Fitzroy should have merged with North!

Guys,
I don't mean to be rude, but I just reckon that merging with Brisbane was as good as getting rid of Fitzroy altogether.

The colours are nothing, they are still basically Brisbane colours.
As a North supporter who always had a lot of respect for the Roy boys, I feel that had the North/Fitzroy merger gone ahead, the new club would have been a strong Victorian club, that would have had a bright future.
As it stands Fitzroy is dead, and North are barely keeping their head above water...

What a Fitzroy/North merger might have been like has been thrashed out ad nauseam for the last 6 or 7 years. It will never happen, so we'll never know.

Fitzroy is not dead & we're living proof. Fitzroy is everywhere around Melbourne this week.

Re: Re: Re: Fitzroy should have merged with North!

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
What, just that bit?

Well, the rest comes down to a matter of opinion, the topic of which has been discussed ad nauseum (as FP said), numerous times over the years, including here on BF.

Originally posted by vlad76
Guys,
I don't mean to be rude, but I just reckon that merging with Brisbane was as good as getting rid of Fitzroy altogether.

As a North supporter who always had a lot of respect for the Roy boys, I feel that had the North/Fitzroy merger gone ahead, the new club would have been a strong Victorian club, that would have had a bright future.
As it stands Fitzroy is dead, and North are barely keeping their
head above water...
North had my support until they backflipped on the clubs name
even before the merger became feasable. The team was going to be called the "Fitzroy/North Melbourne Kangaroos" ,then they said they would only accept "North Melbourne/Fitzroy Kangaroos. Not a great start.
Timbo

If you are happy supporting a Queensland team, then I rest my case.
P.S. You are saying Fitzroy isn't dead...I haven't heard that name mentioned anywhere in football for years. Looks dead to me.

You should have more pride in a state you live in. And if you think any of the Queensland red necks give a ***** about you people, you are being sadly mistaken.

I was just making a point that we could have been a healthy Victorian club, and instead we have created a Queensland monster. In this context Fitzroy/North Melbourne or North Melbourne/Fitzroy makes very little difference.

"And if you think any of the Queensland red necks give a ***** about you people, you are being sadly mistaken. "

Hey Vlad,

How inaccurate. You wouldn't know sh|t from chocolate cake.

Go away.

Why don't you change your board name to Brisbane Suckers footy club instead...

And no need for abuse. I only wanted to get some of your thoughs about the merger.

And as far as who is the next out the door...I wouldn't be so sure. At least we are here...

Vlad:

a) whether or not we should have merged with North has been debated here numerously.

b) fact is we haven't merged with North

c) if you making sweeping (and in my books stupid) statements like "And if you think any of the Queensland red necks give a ***** about you people, you are being sadly mistaken" and "You are saying Fitzroy isn't dead...I haven't heard that name mentioned anywhere in football for years. Looks dead to me" and "The colours are nothing, they are still basically Brisbane colours" and "I just reckon that merging with Brisbane was as good as getting rid of Fitzroy altogether", WHEN CLEARLY YOU DON'T OR HAVEN'T BARRACKED FOR FITZROY OR THE BRIZ LIONS AND THUS AREN'T OPENLY EXPOSED TO WHAT HAS HAPPENED OR THE ELEMENTS OF THE ROY IN THE CURRENT DAY BRISBANE LIONS, and current day FITZROY REDS, then sorry buddy, but expect to receive abuse because what you have outlined is CRAP.

You simply wouldn't know because you simply haven't been involved.

People on this board (the individuals, by choice, of either one or two of the following) get a decent fix of the Roy via the Fitzroy Reds in the Ammos and the Brisbane Lions. If you are pointing out to us that it ain't the same as it used to be, then thanks for coming cos thats true. But if you are pointing out to us that we're completely dead, then SOD OFF the doors over there........

Why don't you change your board name to Brisbane Suckers footy club instead...

And no need for abuse. I only wanted to get some of your thoughs about the merger.

And as far as who is the next out the door...I wouldn't be so sure. At least we are here...

Settle down vlad ... your point is valid, but its a very old on this board, folks have retrodden the subject hundreds of times ...

For my opinion, when the mergers were up for grabs, I expressed my intent not to barrack for either eventuality. Neither are Fitzroy in toto. I want in toto. So I'll take the version that you so eloquently call 'dead'.

Not everybody on this board is a Brissy fan, many actually dislike them. Both sides of the coin are respected, and will be respected. If either are disrespected, the disrespect is removed from the board.

"Not everybody on this board is a Brissy fan, many actually dislike them. Both sides of the coin are respected, and will be respected. If either are disrespected, the disrespect is removed from the board."

And that be the true-est statement there is on this thread....

Valid replies guys, both of them.

Let me again reiterate, I wasn't trying to be rude here at all. I just expressed my honest regret that the North/Fitzroy merger didn't go ahead.

I would really like to have seen a strong Vic club born out of this.
And my comment about Queenslanders not caring wasn't based on ignorance. I worked in Brisbane on a project recently and heard some of comments from so called footy followers over there. That's all I was saying.

I do, however, admire the fact that this board even exists, instead of just one Brissie one.

And since I wasn't trying to put you down in any way, no need to tell me that North is next to go, as I for one hope that isn't the case, and I put my money where my mouth is.

And if you did ever feel disheartened with the Brissie situation, no matter how difficult it sounds, I would be glad to welcome any of you into the North family. It will never replace Fitzroy, but it may at least be an alternative. A battling Vic club that is trying hard to survive in this Shark pond...

And may your Fitzroy memories live on...

P.S. You are saying Fitzroy isn't dead...I haven't heard that name mentioned anywhere in football for years. Looks dead to me.

You obviously haven't been aware of all the things that have been going on then.

I think most Fitzroy people would agree, that Fitzroy is still alive, albeit, in a diversified form. Still, this doesn't stop us from being just as passionate as we have ever been.

Likewise, considering SUPPORTERS are one of THE main part of a club, how can Fitzroy be dead, when we have people who still regard themselves as Fitzroy supporters? This board is evidence of that . . . surely even by this we are keeping Fitzroy alive.

You should have more pride in a state you live in. And if you think any of the Queensland red necks give a ***** about you people, you are being sadly mistaken.

Actually, I think you're the one who is mistaken. Then again, considering you aren't involved in any of the relevant clubs, it doesn't surprise me that you don't have a clue.

I was just making a point that we could have been a healthy Victorian club, and instead we have created a Queensland monster. In this context Fitzroy/North Melbourne or North Melbourne/Fitzroy makes very little difference.

Speculation. If my aunty had a moustache, I'd be a Footscray supporter . . .

I am reluctantly drawn to this discussion. Reluctant because around this time last year or a bit later I started a hornets nest which took quite a few posts and hours before we all agreed to more or less, well agree/disagree.

Vlad I am an ex-Fitzroy person who joined North for many reasons and like you I believe that the North Fitzroy Kangaroos would have worked. That was and still is my opinion, however there are just as many other opinions about what would have been best. The bottom line is that we will never know what would have worked and what wouldn't have worked and we all have to just get on with what choices we have made and make the most of it.

Tomorrow I will barrack (I believe) for Brisbane for the following reasons, in order

1. I think that it will be wonderful for those Fitzroy people who have embraced Brisbane as the reincarnation of Fitzroy to have another flag. All true Fitzroy people, whatever their club today deserve whatever reward their new allegiance provides them,
2. Pikey plays for Brisbane, imagine him as a triple premiership player.
3. Chris Johnson plays for Brisbane
4. The song is still the best in the business
5. God help us all if Collingwood wins the flag.

On the other hand, I still might find myself torn towards Collingwood because

1. I still can't forgive Brisbane and the AFL for how Fitzroy was stolen away from us.
2. Jarrod Molloy will be playing for the Pies.
3. So too will Glen Freeborn - North premiership player.
4. I will cause a stir here but that traitor Alistair Lynch plays for Brisbane.
5. Collingwood is a Melbourne based club and Brisbane is not.

I am finding this week to be a very emotional time indeed. I resent people trying to say that Brisbane, is Fitzroy.

It is not and never will be and will never go close unless they actually change their name and call themselves the Brisbane Fitzroy Lions.

At the risk of angering those who were unhappy with your post Vlad, in my opinion you are in a sense correct.

Fitzroy as an AFL club is dead. The Fitzroy Football Club is certainly not dead but Fitzroy the AFL team is dead. The old Fitzroy is dead.

On the other hand I accept for many there is enough in the colours, the name Lions and the song, to believe that a new version of Fitzroy now exists in the form of the Brisbane Lions. That unfortunately for me is not the case, but I still wish every person of Fitzroy origin who follows Brisbane, all the very best tomorrow.

I would suggest however to you Irish, if you are originally a Fitzroy supporter, having been through what we went through in 1996, that it is out of line to be suggesting to Vlad " to get a life, North is the next team out the door". North supporters are acutely aware of how precarious there club (and my club nowadays) is. If North bites the dust we all know just how awful the feeling is. So ease up and think about how others might feel in these circumstances.

Last week I for one objected strenuously to that moron Davo from Adelaide and his crude, rude comments. So we should respect the feelings of others who might go through what we have had to go through.

Anyway GO LIONS tomorrow, for all those Brisbane supporters from old Fitzroy.

we may not all agree on what happened, some may go for Brisbane, which i do, the Premiership last year healed some hurting. However i think despite what crap we receive i believe we all have one thing in common, and thats, that we are all Royboys at heart.

Horace has a great post there. I'm also wishing the Brissy Lions the best today.

Whilst vlad has agitated us, in a way it still feels positive to hear even that viewpoint.

It must be admitted that we are guilty of being aware that no-one else can really know what its like, and yet expecting them to know!

Fitzroy should have merged with North!
Like F**k we should of.
What would Brad Boyds wife thought with Carey sniffing around at the end of season BBQ.

Originally posted by Fat Pizza

Fitzroy is everywhere around Melbourne this week.

Yep.

This week it is. You could have a team from Pluto travel down and they would find support somewhere. I think the North Fitzroy would have worked, but it didn't happen, we won the flag as North Melbourne, and you guys seem happy which is all that matters.

I find it amusing that some league presidents prevented the North merger going through because of fears it would create a power club.

Guess what.....

Guys,

Your opinion. Unfortunately not backed up with a lot of facts.

My opinion is that any Fitzroy merger with North Melbourne would have had the same result.

Shows you don't know a lot about Fitzroy. If you'll recall, Fitzroy was once known as the 'Maroons" and played in a largely maroon guernsey, before it was changed to a bright red in the 1970's.

We're not supporting just a Queensland team. As Leigh Matthews stated on the weekend, the Brisbane Lions more than any other club in the AFL (even prehaps the Swans) are a dual state club. While the Brisbane Lions is NOT Fitzroy, there's still plenty of Fitzroy in the Brisbane Lions.

Suggest you come and look at the Amateurs once in a while.

You should have more pride in a state you live in.

I'm very happy to support a dual state club, as the Brisbane Lions are. So are most of the 4-5,000 people at Brunswick Street on Sunday morning.

And if you think any of the Queensland red necks give a ***** about you people, you are being sadly mistaken.

I doubt that. I know quite a few Queensland based supporters of the Brisbane Lions and they are very happy to be inclusive of Fitzroy's supporters, history and traditions.

Of course it makes (made) a difference.

What was it Mark Dawson said at the time of the merger, about the merger with Fitzroy? "We will still be North Melbourne, we will still be the Kangaroos, Denis Pagan will still be the coach and Wayne Carey will still be captain."

That was when the proposed North-Fitzroy merger lost me.

Frankly I prefer a so-called 'Queensland monster' with a great deal of Fitzroy in it, than a Victorian club with little to no Fitzroy in it.