Multiplat Final Fantasy XIII

• Thread starter Thread starter Zarrix

I've heard that the difficulty level really amps up as soon as the game and the game world opens up.

Even now I've just reached a part where you can choose your 3-character team from the full cast of 6 characters. It's a pretty difficult choice.

I think im pretty close to the whole group opening up and i'm already down on who i want
lightning snow and vanille as dmg/heals

I had Lightning(rav/med), Fang(comm/sab) and Snow(rav/comm) as my team, but just swapped Snow out for Vanille. I wasn't using him that much as a Commando and Vanille's higher magic stat immediately made things quicker. Might bring him back, everyone sharing CP certainly makes things easier.

I've enjoyed the game a lot. It may not be the greatest game ever the SE hype machine was promoting it to be, but it's still a bloody good game and a worthy entry to the series. Shits all over XII. Only problem I have is one with open world games generally and the Dark Mountain sidequests specifically: I hate spending ages running over a field just to get the name of a monster, then having to run back across that same, huge field just to kill the damn thing. I can stand linearity because I know I'll progress the story when I get there, but I haaaaate just backtracking across the same areas all the time.

Love Fang to bits. She's a brilliant change from both the typical FF demure little princess and the typical FF silent, mysterious badass. Just wish she'd been given a slightly less bogan voice. Also, could be my imagination or the fact that, unlike Vanille, they may have had an American voice her, but she almost sounds more like a Kiwi at times.

On the other side of things: **** you, Hope. Stop ruining Lightning, stop blaming Snow, and just shut the **** up. His magic stat is the best in the game but I refuse to use him over Vanille on principle.

I had Lightning(rav/med), Fang(comm/sab) and Snow(rav/comm) as my team, but just swapped Snow out for Vanille. I wasn't using him that much as a Commando and Vanille's higher magic stat immediately made things quicker. Might bring him back, everyone sharing CP certainly makes things easier.

I've enjoyed the game a lot. It may not be the greatest game ever the SE hype machine was promoting it to be, but it's still a bloody good game and a worthy entry to the series. Shits all over XII. Only problem I have is one with open world games generally and the Dark Mountain sidequests specifically: I hate spending ages running over a field just to get the name of a monster, then having to run back across that same, huge field just to kill the damn thing. I can stand linearity because I know I'll progress the story when I get there, but I haaaaate just backtracking across the same areas all the time.

Love Fang to bits. She's a brilliant change from both the typical FF demure little princess and the typical FF silent, mysterious badass. Just wish she'd been given a slightly less bogan voice. Also, could be my imagination or the fact that, unlike Vanille, they may have had an American voice her, but she almost sounds more like a Kiwi at times.

On the other side of things: **** you, Hope. Stop ruining Lightning, stop blaming Snow, and just shut the **** up. His magic stat is the best in the game but I refuse to use him over Vanille on principle
Definetely agree with the bold. I used to use Lightning, Vanille and Fang but a few side missions into Chapter 11 and I've switched Fang out for Sazh. His buffs are far too important to miss out on (especially haste) and I don't lose out on debuffs since Vanille is a decent saboteur too.

Read and heard mixed things about this game. Now that it has been out for a while and people have had a chance to play...

What's it like?

How's the combat system? Is it similar to FFXII where you can sit back and they auto attack. Or are you more involved?

Storyline? Any good?

Music score? Most FFs have terrific scores, how is this one?

Recomend it? Want to buy it but can't afford all the games I want and there are a few on the list.

oh and ps. please no spoilers :)

Read and heard mixed things about this game. Now that it has been out for a while and people have had a chance to play...

What's it like?

How's the combat system? Is it similar to FFXII where you can sit back and they auto attack. Or are you more involved?

Storyline? Any good?

Music score? Most FFs have terrific scores, how is this one?

Recomend it? Want to buy it but can't afford all the games I want and there are a few on the list.

oh and ps. please no spoilers :)

Nice pretty game with really good audio.

That said I found the game disappointingly boring due to linearity and the lack of decision making required in combat. That said it apparently DOES improve later on but I appear to lack the commitment to get to that stage.

Honestly, FF13 was the poorest excuse for an RPG I have ever played. A complete and utter joke of a "game", and something which Square-Enix should be trying to forget existed, not expanding.

Seriously, S-E, go take a look at ff7-9, take that template, make it with pretty graphics and nice cut-scenes, hire someone decent to write the story who doesn't consider "cheese" an emotive response and take back the reputation you lost with ff 13 and 14.

Just started chapter 13 last night and I must say I've really enjoyed the game so far. 9 is probably still my favourite but this comes second or third for mine. Love the emphasis on fighting rather than mini-games and childish antics like Chocobos and the like.

Have taken my time to really explore the worlds and fight basically everything I see so am up to 86 hours......fair to say I can't wait to finish it by now. For one reason or another, I never fully completed any of 7-10 (got close on 7 before my mate accidentally saved over my file, got close on 9 and 10 also).

Will look into XIII-2, however won't get my expectations up after playing X-2.

Just started chapter 13 last night and I must say I've really enjoyed the game so far. 9 is probably still my favourite but this comes second or third for mine. Love the emphasis on fighting rather than mini-games and childish antics like Chocobos and the like.

Have taken my time to really explore the worlds and fight basically everything I see so am up to 86 hours......fair to say I can't wait to finish it by now. For one reason or another, I never fully completed any of 7-10 (got close on 7 before my mate accidentally saved over my file, got close on 9 and 10 also).

Will look into XIII-2, however won't get my expectations up after playing X-2.
Perhaps we have the same mate. I had a clutz of a mate do exactly the same thing.....72hrs gone.

I've got a copy of FFXIII here, and chucked it on the other night, but as yet, have not got stuck into it.

Perhaps we have the same mate. I had a clutz of a mate do exactly the same thing.....72hrs gone.

I've got a copy of FFXIII here, and chucked it on the other night, but as yet, have not got stuck into it.

I actually had about the same amount of hours as you Gal. Was actually (kind of) funny, I remember watching my mate playing it while we were just chillin' in my room. He was around 15 hours into it by now (used to come over a lot) and went to save his game...

I always worried whenever he saved his game because he would always do it so quickly, basically mashing the 'X' button (PS1 obviously) the whole time. This time, he didn't change to the correct save file in time before he started mashing the button, and then even managed to confirm the save over my file because he was still pressing the button.

We then both looked at each other in horror before he promptly jumped out of his seat toward the Sony to shut it off....but it was too little too late.

As for getting stuck into XIII, I highly recommend it. Just be prepared for the long haul. I reckon disc 2 (3 disks on 360) got a little boring for me for a while and I had a couple of months break from the game during it, however disc's 1 and 3 are really good and I'm very glad I did get back into it.

Leaked trailer, pretty low quality though.

[youtube]MRX-jNrul3g[/youtube]

Pictures are better.

1295350175239.jpg

587658e1.jpg

3f7871ca.jpg

3dc67a79.jpg

b23266c8.jpg

The poorest of the FF franchise in terms of the battle system. Could not stand it. Mind you though, the graphics was amazing.

I just wish SE would stop wasting time and money and recreate the world of FF7 in FF13 technology. Would guarantee that sales would go through the atmosphere.

Finally finished the game!!! 92 hours later....lol

Even managed to defeat the last 3 bosses without failing once. Really epic ending, if maybe a little confusing, and I loved the game. Was a great story.

I'm finding the take "5 steps..have a fight" gameplay quite tedious at the moment, and I'm only a bit of an hour into the game.

Please tell me it opens up a bit?

The constant 'fighting' really brings the game down for me so far, especially considering that there's so little to the actual fighting. There's no real variance to it at all...so far.

It's just wasting time that I could be actual exploring the world or unravelling the plot.

I'm finding the take "5 steps..have a fight" gameplay quite tedious at the moment

Think your playing FF 7, 8 or 9 Gal. ;)

Seriously though, at least you can tell when you are going to get into a fight in FF13 and you can avoid fighting 80% of the time by running past if you want (though I wouldn't recommend it).

Compared to taking 2-3 steps and getting into random fight after random fight with basically no chance of avoiding the enemy because, well, there's no enemy there to be seen....I think it's a step up.

They need to just use FFX's battle system in every new game they make. Sick of 'gambits' and other things where you don't actively control each player.

So I finally finished this game and I genuinely have no idea what happened. I would have stopped playing this game ages ago if it wasn't for the amazing graphics and sound.

Looking forward to play FFXIII2. Hopefully it has a story line.

XIII-2 pretty good so far. Same battle system but you got monsters instead of 3rd character.

They'be basically taken 13 and refined it.

They would have to refine it into FF 6-12 for me to be interested. FF13 was one the biggest piles of shit I've ever played.

...and what the hell happened to 'Agito XIII' on PSP? That actually looked like a decent FF.