I think this has been discussed, but we are getting very close to a ball actually being kicked in anger. A few people I have chatted to think that the first six games are the key to the season for us, along the lines of;
• we started really badly last year and had to claw our way back into contention. Avoid the bad start and we'll be fine.
• If we do badly in the first 6 then CC will be out.
• A confident start will give the players faith in the game plan with having tarrant up forward.
• starting badly, then playing "catch up" to get into the finals makes it hard to sustain form going into the finals.

All conjecture, very little of which I agree with.

But, my prediction at the pr-pre-seaon stage of the year go like this;

Port Adelaide (home)
WIN Tough game first up, but the Teal are "rebuilding"

Essendon (Telstra)
WIN Possibly the easiest away game of the year with the Dons also "rebuilding" and our insider knowledge of the workings of Sheeds brain.

West Coast (home)
WIN What else could I say? They are the Premiers, but we did seem to have it over them last year. I don't see them having a premiership "hangover". Reality is, a 50/50 game, but it is our home game.

Melbourne (MCG)
LOSS Melbourne are hard to predict. But it will be a tough game for us. 50/50 for me.

Adelaide (home)
WIN They have had some big injuries to key players, and an aging list. Even though they cause us trouble, at home, we'll win.

Brisbane (GABBA)
LOSS I am saying a loss because we do that a heck of alot over there. BUT, if I was betting the house, I'd have it on the Dockers, especially given the implosion of their playing list.

4 out of 6. Could be more, easily. The only WIN that seems boarderline is against WC.

Pretty good accessment but I think that the Lions wont be a problem for us as Bribane dont have alot in key backs. Melbourne in Melbourne will be tough and so is West Coast at Subi. 4 out of six good, 5 out of 6 great and 6 out 6 on the way to a grand final.

Should definately beat port. Silly that it is a day game, could easily be mid-30's in Perth late March.

Essendon are our bogey side, it would be a long time since we beat them in Melbourne (possibly never at the dome??). They are a much better side if Lloyd is up and going, but if we are going to be contenders we should beat them.

Looking forward to the derby already.

We have played well against Melbourne in Melbourne in the past, although we were belted last year. They often start the season strongly then fade. Playing them during the day in April when the weather should be fine is a positive.

The crows are another one of our bogey sides, we seem to play better against them at aami which is strange.

We hardly ever play at the gabba, I think last year was the first time we have played there under Connolly so it is hard to get a form guide.

A pretty tough run on paper but if our most important players (Sandilands, Pavlich, Bell, Hasleby, Josh and McPharlin) are all fit we should win four.

We should be aiming to win every non-derby home game, and reasonably expect to split the derbies, although winning both derbies should also be the aim. We should beat Port, Essendon and Brisbane, and Adelaide at home should be expected, not hoped for - with Melbourne and the derby being 50/50s. If we split them, then 5 out of the first 6 is not an unreasonable ask IMO.

Yes but you're a serial pessimist Kapow!!!

;)

I actually had a pang of nerves today, thinking I hate it when I feel too good about what's coming up. I think we need a few good years to purge us all of that feeling... :o

After hearing about a fair few of the injuries plaguing the club at the moment I'm expecting us to start quite slowly to be honest

Black, Tarrant, Hasleby and Crowley should be fine for round one, so at this stage Schammer is the only one certain to miss the start of the season. Longmuir may struggle too, but he has played with pain in the past and isn't nearly as important as he has been in previous years.

I actually had a pang of nerves today, thinking I hate it when I feel too good about what's coming up. I think we need a few good years to purge us all of that feeling... :o

Yeah, I'm really excited but really nervous. I guess I'm expecting us to do as well as last year, but normally when I expect something to happen the opposite does...so I'm expecting the opposite to happen. Ok, maybe I just better just hope instead of expect :o

IEssendon (Telstra)
WIN Possibly the easiest away game of the year with the Dons also "rebuilding" and our insider knowledge of the workings of Sheeds brain.

Ur dreaming, Essendon will THRASH, kinda rebuilding, but will be right up there.

EASY win for the Bombers.

Injuries??? Of course there are some players with injuries, most seriously Schammer. Last year we had big question marks about Pav's shoulder operation coming into the season opener with reports he wouldn't be able to lift his arms above his shoulders ever. And we copped significant early injury setbacks. And having a fit Hasleby and Hadrill will be a major bonus. I am optimistic that we'll be okay for injuries at the start of the year. I guess regardless, if we are serious finals contenders then we will need the depth to cover injuries, and I think we can, with the possible exception of Pav and Sandi.

The teams that have a lot of young players are hard to beat at the start of the season because they want to get a good start and are keen.The only game I see as should be a certain win is brissie.for me 3 wins would be alright,4 wins good,

Why does Melbourne pose such a hazard?

They will be sliding down the ladder this season, we have had their measure in the past and Sandilands loves nothing more than going to town against them.

Demons is a win for mine.

I agree about the Lions, Gabba has never been a good place for us. Adelaide away we will go blood close though.

Every single game of the year is winnable and should be won. There's no reason we should lose any games. While others in the footy world are blind to see it, Freo is by far the best team in the competition. Coming into 2007 nothing but a minor premiership and a grand final appearance will be acceptable in my opinion.

Getting a bit hairy chested there Hoogs? Most supporters of all teams say any game is winnable and nothing short of GF is acceptable. Look at the Essendon supporters response to my comment about the Essendon game and them "THRASHING" us. Having said that, for 2007 I think you are absolutely right. Without getting too far ahead though, finishing top 4, and doing well in the finals is what I am looking for. Too many variables for me to say nothing else is acceptable.

This years start should be a lot easier with only one six day break following an away game compared to 3 in 3 last year.

Unfortunately it is Derby week that the six day break occurs although this year we are only coming home from Melbourne , not Tassie.

I am confident that we will beat Pt Adelaide pretty easily. The other 5 games I think will be tough. Essendon, Brisbane and Melbourne all away from home traditionally give us trouble. The eagles and crows at home could go either way. 4 out of 6 I would be stoked.

Every single game of the year is winnable and should be won. There's no reason we should lose any games. Freo is by far the best team in the competition. Coming into 2007 nothing but a minor premiership and a grand final appearance will be acceptable in my opinion.

Talk about high expectations! "no reason we should lose any games" how about the fact that there are better teams going around and your travelling record is not too crash hot. good luck.

Agree. Turn it up on you boys winning the minor premiership. I don't see what's going to make you increase your success as much as winning the minor premiership. Sure the experience of last years finals and the addition of some quality players (who are no certainty to chop up), should give you some room for improvement, but not as much as to finishing on top of the ladder. You should listen to your coach and just focus on finishing in the top eight. Don't get ahead of yourselves. Eagles will win first derby.

At this stage there are no better teams than us, we're all equal first. Compared to last year I can see no other top 8 team whose list has improved to the same degree as ours, so there is plently of room to be optimistic, especially given that we have a pretty good travelling record (it's our at home record where we can improve our consistency).

Key areas of weakness have been addressed to a degree including;
•a relience on Pav in the forward line
• clearances, which have steadily improved each of the past 3 years.
•Plus, while we have only won one final, a base of finals experience has been built, including two players with significant finals experience.
• Also, our coaching staff took huge steps forward last year, and I expect them to take another step up this season.

But I am with zcox, concentrate on playing the best footy that we can and make sure we make the eight. Once we are in contention for the eight, make the four, then make the two the... well, you get the picture.

Hope no other temas have thought of this.

Don't get ahead of yourselves. Eagles will win first derby.

Little hypocritical don't you think.

Either way, would love to know how you're going to turn around the 50 odd point flogging we dished out to you in round 21 last year, which was the fourth win against you in a row.

Why does Melbourne pose such a hazard?

They will be sliding down the ladder this season, we have had their measure in the past and Sandilands loves nothing more than going to town against them.

Demons is a win for mine.
Melbourne are a good side and will challenge top 4 this year - Of course they are a hazard at home. Heck even Port with all their years at the top of the ladder have never beaten Melbourne at the MCG and I would rate 2007 Melbourne a better team than the were 2001-2004.

Agree. Turn it up on you boys winning the minor premiership. I don't see what's going to make you increase your success as much as winning the minor premiership. Sure the experience of last years finals and the addition of some quality players (who are no certainty to chop up), should give you some room for improvement, but not as much as to finishing on top of the ladder. You should listen to your coach and just focus on finishing in the top eight. Don't get ahead of yourselves. Eagles will win first derby.

Pro's
i. Hase is apparertly in the best shape he has been in since 2003 as is Robbie Haddrill & Andrew Browne.

ii. We have a far less taxing fixture (2006 Freo had the worst draw ever for any team, I reckon)

iii. Even if Taz & Solly play no games at all , I would expect improvement from this list of > 50 gamers who have proven themselves already.

Peake
Mundy
Murphy
Johnson
Webster
Crowley
Drum - only one of this list not to play in the PF.

iv: Improved Ruck strength from 2006, 211 will get even better and Warnock is ready to start.

v: The group got 3 fair dinkum finals on there CV in 2006 which can only help.

vi: New multimedia setup that the top stoppage teams have had for a couple of years.

Cons:

i: Doubts over Justin's knee & Schams illness

ii: Macca, Parks & Cookie are getting on.

Cheers.