First Round NAB Cup

• Thread starter Thread starter Khan

Yep, I do stand corrected. By the way, it sucks how your membership doesn't get you into the 1st round of the pre-season comp like it used to.
yeh it helps if you have your membership, was odered on the 5th of december and they keep saying its on the way

From afl site

Geelong v Richmond – Skilled Stadium, Sunday 25 February 2007 at 3.40pm*

Geelong squad: 1. Steven King, 2. Tom Harley, 3. Jimmy Bartel, 4. Andrew Mackie, 6. Brad Ottens, 7. Tim Callan, 8. Josh Hunt, 9. James Kelly, 11. Joel Corey, 14. Joel Selwood, 16. Charlie Gardiner, 17. Shannon Byrnes, 18. Nathan Djerrkura, 19. Matthew Egan, 21. Cameron Mooney, 23. Nathan Ablett, 24. Mark Blake, 27. Mathew Stokes, 29. Gary Ablett, 30. Matthew Scarlett, 32. Brent Prismall, 36. Todd Grima, 37. Joel Reynolds, 38. Sam Hunt, 39. Darren Milburn, 40. David Wojcinski, 44. Corey Enright, 45. Cameron Ling.

Richmond squad: 1. Chris Newman, 2. Darren Gaspar, 3. Brett Deledio, 4. Andrew Raines, 6. Graham Polak, 7. Nathan Brown, 10. Shane Edwards, 11. Joel Bowden, 12. Matthew Richardson, 13. Trent Knobel, 14. Dean Polo, 15. Kayne Pettifer, 16. Patrick Bowden, 17. Kane Johnson, 21. Shane Tuck, 22. Danny Meyer, 26. Adam Pattison, 27. Andrew Krakouer, 30. Richard Tambling, 31. Chris Hyde, 32. Greg Tivendale, 33. Brent Hartigan, 34. Cleve Hughes, 35. Matthew White, 40. Kelvin Moore, 41. Nathan Foley, 43. Cam Howat, 44. Angus Graham.
Looks like we have selected a fairly strong squad for the game. With 28 named just wondering which 4 will miss out.

Here is the team I would go with:
B: Raines Gaspar Newman
HB: JB Polak Johnson
C: Tambling Deledio Howat
HF: Pettifer Pattison PB
F: Brown Richo Krakouer
R: Knobel Tuck Foley
I: Polo Hyde Tivendale White Graham Moore

Remembering that the NAB 15 were guaranteed spots for the first game Hartigan, Edwards, Meyer and Hughes miss out this week.

Looks like we have selected a fairly strong squad for the game. With 28 named just wondering which 4 will miss out.

Remembering that the NAB 15 were guaranteed spots for the first game Hartigan, Edwards, Meyer and Hughes miss out this week.

Probably the way it will work out. Interesting points about that, if Patterson does play CHF (he may not, but hey) it will be interesting to see if they're grooming him for CHF or just keeping there incase we need more ruckmen and for more height.

Howat on the wing, like it. I wonder how Tambling will go in the center, tore Geelong a new arse when they played at skilled last year. Lets hope he repeats the dose.

Knobel is a good enough ruckman to lead ruck and IMO bigfooty underrates him. Lets hope he shows what he can do, which is pretty good.

Wouldn't be suprised to see Patto miss after his corky in the internal last week, no point risking him in pre-season. That would mean Graham would definetly play.

I'm expecting Hartigan to play seeing as theres been a bit of talk of him being played forward this year, so they'll probably give him some actual match time there.

Dont think we will play Patto, Knobel and Angus. I think Angus will miss (unless Patto doesnt come up) and Edwards will play.

I think the team will be:

HB: J Bowden Hughes Deledio
C: Tambling Foley Howat
HF: Pettifer Richo P Bowden
F: Brown Polak Krakouer
R: Knobel Tuck Johnson
I: Polo Hartigan Tivendale White Edwards Moore

Hyde (i think he is injured. If not will replace Hartigan) Graham, Meyer and Pattison (corky) will miss out this week.

Here's my shot at how we will line up:

B: PB - Gaspar - Raines
HB: JB - Hughes - Deledio
C: Howat - Tuck - Tivendale
HF: Pettifer - Polak - Tambling
F: Krakouer - Richo - Brown

1R: Knobel - Foley - Johnson

Int (6 man): Newman - White - Patto/Graham - Polo - Moore - Meyer

Hyde will not play IMO. Hopefully Edwards does, but I doubt he will. One of Patto/Graham won't play. Hartigan to miss as well unfortunately.

There's Polak at FF and CHF again...I'll be surprsied if he starts there. Maybe later in the game, he was brought over to be a backman and I think it makes more sense to give Hughes a go at handling a key forward position than Polak.

yeh it helps if you have your membership, was odered on the 5th of december and they keep saying its on the way
You're kidding???? Thta's pissweak. I ordered mine last week, but no sign of yet.

There's Polak at FF and CHF again...I'll be surprsied if he starts there. Maybe later in the game, he was brought over to be a backman and I think it makes more sense to give Hughes a go at handling a key forward position than Polak.

2 or 3 weeks ago I would name him CHB 24/7.

I've changed my mind now because of a couple of things. This is only for the NAB Cup.

1) Terry has said that he's a better forward than backmen but defense is where we are lacking.
2) Hughes has been tried down back all pre - season and after seeing him named, where else will Terry play him?

In the premiership season Polak will be our CHB, because Hughes won't be playing regularly.

Personally I hope he fills a role similar to Hunter..playing predominately back, but going forward for 15-20 mins in certain games when required.

Point taken on Hughes, but think he will go the other way and move him down back for a short time for the real game experience well into the game. But had forgotten about all the prep. going on trying to transform Hughes into a backman.

Here's my shot at how we will line up:

B: PB - Gaspar - Raines
HB: JB - Hughes - Deledio
C: Howat - Tuck - Tivendale
HF: Pettifer - Polak - Tambling
F: Krakouer - Richo - Brown

1R: Knobel - Foley - Johnson

Int (6 man): Newman - White - Patto/Graham - Polo - Moore - Meyer

Hyde will not play IMO. Hopefully Edwards does, but I doubt he will. One of Patto/Graham won't play. Hartigan to miss as well unfortunately.

worst lineup ever

why would polak train all pre season at chb and start forward :rolleyes:

deledio on a back flank is not good

hughes at chb will get killed

if guys like moore, hartigan and jackson are not in this team then they are finished imo

NATHAN BROWN IS BACK!

2 or 3 weeks ago I would name him CHB 24/7.

I've changed my mind now because of a couple of things. This is only for the NAB Cup.

1) Terry has said that he's a better forward than backmen but defense is where we are lacking.
2) Hughes has been tried down back all pre - season and after seeing him named, where else will Terry play him?

In the premiership season Polak will be our CHB, because Hughes won't be playing regularly.

worst lineup ever

why would polak train all pre season at chb and start forward :rolleyes:

deledio on a back flank is not good

hughes at chb will get killed

if guys like moore, hartigan and jackson are not in this team then they are finished imo

NATHAN BROWN IS BACK!

I don't think Deledio should be played on a HBF but Terry will play him there. During the year he will play midfield surely :thumbsu:

Above is a post of mine which I quoted telling you my reasons to why Polak is CHF and Hughes is CHB. Remember this is the NAB Cup, we need to try things out now and not wait till the proper season and find out it doesn't work.

Moore is in the team, put him on bench or our Defense is too tall. Terry didn't name Jackson, don't know why.

If my line-up is so bad, show me yours please??

PLSC you will have to clean up your act mate. that post is too positive.

no way, plenty of time for them to make it into the team, this is nab cub not even round one.

Has it occured to people that Wallace may have had Hughes as a backman during the Preseason simulations to get an idea on where experienced KPP like Richo and Kent lead, block and create space for others to lead in. I get the feeling it was all part of the learning experience giving him more of an idea. With Richo, Kent, Schulz, Simmo and Patto as the big men who will likely play forward this year I expect to see Hughes have another year of development at Coburg and maybe get a few games depending on injury/form.

i agree, i have had the same thought. however there was an article on the club website saying that he will be tryed out in defence to see how he goes.

here it is.

Hughes' steep learning curve
5:10:56 PM Fri 9 February, 2007
Jason Phelan
Exclusive to afl.com.au
Cleve Hughes has a year in the AFL system under his belt, but he's entering his second year at Punt Road with even more uncertainty than he did the first.

The Tigers were delighted when the All-Australian centre half-forward at under-18 level fell to them in the second round of the 2005 NAB AFL National Draft, but burgeoning stocks of tall forwards at the club and a need to develop the youngster's defensive instincts have led Terry Wallace to recast him as a key defender over the summer.

It has proved to be a steep learning curve for the South Australian forward who had previously only ever found himself in the defensive zone by mistake.

"It's basically been like starting school again, I've been trying to learn as much as I can this pre-season," Hughes says.

One of the things I've needed to work on is the defensive side of my game, so part of the move is a bit of a learning exercise, but they reckon there's also a chance that I can develop and become a reasonable player there.

"I could go either way I guess. If I'm playing really well there and the side has a need for backmen then that's where I'll stay, but if I can learn a bit in the backlines it can only help the defensive side of my game when I go forward and make me a better player up there."

Hughes is named after the small Eyre Peninsula wheatbelt town of Cleve where he spent the first five years of his life, but his development as a footballer occurred in the nine years that he played junior footy in the Adelaide Hills town of Lobethal.

All through that period and continuing on after his move to SANFL club Norwood, Hughes played up forward, so you could forgive him for approaching his new task with some trepidation, but he actually feels quite the opposite.

"I'm probably more excited because, at the moment, I haven't really got anything to lose because I have that other position to fall back on. Terry has said, 'just give it a fair crack and if it doesn't work, it doesn't work'," he says.

"I'll probably need a year of backline play under my belt to have enough experience to go with the forwards in the AFL. (But) if I get too many bags of 10 kicked on me, you never know!"

Hughes concedes the arrival of Graham Polak and Kent Kingsley in the off-season made the task of breaking into a tall-forward rotation that will also contain Matthew Richardson, Jay Schulz and Troy Simmonds at times, even more difficult.

And while he managed three senior games in his first year, his change in circumstances means forward planning is next to impossible for the coming season.

"I haven't really set any goals for myself this year because I really don't know how I'm going to go in my new position yet," he explains.

"If I had been playing up forward, I would have liked to have played a minimum of six games this year, but as a back-man I can't really say until I've played a few games and seen if I can play the possie!"
The 20-year-old has sought the counsel of Tiger veteran Darren Gaspar and assistant coach Jade Rawlings as he learns his craft and has also been studying tape of Geelong defender Matthew Scarlett.

Hughes has also done everything he can to ensure he's ready to go from a physical standpoint as he embarks on his journey into the unknown.

"Since I got to the club last year, I've put on nine kilos in the weights room. My strength has improved a lot - they're not throwing me around as much anymore," he says with a smile.

"The extra month or so of running that I did at the start of this pre-season has put me in a lot better position than I was this time last year. I've got a far better running base under my belt, so I should be able to run out games a lot better this year.

"It's exciting, I'm looking forward to the challenge."

http://richmondfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=314433

"Since I got to the club last year, I've put on nine kilos in the weights room. My strength has improved a lot - they're not throwing me around as much anymore," he says with a smile.
This shows to me that the kid is putting absolutely everything into becoming a successful AFL player. 9kg is quite staggering for a teenager.

this kid is a born forward and will play there, dont mind if he spends half a season learning it tough down back, should give him a new perspective. He will be a hitup CHF type

Fantastic physique when I saw him at training - chiselled and now a genuinely strong looking guy, but still mainly gym muscle. Will still take another couple of years before he starts having much of a physical presence.

he isnt a contested mark he'll be more ash hansen hit up player which is good imo

lol at 9kgs over the summer thats about what ray hall weighs

he isnt a contested mark he'll be more ash hansen hit up player which is good imo

lol at 9kgs over the summer thats about what ray hall weighs

:D

All those who quoted me about Hughes at CHB and Polak at CHF should apologise ;)