Finals Talk 2025

We are assured of one finals game.
But we all hope it will be more and hopefully make it to another grand final.
We came from outside the top 4 last year but it will be much harder this year with our present injuries.

Going into the Hawks game a win gets us top 4 a loss puts the Hawks above us.

Assuming we lose, is it possible to hold on to 4th spot.
Very doubtful as all the following would need to happen.

Melbourne needs to beat the Pies
Dogs need to beat Dockers.
Saints need to beat Giants
Suns need to lose one game against Port or Bombers.

I don't think the footy gods will allow all those results to happen in one round

We came from outside the top 4 last year but it will be much harder this year with our present injuries.

I don't think the footy gods will allow all those results to happen in one round
The chance of us getting the double chance if we lose on Sunday is neglible.
This is the second week of finals for us.
We needed to win last week
And we need to win this week to secure a top four finish
Even if we lose on Sunday, I won’t give up hope
But winning the flag from outside the top four will be very very difficult for us this year.

If we lose i would still like to hang onto 5th or 6th but that may also be difficult.
Be interesting how some games unfold over the weekend

Pies v Demons at the MCG is the first one. You would think the Pies have too much to play for and win
A Demons win will help us to hold onto 5th, 6th but not a guarantee.

If we lose i would still like to hang onto 5th or 6th but that may also be difficult.
Be interesting how some games unfold over the weekend

Pies v Demons at the MCG is the first one. You would think the Pies have too much to play for and win
A Demons win will help us to hold onto 5th, 6th but not a guarantee.
If we lose we need WB to win, and one other upset of the teams on 60 points (including GC).
If Freo win we need 2 upsets.

Not impossible. If Port turn up for a Hinkley/Boak send off they could roll Gold Coast.
Ross could bore GWS into submission… (though unlikely at Engie).
Max Gawn could drag Melbourne over the line in one last weekend of solidarity, before they all head off for a typical Melbourne off season of mad Monday punch-ons, mystery white powders, and a healthy dose of individual self-promotion.

Lions go back to back in amazing show of determination and heart. Fighting their way through a growing injury list they manage to win the Grand Final by 6 goals against a lacklustre Crows.
Not to mention the sh*t draw the AFL stuck us with while handing a couple of other clubs an easy ride. :mad: ...such an uneven competition it's ridiculous.
That said, we play our best this finals series, we win. No other club can beat our best and that's a proven fact.

What an amazing club. (Wish there was a Happy Clapper emoji)

Go Lions. :brisbane::brisbane::brisbane::brisbane::brisbane::brisbane:

Josh Dunkley on his Podcast earlier in the week said the boys are viewing it as though finals are starting this Sunday night.

If we win v Hawks and Neale, Berry, Lohmann are somewhere near 100% fit for the QF v the Cats we are a massive chance of going back2back IMO.

McKenna listed as one week away, so will be available for finals, I like him as an impact sub.

Hopefully Hipwood recovers faster than the 3-4 weeks listed and is up and about for our 2nd final if we're still alive, need Ty Gallop to step up in the meantime.

That would from our list leave Payne, Answerth, McCarthy and Coleman as being ruled out of any finals action. Payne and Answerth being unavailable could be the pivotal factors, I think we have Linc and Kiddy well covered.

Last year the week off between the last H & A game and finals gave us the respite needed to perform in the finals.
This year it looks like it will be more important.
The Cats on the other hand have just one injured player not in their best 23 and play the Tigers.
They won't need a week off, but the Lions will.

Josh Dunkley on his Podcast earlier in the week said the boys are viewing it as though finals are starting this Sunday night.

If we win v Hawks and Neale, Berry, Lohmann are somewhere near 100% fit for the QF v the Cats we are a massive chance of going back2back IMO.

McKenna listed as one week away, so will be available for finals, I like him as an impact sub.

Hopefully Hipwood recovers faster than the 3-4 weeks listed and is up and about for our 2nd final if we're still alive, need Ty Gallop to step up in the meantime.

That would from our list leave Payne, Answerth, McCarthy and Coleman as being ruled out of any finals action. Payne and Answerth being unavailable could be the pivotal factors, I think we have Linc and Kiddy well covered.

Hopefully McKenna can play the VFL final in the prefinals bye the weekend after next for some form

Dees won't beat the pies
Saints are definitely not beating the giants
I think the suns will lose against Port

So we'd better stay switched on

Not to mention the sh*t draw the AFL stuck us with while handing a couple of other clubs an easy ride. :mad: ...such an uneven competition it's ridiculous.
That said, we play our best this finals series, we win. No other club can beat our best and that's a proven fact.

What an amazing club. (Wish there was a Happy Clapper emoji)

Go Lions. :brisbane::brisbane::brisbane::brisbane::brisbane::brisbane:

How did the cats get the easy ride they did?

Anyone else booked flights and accommodation for the Grand Final. I am sure others have.

I ask this not because i am getting ahead of myself but i like to save some money if i can.

However, if we miss out which is more likely that making it, i will only be out of pocket $99 for a cash refund on airfares.
In the whole scheme of costs going to the GF from interstate i just put that $99 down to an insurance policy amount.

On the 2/8/25 i paid the return airfares leaving Brisbane Fri returning Sun. The return costs have risen $283 since then.

I paid the accommodation to Ovolo Sth Yarra on the Black Friday weekend 30/11/24 where we went the 2 previous years.
I paid $300 for 2 nights single room. Can cancel 2 days before for a full refund
Just checked now it is $720 for two nights. Both prices in the cheapest rooms called Go Go Snug

Anyone else booked flights and accommodation for the Grand Final. I am sure others have.
After the debacle of the family holiday last year ending up in Singapore, through a strange coincidence when the family said Tassie this year we happen to be passing through Melbourne on GF Day... what are the odds!

It's my Grandsons 18th birthday shindig on the Saturday night the first weekend of finals, hoping like hell the Lions are not playing that night.
I reckon at an 18th you’re excused for finding whatever tele is available and turning it on with the volume down and having a quiet beer with whatever other Lions fans you can rope in to join you.
…if his mates decide to rollout the speeches it could be your salvation!

I reckon at an 18th you’re excused for finding whatever tele is available and turning it on with the volume down and having a quiet beer with whatever other Lions fans you can rope in to join you.
…if his mates decide to rollout the speeches it could be your salvation!
I am giving the main speech/roast.

Lots of Lions fans will be there, we went to all 4 finals last year, was hoping to do the same this year, ah well 2 or 3 will have to do this year.

It's my Grandsons 18th birthday shindig on the Saturday night the first weekend of finals, hoping like hell the Lions are not playing that night.
Let's hope the footy gods will be in your favor.

Lions played Saturday 7.30pm last year. That was 5th v 8th.
1v4 was Sat 3.20
2v3 was Thursday night
6v7 was Friday night

Each year will be different. It also depends a little on if a WA team makes the 8.

Finals Talk 2025