First Job Interview

• Thread starter Thread starter OzBomber

It comes with practice. Maccas is a good start. I think kids should get into the workforce as early as possible. Teaches them that things don't happen magically, is great for self confidence, helps a person become assertive and know how to take control.

Have a good idea of why you want the job, what kind of service McDonalds provides, your availability etc etc and you'll be fine.

Another thing, if its your first job don't fret the first month or 2. Some take it fine, but others (myself included) hate feeling incompetent and not fully understanding what I'm doing - makes me self conscious. But remember after the first month or 2 things get much better.

Yeah, I applied for Coles as well. Haven't heard from them though. I had to do a bloody 45 minute test!

A bit of a hint re that, you can often avoid some of the corporate rigmarole and recruitment crap by going straight to your local supermarkets, and through cunning subterfuge, (basically, go to the service desk, and ask them when the store manager is likely to be free- then come back when you know the manager will be there, and ask if you can have a quick chat with them- try to avoid telling the underlings what its regarding, and if pressed say something very generic about it being an employment related issue and act confident.) speak to the store manager and say you just wanted to let them know you're interested in nightfill work and happy to start as soon as they would like.

Supermarkets often have a very high turnover of staff, and vacancies are often filled without it ever going to the central human resources at Coles or Woolies HQ- If you approach the person in authority, and look eager and ready to start, if they have vacancies on the casual roster in totally unskilled roles like nightfill they'll sometimes hire you on the spot.

Incidentally, I agree with Scotland about nightfill, its basically the ideal student job if the nightfill manager isn't a total nazi- Peaceful, quiet environment, moderate physical effort, absolutely no thought involved whatsoever- its actually not a bad way to chill out after a long day of study. You do need to be able to arrange transport to and from without necessarily relying on public transport though, because some nights you will work too late for buses.

yeah nightfill at coles wasnt too bad, i used to do it occasionally.

the only problem was at the time i didnt have my driver's so i would have to get my dad to pick me up at like midnight...and its pretty shitty for him to have to come get me at midnight when he has to get up at 5 the next morning for work.

You might need to start somewhere, but maccas is filth.
seriously any other fast food store >>> maccas for working.
they will have some **** manager who takes his job way too seriously and it will be far too strict for what working at a fast food store should be.

as for the interview, dont stress too much and remember they know nothing about you so tell them what you want them to know, without lying obviously. Just try to make a good impression really.

as long as you're not an absolute dumbshit, you will get the job.

I can think of a worst place to work than Macca's if the Mods would let me I would name it!!

The best think to do it to understand what the business is!! and what role you are aplling for then idenifing your own skills then marrige them all up into a pageage, while its important ot put some thinking into it I should point out that Interviews don't always go as expected.

Remember to shake hands and look the Interviewer in the eye and use his/her name at least once.

You will be asked questions like tell about a difficult time or a personal acheivement and you will be asked any questions, now for this question you can use something that was discussed earlier in the Interview, or general things about what is Macca like and how many people will be in the team bascially the Interviewer will have dozens of Interviews and is nervious and mostly likey would rather be elsewhere than asking questions.

So be positive, even if you have to be negative about a former Employment situation but try and turn it into a positive!

well my sister's boyfriend got me the job at the place because he's a surveyor there and i reckon its a pretty awesome job.

especially when we got out to far places so i spend about an hour in the car just chatting then when the surveyor draws up the plans i just listen to music, so theres lots of time wasted and when we actually get down to work...its not like its back breaking labour: i look through the jigger, find the prism then press measure --> record --> enter. simple as.

btw, i've never eaten so much deli food in my life. every lunch consists of chiko rolls, crumbed sausages, crumbed schnitzels and choc milk.

i've even changed my uni course now, i was doing commerce but i've deffered this semester to work full time. but when i got back im going to complete a bachelor of commerce and surveying (property).

hell laid back.

Yeah, there is alot of time wasting involved, that's what makes it a very cruisy job (especially sitting in the car when it's raining). The jigger is simple once you you know where everything is, takes some time learning all the codes though.

For me, it is something that i can fall back onto. If things don't work out with other jobs in the future, I may look to get a degree. I like alot of the detail surveys more then anything else.

Had my interview today. It was only 10 minutes max. He only asked a couple of questions because the internet was dead there. Got an email an hour later that I got the job.

I have to set up an account and do some other stuff on the net(Which i get paid for :D), and then I find out when I start.

Can't wait.

Had my interview today. It was only 10 minutes max. He only asked a couple of questions because the internet was dead there. Got an email an hour later that I got the job.

I have to set up an account and do some other stuff on the net(Which i get paid for :D), and then I find out when I start.

Can't wait.

haha, that positive attitude wont last long.

Can't wait.

Lol, can't wait to work at Maccas?

yeah getting money is always good. i noticed when i was in school and worked i hardly spent anything besides on alcohol, in the long run it was really good because it allowed me to get a pretty good car.

now my money flies out faster than i earn it. so make sure you save it now, because by the time you're over 18 with a car you'll need it to go out/petrol/food/other random payments.

Congrats Sean.

I did my online test for Coles earlier this year but had not heard anything back from them, so I decided to take my resume in, along with my online applicant number to the service desk and asked them to hand it to the manager.

1 week later I got a phone call from the manager. The manager knew my family as we are friends with his father, it really is a small world.

He said I can have the job if I wanted it, so I jumped at it. SO far I have done a 6 hour online induction, filled out all my bank details and tax details. Now I have to wait for a phone call, which will mean I can pick my uniform up and hopefully get my work times!

I'm actually looking forward to it, like yourself Sean I want the $$$.

Good luck and hopefully we enjoy our new jobs. :thumbsu:

If you still can, go for the job at Coles.
Working at Maccas is comparable to working at Werribee sewage farm.
I think you get paid to do those internet tests everywhere now.
My younger brother got a job at K-Mart a while ago and he got paid for 5 hours of work, even though he did all the testing in about 30 minutes.
I laugh at the 18 y.o guy who gets $13 an hour. According to the Coles payments guide, once you turn 18 you are meant to get $20 an hour.
Two of my mates got a job at Maccas back in high school and both ended up with shit loads of acne. Grease hole.

If you still can, go for the job at Coles.
Working at Maccas is comparable to working at Werribee sewage farm.
I think you get paid to do those internet tests everywhere now.
My younger brother got a job at K-Mart a while ago and he got paid for 5 hours of work, even though he did all the testing in about 30 minutes.
I laugh at the 18 y.o guy who gets $13 an hour. According to the Coles payments guide, once you turn 18 you are meant to get $20 an hour.
Two of my mates got a job at Maccas back in high school and both ended up with shit loads of acne. Grease hole.

nah i was working at coles until a few months ago and was getting $13 at the age of 18.

and also i got paid 6 hours for that online test thing which took about 20 minutes. i also got paid 2 full days of work there for doing the fork lift course. but a full days work at $13 an hour is only like...90 bucks.

sean, just make sure you quit by age of about 17 and get a better job. for the time being it shouldnt be too bad.

nah i was working at coles until a few months ago and was getting $13 at the age of 18.

and also i got paid 6 hours for that online test thing which took about 20 minutes. i also got paid 2 full days of work there for doing the fork lift course. but a full days work at $13 an hour is only like...90 bucks.

sean, just make sure you quit by age of about 17 and get a better job. for the time being it shouldnt be too bad.
You have been jibbed big time.
I was getting $13 an hour when I was 16.
Maybe the age is 19. I know about 5 or 6 people who are over 18 and are getting $20 an hour. Are you in grocery or on registers?

You have been jibbed big time.
I was getting $13 an hour when I was 16.
Maybe the age is 19. I know about 5 or 6 people who are over 18 and are getting $20 an hour. Are you in grocery or on registers?

i was grocery at first but then i was the storeman on saturdays, that didnt affect my pay. plus a few of my mates who are at coles/kmart/target are my age and get $13 as well. the pay is shit.