Preview First Pick Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Who Would You Like FIrst PIck

That we were skinned by Carlton's small forwards in the EF would not be lost on the staff.

Draft for talent etc, but if Steve Morris goes down, we'd be rooted. Not saying we take Jones solely because of that, but you'd think one of our draftees would have to have that capacity.

Conca has now justified pick 6. I think Jones would in time be seen to honour pick 12.

But yes, I would hope FJ takes best available at 12. That's not been his weakness, using our first pick well. Later picks and, especially, rookies are where he needs to lift.

Draft can not come soon enough.

Whilst in not across all the potential draftees is really like someone with some leg speed.

Salem by the sounds of it runs both ways, anyone know how he tested speed wise?

That we were skinned by Carlton's small forwards in the EF would not be lost on the staff.

Draft for talent etc, but if Steve Morris goes down, we'd be rooted. Not saying we take Jones solely because of that, but you'd think one of our draftees would have to have that capacity.

Conca has now justified pick 6. I think Jones would in time be seen to honour pick 12.

But yes, I would hope FJ takes best available at 12. That's not been his weakness, using our first pick well. Later picks and, especially, rookies are where he needs to lift.
To be fair we were touched up by Carlton in a few spots when they got going in the EF. Defensively we do need to improve full stop. I think the player we pick will have defensive attributes as at least part of the foundation of their game.

Yep. Hampson addresses our inability to get a tap (hopefully) and you'd think leg speed, someone who converts and a smallish defender would be on the shopping list

What sort of player is Chris Cain? Could we get him at pick 50?
In a draft that is apparently shallow, I wouldn't mind getting some older experienced players in

Used to play school footy with him and played against him in the efl jnrs ... back then he was an inside mid - good with clearances and smart with the footy but can't remember much else and havnt seen him play in a few yrs ... sorry not a lot of help :oops:

Fully concur with all that,

Anyone think a team could select Sheed before the WCE pick? I wouldnt be surprised if Collingwood or Melbourne pick Sheed before WCE.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

I really don't think it was anything to do with Carlton's small forwards. Betts kicked 3 but Garlett got one cheapy and did nothing and neither did yarran. It was Waite and Duigan up forward and Judd with Gibbs, Robinson and Warnock in the midfield.

Plus it was poor forward pressure we had 51 inside 50's v 45 but they had 35 rebound 50's compared to 25, Carlton also had more contested possessions and 10 more clearances. Same number of scoring shots but poor conversion.

Small forward is a symptom of poor forward pressure and midfield pressure.

All that being said Jones would be good for that, as will the inclusion of Arnot, Foley and Helbig in the first team as they all love to tackle and attack the ball. Salem is similar and a very physical player. That's up against Sheed who is a beauty around the clearances but not a tackler and Lennon who i think will become a super player around contests as he has the cleanest hands at ground level but not much of tackler either.

Man... If only we had another pick around 18 to pick up Jones... I would love to score Lennon and Jones.
The problem is we probably wont go for Jones because if Salem and Lennon are gone before our pick we will probably score someone like Scharenberg/Sheed/Aish... Which would be ridiculous to pass up.
However, if it ends up being a toss up between Jones/McCarthy/Freeman... I'd take Jones. Just dunno about Freeman and reckon it's the wrong year for us to take another key forward with McBean and Griff hopefully coming through.
next year is the year of the kpp's so best we get one then

Top post Calcium. Waite and Duigan got a hold of us mainly because Judd and co did in the second half. We just couldn't win it out of the middle and lacked run. Hampson comes in and should help in the middle. Second year of fitness coach and he was saying the boys only experienced 80% of the training load last season. Need to remember that many of our key mids are in the 1-4 year bracket and cotch hasn't had a full preseason.

I'm keen to add Salem as he is just another one of those guys who can give us great midfield depth and versatility. Also need to remember that our side was the third best defensively last year so am not so concerned with adding defense oriented players. If we can't pick up another good mid then I'm all for Lennon. Will require close attention from defenders which helps JR and Ty a lot. At the moment our forward line is not a headache. We have one gun forward. That doesn't stress opposition back line coaches. Lennon can deliver it inside 50. He can take contested marks and he can be damaging off the deck. Should fill out to be approx 190cm and 90kg. Will be a good fit.

1- Boyd
2 - Kelly
3 - Billings
4 - Bontempelli
5 - Kolodjashnij
6 - Scharenberg (farking day light robbery)
7 - McCarthy
8 - McDonald
9 - Freeman
10 - Aish
11 - Sheed
12 - Salem

Top post Calcium. Waite and Duigan got a hold of us mainly because Judd and co did in the second half. We just couldn't win it out of the middle and lacked run. Hampson comes in and should help in the middle. Second year of fitness coach and he was saying the boys only experienced 80% of the training load last season. Need to remember that many of our key mids are in the 1-4 year bracket and cotch hasn't had a full preseason.

I'm keen to add Salem as he is just another one of those guys who can give us great midfield depth and versatility. Also need to remember that our side was the third best defensively last year so am not so concerned with adding defense oriented players. If we can't pick up another good mid then I'm all for Lennon. Will require close attention from defenders which helps JR and Ty a lot. At the moment our forward line is not a headache. We have one gun forward. That doesn't stress opposition back line coaches. Lennon can deliver it inside 50. He can take contested marks and he can be damaging off the deck. Should fill out to be approx 190cm and 90kg. Will be a good fit.
I think our back six is good enough to be a contender. Where we lack at times is forward and mid pressure that allows run ons. The best sides do not allow multiple goals to be kicked against them and that requires a full field defensive effort. I trust we will improve with another year on our 1-3 year players but we need to maintain this mindset and hence whichever way we head, whether they be more a backman (eg Jones) a mid (Salem or Sheed) a forward (Lennon) or someone else, a defensively capable player is vital for our continued improvement.

i recently watched the bris game & both Carlton games & found that when we were under the pump our delivery into fwd 50 and general field kicking & decision making was woeful. for example every fwd 50 entry was just a high bomb instead of kicking to a target & every field kick was long to a contest. so perhaps we'd have good decision making and being cool under preasure as a must have in the player we choose?
it's just a thought.

edit = the West Coast game is a perfect example of our good and bad footy.
when we play well we kick to leads inside fwd 50 and all over generally whereas in the 1st term when wce were on top more often we were just bombing it away.

i recently watched the bris game & both Carlton games & found that when we were under the pump our delivery into fwd 50 and general field kicking & decision making was woeful. for example every fwd 50 entry was just a high bomb instead of kicking to a target & every field kick was long to a contest. so perhaps we'd have good decision making and being cool under preasure as a must have in the player we choose?
it's just a thought.

edit = the West Coast game is a perfect example of our good and bad footy.
when we play well we kick to leads inside fwd 50 and all over generally whereas in the 1st term when wce were on top more often we were just bombing it away.

I think this is in part due to a couple of things. 1. Our key forwards don't sustain leading patterns for four quarters. 2. Our midfield can look stagnant when Dusty is tired or tagged and Lids is being sat on. 3. Unless Lids is playing half back Houli is our rebounder and while he provides plenty of run when given latitude he needs space to work into.

Three things I'd like to see to address these issues.

1. We find a good foil for JR and Ty who can provide movement and demand the ball. McBean could be the man. As could Lennon.
2. We add another runner who can cut open zones with run/foot skills. Salem could help here. Would love a Hanneberry type and he could be it.
3. We find some more pace to come off half back. Pains me to say it but drafting Salem, putting Vlastuin more in the midfield and moving Lids back to the flank might be the best option.

Was on the Dunstan train but that seems unlikely so the more I think about it and watch the highlights etc etc I'm all aboard the Lennon Train now!

He just seems like the next Mark LeCras and I think we need a LeCras type at Richmond! We've been begging for a lead up forward who can run through the middle and I think we'd be stupid not to take him if he's available!

Can't wait for Thursday

"Insert something Inspirational here"

I actually dont mind Lennon but he just doesnt look fast enough to play the position he plays

Does anybody know his Combine results as i dont think he is in the top 10-20 in any of the speed / running tests

I don't think that, I know it. Richmond rate Salem as the 3rd best player of the draft.

Would be a great get. I'm an O'Hanlon fan and would hope he can graduate to the role Salem would likely occupy if he comes to us (Streaming HFF), but Salem has midfield capacity and I'd be pleased to have him in the yellow sash

Even if he is an essendon fan

I don't think that, I know it. Richmond rate Salem as the 3rd best player of the draft.
Im thinking its more and more likely by the day that Melbourne or the scum will pick him ahead of us. Will hurt either way, Melbourne will ruin a good talent and Collingwood will turn him into a gun which we could of had. :(

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk