Finals Week 1

I agree.

The home final preference (in terms of MCG vs Etihad) should go by ladder finishing position.

Hawthorn (MCG) > Geelong (MCG) > Collingwood (MCG) > Richmond (ETIHAD)

If the above four get home finals then that's how the priority should go.

Tough luck Richmond, it sucks but if you want to play a home final at the G then win more games and finisher higher on the ladder.

The wheels are in motion. Already overtaken Collingwood and got a 2.5% buffer at half time.

Good points.
I've tipped North to beat the Pies & Port to beat Carlton. North scraping into the finals hmm..
On what basis? We've lost Swallow, Thompson, Grima, Adams for the year, Tarrant was subbed out yesterday with an ailment, and Hansen might get a holiday for his hit on Luganis Franklin.
If the Pies are any good they should win comfortably. We could be in for our biggest loss of the year next week.

Until they play at a stadium that holds 50 thousand it is never going to happen.

You're probably right, but what about Gabba, Subiaco and SCG (before the new stadium)? None of them hold 50K.

Just on top spot. Lets say Hawks win by a couple of goals. What roughly would Geelong need to beat Lions by to leapfrog Hawks on %?

It would be irrelevant because Hawthorn are one game ahead. If they win, they get top spot. If they lose, they finish second if Geelong wins against Brisbane, as we currently have a higher percentage.

You're probably right, but what about Gabba, Subiaco and SCG (before the new stadium)? None of them hold 50K.
In each of those cases, there is no alternative within 50 odd k's that they could play at. Closest AFL ground with a greater capacity than the GABBA is the SCG, closest to the SCG is the MCG and Subiaco is Football Park. Problem for Geelong is it's a short trip up the highway to two stadiums with double the capacity. If Geelong was an extra 100k's away it would be a different story.

Tigers will be at the g regardless of the opposition, as will collingwood. That's what happens when you have a massive supporter base.

Tigers will not be at the G against Port. Just won't happen but will be funny seeing all the sooking and complaining from Tigers fans when the finals week one fixture is released.

Does anyone seriously think the club with the biggest membership in the AFL will play a final at Etihad?

It could happen if you wind up with a final V Port. It's a difficult situation and one the AFL and everyone else would rather not occur but it's just how it might work out this year with 4 Vic finals. The projected difference in crowd between a Geelong V Freo and Pies V Port may not be enough for the lower ranked final to be at the G. And before you jump in regarding the crowd last year for Cats Freo it will be bigger this year. Both clubs are performing better and it would likely be on Saturday afternoon/night which suits traveling Geelong supporters (and perhaps even Freo) better. It would get at least 55k.

Tigers will not be at the G against Port. Just won't happen but will be funny seeing all the sooking and complaining from Tigers fans when the finals week one fixture is released.

It could happen if you wind up with a final V Port. It's a difficult situation and one the AFL and everyone else would rather not occur but it's just how it might work out this year with 4 Vic finals. The projected difference in crowd between a Geelong V Freo and Pies V Port may not be enough for the lower ranked final to be at the G. And before you jump in regarding the crowd last year for Cats Freo it will be bigger this year. Both clubs are performing better and it would likely be on Saturday afternoon/night which suits traveling Geelong supporters (and perhaps even Freo) better. It would get at least 55k.
Moot point now as I don't think we'll play port and pies will however if it is pies will definately be at the g over cats freo. Afl will look at which will draw more supporters, pies port gets the nod there.

In each of those cases, there is no alternative within 50 odd k's that they could play at. Closest AFL ground with a greater capacity than the GABBA is the SCG, closest to the SCG is the MCG and Subiaco is Football Park. Problem for Geelong is it's a short trip up the highway to two stadiums with double the capacity. If Geelong was an extra 100k's away it would be a different story.

If the AFL had more regional sides in Victoria, they would all play their home finals in the big smoke!

Afl will look at which will draw more supporters, pies port gets the nod there.

Possibly but I don't think there will be much in it. Maybe 5-10 thousand. Will have to wait and see how things work out next week. Quite a few ladder shaping matches.

You wouldn't have a lot of confidence going into the finals if you had lost to both main contenders twice in the year and lost comfortably. I know Hawks lost to them last year in the GF but that was a bit of a choke. Their footy is about containing sides to a winnable score and they can't contain Hawks and Cats. If your only hope is a choke then that is going to be an iffy finals series.

Sydney lost 3 of their last 5 matches in 2012 but played a great September series

I don't think they'll be writing September off if we beat them on Friday night

Sydney lost 3 of their last 5 matches in 2012 but played a great September series

I don't think they'll be writing September off if we beat them on Friday night

Goodes was massive last year though, he hasn't played for 2 months now, going to be tough.

There is more chance of Shane Watson making back to back centuries than Collingwood playing a final at Etihad. Averaging close to 60,000 per game means there would be a farking riot at AFL house if this were to happen. Anyway I think this is how it will pan out.

Fri Night- Hawthorn v Sydney - MCG
Sat Arvo- Geelong v Fremantle - Etihad
Sat Night- Richmond v Carlton - MCG
Sun Arvo - Collingwood v Port Adelaide - MCG

Stop your whinging Cats fans. You get to play all the easy beats down at Simmonds Stadium and its not big enough for a finals crowd. Come to Melbourne and get the job done.

Go pies.

If this were the case going into finals

Week 1.
QF1: Hawks vs Swans: Hawks by 32 pts
QF2: Cats vs Dockers: Cats by 24 pts

EF1: Pies vs Power: Pies by 58 pts
EF2: Tigers vs Blues: Tigers by 44 pts

Week 2.
SF1: Swans vs Pies: Swans by 13 pts
SF2: Dockers vs Tigers: Tigers by 2 pts

Week 3:
PF1: Hawks vs Swans: Hawks by 41 pts
PF2: Cats vs Tigers: Cats by 55 pts

Week 4:
GF: Hawks vs Cats...not gonna tip this one, in case I jinx it and it all goes terribly wrong.

You can't play the same team in the Qualifying and Prelim finals. Cant believe people still don't get this.

No it's because they'll get at least 80k to their game and Geelong will get 60k. Precious supporters down Geelong way.
Going to draw 80k against Port are they? Don't be ####en ridiculous. And you can beat your chest all you like about how big your club is. If you finish 6th and draw Port you are some chance of playing your final at Etihad.

As for our apparent complaining how would u like placing second on the ladder and facing a possible Etihad final (that suits your opposition) because the 5 v 8 and 6 v 7 finals are likely to draw more than your game? Don't pretend like you'd be happy with that you would all sook to high heaven just like you will if you wind up at Etihad this year so don't give us the ignorant 'precious' bull shit please.

Funny how everyone refers to all of these pointless stats when talking of Ross Lyon. How about the fact that he had arguably the best list of the last 10 years and couldn't win a flag with it? His inability to play a game that stands up in finals, etc, etc..

He sure beats up shit sides though, I'll give him that.

Best list? Kidding surely. Saints had blokes like Eddy, Mcqualter and Peake running around in GF's. Have a think about that young fella.

Going to draw 80k against Port are they? Don't be ####en ridiculous. And you can beat your chest all you like about how big your club is. If you finish 6th and draw Port you are some chance of playing your final at Etihad.

As for our apparent complaining how would u like placing second on the ladder and facing a possible Etihad final (that suits your opposition) because the 5 v 8 and 6 v 7 finals are likely to draw more than your game? Don't pretend like you'd be happy with that you would all sook to high heaven just like you will if you wind up at Etihad this year so don't give us the ignorant 'precious' bull shit please.
Coupled by the fact the Pies haven't been to our home ground in 20 years, I would think there isn't any room for any Collingwood supporter to EVER complain about the FIXTURE.

Perhaps, instead of shifting us to Ethiad, they could move our final to our actual Home Ground which has similar capacity to Subiaco, so we can actually get some benefit from finishing second or first on ladder.

There will be 60k tigers supporters, 5-10k port supporters and then neutrals. You clearly can't grasp the fact that even though you get precedent over your opponent in the finals you don't get automatic choice of location over other home finalists. Collingwood and Richmond will play at the MCG, no matter who they play against. Hawthorn v Sydney will be at the MCG and if you play Fremantle it will be at Etihad. You're most likely shitting yourself because Ross Lyon coaches brilliantly there, suck it up and get over it.

You honestly have no clue if you believe Collingwood would get a home final scheduled at Etihad. You are being extremely ignorant if you believe otherwise.

Finals Week 1