FINALS chat

How old are you Lsta? - i thought maybe old enough to hate Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton - but maybe not....... ;)

To be honest I used to have a soft spot for Essendon as my Mother passed when I was just 10 and she barracked for them - so held on to that for many years. Plus it was just a different colour sash, plus perhaps Sheedy! But the doping saga cured me of all that. May they plunge into obscurity some day - or worse - relocate to Tassie!
I was born in the early 90s so don’t really know about the deep-seated rivalry between the Big 4 clubs. Would love to see experience what people experienced in the 70s and 80s between these clubs though. I literally think 2018 and 2019 were the only times since 2002 (Richmond and Collingwood in both years).

However, I still dislike Collingwood and Carlton. They’d probably be my most hated sides I’d say. You don’t really avoid having an encounter with their supporters as a Richmond supporter lol

fu** their fans are annoying. I remember one Dreamtime game after we’d beaten them and some guy was deliberately talking super loud to his wife about how Jack only gets goals in junk time. It was junk time because we were pummelling them 🙃

Catching the train used to be a pain listening to them wark on like some sort of intelligentsia :
Classic Essendon supporter look:
1629709248261.png

Haha yep, this is a very unpopular opinion with anyone other than maybe Essendon fans and I 100% understand the reasons why. They don’t have the best history. I’ll horrify you guys even more though - the truth is that Essendon’s basically my second team lol and have been for years.

It’s because my brother supports them. If I attend a game, it’s usually him attending a Richmond game with me or me attending an Essendon game with him. I now find myself going for them in any circumstance that doesn’t hinder Richmond.

Therefore, I am fully on the Essendon bandwagon this finals series. GO ESSENDON!! :laughing:

My grandfather, dad, uncle, sister and father-in-law are bombers supporters. I have made a point of cutting them all out of my will..... and some of them are already dead.

Catching the train used to be a pain listening to them wark on like some sort of intelligentsia :
Classic Essendon supporter look:
View attachment 1214754
Nah this is your typical Essendon fan.

1. neck beard ✅
2. Flat peak cap ✅
3. Stickers still on flat peak ✅

1629710076755.jpeg

This year will probably be the first year ever that I don't watch the finals. The game looks shit and the umpires are also useless. I can guarantee you that it will be a contrived flag to get either Melbourne, GWS, Geelong or Brisbane the flag.

In saying that, I want Sydney to win it as I genuinely dislike a lot of the other clubs.
Melbourne - Supporters piss me off and have been given the biggest ride by the AFL. Paid for a new CEO/President, Paid for Paul Roos and given the biggest leg up in modern history
Port Adelaide - The worst supporters going around. I swear the CSIRO must be doing some sort of sociological study about humans regressing back to primates. Kochie as well pisses me off as a football administrator. Runs a club and doesn't understand the rules of the grand final.
Geelong - Danger and Hocking. Seriously if the Taliban team up with North Korea they could nuke that shithole and I would be perfectly ok. Would also love to have Gill force Hocking to perform Seppuku after what he has done to the game. In saying that I would love to seem them lose in the Granny again just to have new wank bank material of Chris Scott having a sook.
Brisbane - Used to like them but now hate them. Fagan is a flog and I would rather die than having to utter the phrase "Mitch Robinson is a premiership player".
Western Bulldogs - 2016 annoyed the shit out of me. "Everyone's second team", Nope. Was gifted the 16 flag with real obvious cheating by the men with the whistle.
Sydney - Yeah Buddy is a tool but I kinda respect them as a side. Like Kennedy.
GWS - The AFL Club equivalent of Dubai. Like any rich entitled trust fund twat, was given a Bugatti for as a gift for existing but then smashed it into a tree whilst driving drunk. Got of the car with a fanny pack, Ralph Lauren polo and a stupid hat and said "What? Wasn't my fault, can I have another draft pick?"
Essendon - Cheated and got rewarded with pick number 1. AFL basically said that the Australian and World Doping organisations didn't know shit and gave them gifts. Basically a drug dealer who went to prison for 2 years and was allowed to keep their ill gotten gains.

How old are you Lsta? - i thought maybe old enough to hate Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton - but maybe not....... ;)

To be honest I used to have a soft spot for Essendon as my Mother passed when I was just 10 and she barracked for them - so held on to that for many years. Plus it was just a different colour sash, plus perhaps Sheedy! But the doping saga cured me of all that. May they plunge into obscurity some day - or worse - relocate to Tassie!

View attachment 1214728
I didn’t have a soft spot but I was as envious AF that a few Richmond blokes (sheedy judkins Morris power Keane wood) lead them to a flipping dynasty and put them back on the map after being irrelevant since the 60s while we were perennial cellar dwellers for eons

Nah this is your typical Essendon fan.

1. neck beard ✅
2. Flat peak cap ✅
3. Stickers still on flat peak ✅

View attachment 1214773
After Dogs flog them Sunday

1598252130017.jpeg

Have you managed to preserve the stickers on your flat peak? Have heard that can be a challenge at times
Yeah no issues there m8.

The salt from the collective tears of the 60,000 people left who still bother to support Carlton acts as a surprisingly robust preserving agent, I’ve found.

I remember when the dons were a good side without being doped up and their supporters were flogs. Kevin Sheedy was also a moron who carried on like he invented football. The bombers can jam it in week one and be proud of achieving nothing.

Geelong can go in straight sets with Chris Scott making every excuse under the sun as to why he is a successful failure just before half his side retires and they join Collingflog in their rightful place of bottom 4.

Care factor pretty low.

But I'm going for GWS.

As long as Essendon lose this week and Geelong go out sometime I'm happy. Prefer the Cats lose in straight sets, good draft pick.
I think this is where I’m at.

Essendon need to lose another final and have their streak pushed out to 6500 days. Would probably like their drought to mirror ours in length.

Cats… for the salt mine.

I remember when the dons were a good side without being doped up and their supporters were flogs. Kevin Sheedy was also a moron who carried on like he invented football. The bombers can jam it in week one and be proud of achieving nothing.

Geelong can go in straight sets with Chris Scott making every excuse under the sun as to why he is a successful failure just before half his side retires and they join Collingflog in their rightful place of bottom 4.

Wish you would say what you really mean and not beat around the bush!:think::D

Looking forward to Bulldogs v Essendon. Essendon lose and the drought lives on. Bulldogs lose and it goes down as one of the biggest chokes ever. Top two all year, then drop to fifth in the last round, then out of the finals in week one. I'm laughing now just thinking about it.

Now that Richmond aren't playing finals, it'll be nice to just sit back and take pleasure in watching other teams fail.

my prefferred order:

Melbourne -- Uncle met his wife in line for tickets to the 2000 GF, so if it wasn't for the MFC I wouldn't have my cousin. They're all diehard supporters and I'd like them to get a taste.
Brisbane -- Home city
Port Adelaide -- history, haven't had much success, and not for a while
GWS -- still have a plastic coating but they're a club now I feel, would be cool to see em get their first
Bulldogs -- Actually still like them, nothing against a flag here, love the bulldog tragician's writings, love 2016. Just get under the others cos they're young somehow and just won a flag.
Sydney -- success already. (how'd they get 15W this year? they just had 17W 5 years ago, someone else's rebuild should of worked out, but everybody just keep ****ing it up)
Essendon -- //
Geelong -- //