First Bounce Walkout Protest

Yes I showed 2 Carlton supporters being removed but why were they removed? The media is blowing this up big time and it’s just gonna make people more agitated.

Yes it did but it also showed them walking up and down the aisles a lot more than usual. Does not worry me, as not at the games, but does it need to happen though, is the crowds that bad you need security doing this

I go to everyone Collingwood game in Melbourne sit in the afl reserve and have security walking up and down every night I cheer as loud as the next person and have Never been warned or anyone around me been warned. If I did I would tell them where to go as I don’t abuse umpires, players or other supporters.

I was the same until the Melbourne game which is why I was shocked and have explained why.

And if you did that you be the next one escorted out ,i have been watching footy for way more than 30 years and have not seen this behavior rubbish before.
Way over the top imo, i would expect security to eject any abusive people but that's all, not this patrolling around telling people to cheer softer. i can see this making things worse not better.

So IF someone says F*ck then they think everyone has said it?

F**k not even a Swear word these Days

Tradie if someone walks into Fed Square and says that word at the top of their voice for 5 minutes, the cops will come over and have a word with them. That's the reality.

I just dont want security people walking up and down aisles treating the crowd like naughty children.

Who will lead the walk out?

The AFL did put out a statement about the topic a few days ago, saying they had no directed any crowd crackdown.

And now the Marvel Stadium administrators have completely contradicted that and admitted they have become more visible and proactive in their approach in recent weeks.

Believe who you want (or believe the AFL has not had an influence on Marvels ground managment policy).

Its no coincidence that this crackdown seems to have occurred at Marvel and not at the MCG which is run independantly of the AFL.

And now the Marvel Stadium administrators have completely contradicted that and admitted they have become more visible and proactive in their approach in recent weeks.

Believe who you want (or believe the AFL has not had an influence on Marvels ground managment policy).

Its no coincidence that this crackdown seems to have occurred at Marvel and not at the MCG which is run independantly of the AFL.
Gil has found his scapegoat it seems.

I used to go to Victoria Park as a teen. I used to go to Rush Stand with a friend and, to any youngster reading this, there was only standing room except for a row or two near the boundary line for those that got there when the gates opened before the Under 19s.

There was no dry areas or wet areas. People used to bring their own drinks and full strength beer. I was standing shoulder to shoulder with men with beers in hand.

This was the outer. Frequented by visiting team fans and those of us that couldnt afford a members ticket or our families werent that interested. There were empty cans underfoot and often I used to stand on them to get a view of a game.

I never felt like I was in a violent situation. People used to swear a bit but words like s**t werent that common and the other words werent really said in public.

It was working class. It wasn't cultured. There was expressions of frustration and excitement. I still remember when Stan Magro ran through Alex Jesaulenko on the outer wing at Princess Park.

The Carlton fans were ropable. The Pie fans were ecstatic. No fights.

Today, I read that Marvel stadium managers apologised for security staff being too invasive. However, the same article reported fights after the game.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-06-16/weve-gone-too-far-marvel-stadium-to-review-security-measures

Even with all the bad language and the booze in the early days, I never felt unsafe. Today, however, even with all the gorillas around protecting people, there seems to be people just itching for a punch-up.

There's a a significant portion of the population with no self control. This group seems to be growing. They want to be loud and aggressive and they couldnt care less about other people. They are impacting on the freedoms of people like myself. On the other hand, there is a growing number of people who live such a sheltered existence within their own family and friends, that they never experience swearing, bogan behaviour and racist and homophobic behaviour. They want to confine everyone to their view of the world - and many of these views are actually right. They are willing to allow gov'ts and stadiums to oversee everyone's behaviour and they are impacting on my freedom.

So the question is where is the balance tipped?

I used to go to Victoria Park as a teen. I used to go to Rush Stand with a friend and, to any youngster reading this, there was only standing room except for a row or two near the boundary line for those that got there when the gates opened before the Under 19s.

There was no dry areas or wet areas. People used to bring their own drinks and full strength beer. I was standing shoulder to shoulder with men with beers in hand.

This was the outer. Frequented by visiting team fans and those of us that couldnt afford a members ticket or our families werent that interested. There were empty cans underfoot and often I used to stand on them to get a view of a game.

I never felt like I was in a violent situation. People used to swear a bit but words like **** werent that common and the other words werent really said in public.

It was working class. It wasn't cultured. There was expressions of frustration and excitement. I still remember when Stan Magro ran through Alex Jesaulenko on the outer wing at Princess Park.

The Carlton fans were ropable. The Pie fans were ecstatic. No fights.

Today, I read that Marvel stadium managers apologised for security staff being too invasive. However, the same article reported fights after the game.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-06-16/weve-gone-too-far-marvel-stadium-to-review-security-measures

Even with all the bad language and the booze in the early days, I never felt unsafe. Today, however, even with all the gorillas around protecting people, there seems to be people just itching for a punch-up.

There's a significant portion of the population with no self control. This group seems to be growing. They want to be loud and aggressive and they couldnt care less about other people. They are impacting on the freedoms of people like myself. On the other hand, there is a growing number of people who live such a sheltered existence within their own family and friends, that they never experience swearing, bogan behaviour and racist and homophobic behaviour. They want to confine everyone to their view of the world - and many of these views are actually right. They are willing to allow gov'ts and stadiums to oversee everyone's behaviour and they are impacting on my freedom.

So the question is where is the balance tipped?

Yep I remember those days but instead of standing on cans, I had a fold up stool (with a handle - deluxe) that I only sold this year at a garage sale.:)

I just think it is the patrolling and extra security that is frustrating most supporters. Further I think that security would be best situated at the back of bays so that if someone did want to report, they could walk up to them and report instead of the text number as is easily abused.

I'm still waiting for Gil to say something about this issue which indicates leadership...you know, independent thinking and a clear AFL position and direction.

Crickets.

In the meantime, I'm not sure that there is a bigger issue at play here or whether there are just isolated examples of individual fans behaving like tossers who may - or may not - have been dealt with heavy handedly by security.
But if there is no bigger issue at play like your second paragraph says, what else vsn they do other than deny the bigger issue at play, which they've already done. If they deny it any more forcefully they gain nothing. Gils response as a leader is to wait until the media - social and press, moves on. Hopefully it does soon, because lines are being drawn and hooligans are likely to actively provoke security guards and then what protesting fans are fearing will occur - an us against them crackdown.

The whole thing has become ridiculous, but I really don't think there is much Gil can do, other than cross his fingers and hope there is a distraction.

No, just spoken to.

It's not nice to have been spoken to by police and pretty ordinary of the Melbourne supporters to have reported him in the first place (weak effort). But if he wasn't ejected that's the right outcome given he was not being abusive or violent. The cops have the right to ask questions and did the right thing letting him stay.

Hmm 76 people interested and 27 likes at the time of the threads creation says a bit! There’s two extremes to this issue the AFL’s and this. I’m going to remain in the middle, barrack hard for my club and be courteous of those around me. I’ll let the numpties at the AFL and anyone that wants to conduct a mass walkout go about their business :thumbsu:

It's not nice to have been spoken to by police and pretty ordinary of the Melbourne supporters to have reported him in the first place (weak effort). But if he wasn't ejected that's the right outcome given he was not being abusive or violent. The cops have the right to ask questions and did the right thing letting him stay.
I didn't have such a huge problem with it but I thought 4 police and 2 security was a bit over the top.

Further I think that those around him looking surprised/shocked at their presence and also chiming in saying he did nothing wrong helped.

I didn't have such a huge problem with it but I thought 4 police and 2 security was a bit over the top.

Further I think that those around him looking surprised/shocked at their presence and also chiming in saying he did nothing wrong helped.

Same Happened near me. Guy was Booted and except for 3 Blokes we where all wondering what fall and few people told the Cops he had Done Nothing

Yes It showed 2 Carlton supporters being removed but why were they removed? The media is blowing this up big time and it’s just gonna make people more agitated.

Apparently they were removed because of false accusations on the text line and later released back to their seat.
There was a fight at the end of the match.

Apparently they were removed because of false accusations on the text line and later released back to their seat.
There was a fight at the end of the match.

The report antisocial behaviour number is now being used to report opposition supporters who are annoying you