Fixture Leaks

If it costs too much just don't go. I'm sure you would agree a flexible finals fixture is a must after Collingwood had the 6 day break vs 8 days of Adelaide.

My gripe is with interstate games being on Friday night.

Not only are we expected to travel but we also have to take a day off work. IMO all interstate games should be scheduled on a Saturday, to give ample time for people to get there and back.

But pretty much every home game we have includes an interstate side. And they aren't going to put the derby on a Friday night. So, are you saying we shouldn't get Friday night home games, so the AFL can cater for a few visitors that want to come to our consistently sold out ground? :rolleyes:

I think you'll find that the fixture will be finalised about 4-6 weeks out. Still plenty of time to book flights and hotels and save money.

There is a big difference between what you can pay for flights if you book 6 months to 1 month out. It obviously depends on the amount the seats have filled in that 5 months in between, but usually flights are around 30% more expensive, sometimes more, sometimes less.

I'm really fearing for W33's mental health. I thought he might have been going through a delusional phase and that he'll snap out of it, unfortunately his condition seems to be getting worse. :(

I'm really fearing for W33's mental health....

Yeah, who needs FACTS when you can just repeat the same unfounded nonsense and sling ad hominem abuse all the time, eh LD? :rolleyes:

Melbourne wont beat Hawthorn RD1.

The final result can and only have two options:

1)The game will be a close game with Hawks winning under 20 points or;
2) It will be blow out with Hawks winning 60+ points.

About 6 times as much as the margin you beat us by in the next head-to-head encounter that year (about 3 goals), and you didn't have this kind of injury list in that one.

If we can get as close as we did (and led you for a large proportion of the match) during a year when we were at our lowest ebb, and you were nearer to full-strength, why wouldn't we figure we'll be in with a chance against you in Round 1, 2010?

You're an absolute maniac.

The Dees haven't beaten Hawthorn since 2006.

Even last year when we were down and out playing the worst footy we could possibly play with our list we still beat you twice.

In fact - of the teams we played twice there were only two that we beat twice - North and Melbourne.

And don't give me that "we got close" rubbish. In footy, it's not how close you come it's whether you win or lose. Just ask saints fans.

Good luck with the dees, I mean, you can't stay on the bottom forever, but let's face it - your opinion is based more on hope than reality and recent form.

Melbourne wont beat Hawthorn RD1.

The final result can and only have two options:

1)The game will be a close game with Hawks winning under 20 points or;
2) It will be blow out with Hawks winning 60+ points.

I'll take option 2. Hawthorn have Melbourne easily covered in every single area. Expecting big things of the Hawks in 2010 after their awful 2009, should start the season off with a flogging of Melbourne.

Well, I'm not sure how we'd go from losing by 3/4 goals with a weaker squad carrying a large number of injuries, to somehow being "flogged" with a STRONGER squad carrying LESS injuries - against a Hawthorn side without Franklin - but I won't deny anyone the right to their illusions.

Personally, I hope the Hawks are as complacent as this, then our chances of winning would increase further... :cool:

Well, I'm not sure how we'd go from losing by 3/4 goals with a weaker squad carrying a large number of injuries, to somehow being "flogged" with a STRONGER squad carrying LESS injuries - against a Hawthorn side without Franklin - but I won't deny anyone the right to their illusions.

Personally, I hope the Hawks are as complacent as this, then our chances of winning would increase further... :cool:

As has been mentioned in other threads, Hawthorn had more injuries than Melbourne this year. Your point is void, because they'll get back more players than you and their players are better.

Oh, and before you say that Melbourne's injuries were worse because they were concentrated, remember that your worst injury lists were in Rnds 21 and 22, when you were missing 19 and 20 players respectively, not when you faced the Hawks.

So you didn't notice that we got within 20-odd points of them this season, and within 3 goals of them the previous time? (and within less than a goal in pre-season)

And that Franklin will be out for this game?

Or are you one of those who just don't bother to think before you post :rolleyes:

LOL.. you're probably one of those dedicated space cases who actually BELIEVE we'll somehow be last next year...
21.gif
Easy now Wonna, if you think Melbourne have got improvement in them from 2009, just what exactly do the Hawks have up their sleeve? ;)

As has been mentioned in other threads, Hawthorn had more injuries than Melbourne this year.

Yeah, and they undoubtedly have a stronger list than we do at the moment, in our current stage of development.

Nonetheless, as I say, we got within 3 goals of them in 2008 - and led for a long period - when we were at our absolute low-point, and they weren't carrying those numbers of injuries then.

So I dunno how we'll do particularly worse against a Hawks side minus Franklin in Round 1, 2010. That factor especially gives me confidence for this matchup.

Easy now Wonna, if you think Melbourne have got improvement in them from 2009, just what exactly do the Hawks have up their sleeve? ;)

Well, not Franklin anyway- but he'd never fit up that sleeve to begin with... :p

fair dinkum essendon set to get 7 friday night games, what a rort.

also if richmond is picking up more MCG games, who is bearing the brunt of more games at ian collins dome?
Look at this way though, the first round mauling they get from Geelong will be one of the most watched games of the year, as it's the first Friday night game of the season. :thumbsu:

As good as the 44pt mauling we gave to the 08 Premiers this year even WITH Franklin, Roughead, Dew, Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell, Rioli, Bateman, Brown, Williams, Lewis etc.

Now that was a great game in front of 50K+ packing it out at Etihad.

Geez 3 interstate trips aswell as Hawthorn and Carlton twice, how on earth will I sleep at night. :D

Essendon have been handed a golden draw, this is Collingwood-esque what we've been handed next year if the fixture leaks are correct. We already played St Kilda, Hawthorn and Collingwood twice this year and beat them all, hardly a draw to complain about.

Softish draw bordering on a bomber bribe if true. How do you only travel 3 times in a national comp. Dave10, are you getting the Bendigo draw confused with the real bombers? If you don't play finals with that dream run then the coach will be under pressure from the Essendon faithful

Mhill, that's a krafty response!!

My spies in the NW suburbs tell me that they are taking a more sober view of our on field chances in 2010 as a result of draw.

fair dinkum essendon set to get 7 friday night games, what a rort.

also if richmond is picking up more MCG games, who is bearing the brunt of more games at ian collins dome?

Why wouldn't you, they generated the highest free to air TV ratings in 2009 despite finishing 9th. They are widely perceived as being on the way back up and play exciting attacking football...

I think you'll find we finished 8th ;)

But in response to the "rort" poster. The reason Essendon get 7 Friday night games (if indeed, that is what they have got) would be because of the following TV ratings (all Melbourne ratings) for free-to-air games last season:

vs Port Adelaide 222,000
vs Carlton 423,000
vs Collingwood 664,000
vs Brisbane 354,000
vs Hawthorn 518,000
vs Richmond 411,000
vs Geelong 352,000
vs Melbourne 368,000
vs Carlton 505,000
vs Collingwood 531,000
vs Bulldogs 396,000
vs Richmond 314,000
vs Hawthorn 409,000

Average 420,500

St.Kilda
vs Sydney 275,000
vs Adelaide 451,000
vs Port Adelaide 424,000
vs Collingwood 530,000
vs Brisbane 335,000
vs Carlton 553,000
vs Geelong 626,000
vs Bulldogs 433,000
vs Hawthorn 279,000
vs Melbourne 292,000

Average 419,800

vs Melbourne 251,000
vs Geelong 486,000
vs Brisbane 527,000
vs Essendon 664,000
vs Nth.Melb 465,000
vs St.Kilda 530,000
vs Carlton 306,000
vs Melbourne 471,000
vs Sydney 515,000
vs Fremantle 218,000
vs Essendon 531,000
vs Bulldogs 462,000
vs Hawthorn 390,000
vs Carlton 497,000
vs Brisbane 370,000
vs Adelaide 299,000
vs Richmond 277,000
vs Sydney 264,000

Average 417,000

vs Richmond 709,000
vs Essendon 423,000
vs Bulldogs 357,000
vs Hawthorn 310,000
vs Fremantle 382,000
vs Collingwood 306,000
vs West Coast 389,000
vs Brisbane 433,000
vs St.Kilda 553,000
vs Essendon 505,000
vs Richmond 294,000
vs Collingwood 497,000
vs Nth Melb 387,000
vs Geelong 438,000
vs Port Adelaide 320,000
vs Melbourne 230,000

Average 408,000

vs Hawthorn 473,000
vs Collingwood 486,000
vs Adelaide 361,000
vs Melbourne 235,000
vs Nth.Melb 233,000
vs Bulldogs 482,000
vs Essendon 352,000
vs St.Kilda 626,000
vs Brisbane 362,000
vs Melbourne 249,000
vs Hawthorn 352,000
vs Adelaide 290,000
vs Carlton 438,000
vs Sydney 428,000
vs Bulldogs 432,000

Average 386,000

vs Nth Melb 277,000
vs Richmond 330,000
vs Carlton 357,000
vs Geelong 482,000
vs Richmond 432,000
vs Nth Melb 219,000
vs Hawthorn 361,000
vs Collingwood 462,000
vs Essendon 396,000
vs St.Kilda 433,000
vs Geelong 432,000

Average 380,000

vs Geelong 473,000
vs Sydney 351,000
vs Nth Melb 208,000
vs Port Adelaide 192,000
vs Carlton 310,000
vs Essendon 518,000
vs Fremantle 422,000
vs Sydney 305,000
vs West Coast 328,000
vs Bulldogs 361,000
vs Collingwood 390,000
vs Geelong 352,000
vs Port Adelaide 330,000
vs St.Kilda 279,000
vs Adelaide 413,000
vs Richmond 275,000
vs Essendon 409,000

Average 348,000

vs Carlton 709,000
vs Bulldogs 330,000
vs Melbourne 275,000
vs Nth Melb 338,000
vs Brisbane 251,000
vs Essendon 411,000
vs Fremantle 374,000
vs Bulldogs 432,000
vs West Coast 430,000
vs Carlton 294,000
vs Nth Melb 251,000
vs Essendon 314,000
vs Sydney 210,000
vs Collingwood 277,000
vs Hawthorn 275,000
vs West Coast 334,000

Average 344,000

vs Collingwood 251,000
vs Richmond 275,000
vs Geelong 235,000
vs Collingwood 471,000
vs Essendon 368,000
vs West Coast 237,000
vs Port Adelaide 267,000
vs Geelong 249,000
vs Carlton 230,000
vs St.Klda 292,000

Average 288,000

vs Bulldogs 277,000
vs Hawthorn 208,000
vs Richmond 338,000
vs Collingwood 465,000
vs Geelong 233,000
vs Fremantle 214,000
vs Brisbane 242,000
vs Bulldogs 219,000
vs Richmond 251,000
vs Carlton 387,000
vs Port Adelaide 246,000

Average 280,000

Channel 10 reported tonight that Adelaide will play a lot of the bottom ranked sides at home during the first half of the season and will also play St.Kilda twice and Geelong once.

There's a couple more in The Advertiser today.

Adelaide will play a lunch time fixture on Easter Sunday and a twilight game against Richmond on Mother's day, both at AAMI Stadium.

Carlton and Brisbane to play each other twice, both games on Thursday nights.

Round 2 at the Gabba, Easter Thursday.
Round 13 at Etihad.

Carlton also play a Monday game vs St Kilda in round 7.

In other news, Brisbane have secured the Easter Thursday Blockbuster game at the Gabba for the next 5 years.

Carlton and Brisbane to play each other twice, both games on Thursday nights.

Round 2 at the Gabba, Easter Thursday.
Round 13 at Etihad.

Carlton also play a Monday game vs St Kilda in round 7.

In other news, Brisbane have secured the Easter Thursday Blockbuster game at the Gabba for the next 5 years.

The Blues have 3 Thursday night fixtures by the looks of it - throwing in the season opener v Tigers with the 2 V Brisbane, how strange..

Fixture Leaks