Unofficial Preview First week of finals

You’d reckon they’d be busing them down in large numbers for the suns first ever finals game
Yes. A few on their board were bemoaning the fact that they wouldn't have a home final to go to. But getting to Sydney and back, especially for a Saturday afternoon fixture, would be much more palatable time and $$ wise than the cross-country flight to WA. I would hope to see plenty of Suns supporters at Engie.

I think the chances of beating the suns is about 60%, chances of beating the hawks I hate to say about 45%, coz they are in pretty good form at the moment. Not that the giants aren't, but they still have lapses in games, although not as big as last year.

I agree with others though, for a big crowd and good exposure and profile for the club, playing the hawks is better than the suns. But if hoping to go deep in finals, an easier kill first up would help and that is more likely the suns (like the lions got last year from 5th).

Hopefully all of you’ll got the link from our club to the Finals Hub. Club says they’ll arrange buses from Sydney and Canberra to away matches at the MCG (assuming of course we win the elimination final and our opponent is Collingwood or the Preliminary Final is vs Geelong).

Let’s hope we play Gold Coast instead of Hawthorn, however I fear the crowd numbers if that’s the case.
Nah, the passion is there in Sydney.
Up to the AFL and our board to take advantage of it. We will get a great crowd if we are smart.

In saying that still haven’t heard from my leave and please don’t be Thursday as that isn’t included in my leave.

I think Gold Coast are more beatable than Hawthorn. As long as we win the elimination final and keep progressing, don’t care what the Victorian media tell about our crowds.
If you’re at the game don’t have to listen to VFL commentators

In saying that still haven’t heard from my leave and please don’t be Thursday as that isn’t included in my leave.
Game will likely be Saturday arvo mate.

Club has specifically requested it and I can't see a reason why the AFL would decline the clubs request given our fanbase.

Could we end up with:

Idun Taylor Whitfield
Ash Buckley Fonti
Kelly Cogs XOH
Greene Cadman Brown
Daniels Hogan Jones

Briggs Callaghan Green

HH Snooze Ricca Rowston/Angwin

Sub: Stringer

Gru, Aleer, Thomas etc champing at the bit
Have to think that would be pretty close.

Maybe we give Stringer one more week to get his hammies 100%, but if the Doc says he's good, then I'd expect we'll go with him somewhere in the team.

Stringer back would be very handy.
Daniels looked good in the VFL.
Radio silence on Hogan
At the Foundation membership day the suggestion was that Hogan would be right for finals. I don't remember it being explicitly asked but several of Kingsley's comments indicated Jesse would be straight back in for week 1.

Could we end up with:

Idun Taylor Whitfield
Ash Buckley Fonti
Kelly Cogs XOH
Greene Cadman Brown
Daniels Hogan Jones

Briggs Callaghan Green

HH Snooze Ricca Rowston/Angwin

Gru, Aleer, Thomas etc champing at the bit
Of the returning “stars” I’m most concerned about Kelly. He seems to have been limited in his running power for much of the year. Angwin and Thomas powering back to help in defense have been highlights recently.

I agree. Not sure we can go in with all of Daniels, Stringer, Hogan, Buckley, Kelly and Cogs. If they are all right to go will be interesting.

Yes, making all of these changes will be very disruptive to a team that , despite in game inconsistencies, has still won 9 of their last 10 matches. Also it’s not in Kingsley’s nature to make massive player changes - throughout 2025 the most number of changes made to a team from the previous week has been just 3 players.

If Hogan is available you have to make that change (Gruz).
If Stringer is available I think you have to make that swap with Rowston.
If Daniels is available I think that's a no brainer (?Thomas)
It's Josh Kelly....(Wehr)
Buckley for Aleer.....is a must.

I agree that making 5 changes feels insane....but I also feel like leaving any of those 5 guys out is insane (maybe Kelly at a steeeeetch)
4 of them are game breakers...with finals experience....it's an elimination final. I think you have to.
Thoughts?

First Elimination Final, Saturday September 6

[5th] GWS Giants vs [8th] Hawthorn, Western Bulldogs or Gold Coast Suns (time TBC) at ENGIE Stadium

Giants health check: There’s a bit to unpack here. GWS didn’t risk star defender Jack Buckley against the Saints, and thus he should be fit to play in the club’s home elimination final in two weeks’ time, pending any setbacks. Leek Aleer shapes as the corresponding omission. At the other end of the ground, there’s no certainty that Coleman medallist Jesse Hogan will be available as he continues to navigate a foot issue that’s kept him out of the past three games. Meanwhile, Jake Stringer will hope to be available after being impacted once again by a hamstring issue. Former skipper Stephen Coniglio should be able to graduate through concussion protocols in time to play in two weeks’ time. Brent Daniels put his best foot forward in the VFL Giants’ wildcard round loss to Richmond, collecting 29 disposals and winning nine clearances — a game-high. He should come back into the side for the club’s elimination final. Josh Kelly faces a race against time to be right as he recovers from a calf injury. He seems on the less likely side of being in selection calculations.

Hawks health check: The Hawks continue to hold out hope that Josh Weddle can return for the finals from his back stress fracture — having started to increase his loads — and this week should be telling in terms of scan results and what the next steps are. Meantime, Harry Morrison should return after missing Rounds 22 and 23 with a quad strain. Otherwise, apart from star Will Day and fringe best-23 forward Finn Maginness — who are both done for the year — the Hawks are in a pretty good spot, health-wise. They’ve had 17 players play 20 or more games this year.

Bulldogs health check — in case the Bombers cause a miracle: Veteran midfielder Adam Treloar is the big name with a big question mark, having struggled to stay on the park this year due to repeated calf injuries. The expectation is he’ll try and get through the VFL finals series in order to prove he’ll be able to hold up if the Dogs reward the All-Australian with another contract. Artie Jones came in at Ryley Sanders’ expense in Round 24, while Laitham Vandermeer is available after exiting concussion protocols last week. The likes of Caleb Poulter and Nick Coffield remain on the outside looking in.

Suns health check: The big watch will be on the health of crucial rebounder Daniel Rioli, who hasn’t played since Round 19 after his leg fracture. If he gets up, the likes of debutant Lachie Gulbin, sub Sam Flanders and veteran Alex Sexton could come under selection heat. Exciting hybrid Bailey Humphrey is expected to return against the Bombers on Wednesday night from a knee injury, while Will Graham (shoulder) is more likely to be fit for the first week of finals, provided the Suns are good enough to qualify. Flanders tactically replaced Joel Jeffrey in the loss to Port Adelaide. Developing key forward Jed Walter remains on the outside looking in.

I completely agree with this. Thomas and Angwin running up and down the wings has made a massive difference lately. Their work rate is off the charts and I'm not sure everyone appreciates what an impact that is making for us. I don't think bringing in an underdone Kelly would be an improvement, despite the experience he would bring.

Buckley in for Aleer (this has to happen if he is fit)
Hogan for Gruz (see above)
Daniels for Rowston (Rowston has been playing the small forward role, this will happen for sure)
Stringer for Wehr (as sub)

B: Idun, Taylor, Whitfield
HB: Himmelberg, Buckley, Ash
C: Thomas, Callaghan, Angwin
HF: Daniels, Cadman, Jones
F: Greene, Hogan, Brown
R: Briggs, Green, Cogs
INT: Fonti, XOH, Bedford, Riccardi

B: Idun, Taylor, Whitfield
HB: Himmelberg, Buckley, Ash
C: Thomas, Callaghan, Angwin
HF: Daniels, Cadman, Jones
F: Greene, Hogan, Brown
R: Briggs, Green, Cogs
INT: Fonti, XOH, Bedford, Riccardi
I think that this is the team I'd personally go for. The guys who would come out (Gru, Rowston ... to a lesser extent Aleer & Wehr) would be hard-done-by as they've contributed to our wins.

Even if Kelly is deemed fit, another week wouldn't hurt.

Saturday 3:20 pm game all but confirmed :)

3:20 you say…

I was looking into a trip staying over Saturday but if it’s 3:20 do you think I’d be able to make an 8:20 flight back to Adelaide??

Games seem to go for over 2.5 hours now. So say 3:20-6:05…airport by 7:15.

I think I can do this. Unless my flight gets cancelled again…

Wow leaving Kelly out is a pretty big move.
Read the preceding story ... he's less likely than likely to make it. So, we need the team to be fully fit. Based on Hogan, Stringer and Buckley all coming back with issues, three's enough for me. Kelly would be too big a risk.

EDIT: I'd also opine he's the most easily replaceable of that quartet given the alternative available.