Fire Harvey

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

This whole thread is a knee jerk reaction, Harvey and the team out performed pretty much everyones expectations. We played better today than we have since the bye.

Just wait for next week, we will murder the bombers. Keep the faith people!

I think, in all honesty, Harvey needs a little help in the coaching department. I don't think there is any disputing that he is a good coach and he has done a lot for this club. He is the first coach that we have had who has built the foundations for the future (with a little help from Chris Bond).

However, he could do with a seasoned assistant coach to give him an extra perception on match tactics. Obviously things changed in the final quarter and he wasn't sure how to prevent the haemorrhaging and thus the players ran around like arseholes who would have been better served playing auskick.

In know way is it a slight on Harvs at all. Some people just need a little help sometimes.

You may be right.....we missed the boat with Woewodin IMHO. I saw a lot of him at the sharks and he was certainly a good match day coach. HE wanted to stay in WA and we should have gone after him to replace Scott IMHO. Instead we let him go to Gold Coast??

You did show that you can play the MCG as comfortably as a Melbourne team when you are switched on which will make no difference between eigth and fifth.

A day game in fine weather helps in that regard. Same applies with AAMI, when we play there in good conditions I'm confident but that changes at night or if the weather sucks.

Oh dear :o

Worst knee-jerk reaction since some of the bullshit I come out with.

No way is Harvey to blame. Yeah he's made some interesting calls but for 3 quarters today, we were good. We fell away badly and it was the players to blame

They missed tackles, turned the ball over, dropped all intensity, not the coach

Shameful call

You may be right.....we missed the boat with Woewodin IMHO. I saw a lot of him at the sharks and he was certainly a good match day coach. HE wanted to stay in WA and we should have gone after him to replace Scott IMHO. Instead we let him go to Gold Coast??

Yeah, I reckon Woewodin would have been perfect. Regardless of how the end of his career played out he knew the game and he showed that at the sharks. Would have been a very useful midfield assistant coach.

Put the bottle down Dom.

I'd take Mick but as for the other two...you're avin a larf

You don't rate Neill Craig? Some coaches across a variety of sports just come across as being intelligent and in control - Craig's one of those IMO, and I like the fact he never makes excuses.

I reckon if you started a poll on the main board asking who's the better coach - Craig, Eade or Harvey - that our horse would run third.

Yeah, I reckon Woewodin would have been perfect. Regardless of how the end of his career played out he knew the game and he showed that at the sharks. Would have been a very useful midfield assistant coach.

He was very responsive with positioning and structural changes on matchday. I think Harvey has done and is doing some great work, but is still to slow to respond to opposition structural changes......

You have got to be kidding me. He out-coached Clarkson today. We were not supposed to be a chance against a genuine top-4 club... and we ran out of gas because we are lacking the cattle.

Settle the hell down everyone. The knee-jerk reactions are silly.

I'd like an assistant who's been at Sydney. Their attitude under Roos was faultless and they always played good hard tough honest footy. We could learn a lot from Roos IMHO.

Woewodin was not a good coach.

He is a poor coach, the only element that he bought to WAFL football was his interchange methods, 4 on 4 off.

His public speaking, tactical nouse and ability to stem the tide were below par.

He is only at an AFL club because of his Brownlow.

My issue with Harvs today was the use of Clarke.

He's a ruckman, presently, that's all he's good at, it's becoming pretty obvious that Rhys is gone, to play Clarke ahead of him on ball is just a public slap in the face.

Keep the humiliation indoors and play a Roberton who can at least run and create.

We ran out off puff, two ruckmen in a side is almost a thing of the past unless they can play forward.

Clarke's hands are painted on in the forward line.

Also, with Cyril looming as a danger target, think outside the square.

None of our defensive unit were suited to him.

Hill wasnt getting into the game much, play him on Cyril, lead Hill to the ball and make him honest the other way.

How many times did Cyril slip in behind the defence?

He was very responsive with positioning and structural changes on matchday. I think Harvey has done and is doing some great work, but is still to slow to respond to opposition structural changes......

That's the thing. Harvey is a fantastic coach but sometimes you need that different perspective. No coach can see everything change the opposition is making on the field without a little help from an extra pair of eyes. Of course, the question is now Woewodin is at the GC and Scott is gone who would be a good guy to bring in? How's Gavin Brown do for the Sharks?

You have got to be kidding me. He out-coached Clarkson today. We were not supposed to be a chance against a genuine top-4 club... and we ran out of gas because we are lacking the cattle.

Settle the hell down everyone. The knee-jerk reactions are silly.

Nobody really doubts Harvs as a coach but he was definitely out-coached in the final quarter.

I'd like an assistant who's been at Sydney. Their attitude under Roos was faultless and they always played good hard tough honest footy. We could learn a lot from Roos IMHO.

Yes, I'd like us to grab an assistant from the Swans, someone who's been there for a bit. Blakely? They force 50/50 contests everywhere, some of that would fit great with our talent.

Putting malthouse or Matthews or even Phil Jackson into the coaches seat 2 mins into the last qtr would have made zero difference. It's pretty simple guys, when the hawks turned up the heat no one could/wanted to stand up to the pressure. Sometimes clearances are about who wants the ball more rather than structure and positioning.

Oh dear :o

Worst knee-jerk reaction since some of the bullshit I come out with.

No way is Harvey to blame. Yeah he's made some interesting calls but for 3 quarters today, we were good. We fell away badly and it was the players to blame

They missed tackles, turned the ball over, dropped all intensity, not the coach

You're right, but at some stage the coach has to take responsibility for that. He recruited those players and he's trained them. And continues to select them (albeit without too many options). Whose fault is it when Johnson drops an uncontested mark, or misses a tackle? Well in the first couple of rounds, it's Johnson's. After that, the coach takes the fall.

Not that i'm close to being on he sack Harvey bandwagon - but the 'it's the players' excuse doesn't hold for a coach that's been there more than a couple of years.

Not in the harves should go camp but some really puzzling moves

2 ruckmen in the side and Bradley starts the 4th contesting the centre bounce? Surely they coulda subbed one of the rucks then and tried to get clancee right if it was just cramp?

rhys palmer on HFF again? but as a sub?

I really dont think harves gets the idea of a sub.

Some good tactical moves early on.. but thinking on his feet doesnt seem to be his strong point. pre-match planning probably is.

Woewodin was not a good coach.

He is a poor coach, the only element that he bought to WAFL football was his interchange methods, 4 on 4 off.

His public speaking, tactical nouse and ability to stem the tide were below par.

He is only at an AFL club because of his Brownlow.

Wow a load of nonsense. There is a reason why so many people think that this website is a joke.....posts like this from clowns like you.

How many East fremantle games did you watch whilst Woey was the coach?? I barely missed any, and he did a massive amount of work changing the game plan at East Freo. HE taught the team to play structural, team football....instilled a never say die attitude and brought a new approach to defensive pressure. He had a great relationship with the playing group, communicated well and was able to rapidly respond to game conditions with his structures and match-ups. Suggesting that he is only at an AFL club because of a Bronlow won years ago as a player is simply ridiculous. It may interest you to know that GC was not the only club that offered him a position......but I guess you know better :rolleyes: You're a troll......and I say GFY.

You're right, but at some stage the coach has to take responsibility for that. He recruited those players and he's trained them. And continues to select them (albeit without too many options). Whose fault is it when Johnson drops an uncontested mark, or misses a tackle? Well in the first couple of rounds, it's Johnson's. After that, the coach takes the fall.

Not that i'm close to being on he sack Harvey bandwagon - but the 'it's the players' excuse doesn't hold for a coach that's been there more than a couple of years.

I'm sorry, I gotta puzzle on this one

How does the coach take the fall if the same player makes the same mistakes over and over again?

If he has a technical flaw then it gets ironed out on the training track and if he can't produce on gameday, he gets dropped to the WAFL. How can the player be dropped to the WAFL when there's no-one else to come in?

We are still suffering byproducts of the Schwabolly era and it is shitting me no end.

No way am I going to be in the sack Harvey corner and if he is faced with the sack (hopefully not any time soon), I'll be in the "sack the entire board corner"

Wow a load of nonsense. There is a reason why so many people think that this website is a joke.....posts like this from clowns like you.

How many East fremantle games did you watch whilst Woey was the coach?? I barely missed any, and he did a massive amount of work changing the game plan at East Freo. HE taught the team to play structural, team football....instilled a never say die attitude and brought a new approach to defensive pressure. He had a great relationship with the playing group, communicated well and was able to rapidly respond to game conditions with his structures and match-ups. Suggesting that he is only at an AFL club because of a Bronlow won years ago as a player is simply ridiculous. It may interest you to know that GC was not the only club that offered him a position......but I guess you know better :rolleyes: You're a troll......and I say GFY.

Alot.

And I come these conclusions not only from my own personal viewings of the man but from members of the board and past players and coaches.

He had all the energy in the world, he just didnt have the brain or oratory skills required.

This was reflected in his winning ratio.

This is easily the worst thread on Freo's board since the we deserve it thread.

Now, if it was started after he picked Palmer as the sub this week, or after his poor coaching in the second half against Richmond, then maybe I could understand, but it is just a waste of a thread after today's game.

My issue with Harvs today was the use of Clarke.

He's a ruckman, presently, that's all he's good at, it's becoming pretty obvious that Rhys is gone, to play Clarke ahead of him on ball is just a public slap in the face.

Keep the humiliation indoors and play a Roberton who can at least run and create.

We ran out off puff, two ruckmen in a side is almost a thing of the past unless they can play forward.

Clarke's hands are painted on in the forward line.

Also, with Cyril looming as a danger target, think outside the square.

None of our defensive unit were suited to him.

Hill wasnt getting into the game much, play him on Cyril, lead Hill to the ball and make him honest the other way.

How many times did Cyril slip in behind the defence?

*shudder*

I actually agree with you Gordon. At least for this part of your post. And these areas are where Chris would have made changes last year, and why we miss him so much this year. We need to get Harvs some hard-core, match hardened assistants ASAP.

*shudder*

Did I really just agree with GG???

Surely not... I need to get more drunk to forget ever agreeing with the man.

How does the coach take the fall if the same player makes the same mistakes over and over again?

If he has a technical flaw then it gets ironed out on the training track and if he can't produce on gameday, he gets dropped to the WAFL. How can the player be dropped to the WAFL when there's no-one else to come in?

Yep, agree with most of this, but surely if the coach keeps picking the same player when his skills are woeful, his mistakes awful and obvious, and there are better replacements (Griff, Zac, Pearce) around??

Harvs is becoming a target because of his blind defense of MJ, but he isn't deserving of a sacking thread...

This whole thread is a knee jerk reaction, Harvey and the team out performed pretty much everyones expectations. We played better today than we have since the bye.

Just wait for next week, we will murder the bombers. Keep the faith people!

Mate i hope your correct, But i have a bad feeling we are about to slide to a all time low, I had faith from the first day a group of men and women drag out that ( lost item) onto the Freo oval with hard yakka overalls

Fans have had faith, but mate...it takes will to win the game and the players have lost there will

Media interviews of players....they all say...i think we could win were they should say...we going to kill them

Our coaching is terrible and will hold the playing group back going forward. I don't want to see Prior or Mitchell anywhere near the club. And Harves is pushing a friendship....

But the players in the last quarter.......

Those seriously looking for Harves head have got to take a couple of panadols and get some fresh air. Honestly, we went into that game as rank outsiders and, whether you agree with the way he went about it or not, we were in a position to win that game with less than a quarter to go - in fact but for a number of brain fades from players of normally high quality such as Frodo who gifted the Hawks 2-3 goals off memory, we would have been even more in front.

I must say that I reckon the Clarke/Griffen experiment was a stretch though good for Clarke's development). I also reckon the sub was very poorly used too - I understand Pierce was cramping up, so maybe out of his hands, but it was the wrong time, Palmer should have come on just before 3/4 time - barring injury, that is nearly always the time a sub should come on for reasons I can't be bothered going into now.

Anyway, in short, the players didn't execute - and good players too (Pav, Balla, even Hill had a few 'moments' in the last quarter) - the coach can't do much about that, especially during the game.

Because the player has been listed and selected by the coaching staff, knowing full well of the flaws the player has.

There's a difference between a shit player costing games and Pavlich doing the same thing.