Five years on ...

Prop up 2 clubs or prop up 1?

Should've moved.

Repeating this just makes you sound more and more idiotic.

If we were the Gold Coast Kangaroos, then there would only be 17 teams in the league and therefore only 8 games a week hence the AFL would not have managed to negotiate a $1 billion TV rights deal. In addition, by being a GC club we would no longer be helping to fill the minimum requirement of games played at Etihad to service whatever the contract is there (where we get totally rooted by that deal - handing out six figure checks unless crowd exceeds 30k (something like that anyways). Net result is other clubs (probably WBD and StK) have to fill that gap of games played at the stadium meaning they lose more money and would have to receive greater compensation from the AFL.

However much financial support we receive would be offset by the two factors above. In summary, better for us, other Melbourne clubs and the wider AFL community as a whole that we didn't move.

Have I blacked out & missed something? I didn't think North had won anything since the era of "give a struggling club a large wad of cash for two very, very good prospects" ?

No more than Essendon have.

And it wasn't a large wad od cash. It was 70k.

Oh sorry, that's just centre console change.

Point remains, no bought players = no North flags. Your guff about 'draft era' success is false.
That's an incredibly simple-minded view. In the 70s and 90s when North won flags, we were hardly the only club who lured players from other clubs. We just did it better than most.

But we also relied heavily on players who had come from our local/country zones, and/or had been groomed via the Under 19s.

eg 70s : Kekovich, Dench, Greig, Schimma, Nolan, Henshaw, Gumbleton, Icke, Briedis, etc
90s : Archer, Marty, Stevens, Schwass, Scholl, Crocker, Rock, etc

I really don't get the 'my club is bigger than your club' BS that goes on around here

It's like going to a bake-sale and trying to argue that your dick's bigger than everyone else's
It makes small minded people feel better about themselves. Can't be bothered dredging them up but you should've read some of the posts back in 2007 when all the Gold Coast business was going on.

I'd actually like to go a bit further on this. We got Davis, Rantall, and Wade from the 10 year rule, that everyone was entitled to. But which of those players played in '77? ******* Essendon supporters. :eek:
None in '77, of course.

I love the fact that North was the only club that actually voted against the 10-year rule ; but once they were over-ruled, they got off their bum and did something about it......so the followers of other, richer clubs (who probably assumed it would work in their favour) have spent the last 35 years bitching about it.

None in '77, of course.

I love the fact that North was the only club that actually voted against the 10-year rule ; but once they were over-ruled, they got off their bum and did something about it......so the followers of other, richer clubs (who probably assumed it would work in their favour) have spent the last 35 years bitching about it.
My post may have been a bit immature Adrian, but it annoys me that it keeps getting brought up by morons who quite obviously have no idea what they're talking about.

Lets have a look at some Essendon premierships:

Albert John "The Great" Thurgood (11 January 1874 – 8 May 1927) - Born on 11 January 1874 at Errol Street, North Melbourne

Vern Hazel & George McLeod (StKilda), Percy Ogden (Collingwood), Paddy Shea (Fitzroy), Coach: John Worral (Carlton)

George McLeod (StKilda), Allan Belcher & Percy Ogden (Collingwood), Fred Kirkwood & Paddy Shea (Fitzroy), Jim Martin (Carlton), Coach: John Worral (Carlton)

Syd Barker, Charlie Hardy & George Rawle (North), Justin McCarthy (Carlton) Captain Coach: Syd Barker (North)

George Rawle (North), Justin McCarthy (Carlton) Captain Coach: Syd Barker (North)

Gordon Abbot (Geelong), Bob Flanigan (Footscray), Alan Hird (Hawthorn)

Gordon Abbot (Geelong)

Jack Collins (Fitzroy)

T. Daniher captain (South), Coach K. Sheedy (Richmond)

T. Daniher captain (South), T. Elshaugh (Melbourne), B. Wood (Richmond), Coach K. Sheedy (Richmond)

S. Denham (Geelong), Coach K. Sheedy (Richmond)

P. Barnard (Hawthorn), S. Wellman (Adelaide), Coach K. Sheedy (Richmond)

When did this thread become a pissing contest between Essendon and North? Seriously, who cares. That goes to people on both sides.

If we actually attempt to get this vaguely back on track...I notice that attendances have fallen this year, and not just because of the addition of new teams.

Are people voting with their feet in response to changes in the game they don't like (whether they be on-field or off-field in nature), or are there other intangibles that are responsible?

When did this thread become a pissing contest between Essendon and North? Seriously, who cares. That goes to people on both sides.

If we actually attempt to get this vaguely back on track...I notice that attendances have fallen this year, and not just because of the addition of new teams.

Are people voting with their feet in response to changes in the game they don't like (whether they be on-field or off-field in nature), or are there other intangibles that are responsible?

In what respect have attendances fallen? Is it the league wide average, or just our average?

League-wide, not specific to any one team.

In 2011, 6,525,071 people went to 187 H/A games. In 2012, that total fell to 6,238,876 from 198 games.

The average finals attendance also fell from 68k to 59k- especially highlighted by a fairly woeful attendance at the Adelaide/Fremantle semi.

These drops, surely, can't be explained away just by the addition of GC and GWS.

I just wonder whether a tipping point has been reached, where prices are seen to have been jacked up beyond the pale, where people perceive the AFL has become more a commercial product than a game**, and as a consequence, people begin to stay away.

It may well be too early to tell at this point, but I think some of the signs are pointing towards this. The lesson could well be that the AFL can't, in fact, treat the game as their own personal play thing and ignore the rank and file- the supporters- because eventually, they will vote with their feet. I know many people who feel similarly disillusioned at the increasing 'remoteness' of the game.

**I'm fully aware this has been the reality for a long time. But perhaps the extent of it has got worse in recent times.

I just wonder whether a tipping point has been reached, where prices are seen to have been jacked up beyond the pale, where people perceive the AFL has become more a commercial product than a game**, and as a consequence, people begin to stay away.

It may well be too early to tell at this point, but I think some of the signs are pointing towards this. The lesson could well be that the AFL can't, in fact, treat the game as their own personal play thing and ignore the rank and file- the supporters- because eventually, they will vote with their feet. I know many people who feel similarly disillusioned at the increasing 'remoteness' of the game.

**I'm fully aware this has been the reality for a long time. But perhaps the extent of it has got worse in recent times.

It certainly reckon it has. The AFL has too frequently compromised the things which make the sport great to appeal to casual fans. They should instead be trying to educate new supporters on exactly why it's such a great game

Half of Essendons premierships have been captained and/or coached by outsiders.

Mate, all of your premierships have been coached by an outsider**. What's your point? So what? The whole thing about 'outsiders' and the like is a crock.

Just give it up already, seriously.

**Technically Pagan was half-outsider, played at South.

Five years on ...