched, turned to shit. He kicked at 27% disposal efficiency which is absolutely atrocious. I don't care about the shitty weather. If your kicking at 27%, something is clearly rotten.

I didn't think Henderson was pushed in the back. It was purely Martin using his superior positioning and body strength to make Henderson look like an arse.

theres a difference between a push in the back and using your strength. He was pushed out of the contest. In slow mo, it doesnt look like much but at full speed I reckon it should have been in the back.

I haven't seen a replay of the Martin 'push' - but at the time I thought it was Dustin just being too good for Henderson - It wasn't as if it was like the Franklin push against Port last week

Umpire was right alongside and I don't buy the whole "they're cheats " rubbish. Hendo is a soft player with zero competitiveness - it was hard for him and he fell over. End of

I thought it was a decent enough shove in the back from my angle at the ground. He used his forearm and the ball was within 5, but it was more in the back than the side, which I thought was pretty obvious given the direction Henderson was propelled. If they'd called it, it certainly wouldn't have been a Scott Thompson gently pats David Hale on the shoulder shocker of a free. But it was also less of a free than the bloke crawling all over Sloane and then falling into his back a minute earlier that they also didn't pay.

Not trying to take anything away from the point about Hendo being a shit defender. He is.

I complained about Kedge too, but that doesn't mean I can roast the selectors for picking every other player that played like a spud last night (Douglas, Dangerfield etc.).

The fact they selected Shaw shows you just how stupid our coaching panel really is.

Shit post. Shaw was good the previous two weeks, replacing like for like with Otten. Rutten terrible in the twos.

In real time I thought Hendo was pushed in the back. Having seen the replay it was a good call. Martin just outbodied Henderson and nudged him on the side. Play on.

He's just a soft, shit player. Blaming umpires for his shitness is the last refuge of those still thinking he's some kind of star player

Has Hendo ever been consistently successful in any position?