final 8

dockerbabe

Aug 18, 2000
perth wa australia
fremantle
who else thinks that the finals series should be changed so the teams are more even

i recon it should be 1vs2 3vs4 5vs6 7vs8
and i also think there should be a finals series for the bottom 8 just so they can keep playing propper comp what does everyone else think

I think the fact that we are getting the #1 and #2 teams playing in a semifinal is a travesty that should not happen.

Why are we giving middle teams on the ladder an easier road to the grand final than the team on top? I've never liked the final 8 system in any form because of this.

The top two teams should NEVER meet until the Grand Final, providing they get there. Why should Essendon be forced to play the Blues AGAIN while Melbourne draws the Kangaroos.
This whole draw is weighted towards weaker teams. The only solution might be either a semifinal double chance or eliminating double chances altogether and playing 1v8, 2v7, 3v6, 4v5.

Originally posted by dockerbabe:
who else thinks that the finals series should be changed so the teams are more even

i recon it should be 1vs2 3vs4 5vs6 7vs8
and i also think there should be a finals series for the bottom 8 just so they can keep playing propper comp what does everyone else think

What happens in week 2, dockerbabe

------------------
for all your footballing needs visit my AFL web-site at www.bigfooty.com/users/afl/eastsydney

Only one reason why #1 & #2 won't be playing off for the premiership.

#2 wasn't good enough to beat #3 when it counted.

If they can get it together then maybe #1 may not even get there.

Stealth Bomber,

You've got it in on. Eliminate double chances alltogether.

Have 1v8, 2v7, 3v6, 4v5 in knockout quarter finals, followed by semi-finals, then the Grand Final.

It's TOTAL bullshit at the moment.

Carlton and the Kangaroos both lost in week one, but if they win their preliminary finals, they will be in the Grand Final. If Essendon lose ONE match this week (just like carlton and the Kangas lost ONE match) then the Dons are out.

Work that out. It's f*cked. Not so much the knockout nature, which I have no problem with, but the fact that our great season will be deemed irrelevant.

21 wins forgotten ? Absolute bullshit.

If we lose to 8th in a quarter final and are eliminated I don't mind so much as long as we were recognized for being the best team over 6 months. (like ManU are, even if they go out in the first match of the FA Cup)

I've said it before, and i'll say it again, it is in the best interests of the competition, if the finals are a seperate tournament to the H&A, with the winner of the GF, being champions of the knockout finals series only. NOT champions of the whole year.

Imagine if it's a Blues-Roos GF. What crap. The General public wouldn't even acknowledge the winner of that match as the best anyway. The winner, would obviously be called "premiers", but it would be a meaningless title, due to the fact that the best (i.e premier) team of the competiton (Essendon) wasn't in it.

Finals are so frickin overrated it is unbelievable. I saw one of the most pathetic games of football in my life today (Carl- Bris). It was rubbish. Intensity lifts in finals does it ? What crap. Yeah, some finals are intense, but so are some H&A matches too. Finals are just a game of footy. Its a game of footy that overrides all the good work that a team strives to acheive over 6 months.

A final is no more likely to be intense or pressurized than a H&A game. It's a game of footy. I've been to over 40 finals in my life, and whilst they are exciting, the one flaw is that they deem irrelevant what a club has acheived over 22 weeks. This is an unacceptable flaw.

Strangley, I went to both finals this weekend, and when they played the national anthem, I got goose bumps. But when the game started, I just felt, "What a laod of hype. It's just a game of footy. With all the hype given to thses finals, I thought they were supposed to be good"

Fans love the "glory" and the "event" status of the Grand Final, so making it the culmination of a 4 week tournament will not undermine it's status at all. Not in the slightest. Fans don't care about being the best. They just want to glory of winning that "hyped" match, even if they're the 5th best team.

The whole system gets me so angry. Why the hell did I bother going to every match this season ? All our great wins, irrelevant....the lot of them. That sucks.

We should allready have been declared Home and away champions. How many god damn wins does it take to prove you are the comps best team ?

God the whole system pisses me off.

Good point, Servo.
If Carlton really were the number 2 team they would've beaten Melbourne.
Really, Melbourne are the number 2 team because they beat Carlton when a mattered most, in the final, so it still could be 1 v 2 in the GF if you look at it that way.

------------------
for all your footballing needs visit my AFL web-site at www.bigfooty.com/users/afl/eastsydney

Servo,

2 dominated 3 for three quarters. they played beter and proved they were a better team.

Unfortunatley, upsets happen, and 3 beat 2, despite being outplayed.

This does not mean that 3 is better than 2. it just means they were better in the last quarter.

Port beat Carlton in Round 21, and it sure as hell doesn't mean they're a better team.

1st and 2nd should be SEEDED to play each other in the GF. 1st should play 8th, and 2nd should play 7th. All knockout.

It's bloody stupid at the moment. We've got 1v2 in one prelim, with 3v4 in the other. All because of ONE upset. And Essendon is the team that is penalised.

All our season is irrelevant up till now. What a waste.

Originally posted by Dan24:

Have 1v8, 2v7, 3v6, 4v5 in knockout quarter finals, followed by semi-finals, then the Grand Final.
It's TOTAL bullshit at the moment.
Carlton and the Kangaroos both lost in week one, but if they win their preliminary finals, they will be in the Grand Final. If Essendon lose ONE match this week (just like carlton and the Kangas lost ONE match) then the Dons are out.
21 wins forgotten ? Absolute bullshit.
Imagine if it's a Blues-Roos GF. What crap. The General public wouldn't even acknowledge the winner of that match as the best anyway. The winner, would obviously be called "premiers", but it would be a meaningless title, due to the fact that the best (i.e premier) team of the competiton (Essendon) wasn't in it.
A final is no more likely to be intense or pressurized than a H&A game. It's a game of footy. I've been to over 40 finals in my life, and whilst they are exciting, the one flaw is that they deem irrelevant what a club has acheived over 22 weeks. This is an unacceptable flaw.
Fans love the "glory" and the "event" status of the Grand Final, so making it the culmination of a 4 week tournament will not undermine it's status at all. Not in the slightest. Fans don't care about being the best. They just want to glory of winning that "hyped" match, even if they're the 5th best team.
The whole system gets me so angry. Why the hell did I bother going to every match this season ? All our great wins, irrelevant....the lot of them. That sucks.
We should allready have been declared Home and away champions. How many god damn wins does it take to prove you are the comps best team ?

Dan24:
1. If Essendon lose this weeks Preliminary Final match, then that makes them a team of very good footballers, who just couldn't win when it matters.
2. Yes, Kangaroos and Carlton have already lost. But once, you get to the preliminary finals, you should have to go all the way without a loss. The reason for the double chance is for teams that finished high on the ladder, a second chance if their overcome by nerves. The first 2 weeks of the finals are to decide who are the best 4 teams in the competition. The second 2 weeks is a KNOCKOUT competition with the best 4 teams in the competition.
3. The finals could not become seperate to the H and A rounds because that would make the competition unfair, due to their been 22 rounds and 16 clubs.

------------------

If you ask me I think they should get rid of the finals altogether. Then have 30 rounds (playing everyone twice) and who ever is on top wins. That's basically how it is done in the Premier League!!!

Speeking of the Premier League, GO THE RED DEVILS!!!!

WCE2000,

Stop talking crap. You spent that whole post telling me how it is NOW. I don't need to read that.

I'm talking about how it SHOULD be. Anyone can lose ONE match and be upset by an inferior team. It could happen to Essendon this week. You can keep your "knockout" competition, from the prelim onwards....fine. I like knockout.

Just DON'T let it override 22 weeks of hard work, that's all.

Oh, and don't talk to me about the unfair draw. The H&A is unfair, yes. But the finals are 10 times worse. Firstly, you only play 3 of the other 7 finalsists, perhaps avoiding the best team if you are lucky. Lower teams can get a second chance, while highr teams can be eliminated in the PF or GF after one loss. It's f*cked.

Both the H&A and the finals are unfair, but the finals are MORE unfair. Of the two, the Home and Away gives a MUCH more accurate reflection of who is the best team. It is also 10 times harder to finish on top (i.e peak over 22 weeks), than it is to win the Grand Final.

You say crap like "If Essendon lose this weeks Preliminary Final match, then that makes them a team of very good footballers, who just couldn't win when it matters."

That is such a stpuid comment.

IF the AFL gave top spot more recognition, then you'd be saying: "Carlton finished 5 games behind Essendon. They just couldn't win often enough, when it counted. if they did, then they would have finished on top and been champions, but they didn't, so they weren't good enough"

That's what you would be saying.

But becasue NO recogniton is given to top, you said that other garbage instead.

The whole system is plain wrng, and it annoys the shit out of me. Every win you have should get you one win closer to your ultimate goal.

Even if we win the GF, it doesn't stop the problem.

ok well if no one agrees with me on that one fine but how does every one think the finals should be it's unfair to some teams and way to easy for other teams
now that i think of it i agree with the person who said don't have finals just hav 30 rounds play each team 2 times and give the team on the top the trophy

I reckon if you're going to dominate a competition for 22 rounds then there should be fair reward for a season's work.

I see the finals played over four weeks with the top eight teams ranked 1 through 8.

In week one the top four play the bottom four in reverse rankings with top four having home advantage, ie 1 vs 8 at 1's home state etc.

The teams are then re ranked so that you have the four winners ranked 1 through 4 depending on their ranking prior to the games and the bottom four likewise. You then eliminate teams ranked 7 & 8.

The process is repeated with the remaining sides with 1 vs 6 etc and at the end two more teams are eliminated.

And again with the final four in a preliminary final pretty well like it is now. And of course the GF

The way I see it there is an advantage to finish as high as possible after home & away
season. If you work it out you'll see that the advantage is scaled so that is prefferable to finish 7th rather than 8th by way of oposition in first round. Also better 1st than 2nd because of same reason plus it is impossible to be eliminated if they lose in either (but not both) of first two rounds, for 2nd it's extremely unlikely but not impossible to be eliminated in 2nd round.

It is also an advantage to win each final match by way of improved ranking for next round.

There's other advantages too including home ground, likelyhood of being eliminated and calibre of oposition for all positions.

I realise this doesn't allow for a week off but that means more footy for us and perhaps a more even prelim.

I also realise that this won't satisfy those of you keen to do away with finals altogether. But as far as I'm concerned each player, when he pulls on a jumper at the start of the year has only one goal in mind. That is to win that one game that counts in September. Without finals, this season would have effectively finished more than a month ago. This way at least you reap what you sow, in terms of ease of passage to that last game.

Look forward to your thoughts
smile.gif

My problem with the whole thing is simple: We could easily have a grand final of two teams that LOST FIRST ROUND MATCHES.

If you lose in the first round, you don't deserve a second chance IMO, no matter who you are. Why should teams that lose the first playoff be rewarded while teams that lose in the second round be sent home empty handed?

Neither Carlton nor North should even be allowed a chance to play in the GF IMO. And right now I wouldn't be surprised if both of them make it.

Do you think a team that loses by 21 GOALS in a FINAL deserves a shot at the GF?

Originally posted by dockerbabe:
\
now that i think of it i agree with the person who said don't have finals just hav 30 rounds play each team 2 times and give the team on the top the trophy

Dockerbabe,
No, i don't like the idea of no finals. I get really worked up and excited about footy finals. Without them, footy would never be the same. Although I do think the finals has to be changed a bit.

Oh and by the way, I bet you failed English at school.

Richmondfan, You said it needs changing but you did suggest how?

I was the one who suggested getting rid of the finals altogether because I can't see any other way to change the finals setup so as to remove the problem of two teams who lose in the first round of the finals, actually being able to play each other in the GF. I agree with Stealth Bomber and Dan24, It complete bullshit!!

Dan24:
Is this a better finals series for you:
Top 6:
Week 1:
3 v 6 (Loser Out)
4 v 5 (Loser Out)
Week 2:
1 v Lowest Placed Winner (Winner in GF, Loser Out)
2 v Highest Placed Winner (Winner In GF, Loser Out)
Week 3:
Grand Final

Under this system, on team gets a double chance, however, 1st and 2nd get the first week of finals off.

Even Still, there is no chance that the AFL would adopt that system because there is only 5 games, compared to 9 now, which mean about half-as-much revunue from the finals.

------------------

richmondfan 1 i'm still at skool and doing very well in english actually
as for the finals system i think in the first round the 4 teams that loose drop out instead of some teams getting a second chance this is wat i think
game 1 1vs8
gane 2 2vs7
game 3 3vs6
game 4 4vs5
and the losers of this round are out
2nd round
winner game 1 vs winner game 4
winner game 2 vs winner game 3
losers drop out
gf
2 teams that won

At last !!

Some sensible ideas.

Dockerbabe. You're right. If you lose you should be out. Essendon can go out after one loss in the prelim, or the GF THIS YEAR, so why can't they go out in the first week too ? Same diff.

Knockout i the way to go. Then, if you win, you proceed. if you lose, you're gone.

Obviously, 1st plays 8th, so that the top two teams are SEEDED to play each other in the Grand Final.

It's like tennis. There are no second chances in a tennis tournament. The top players get "easier" matches, and they are not drawn to lay the seeds until later in the tournament.

WCE2000- I think that system you said is fine. It's what they do in the NFL actually.

1st and 2nd proceed directly to the semi-finals, while 3 to 6 lay in quarter finals.

But what I've bene saying is treat all 8 teams equally. I want to un-link" the finals from the H&A. Make them seperate tournaents. Then, the winerof the GF is champions of the 4 week finals series only.

If the top two teams get a week off, then it "links" the finals to the H&A. it doesn't make tem seperate.

The best way to make top spot somethign to aspire to in it's own right is to give it more recognition. Then, to have all 8 teams in the fnals treated equally in knockout tournament.

Although, if they're going to persist with the current format, then your final 6 is a good idea. As long as it's totally knockout.

Finals are NOT about getting second chances. They're about performing on the day.

final 8