Official Club Stuff First & Forever: 2013 Membership Thread

Your doing it wrong. Just beat the kids up and take their lunch/excursion money.

How do you think I paid for it? ;) I want the pay rise so I don't have to nick it off the kids for club stuff anymore...

The Commencement Dinner was a ripper night. (Although I can't believe Syl didn't say g'day. I may have to spill the beans about your news mate. ;))

It started off for me with a cocktail function at 6pm. All the players and some of their sponsors were in a room for an hour. I spent 20 minutes talking to Rory T and Mitch Clisby. Great young fellas. I asked them about the beards that a few of the boys were sporting. Rory said there was a competition going on between four of the boys. Watts, Gawn, Gillies and one other. They are not allowed to trim or touch their beards in any way. Last man standing is the winner. He also said that the Geelong boys used to call Gillies 'Homicide' because he looks like a criminal.

My boy Nicho then turned up. He now has Troy Davis as a housemate. Troy is one bloke on our list I find it hard to see a future for, but he was a nice guy, and I hope he turns it around. Nicho was great. He said he was part of a 7 man rotation in the backline. He would start on the wing, but when Terlich or Jetta had a spell he would drop down inside the defensive 50 and mind their men. He actually said he likes playing on those small forwards like Milne, even though they were pests and never shut up.

I asked Nicho if the players ever had a beer. He said they had a 7 day rule. If they had a game 7 days or longer after their previous one then they were allowed to have a drink, but that they rarely did in season because they'd just get home and be so tired that they'd crash.

I had a good chat to Mitch Clark. (A friend sponsors him.) He's pretty excited to be playing today. He was hoping to play 50-60% game time, and that he was feeling a bit nervous. Nath Jones kept walking past and grabbing him on the ass. I also had a good chat to Dave Misson. (It was hard getting much out of him.) But the next part is a true story. The players were excused just before the desserts came out. Misson wouldn't allow any of the players to eat it!

At the function all the players were truly chuffed when Mark Jamar got his life membership. They all call him Block Head, and that call went up around the room when he was going on stage.

The night really is a celebration of our past. If you weren't aware of the history of the club I think you would find it rather dull. Alan Johnson was one of my favourites growing up and I was glad to see him go in to the Hall of Fame, His son Chris, who left our club under difficult circumstances was also there to support his old man. Brian Wilson, another of my favourites, was there to get his Life Membership and brought along Jamie Duursma as his date!!!

Syl covered the speeches from Neeld and McLardy. There was no ra-ra. Two things I got out of them. The club would no longer continue to play poor relation to some of the bigger clubs. And two, improvement will come quicker than many of us expect. My fingers are crossed.

Has anyone ordered a members guernsey?

$279 is a bit of dosh but I think I'm gonna get one.

I got one. Going to frame it alongside my Col Sylvia Irish guernsey for the "pool room". :thumbsu:

Nice work. Did they say when it will be delivered? Ie cut off date.

Actually they didn't give a date for delivery. Might shoot them an email about that. Cut off date to get one is when there is no space left on the guernsey I'm guessing, which means it won't be set up and delivered until that's done.

Cool, I'm definitely getting one then.

Good news for those who have ordered is it's just about to double in value. :D

I'm actually canceling my order now... it's about to halve in value... ;)

Touché.

What size did you order?

I'll frame mine like you so wearing size is irrelevant. I just want it big enough for the text to stand out.

Touché.

What size did you order?

I'll frame mine like you so wearing size is irrelevant. I just want it big enough for the text to stand out.

Went a large. Reckon that will do the trick.

Didn't get to choose the Irish one and all they sent me was a small. I guess it doesn't matter as I'll never wear it but wouldn't have minded it being a bit bigger for a better frame.

Went a large. Reckon that will do the trick.

Didn't get to choose the Irish one and all they sent me was a small. I guess it doesn't matter as I'll never wear it but wouldn't have minded it being a bit bigger for a better frame.

Shit, they go up to 4XL. Playing it safe with a XL.

Fair call mate. You want it big, but not Dean Rioli big...

4XL is seriously Darren Jarman league...

And maybe not even that.

It's a stomach that's been crafted with the finest quality Australian beer and fatty foods. You could fit 100,000 names on a guernsey with girth like that.

And maybe not even that.

It's a stomach that's been crafted with the finest quality Australian beer and fatty foods. You could fit 100,000 names on a guernsey with girth like that.

Absolutely. Every Australian to have ever died of heart disease.

4XL is seriously Darren Jarman league...

Everyone knows a guy who's girl went from hot to fat but damn, can you imagine the girl that married that amazing football player who soon ballooned out to freakshow sized that quick.

Thanks. :)

Good to know I won't have to wait long.
Well the cut off date to buy one is the 5th of April, but they would still have to organise all the names that will be going on the jumper and then have them manufactured. The dees don't actually play in the jumper until round 21 so I think we can expect a bit of a delay in receiving them. Will be worth the wait though.

I'm thinking of actually emailing the club and asking. I'm not fussed when we get it really, just wouldn't mind knowing when to expect it.

If you do let us know, I wouldn't mind having some sort of expected time frame as to when they will arrive.

Mate you owe me. Get me a XXL with Mitch's name on it.

Got mine today. Dickhead postie delivered it to the wrong address ( right house number, wrong street). :confused:
Lucky for me, I've got an honest neighbour nearby. :thumbsu: