Unofficial Preview Finals Week 1 - 2nd Qualifying Final - Geelong VS Fremantle @ Simonds Stadium

No sh*t. Very interesting.

You heard this on a Freo board or in real life?

Is this the real life?
Is it the Cattery?
Chartered a new flight
Can't escape Vlad's hypocrises
Open your eyes
Look up to the stands and see
It's packed with Geelong fans, We need no sympathy
Because we tackle hard, kick it low
We now have Fyfe, and Barlow
Anywhere the game goes, doesn't really matter to me, to me

Ballas, sucked them in again
He got inside their heads
Copped a high hit and looked dead
Mundy, he is just a gun
And now he's gone and kicked it all the way
Mayney, and 'Guuuuuuu
We love how much you try
You chase hard as if there's no tomorrow
Tackle on, tackle on, as if nothing else matters

Pavlich, your time has come
Send shivers down my spine
Two defenders at a time
Hilly, on the rebound - his turn to go
He leaves them all behind, breathtakingly smooth
Freo-oooo (anyway the game goes)
Make Geelong cry
And wish they'd never been born at all

I see a little silhouetto of a man
Is it Walters, or Neale? streaming forward a slick give-and-go
As quick as lightning - very very frightening; me -
Go Freo, Go Freo,
Go Freeeooooo - magnifico!

tumblr_lkp6ydOjkW1qc715vo1_500.gif

:rainbow: Anytime, Anywhere boys :)

Mar 2, 2010
Peel Thunder
Finals Preview by Numbers (The stats that matter)
0. The number of times Michael Barlow has lost to Geelong.
1. Geelong's last winning margin.
2. More games until Deboar plays his 100th. (Hasn't missed a game all year)
3. Our position on the ladder at the end of the H&A season.
4. The number of games Stevie J has missed this year due to suspension.
5. Freo players made the AA Squad this year
6. Number of players on Freo's list NOT to get a senior game this year.
7. Goals kicked last time we went down to Kardinya Park
8. Days notice for the venue choice.
9. Times Cam Sutcliffe has taken off the Green vest and made an impact this year.
10. The number on the back of our leading goal scorer thus far...
11. Changes Freo made to the side last week and will probably make again, which is an AFL record.
12. The amount of centimetres Sandilands is taller than Geelongs likely ruckmen he will line up against.
13. Disposals Crowley kept Selwood to last time they met
14. Number of players currently on Freo's injury list.

sumavich

Aug 29, 2006
perth
Well done Seppo, where on earth do you get this sort of information ?

Interesting article on Geelong's home ground history, and an interesting para from it :

Geoffrey Blainey was seven when his father first took him to see the Cats play at Corio Oval in 1937. He was struck by how well-dressed the spectators were - ordinary, working class people who donned suits and hats to stand in the outer. He can picture a similar scene at the one and only final played in Geelong, 40 years earlier.
''Things were still depressed - thousands of households had their main breadwinner on the Western Australian goldfields, and depended on the money that would arrive by post,'' the Geelong fan and renowned historian says of the VFL's first season. The tyranny of distance puts some perspective on the concerns Fremantle fans have about the task before them this Saturday.

Apr 7, 2010
West
Brewers
How ******* typical for us though that we're about to play in our second consecutive finals series for the first time and our best defender and almost unanimously most important player could conceivably miss out through injury both times.

A bit down today so I need to think a little more positively, the silver lining I guess is that Hawkins is very proppy (and historically hasn't set the world on fire against us) and if we win Luke gets another week off to get himself right. It's still s**t though.

Something I've been thinking about the final last year was how we absolutely smashed Bartel. I think we had Clancee and De Boer gang-banging him for most of the night and he looked absolutely rattled.

Hopefully something we can replicate.
Last years final was one of the worst games that i have seen Bartel play in a long time. However to be fair to the bloke he was playing with a crack in his navicular bone and his form has been far more consistent this year so i expect him to play well.

Players like Jimmy dont forget a performance like that in a hurry so he'll be keen to redeem himself.

vinum coupe

10k Posts Ruby Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor
Aug 4, 2005
Aussie cricket team
Bit of an update for our Western Australians.

Weather has been pretty schmick here for the last week.
We jumped really quickly from 15 degree days to 21. (no jokes thanks :) )
And plenty of wind to dry everything out.

Last couple of days have been 24/26 degrees.

You can just see the growth in everything going nuts.

We'll have a bit of rain over the next few days but nothing to worry about.
So I expect it will be a lightening track.

If it rains on the day, it might make the ground a bit slippery due to being firm and damp.

Weather man over and out.

StingBitten

The Midland Steal
May 31, 2012
Bayswater
Is this the real life?
Is it the Cattery?
Chartered a new flight
<SNIP>
Go Freo, Go Freo,

Dude that is ******* AMAZING!

Harry Reems

Aug 28, 2010
Is this the real life?
Is it the Cattery?
Chartered a new flight
Open your eyes

Mundy, he is just a gun
Mayney, and 'Guuuuuuu
We love how much you try

Two defenders at a time
Make Geelong cry

Go Freo, Go Freo,

Can we have the rest of the song please so that we can all do the Wayne's World head banging bit whilst singing along to Brian May's superb guitar playing?

yakka man

Aug 27, 2010
Peel Thunder
Is this the real life?
Is it the Cattery?
Chartered a new flight
Open your eyes

Mundy, he is just a gun
Mayney, and 'Guuuuuuu
We love how much you try

Two defenders at a time
Make Geelong cry

Go Freo, Go Freo,

Magnifico :thumbsu: . At first I read this normally and then I got to the bottom and realized it was Bohemian Rhapsody. That's when I saw the brilliance in it :D

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
Jul 9, 2010
Bit of an update for our Western Australians.

Weather has been pretty schmick here for the last week.
We jumped really quickly from 15 degree days to 21. (no jokes thanks :) )
And plenty of wind to dry everything out.

Last couple of days have been 24/26 degrees.

You can just see the growth in everything going nuts.

We'll have a bit of rain over the next few days but nothing to worry about.
So I expect it will be a lightening track.

If it rains on the day, it might make the ground a bit slippery due to being firm and damp.

Weather man over and out.

I keep waiting for it to rain. The CBD was pretty much grey all afternoon and it's still refusing to rain. Knowing my luck, it'll be pissin' down on Saturday and stop as soon as I'm on way to SouCro.

As a Cats fan, how cold will the ground be? How many layers? I was in about four or five last time, along with a scarf and beanie, and still felt it more than I ever have at the footy.

vinum coupe

10k Posts Ruby Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor
Aug 4, 2005
Aussie cricket team
I keep waiting for it to rain. The CBD was pretty much grey all afternoon and it's still refusing to rain. Knowing my luck, it'll be pissin' down on Saturday and stop as soon as I'm on way to SouCro.

As a Cats fan, how cold will the ground be? How many layers? I was in about four or five last time, along with a scarf and beanie, and still felt it more than I ever have at the footy.
Mate.

I have not been there in ages.

The top will be 15, and you know how Vic wind cuts through.
3 layers is my call.

Frigate

Jun 17, 2007
Liverpool
INTRODUCTION
Fremantle will be playing Geelong on Saturday, 7th of September at Simonds Stadium, the first time in history for an AFL finals match at this venue.
Simonds Stadium (Kardinya Park) is the narrowest ground used for AFL games at 170m x 115m (in contrast to Patersons Stadium at 175m x 135m). Some speculate that the dimensions of Simonds Stadium will suit Fremantle’s game style in allowing the pressure defence to lock down the contest keeping scores close. Others believe it will make it difficult for the Dockers to spread and counter attack. This may be the key for both teams, locking down the contest and taking opportunities when they present.

History says Geelong are incredibly consistent and difficult to beat at their home ground. Geelong have won 49 of its last 51 games at Simonds Stadium. Despite this amazing record, Geelong dropped a match in what can only be described as a good old fashioned choke earlier in the year against Brisbane. Geelong, 52 points up late in the 3rd quarter could not stop a blistering Lions outfit winning after the siren. They have been exposed at other times late in the year at Simonds including by Port in round 20 (Port kicking 6.3 in the last to Geelong 1.0), and then the last round resulting in the Cats winning by a point against Brisbane (Lions 6.3 to Cats 3.2 in the 4th).

Fremantle under Ross Lyon are unknown at Kardinya Park. They were convincingly beaten in round 14, however this was with perhaps the weakest team Fremantle played in 2013 (round 23 excluded). One thing Fremantle will take into this match is the elimination final victory against the Cats in 2012. Arguably the club's best win in history. The mantra indoctrinated into the Dockers from the head coach for 2012 was “anywhere, anytime”, a phrase Scott adapted midweek in some psychological games.

The opening contest promises to be fierce, given the hits and suspensions in recent contests. I predict this will be an extremely close fought, hard hitting contest, indeed “there will be blood”.

Jan 5, 2012
Is this the real life?
Is it the Cattery?
Chartered a new flight
Open your eyes

Mundy, he is just a gun
Mayney, and 'Guuuuuuu
We love how much you try

Two defenders at a time
Make Geelong cry

Go Freo, Go Freo,

tumblr_lkp6ydOjkW1qc715vo1_500.gif

I may have just sang it (very badly).

My missus was like " What the hell are you singing" :)

GilG

May 20, 2013
Los Angeles, California, USA
New York Mets
Is this the real life?
Is it the Cattery?
Chartered a new flight