Society & Culture Fights

Last time I was in a fight was grade 5. Obviously I do not look very punchable or something. Plus I am somewhat shy and retiring so didn't attract much attention one way or another. I am pretty sure if I did get in a fight with anyone over the age of fifteen I would get the shit beaten out of me, despite my Irish heritage.

I've seen a few but luckily have never had the random guy try to start me.

Once outside Bridie O's on Chapel St just after closing a 10-man brawl started up in the middle of the street. Was pretty messy, but surprisingly the police rocked up fairly quickly. It was kinda brutal tho. I saw a policeman wind up with the baton and while I didn't see it connect, I heard it.... one guy was left unconscious face down on the street from it all.

I consider myself pretty lucky to have avoided this shit, but at the same time pretty unprepared for when it might happen to me.

First fight, I was about 12. Friend invited me to the beach for his birthday. We played king of the hill on some sanddunes. I threw him off, he got mad & started picking up sand & pegging it right into my face. I lost my shit, tackled him down & laid a few big right hands. Busted his nose & mouth open, & that was that. We had to share a tent & drive home in the same car, that was awkward.

Second time I was about 15. Was at a house party, drunk. So was my mate. For some reason he was on the road, yelling for me to come out. I went out to see what was up, & he just glared at me, then pushed me on my ass. I still don't know what I did to him. Anyway, I got up & punched him out. Funnily enough it was his birthday the next day. I went to his house to say sorry & he was there trying to eat his cake, but he couldn't because his face was busted. That was awkward too, I don't know what it is with me & birthdays.

Third fight I was also 15. I was in class & glared at this kid walking past in the corridor ... for no reason in particular, just being a smart arse. He lost his shit, ran in & knocked me off my chair. I got up & started punching, & so did he- both of us throwing "big" right hands. We couldn't knock each other over, I'd say it was a draw.

Next I was 16, walking home from a house party with two friends. Ran into a group of about 6 dudes with 2 of the local slurries. Aboriginals if you must know you racist bastards. They asked for a swig of my drink, then they took my hat. I tackled one down & threw maybe one right hand before we piss bolted away. That was a lucky escape.

Next I was 17. Walked out from a house party, & someone kicked a chair into me. I called them out, & ended up throwing down with some dude. Then his friends came in & started wailing on me, I think there was 3 or 4 of them. I ended up just covering up & throwing the odd haymaker. Eventually it was broken up, I was a little busted up but happy I'd kept my feet & was able to shoot them a few shit eating grins as they were taken away.

That was the last one. I'm now 23 & can barely imagine being in a fight.

My favourite ever fight story... DNine ****in rules.

YOU came to a CONCLUSION, SURELY NOT. That would have to be the first in a long time. Still getting your head around the fact I live in Hoppers I see. That is a classic joke, I mean that is so original, because I never have heard another person have a bad word to say about the place. But you like to concerntrate your efforts on that point, I am very happy for you.

What do you mean am I for real? Calling you all stupid dumb farx. Yes, I truely believe I am for real about that one. I mean do you blame me, we are 32 pages in, and still you are putting big fat pics up. Your so smart with them, VERY inventive. (Sarcasm)

I don't talk a word of lie, so that would eliminate the fat jokes toward me, and I don't fight anymore. I was highlighting that dummy, because that is where I got a hatred for your type. That was all. And although I have addressed that as being a stupid call, you still serve it up. YET YOU, have never once said your not stupid, or backed away from your stupid posts, so I can assume you are indeed stupid.

I'll even tell you my last fight, Ruckman on the ground next to the Melbourne Zoo, thought it be a good idea to elbow me in the eye, because I played a little roughly on their gun full forward. As I got up, I looked across, and the sniper lifted his elbow again toward one of my team mates, he missed. I chased him, and he ran off the field with his trainer. As he was walking along the boundary line, he turned and like a big tough hero, he said "What are you going to do arseh*le", I said, "I'm not going to tell you, get your coach to put you back on, and we'll see". Just before the half time siren, he returned, and came up to me. I had to jump, because he was a tall bastard, hooked him around the head, then smacked him around HIS head around 20 times. He was helped from the field, and according to the umpire, (who played with me the year before), he was sitting in the rooms, crying his eyes out. He didn't return in the second half, and I don't even know whether he kept playing footy. Must of been embarrassing for him to be such a tough hero, only to get his arse kicked. Turns out that this bloke constantly went around hitting people all the time. That was 3 years back. Prior to that, probably another 3 years before that.

Surely you can get a few vids up to try upset me because of that story. Have you got an onfield fight to show me.

See I have ONLY EVER hit someone because they needed a life lesson. I enjoy the adrenaline of a fight, but I am a family man now, and no longer fight.

Never been in a full on fight but just yesterday I was at the bottlo behind a feral guy- must've been about 50. As he was walking out he says "your shirt is a disgrace" (it was green) so I said your hair is a disgrace (imagine 50 yr old, grey, pony tail) and we exchanged words. Then I walked away and he rode after me on his bike calling me a w***er and threw a punch, but missed. I told him to **** off and hopped in my car and he rode off.

THEN

At a pub later in the day I was sitting with 2 mates watching the races and these 3 tough guys start talking about us - we were on the table opposite them. One of my mates had white Oakleys on and they were making comments and staring. Then they made comments about my RayBans, then about my mates hair, and it kept going on. I yelled out "why don't you just take a photo buddy?" and he said WHAT WAS THAT? came up to me and said lets go to the carpark and I just laughed, then he grabbed my shirt and eventually got kicked out by the manager. This was in front of a full beer garden, must've been about 100 people.

What shits me the most is the ****heads going out of their way to look for trouble. We weren't doing anything wrong, we were sitting there with a beer, watching the races and chatting amongst ourselves, yet have to deal with heroes who for some reason feel the need to comment or stir shit up just for the hell of it. Some people are just a waste of space.

Reminds me of a night a while ago. 3 guys decide to sit behind me & two mates, & out of nowhere start talking shit. I can barely remember what they were saying, but the same kind of stuff as those pricks said to you. Bagging out appearance, calling us pussies etc. Look at them & you get the "WHAT ****ING CMON COME OUTSIDE YOU ****" etc. Some people are unbelievable. Being an adult with consequences to deal with sucks in those kind of situations.

Fighting out of competition is for threatened insecure people.

Great post.

I've never really hit anyone, thankfully never been in a situation where I've needed to (the below doesn't count, I mean a real scrap for something that actually matters).

Been hit a couple of times; once by a Centrals supporter at an SANFL Grand Final; unprovoked (his mate apparently told him I was talking shit about them, funny, I'd never seen them before, and didn't care about them), ran up from behind me and hit me in the side of the head, gave me his absolute best, broke my shades, split my cheek, huge black eye straight away.

I reacted, grabbed his head in my hands and was lifting my knee up to smash his face in, when I realised what I was doing and stopped.

Cops saw the entire thing, charged the guy and took him away, and told me that they were extremely glad I hadn't kneed the guy in the face, as it's likely the amount of damage I could've done would've resulted in me being in more trouble than the other guy.

Also got head-butted by a state Rugby Union player, 3 times, stood there bleeding and asked him wtf he was doing before the bouncers took him down.

At least I know for future reference that I can take a punch like a champ.

Would rather not throw one though, too much shit can go wrong, last thing I want to do is ruin my life because I belt somebody and end up doing a Hookesy.

I remember reading that. Didn't the guy try and pass off The Power Of One as his life story?
Yeah, said he was some epic primary/high school fighter got moved around to a bunch of different schools only to end up a prison screw.

I'm still not totally convinced it wasn't an elaborate troll but **** me that thread has some epic lulz in it.

Would rather not throw one though, too much shit can go wrong, last thing I want to do is ruin my life because I belt somebody and end up doing a Hookesy.
That's a fear of mine. It's not terribly difficult to knock someone down, but I'm always concious of what their head could hit.

Not rather keen on going to jail because I hit some tool who cracks their head on the ground. Simply not worth it, and most of the time, really not worth the trouble.

That's a fear of mine. It's not terribly difficult to knock someone down, but I'm always concious of what their head could hit.

Not rather keen on going to jail because I hit some tool who cracks their head on the ground. Simply not worth it, and most of the time, really not worth the trouble.

Maybe only throw body shots? Get that left hook to the liver workin

The trick is to learn how to fight, I learnt in the boxing ring, and then you wont have to fight.

Not necessarily - the golden rule is that if some arseh*le is about to mug you, hit first, hit fast and hit hard by aiming for the face, neck, stomach or nuts.

It doesnt matter if you're Anthony Mundine, a jab to the neck or boot to the balls will put you down for the count

Also dont be afraid to cop one to the face, Ihate when both people cant fight though. They both just standing flat footed and its so easy to tell when they are going to throw a punch. Im no world heavy weight champion but id give most people 10 odd cm taller than me a hiding if they fought me because i actually know how to fight and can take a few to the face. But unless you really good at ground work its best not to go to ground at all cost coz ppl that cant fight will throw random punches and knees and all cost to get up. Also if someone jumps you and mounts you just throw punches while your down coz if they dont know how to fight they wont know how to get in a punch and will eventually cop one and fall off.

yeah i know how to fight(a lil) come at me

Also dont be afraid to cop one to the face, Ihate when both people cant fight though. They both just standing flat footed and its so easy to tell when they are going to throw a punch. Im no world heavy weight champion but id give most people 10 odd cm taller than me a hiding if they fought me because i actually know how to fight and can take a few to the face. But unless you really good at ground work its best not to go to ground at all cost coz ppl that cant fight will throw random punches and knees and all cost to get up. Also if someone jumps you and mounts you just throw punches while your down coz if they dont know how to fight they wont know how to get in a punch and will eventually cop one and fall off.

Try speaking English.

Maybe only throw body shots? Get that left hook to the liver workin

What if they're a bit big in the stomach region and you won't do much damage, if you're in the perfect position would you go ufc on them and cork their leg?

Wet willies, chinese wrist burns, nipple cripples are all very effective.

For a purely defence manouvre you stick your finger up your nose and then wave it around threatening to booger the dude.

Only a couple. Nothing heroic about them.

Was walking around a local shopping center when a guy who was with us(wasn't really a mate of anybodies, just tagged along) decided to get a bit lippy with me. So I asked him to repeat himself and got in his face about it, he swung and missed so I threw back and hit him, pulled back on the punch as it was the first I'd ever thrown. He left after that.

Next day at school all day the talk was he had people coming after me at the end of the day. So end of the day comes and my friends decided to wait around with me after school (around 20 or so, 10 more were waiting across the road watching if anything kicked off) About 5 or 6 guys are there mouthing off at me, in true GD fashion I was telling them to come at me. They all just keep mouthing then walk off around the corner, so we followed them and find them all hauling ass, pretty sad to be honest.

Have been hit twice without throwing anything back. Some kid at school had told his brother I'd hit him (never seen the kid before) so his brother shows up with 4 other guys and charge upto me and smacked me right in the head. Then threw one of those giant pieces of wood they use when they plant small trees at me.

Second was Australia day, was completely blind drunk. My sister invited some ****wit around and he was in the backyard smoking weed. Not knowing who he was, I asked him politely if he wouldn't mind taking off, as we were uncomfortable with someone we didn't know being over. Night goes on and we realise my sister was gone. Her mate takes off thinking it was the guy from earlier, so I take off with him to go find her. We walk into the park in my street and are calling her name when a group of 10 or so guys walk upto us. My mate is talking to the guy I'd asked to leave, I found out they went to school together and didn't like eachother. It's about 2am at this point so I can't see what's going on exactly but I'm talking to one guy trying to calm the situation. He was all for calming things down, then I hear my mate get punched and I see some huge bloke with what I'm guessing was a pole coming at me. Next thing I know I'm getting belted in the head, then falling to my ass. Spent the next 9 hours in hospital.

The scariest I've been involved in was a giant school brawl. No bullshit, it seemed the entire school had gathered on this basketball court to see two guys go at it. As the giant circle formed, had a perfect view at the very front. So they start getting into it when punches are getting thrown from left right and center. Everybody who had gathered to watch it ended up brawling, don't know what kicked it off, but was the scariest fight I've been involved in. Was hilarious hearing the principal losing his shit over the announce system at the entire school.

The worst I've seen, was again from school. What seemed an asian gang had gathered at the tafe across from the school, waiting for one of my friends. In order to get to the train station to get home, we have to cross through the tafe. We walk over and they rush him, about 10-20 guys are just relentlessly laying the boots in. One guy pulls my mate out and drags him into the car park and continues booting him in the face. Lost track of what went on from there until we saw him slamming my friends head against the car door. :eek:

I've told this story on here before but it's for this very reason I'll avoid a fight at all costs unless I'm backed into a corner.

I was coming out of Crown one night and across the road all of these people were coming out of Famous at QBH as it closed and we went over there as we saw someone we knew.

Anyway, about 5-10 metres away these 2 guys are having words (We'll call them guy A and guy B) and they each have one mate with them.

Guy A's mate was sort of just standing behind waiting to see what happened and guy B's mate was trying to diffuse the situation.

Guy B's mate got in between the 2 guys arguing (Facing his mate) trying to push him away so they could leave and just as he did that guy A throws a huge left hook at the temple guy B's mate (The one trying to break it up).

He was out cold as soon as the punch connected and fell down and hit his head on the brick wall before hitting it again on the ground. Guy A and his mate ran off and weren't seen again.

They sent the guy who had been punched home in a taxi and the next morning he had a severe headache so he went to the hospital to get checked out. He died sometime during the next 24 hours.

So here you have a guy, trying to stop his mate from getting hurt and not acting aggressively at all, doing the right thing who dies less than 24 hours later as a result of one punch..

I went through all of the interviews etc. with the police, looking over camera footage of the city and mug shots but they never found the guy who did it.

It's simply not worth it. Ever.
A mate of mine got out of the clink about a year ago for killing someone in that exact manner. He was bouncing at one of the suburban Bars and got jumped by two ****heads he refused entry earlier to. He had witness statements in his favor but still ended up doing almost 5 years. Was the quietest guy you'll ever meet, not anymore.
I've been in my fair share of brawls in my younger years but nowadays only get involved when there's no other way out, thing is though, sometimes its not that easy to distinguish between a life threatening situation and a bit of an argy bargy.

Only a couple. Nothing heroic about them.

Was walking around a local shopping center when a guy who was with us(wasn't really a mate of anybodies, just tagged along) decided to get a bit lippy with me. So I asked him to repeat himself and got in his face about it, he swung and missed so I threw back and hit him, pulled back on the punch as it was the first I'd ever thrown. He left after that.

Next day at school all day the talk was he had people coming after me at the end of the day. So end of the day comes and my friends decided to wait around with me after school (around 20 or so, 10 more were waiting across the road watching if anything kicked off) About 5 or 6 guys are there mouthing off at me, in true GD fashion I was telling them to come at me. They all just keep mouthing then walk off around the corner, so we followed them and find them all hauling ass, pretty sad to be honest.

Have been hit twice without throwing anything back. Some kid at school had told his brother I'd hit him (never seen the kid before) so his brother shows up with 4 other guys and charge upto me and smacked me right in the head. Then threw one of those giant pieces of wood they use when they plant small trees at me.

Second was Australia day, was completely blind drunk. My sister invited some ****wit around and he was in the backyard smoking weed. Not knowing who he was, I asked him politely if he wouldn't mind taking off, as we were uncomfortable with someone we didn't know being over. Night goes on and we realise my sister was gone. Her mate takes off thinking it was the guy from earlier, so I take off with him to go find her. We walk into the park in my street and are calling her name when a group of 10 or so guys walk upto us. My mate is talking to the guy I'd asked to leave, I found out they went to school together and didn't like eachother. It's about 2am at this point so I can't see what's going on exactly but I'm talking to one guy trying to calm the situation. He was all for calming things down, then I hear my mate get punched and I see some huge bloke with what I'm guessing was a pole coming at me. Next thing I know I'm getting belted in the head, then falling to my ass. Spent the next 9 hours in hospital.

The scariest I've been involved in was a giant school brawl. No bullshit, it seemed the entire school had gathered on this basketball court to see two guys go at it. As the giant circle formed, had a perfect view at the very front. So they start getting into it when punches are getting thrown from left right and center. Everybody who had gathered to watch it ended up brawling, don't know what kicked it off, but was the scariest fight I've been involved in. Was hilarious hearing the principal losing his shit over the announce system at the entire school.

The worst I've seen, was again from school. What seemed an asian gang had gathered at the tafe across from the school, waiting for one of my friends. In order to get to the train station to get home, we have to cross through the tafe. We walk over and they rush him, about 10-20 guys are just relentlessly laying the boots in. One guy pulls my mate out and drags him into the car park and continues booting him in the face. Lost track of what went on from there until we saw him slamming my friends head against the car door. :eek:
Asians beating up a white guy

charger_07 or whoever you are, thats racist.gif

**** you're a hero.

You would get absolutely killed if you were ever in a fight.

Got into a fight at a club. My friend was being an idiot and dancing with a girl, her boyfriend came over and pushed him. My friend pushed him back, so the girls BF hit him. Friend who got hit, his twin brother jumped in and I looked to my left and saw 2 of girls BF's friend coming over.

I hit one, my other friend started throwing haymakers and hit around 10 people (this was happening on a packed dancefloor), Security came and were dragging me away, so this kid got up and hit me while I was being held, I ended up being dragged out while I was pretty much unconscious. I remember waking up to some girls asking if I was alright, one freaking out because she thought I was dead, drunk bitches.

Another in footy. We were playing a team who were pretty shit. We were beating them, but hadn't really kicked away. They started to get a bit of momentum and got within 2-3 goals, so everyone was a bit on edge. Our player took a mark, had a shot and started celebrating because he thought it was in. turns out it wasn't and the other team started calling him and idiot, etc.

So he pushed one of them and then it was on. Everyone just throwing punches, I dragged some guy away (their ruckmen) and I was trying to throw uppercuts but they were disgraceful. He kneed me in the face and I went down, ended up in the middle of the brawl and got stood on by everyone. Game got called off, 3 of our players got suspended and we went out in straight sets in the finals.