Flag 08: Your Highlight........

The 3 on 1 gang tackle, Rioli's 3 on 1 passage on the wing, Buddy disposing of Scarlett like a rag doll and giving Dew that goal, the whole Dew passage that lead to that Williams goal. Young's big bomb, Brown's big bomb, Hodge giving the cats a free shot at his ribs, Hodge kick off the ground then flying uncontrolled through the air, The mitchell hit on Ablett (Hodge will be actually captaining for a few weeks in 09 :p)

The final siren sounding.....:D

Apart from the on feild stuff already said, I enjoyed the medal presentation.

When Crawford got his I had a tear in my eye! Also big Robbie Campbell lifting the little girl up to the next step so she could put the medal around his neck and then he gave her a hug. Also the crowd laughing when Changa's medal got caught on his dreds!

"Number 9, Shane Crawford". Easily my hi-light. I didn't believe we'd actually won until i heard him introduced. Just amazing.

Linked at the anthem
Hodge giving Stokes a chance to hit his ribs
Browny goal from outside 50
Youngy goal from outside the state
Dew's 8 minutes of sheer brilliance
Sammys goal to nail it down
and 'Thats what im talking about!'

5 minutes of Stewie Dew magic!:)

He can do nothing next year and Clarko's decision to draft him will still be a superb decision cause' Stewies may just be responsible for us winning the most important game of the year yesterday:thumbsu:

Dew + straw + camels back = flag

surely the williams handball whilst been tackled to dew handball whilst being tackled to williams handball whilst being tackled to dew handball whilst being tackled to williams pick up gather dribble through goal in front of the hawks faithful. Was rare. Put us 4 goals up and the crowd loved it.
I have watched this goal on replay over and over. 2 against 3, Geelong tried everything to clear it. ended up 3 of them having to tackle the 44 gallon drum with legs, stewie dew and he was able to free up willo with a desperate handball. Was just special, showed we wanted it more really and had the polish to finish it off.

mine too! pure determination by both players, right in front of me, was in the middle of the best 5 minutes of the match for the hawks

Sorry to stick my nose in.........but Rioli's 3rd quarter 3 on 1 effort on the wing and subsequent free kick, was to me the play of the year. As that unfolded I went from thinking you guys were in trouble, to thinking he may force a ball up which would be a great win...to scratching my head when he ended up winning the ball wondering just how he did it.

- 3v1 gang tackle on the geelong player (I'm sure Crawf stuck his elbow in the blokes head!)
- Willo/Dewy running rings around 4 Catters
- Hodgey's 40m Handball!
- If someone else who has the DVD already confirm this, but i swear with 16 mins (Approx) to go in the third quarter, Stevie J getting called out by Mclaren for 'Staging'! i had a quiet chuckle to myself given some of the threads on this board recently.
- Crawf getting his well deserved Premiership
- Bloody oath, the whole freakin Day!!!

- 3v1 gang tackle on the geelong player (I'm sure Crawf stuck his elbow in the blokes head!)
- Willo/Dewy running rings around 4 Catters
- Hodgey's 40m Handball!
- If someone else who has the DVD already confirm this, but i swear with 16 mins (Approx) to go in the third quarter, Stevie J getting called out by Mclaren for 'Staging'! i had a quiet chuckle to myself given some of the threads on this board recently.
- Crawf getting his well deserved Premiership
- Bloody oath, the whole freakin Day!!!

Confirmed!

There were so many highlights already mentioned but one that wasnt was in the third quarter when we were gaining the ascendancy.

Franklin grabbed the ball in the backline ran with it and then handpassed to Roughie who booted it into the 50 metre arc. The passage of play blew me away. Our gun forwards were playing back and driving us into attack.
Then later I saw Willow doing the same thing in the last quarter.

It made me realise that Clarko's original game plan based on hard running out of defence and breaking the lines had fully matured.

Linked at the anthem
Hodge giving Stokes a chance to hit his ribs
Browny goal from outside 50
Youngy goal from outside the state (well - lets say the carpark)
Dew's 8 minutes of sheer brilliance
Sammys goal to nail it down (that was when my heart rate went back to normal)
and 'Thats what im talking about!'

All these PLUS

Cyril beating the 3 Geelong players single handed and finishes by getting a free.:thumbsu:

Cyril on the wing for sure.
Hodgey letting Stokesy smack him in the ribs
Bartell giving a way a goal by trying to milk a free from the ump (dragged our bloke down to try and make it look like he was the victim)
Browny and Youngy's goals. WHACK!
Dew was awesome
Franklin's goal assists: Williams on the line, tap down to cyril and handball to Dew - this has been seriously undernoted.

The biggest highlight for me however, was the 22 blokes on our list that DIDN'T make the team running on and celebrating the way they did!!!! No Mark Blake moments there, blokes like Murphy going absolutely crazy based on the fact that they all helped us get there :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

That's also why we won the game - the spirit, teamwork and commitment of the boys was above and beyond the opposiiton's. WHAT A GAME!

So many highlights...

All the great ones already listed....

Birchall's headbutt on Stevie J?? (desperation personified) :D

Stevie G played the game of his life down back especially with no Croad. Hats off to you sir.

To all the Hawthorn players that didn’t play but ran onto the ground after the siren – stay with us because you’ll get a chance!

I loved Hodge's kick of the ground that went out on the full. The cats player saw his life flash before his eyes and didn't move for about 30 seconds he was so %^&$ scared! It was the ultimate game of chicken and Hodge won easily - other bloke pooed his pants.

It just summed up Hodges approach to the game - absolutely no prisoners.

I loved it for some strange reason.

Next best is Cyril's win against 3 on the wing - he is a star and is going to be an absolute superstar of the game.

In no particular order:-

Williams/Dew goal combo
Rioli tackle on Rooke
Brown dog's goal and late mark
Hodge
Croad on Selwood
Dew's 3rd quarter
Young/Ellis
The ping pong bump of the Geelong player (can't remember who). Bang Mitch, bang Changa, bang some one else.

and....THAT'S WHAT I'M TALKIN ABOUT!!!!!!

The biggest highlight for me however, was the 22 blokes on our list that DIDN'T make the team running on and celebrating the way they did!!!! No Mark Blake moments there, blokes like Murphy going absolutely crazy based on the fact that they all helped us get there :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

couldn't have put that better myself mate. says so much about the passion of our great club.

Dew and Willo's desperation & goal
Cyril's fight for the ball on the wing
Croady laying one more for the team
The backlines resolve
Bateman, Oz and Brown's relentless attack at the footy
All epitomised what the team is all about

• Changa's opening running goal...settled everyone's nerves and good blood pumping..
  • Browny's bomb from outside 50...yeeeeeaaaaaahhhhhhh
  • Croady's second effort on one leg...inspirational
  • Ottens missing that absolute sitter (sorry, have to include it)
  • Rioli's 3-on-1... i reckon he's got a thing for that wing to be honest - similar spot to where he took that hanger against the Cats (also outnumbered) in round 16
  • Deeeeeeeeeeeeeew's third quarter... premiership quarter by premiership player
  • Ablett having a sook (for the second time in a week)
More and more realising that the Cats just assumed the game was theirs...

An amazing home and away series, a premiership it will not win you..
An amazing finals series however........yep, that's what i'm talking about..

There are so many great highlights from the day that I will remember for the rest of my life, most of them have been mentioned here a few times. One of the best moments for me was when Roughy kicked his 2nd goal and while celebrating pointed right up to the sectionof the crowd I was sitting, in the Ponsford Stand. We were supporting loud and passionately up there all day and when he did that, I just went crazy, it topped the whole day off for me. :D:thumbsu:

• Changa's opening running goal...settled everyone's nerves and good blood pumping..
  • Browny's bomb from outside 50...yeeeeeaaaaaahhhhhhh
  • Croady's second effort on one leg...inspirational
  • Ottens missing that absolute sitter (sorry, have to include it)
  • Rioli's 3-on-1... i reckon he's got a thing for that wing to be honest - similar spot to where he took that hanger against the Cats (also outnumbered) in round 16
  • Deeeeeeeeeeeeeew's third quarter... premiership quarter by premiership player
  • Ablett having a sook (for the second time in a week)
More and more realising that the Cats just assumed the game was theirs...

An amazing home and away series, a premiership it will not win you..
An amazing finals series however........yep, that's what i'm talking about..

My highlights were when we were 30 points up then I was relaxed.
And Ablett having his 2nd sook

The moments I will remember (amongst others):

- Ottens point when he had about 3 players in better positions.

- Croad doing his foot & then on the way off trying to crunch somebody.

- mooney missing the easiest goal you will ever see right on halftime.

- Every time geelong kicked a goal we had a reply - like when ablett finally broke their run of points buddy popped up with a great goal.

- When we finally got a holding the ball decision against ablett

- Hodge kicking a great goal to put us a goal up.

- Rioli's desperate tackleing & great running.

- Slapping my wife on the back after dew gave the ball to willo goal & almost knocking her over

- 4 bits of play from dew resulting in goals and everybody around me hugging each other & for the first time me thinking - $hit we can win this!

- Singing the song at least 10 times after the game finished and high 5ing hawks all the way to the carpark.

For me two things stand out as to why we won and they were my favourite moments. Both have been mentioned s many times already.

- Dew's third quarter. He decided we were going to win and did something about it.
- Rioli on the wing. Three opponents. No way in hell should we of ended up with the footy after that play, at best a ball up, but that just the kind of player he is.

Flag 08: Your Highlight........