Five years on ...

So if it was not serious it was an attempt at a troll. Aren't you a clever little pie troll:thumbsu:

Certainly got you, didn't it? Go back and read your srsly defensive reply and feel the sweet sting of shame knowing you were outwitted by a clever little pie troll.

Dark days for you I'd imagine.

They're a small club; small following; small crowds. They prove that small clubs, if they're run well, can compete with the very biggest.

Technically have the biggest following just have yet to convert members thats the goal.

Our guernsey is the richest in australian sport, not getting into the cap debate but i dont think its just extra.

Our footy department spending is one of the highest as suggested, we have a reasonable stadium deal.

We need to get supporters to be members, but we arent a small club

The victim mentality is all in your head. I don't know any Roo supporter that think we are a victims. We get money from the AFL for less exposure with TV time slots and play the smaller drawing teams. It does not mean we are victims - it means the AFL are maximising revenue.

We play a better standard and a better brand of football than Essendon - I don't expect to be handed ANZAC day or the Pies and Blues twice.

That's exactly the victim mentality I talked about. If only we were given blockbusters or Friday nights like Collingwood or Essendon - disregarding they get those because they've grown their brand - we'd be fine.

Essendon was a mediocre club off the field before Sheeds arrived. It's not up to the AFL to help you out, but change your circumstances, just like the Hawks and Dons have done.

That's exactly the victim mentality I talked about. If only we were given blockbusters or Friday nights like Collingwood or Essendon - disregarding they get those because they've grown their brand - we'd be fine.

Essendon was a mediocre club off the field before Sheeds arrived. It's not up to the AFL to help you out, but change your circumstances, just like the Hawks and Dons have done.

You are really struggling with the fact we are not victims - as much as you want us to be.

We understand and accept we play low drawing clubs in order to get compensation from the AFL which in turns makes millions and millions of dollars because of this fantatsic business plan. Well done AFL - your success is our success.

We are club heading in the right direction - we don't have the money you do but how good was it to grab you by the back of the neck and throw you out of the finals this year. Must be tough to watch us blow past you.

How about doing something to lift yourselves up rather than complaining about the big, mean AFL?

Find a geographical area to call your own, and stick with this time. Should have beat the Saints to the punch in NZ and made a stack of $$ as a result.

How about doing something to lift yourselves up rather than complaining about the big, mean AFL?

Find a geographical area to call your own, and stick with this time. Should have beat the Saints to the punch in NZ and made a stack of $$ as a result.

Who is complaining?? I think Vlad and the AFL are flying and are in the best position it has ever been in. Not sure you are the full quid and able to follow posts.

I am wrapt I could take my kids to 15 games in Melbourne. If we went to QLD we may have got to see 5 or 6.

We have one of the best training facilities in the AFL, great $$$ out of Tassie and a team that won 10 of the last 12 H&A games with wins over the Big 4 - Blues, Pies, Ess and Richmond. I would rather play finals and be poor than finish a lowly 11th and be rich. Enjoy:thumbsu:

Any chance of not bringing up irrelevant crap, Mufassa?

Do and your fellow Roos not complain that you're not as rich as as Coll/Ess because you don't get blockbusters?

Any chance of not bringing up irrelevant crap, Mufassa?

Do and your fellow Roos not complain that you're not as rich as as Coll/Ess because you don't get blockbusters?

You are not the full quid - if we got the blockbuster's do you think that there is any Roo supporter in the world that would think we would be as rich as Collingwood??

If we got the blockbusters we would be better off finanically - seeing as we don't we get compensated and are in the same boat. Winner winner chicken dinner.

11th is mediocre - at best.

You are not the full quid - if we got the blockbuster's do you think that there is any Roo supporter in the world that would think we would be as rich as Collingwood??

If we got the blockbusters we would be better off finanically - seeing as we don't we get compensated and are in the same boat. Winner winner chicken dinner.

What has North done to deserve the Blockbusters?

Cue "We still finished higher than you blah blah blah".

The huge and continuing oversight in your argument is the complete ineptness of the North board that put you in this position in the first place. During the mid 90's you owned friday nights and had huge exposure. You played blockbuster games and played exciting football with some of the games top players.

Now explain to me how you smartly capitalised on that and ensured that.....oh wait.....you didn't. You squandered it all and now find yourself blaming everyone but yourselves for the mess you found yourself in and are still trying to dig your way out of.

You had a golden opportunity in the 90's to make yourselves a powerhouse, but no one at Arden Street had any idea how to do this. You are now paying the price for that. It is your club's fault you got to where you did, not anyone else's, so quit blaming everyone else but yourselves for the situation.

You get them because you have a large supporter base. Period.

You honestly think that your team works harder than other teams?? You are an ignorant fool if you do - there is no way you work harder - what you do have is greater funds for resources - your coaches box would be paid triple ours - we out coached you in 2012.

The Weapon cost you heaps - he is not worth a pinch of goat sh!t.

Essendon don't deserve blockbusters based on a terrible 2012 - they get them because they have a large supporter base. Period.

The huge and continuing oversight in your argument is the complete ineptness of the North board that put you in this position in the first place. During the mid 90's you owned friday nights and had huge exposure. You played blockbuster games and played exciting football with some of the games top players.

Now explain to me how you smartly capitalised on that and ensured that.....oh wait.....you didn't. You squandered it all and now find yourself blaming everyone but yourselves for the mess you found yourself in and are still trying to dig your way out of.

You had a golden opportunity in the 90's to make yourselves a powerhouse, but no one at Arden Street had any idea how to do this. You are now paying the price for that. It is your club's fault you got to where you did, not anyone else's, so quit blaming everyone else but yourselves for the situation.

Wow - now we are in a mess?? You do know I am happy with how we are going??

10 of our last 12 games - beat Pies, Blues, Rich and Ess. Big 4??
Record membership
Finals in 2012
Great $$$ out of Tassie
15 games in Melbourne
Reduced debt

Not blaming anyone for our improvement - just crediting the people at the club now.

We have small supporter base - maybe we can get you a marketing role to double it? Have you got a secret Collingwood magic spell we could use?

I think North and Melbourne should merge, if for no other reason than their jumper would look fantastic. Think about it; Kangas blue vertical stripes with Demons' red vertical stripes.

MAKE IT HAPPEN AFL

5 games in 2012 - Cats, Crows, Saints, Blues and Pies are as good I have seen the Roos play since the Carey era. This year was a fanastic year and our future has not been this good for a long long time. We made a great decision not to go 5 years ago - 2012 is proof. No complaints no blame - just very happy with our direction. Bring on 2013.

smugdogfeels128581772850734629.jpg

Why do you "cue" something if you know the answer? In 1993/4 You were known as the Baby Bombers, yet there were younger teams, thanks to Sheedy you were known as the Aboriginal club, yet at the time there were more Aboriginal players playing elsewhere. A wank of a club.

Yeah true, it's not like we kickstarted the biggest, most lucrative timeslot in football or anything.

Collingwood and Essendon invented ANZAC Day though didn't they?

Friday nights and the Grand Final breakfasts were fantastic initiatives. But surely all North fans would have to agree the club didn't build on their great 90s era. Hawthorn has built on their successes.

Mufassa, why do we have a large supporter base? We grew out of the same limited northern suburbs to become the second biggest Melbourne club.

Friday nights and the Grand Final breakfasts were fantastic initiatives. But surely all North fans would have to agree the club didn't build on their great 90s era. Hawthorn has built on their successes.

Mufassa, why do we have a large supporter base? We grew out of the same limited northern suburbs to become the second biggest Melbourne club.

1) You started in the VFL in the 18 hundreds - we started in 1925 - you already had a following in our area. We had no success until the 1970's. Most follow family lines into football.
2) North Melbourne is mainly industrial while Essendon is residential.
3) If you finish 11th on the ladder IMO you are a mediocre club.
4) 2nd biggest club at what? Are you talking about your injury list?

It is an interesting about face from fifteen-twenty years ago. I'm no master economist, but if you compare the debts of clubs like North, Carlton and Port now, to how they compare in relative (i.e. inflation adjusted) terms to the debts of Fitzroy, Footscray and Hawthorn in the mid 1990s, which is worse?
IIRC Fitzroy's debt was around 3M (maybe 3.3 so add 10% to the estimate provided). Based on monetary aggregates that would be adjusted to 8-14M depending on whether you use M0 or M3:

http://www.rba.gov.au/statistics/frequency/financial-aggregates.html

FWIW North's debt in 2012 is around 4M though could be wrong.

You also need to consider cash flows to service the debt. I don't have the figures but I'd be guessing the ratio for Fitzroy in '96 was higher as well. North have only posted one loss in the last 5 years so is not really comparable with Fitzroy circa '96.

I think North and Melbourne should merge, if for no other reason than their jumper would look fantastic. Think about it; Kangas blue vertical stripes with Demons' red vertical stripes.

MAKE IT HAPPEN AFL

The AFL doesn't want this to happen, they want to reduce the number of Victorian clubs to 8. In order to do this while also helping Gold Coast and GWS grow their brand the AFL will arrange for mergers to occur between these two clubs and the two less financially viable Melbourne clubs.

North's recent improvements both on and off the field will hopefully mean that we aren't one of the Melbourne clubs shipped interstate.

Look for the Gold Coast Demons and Greater Western Sydney Bulldogs in the next 5-10 years.

Five years on ...