Preview First Pick Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Who Would You Like FIrst PIck

Heard we are likely to take sam lloyd with our last pick..some VFL player, who is he?
if lennon and salem are gone before us we should pack up and leave

Probably shouldnt throw all the toys out of the cot it wont be that big a deal.

I'm under the impression that only Salem would be a round 1 chance to play out of the possible draftees? tigs2010

How many could we expect Lennon or Jones to play if we land one of them ?

I have a mate who works with recruiting for North and he has told me the dees are into Salem unless someone rated higher than him slips through

Coming from the Melbourne board

I'm starting to think maybe there's a chance of landing Salem after all... If the rumours about the Pies chasing Aish and Freeman and true then it's possible the Dees could take Freeman and Pies take Lennon, because IMO Aish and Lennon is a stronger combination than Aish and Salem... Personal opinion, hopefully Hine agrees in this scenario. Just need the Dees to take Freeman over Salem... Long shot but I have hope

AFL phantom draft has Bontempelli going to Dogs @ #4?

Can anyone explain? A few mentioned on here he was no good...

From the list above he is the highest placed in phantom draft so you'd imagine he is the guy we'd want? (assuming afl.com.au guys know what's going on)

If he's there at 50 we should take him. Flog or no Flog

Yeah give Chocco another little project. Just imagine if he didnt turn out like Troy Taylor :rolleyes:

Jason Clarke reckons Garlett won't be selected tonight at all

I reckon someone will at least roll the dice in the rookie draft. If not there must be so much we dont know.

If that is the case , Foley should have been traded off. Furthermore, with Jones arguably 181cm and Houli 180cm how will they be able to handle 186cm+medium forwards aerally against certain teams like SJ and Bartel, drifting forward etc...

My fear is apparently there are a few shorter mids in this draft year so the question is against taller competition how will they fare particularly in backline/forward situatons? If Jones is so good at TAC at the end, no reason to deny it, how will he be able to replicate it against better bigger opposition in the AFL? Speed/endurance/agility etc.. because in a finals situation endeavour along shouldn't prove a differential because everyone should be having a crack! How would Jones go against Freos mids for example if the ball does not hit the deck from Sandilands?

I am not sure either way just atm my view is someone like Acres is probably more likely to have the tools to be effective in a number of different positions at AFL level and therefore possibly more valuable at pick 12. Just my impression atm nothing more

The most simplistic argument against what you have said here, is like they have for time immemorial, they will train the players in ALL aspects and ALL opponents big, small, wide, skinner. You always adapt to strengths and weaknesses to try to be teams and this is nothing different. Imo I think you try to use absolutes to play the game which is incorrect.