First date ideas?

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Cant talk at a movie. Find out nothing that way. Its a good way to guarantee a second date cos nothing can possibly go wrong cos well nothing happens

Not true imo. I went on a first date with a guy to the movies once and it was terrible. He didnt let me choose the movie (i wanted to see a comedy- he made us see this shit called "the Illusionist")... it was crap, we barely talked afterwards and never saw him again! Which was fine by me.

My first date with the guy I'm with now, was a picnic in a local park. Was lovely. :):thumbsu:

invite her over to your place, chat for a bit whilst doing something irrelevant (liek watching the footy or cooking something) then when the time is right whip it out the snag and give her a good seeing to.

if she isn't impressed then you are destined for failure anyway, as she is either too frigid or you are a dud root.

thank me later.

i reckon a sunday lunch or a tapas style lunch, its good beacause its very informal,go down to acland st or down at st kilda marina, ,get to see if she's ok over a few wines or whatever your poison is.if you sense its all going swimmingly i would suggest kicking onto the vineyard or even see if theres a good band across at the espy. this worked a trick for me about 10 years ago when i was a young lad like your self and it ended up with both of us ditching our cars, cabbing it back to her pad and resulted in sickies the next day for both of us ;)

So I suggested the coffee/museum and they said great - hadn't been for ages.

I've done the movie thing before; it was good for hooking up, but that's about it!

invite her over to your place, chat for a bit whilst doing something irrelevant (liek watching the footy or cooking something) then when the time is right whip it out the snag and give her a good seeing to.

if she isn't impressed then you are destined for failure anyway, as she is either too frigid or you are a dud root.

thank me later.

I can't stop laughing at the phrase "When the time is right, whip out the snag".

i reckon a sunday lunch or a tapas style lunch, its good beacause its very informal,go down to acland st or down at st kilda marina, ,get to see if she's ok over a few wines or whatever your poison is.if you sense its all going swimmingly i would suggest kicking onto the vineyard or even see if theres a good band across at the espy. this worked a trick for me about 10 years ago when i was a young lad like your self and it ended up with both of us ditching our cars, cabbing it back to her pad and resulted in sickies the next day for both of us ;)

Thank Christ some normal people still exist.

I genuinely fear for the current generation. Coffee and the museum?

That's the kind of shit you get sentenced to do on a Sunday arvo when you are IN a relationship.

Whatever you do, don't take her and her Mum to see Bruno at the movies :D

Puffing Billy perhaps and arvo tea in the Dandenongs or Penguins at Phillip Island for a later date too?

Mini golf or ten pin bowling or go kart racing (all are usually fun dates) have worked quite well for me in the past.

Do people really talk about their surroundings on a first date? If you have to talk about the color of the paint on the wall than I suggest the relationship wont last.

Its a first date, there's always the possibility that conversation might die. Commenting on a display is an easy silence breaker.

Theres no scope for awkward silences if you choose the right restuarant. I have a particular place I go to all the time. Its loud enough to avoid silence yet quiet enough to hold a conversation.

I see a restaurant as a 2nd date option. For a first date, its too cliche. The girl would have probably been to a restaurant date more times than she cares to remember. Be different & be memorable.

Each to their own. If you have a place that works for you, why not?

I think a musem sends off the wrong vibe personally. Its where youd take a friend. Its making judgments about her personality aswell you shouldnt be making. For all you know atm shes a complete airhead who doesnt know what the Mona Lisa is so a museum then seems a bit dumb.

Museum, not art gallery. Museums have dinosaurs, mummies, etc. Even the least cultured person would find it entertaining.

Not true imo. I went on a first date with a guy to the movies once and it was terrible. He didnt let me choose the movie (i wanted to see a comedy- he made us see this shit called "the Illusionist")... it was crap, we barely talked afterwards and never saw him again! Which was fine by me.

My first date with the guy I'm with now, was a picnic in a local park. Was lovely. :):thumbsu:

All these years I've seen you posting and I always thought you were a dude...

The truth is that none of us can really comment without knowing you and the girl.

A movie is a tad lame but may help if you or the girl are overly shy. It will give you something to talk about after over coffee/beer. Some will say that if you cant hold convo on first date then you never will but I think some people need some help to get it going.

Museum is a good idea unless she is the type not to give a shit. Which she probably isnt given you are considering going.

Dinner is a safe option but you'd want to get the restaurant right re noise, price, food type etc

I'd probably go for a walk around the markets (as suggested above) followed by coffee ... it would be a modest relaxed atmosphere and not too 'date like'. You could even kick on for lunch if it goes well. Movie/meal good for a follow up.

P.S. to my previous post.

I gather you already have met the young lady (?) in question. Under what circumstances? Was there booze involved like a majority of meetings and plenty of what takes your fancy afterwards, then waking up with a raging hangover:eek: and not knowing where you are and hoping you have plenty of money to pay for the cab fare home - or so I've been told;):D If that's the case you've already "jumped" one of lifes hurdles just a few drinks and or meal at your local to start the ball rolling.

coffee and lunch usually with me

good way to get to know someone, without it being completely dragged out.... like dinner, where you'll have to sit through various courses even if you realise early nothing is gonna happen

if the coffee/lunch is a hit.,.. then follow it with something fun....

to think of it, i have no experience in this second stage :o:p