Fixture Leaks

Eddie does the fixture and the AFL and its 15 other clubs try to work around it.

The round 1 Brisbane V's West Coast game at either the GABBA or Subiaco is gaining some credibility. Plus Adelaide are well over due for a home opener.

The other round 1 leaks are:
Adelaide V W Bulldogs
Essendon V Port Adelaide
Carlton V Richmond
St Kilda V Geelong

So perhaps the Sydney V Essendon may not occur.

Really? I thought it was Melbourne who cry poor every year and want a blockbuster on Queens birthday against the Pies? Time this date was given to anyone but Melbourne.

Queens birthday is our home game. We're quite happy to invite another guest if you don't want to play us anymore.

I hear Carlton can draw a good crowd these days.

Where this draw comes unstuck and shows probably it is a fake is the Anzac Day game against Hawthorn. Showing a 1:10pm start? Impossible with the Pies V Bombers stand alone match.

Not really.
The Pie vs Bomber match could start at 330pm or 310pm.

Blues v Lions in round 2 will mean that they have faced each other 5 times in their last 27/28 games of home & away/finals footy.

Where this draw comes unstuck and shows probably it is a fake is the Anzac Day game against Hawthorn. Showing a 1:10pm start? Impossible with the Pies V Bombers stand alone match.

Didn't the hawks play on Anzac day down in tassie this year? I was under the impression that the Pies vs Bombers is the only game in melbourne played, but games can be played on other states. Plus, it be hard having only one game on the sunday.

No, Anzac day falls on a Sunday mate so it wont be a "Stand Alone" match. There will be the usual three games on that Sunday.

I was going to point that out, but Foxtel wont budge on their agreements unless it advantages them

they were the main reason this years Bulldogs vs COllingwood game in rd 22 wasnt changed

Foxtel was always going to have a 1:10pm game and a 4:10pm game on ANZAC day unless they get a triple header on Saturday, or even Thursday or monday night football

Didn't the hawks play on Anzac day down in tassie this year? I was under the impression that the Pies vs Bombers is the only game in melbourne played, but games can be played on other states. Plus, it be hard having only one game on the sunday.
it was boring predictable match - normal time
hawthorn - saturday twilgiht
two random games - night

No, Anzac day falls on a Sunday mate so it wont be a "Stand Alone" match. There will be the usual three games on that Sunday.

The Monday (26th April) will be a public holiday so they might put a game on that day.

What will be more intersting will be 2011 when ANZAC day will fall on Easter Monday. That weekend we will have Thursday night easter footy, ANZAC day on the Easter Monday then another Public holiday on the Tuesday.

The Monday (26th April) will be a public holiday so they might put a game on that day.

What will be more intersting will be 2011 when ANZAC day will fall on Easter Monday. That weekend we will have Thursday night easter footy, ANZAC day on the Easter Monday then another Public holiday on the Tuesday.

Indeed! It will 6 day round if they have a Tuesday game :eek:. It will be interesting to see the fixtures the week before and after also, you know one team is just going to get royally screwed.

i have seen a copy of the draft fixture that has been sent to the broadcasters and clubs by the league. this link looks right at least for the early adel games i can remember seeing - adel definitely hosting dogs rnd 1 followed by the showdown rnd 2. and rnd 19 v pies in melb is also right. they only play once in 2010 and it will be in melb as the pies always rotate 1 adel game per year between the SA sides under the current fixturing

Got any other information that you can tell us? Where and who are the Lions playing in round 22? We have travelled for the past two years for round 22.

Fixture Leaks