Prediction Flag Chances 2017

Just you wait and see
TBH, barring injuries, they will be very, very hard to beat. They've been handed a list of topline picks, and they didn't waste them (unlike GC). Their depth is extraordinary, and they have a gun midfield, a frightening forward line, and a very talented defense. I love watching Nick Haynes...Rory Lobb and Mumford are a terrifying ruck combo. Deledio will think he's died and gone to footy heaven, after playing with bozos at Punt Road for all those years...

I'm certainly not saying they're going to win the flag, but since we're talking about other teams' fortunes here I am tipping Fremantle to be very big improvers. Sandilands, Pearce and Fyfe barely played last year and should return. Hamling, McCarthy and Brad Hill are big pickups and Kersten can contribute to a lesser degree. They've got 3 very big players in the centre square (Fyfe, Mundy and Blakely) plus 2 of the best wingmen in the Hill brothers. I think they will be capable of giving a lot of teams problems

They had the best trade period of any club I reckon.

The biggest issue for them IMO will be getting the culture right, and whether Bennell is going to be any use to them, or if McCarthy is going to be any use after spending a year hiding under his mother's apron.

The club has problems internally. A few early losses could badly affect them, and might be enough to convince Fyfe to look elsewhere.

Plus if they are even half decent they can usually win 90% of their home games, eek out the odd road win and you are cemented in the top 8

I agree, we have great players but I'm not sure we have the balance right. We need a couple of players/rotations in there who can bust a pack with something other than brute strength, if we could add evasive skills or acceleration into our midfield we'd instantly be more potent. Kicking skills would be a bonus... but we're Sydney and that's a worn out record so I won't keep my hopes up on that.

maybe our midfielders are precision kicks and we are bad leaders :p

Whilst on the subject, there's a guy called Harley Balic who starred for peel late last year, hes a big chance to debut this year looks really good across half back.

I reckon they are at awesome odds(2.90) to beat geelong round 1 at home.

Think our midfield is overrated

Heeny will make a difference in time but it still lacks speed and kicking skills

There's no way our mids are over-rated. If anything, I think we still sort of under-appreciate how our midfield has been able to consistently be the driving force behind our wins in an era when we've reached three grand finals, won a flag, and finished top four across five consecutive seasons. Yeah they've let themselves down a few times, but it's probably because they do so bloody good almost week in, week out to get them there. Parker is A-grade. Hannebery is A-grade. JPK is A-grade. Mitchell was on his way to A-grade. Jack is one of the best B-graders in the comp. You can't fault them for having bad days, but we can fault the coaching staff for thinking those five blokes could possibly take on a GWS or Bulldogs midfield with almost the double the men.

All our problems will be fixed though because Sam Reid will be back this year. He's the messiah! Just check the breakout thread if you don't believe me.....
WTFDYCF, he's like his bro, if he's up and about it gives us a fair crack. Goodnight

All our problems will be fixed though because Sam Reid will be back this year. He's the messiah! Just check the breakout thread if you don't believe me.....

Huge upgrade over Richards regardless of whether he will 'break out' or not.

I just think he is the most likely candidate because he already started doing it at the end of 2015.

I agree, we have great players but I'm not sure we have the balance right. We need a couple of players/rotations in there who can bust a pack with something other than brute strength, if we could add evasive skills or acceleration into our midfield we'd instantly be more potent. Kicking skills would be a bonus... but we're Sydney and that's a worn out record so I won't keep my hopes up on that.
Mitchell out improves both our average speed and kicking. Hope he left his barn behind though, a few players could still benefit from some practice.

I hope Horse saw his ad in Gumtree

For Sale

Barn, like new. Really big, rarely used, unmarked.

tommy@dorkporn.com.au

I think we are the 3rd best team going into 2017 behind Dogs and GWS both of these sides have more scope for improvement than us either from players returning from injury or recruitment.

Possibly though we get Reid and Talia back (maybe AJ by finals......I can wish). We carried a bunch of injuries into the finals and still could have won the granny if the umpires had been fair. We were also shafted to play at ANZ for our 'home' final against Giants as they've never beaten us at home. We have a young list with plenty of improvement to come in some already very good players. The only player I could think might be slowing down is McVeigh but he can still be dangerous in a variety of seasons (and with a preseason under his belt). So plenty of upside for us too and one more game at fortress SCG this year. Don't forget the Dogs only placed 7th. A lot of things went right for them to win the premiership. As for GWS, they're very dependent on Mumford staying injury free. Not something he usually manages.

Just wondering where it got it from that we are the 3rd best, to me a s**t attitude. If they feel like some of us we are a big chance.

Maybe he is just trying to channel it so we finish 3rd on the ladder like in 2005 and 2012 ;)

Imo bevo is a ruthless coach

Made there million dollar man play 2s , only really got in because redpath doing his knee

Suckling there new recruit who has been there and done it in GF , and didn't play him in the GF

Sent an AA back to the 2s for a while to get form , would horse do that

Think he is a ripper coach

Seems to me that if your not playing well you play 2s regardless of there last name

Isaac Heeney says hello. Ted Richards says hi.

Every coach that has a bit of success seems to inspire new love for you Punts, especially if they come from the Hawthorn camp. Horse is one of the best, most consistent coaches in the AFL and, more importantly, our coach. We were cheated at the GF, Horse did everything that could be expected of him.

I think we are the 3rd best team going into 2017 behind Dogs and GWS both of these sides have more scope for improvement than us either from players returning from injury or recruitment.

Bulldogs wouldnt have been thought of the 6th best side going into last season and look how that turned out. All we need to do is have a little luck with injury where we don't have 2-3 players missing for consistent periods, Play a committed consistent brand of footy during the H&A season that will net us a top 4 spot and don't s**t the bed GF Day and we will rightfully take our place as the best side in it. Btw when I say s**t the Bed I mean our best credentialed players turning up on the day and playing to a level that they are capable of and a level that represents a cast iron resolve to take the prize the football club and loyal supporters deserve.

I have been waiting for that luck in the finals series since 2012 regarding injured players, we ALWAYS seem to limp into finals.

Only 13 and 15. The other two years we had most of our best team available in September and managed to make the grand final. If we get a decent run this year I expect us to be good enough to make it again.