Prediction Flag Chances 2017

Unfortunately, I think we will go down a notch. Some of the boys are getting older and our match fitness will take a hit.

I'm afraid GWS will romp it in next year.

Unfortunately, I think we will go down a notch. Some of the boys are getting older and our match fitness will take a hit.

I'm afraid GWS will romp it in next year.

Didnt we trade you

GWS have an immensely stronger best 22. Though they traded out their entire depth in a fire sale, hence Mzungu and deboar and resigning Simpson.
If GWS have no depth, what have we got?

They have 23 players on their list who have played 50+ AFL matches, we have 15. They've got 30 players on their list who have performed at least decently at AFL level, not counting their top picks in Taranto, Perryman and Setterfield.

Well I hope you still have your betting slip for 2012 because actually, we won that year. Maybe you missed it.
Haha, yeah I know mate (Remember the final siren like it was yesterday).

What I was trying to say was that the 05 profits funded all those future bets (excluding the outcomes of those other bets). :thumbsu:

For me , our flag chances depend on two people...heeney and mills. We know what we will get out of our usual match winners like buddy, jpk, towers, parker and hanners. if heeney and mills take another big step forward, it adds a very different dynamic to our midfield/forwards and makes us that much deeper.

Grundy, Rampe & Smith also need a mention here. Solid, reliable & consistent.

Grundy was one of our best this year IMO. Rampe also was pretty vital.

I think we're still in the mix.

Out of the Grand Final side goes McGlynn, Mitchell, Richards.

In comes Aliir, Reid, and probably Foote. I think that's a net improvement.

Obviously, you'd hope for no injuries and all the rest of it but I think we're still top 4 and from there you can only really hope.

Yep. I'm bullish on us. In 2015 I had 2018 as our next "window" year. The GF appearance this year was unexpected to say the least!

Our real strength IMO has been Grundy, Smitty, Rampe, Jones, Mills.

Very happy with Mills in particular. Think his first year is as good as I've ever seen. Consistent. Reliable. Classy. Not words I use lightly. I reckon Horse has him pegged to replace Macca as that "distributor" from the back half with a cool head & good feet. Amazing to say about a rookie. If he's not a superstar yet, he will be. Fast becoming one of my favs.

Rampe, Jones & Heeney are 3 guys who have stepped up from depth/rookie spots to genuine top 10 picked each week IMO. AA might also make this group with a consistent start to the year too.

Hewy & Lloyd been important & flying under the radar.

Marsh, Foote & Newman all waiting in the wings & will contribute given a chance.

Naisy was a revelation too.

So much to be positive about.

Yep. I'm bullish on us. In 2015 I had 2018 as our next "window" year. The GF appearance this year was unexpected to say the least!

Our real strength IMO has been Grundy, Smitty, Rampe, Jones, Mills.

Very happy with Mills in particular. Think his first year is as good as I've ever seen. Consistent. Reliable. Classy. Not words I use lightly. I reckon Horse has him pegged to replace Macca as that "distributor" from the back half with a cool head & good feet. Amazing to say about a rookie. If he's not a superstar yet, he will be. Fast becoming one of my favs.

Rampe, Jones & Heeney are 3 guys who have stepped up from depth/rookie spots to genuine top 10 picked each week IMO. AA might also make this group with a consistent start to the year too.

Hewy & Lloyd been important & flying under the radar.

Marsh, Foote & Newman all waiting in the wings & will contribute given a chance.

Naisy was a revelation too.

So much to be positive about.
Don't forget Daniel Robinson. Looked very confident out there till he got injured.

Also very bullish about Newman coming in and releasing Zac Jones a bit.

Hayward could play a number of games too as another FWD option

Dunno

You could argue we lost our second best finals player or at least second best mid

Mcveigh some see as not playing again or being useless
Grundy 31
Franklin tippett k jack 30

Mcglynn xr and mitchell all played grand final day and gone

Reid hasnt played for a year
Aj hasnt played for four years

Better hope first and second year players play well

Grundy is playing the best footy of his career. Even if he broke down and suddenly aged into Mr Burns we could replace him, not easily, but young Talia is a player and Maibaum is body ready.

Buddy is in the best form he has been in for a long time.

Kizza had the best year in 4 years last year. He has had several seasons of injury and finally got injury free.

No, Reid hasn't played for a year and will require a few reserves games but when he is ready look out. At his top he is one of the best KPP in the game. If he is allowed to play KPP. This is the mistake we made in trying to turn him into a swing man. His best position is CHF.

We managed to replace several players who everyone said were irreplaceable before the start of last season. This year we will replace X, who was only minding the spot for Reid & Dawson. McGoo who was finished but did quite well until the GF which he seems to always, twice, stuff up. I'm sure Rose, Towers, Murray, Sexy Tyrone and the new boys are quite capable of replacing him. Mitchell is the hard one but a mix of Heens, Mills & Foote should suffice.

As for the half back line and Macca. If he goes down then Newman is ready and waiting. The only reason he didn't get a gig last season is because he was a Rookie and there was no place open for an upgrade. He made the emergencies several times and there looked to be a spot but players came good faster then expected. So look forward to this bloke sliding the ball 50-60 metres onto teammates chests.

The future is rosy. Do you know we lost the NEAFL GF by only one point to GWS. The reason was that we could only play 17 listed players to 18 and those in GWS were supposed to be highly superior to our players. We should have won but a last minute free kick won the game. If GWS were so superior they should have spanked us and they didn't. We are far better this year minus Galloway, Hiscox etc. We will be boosted by two first round draft picks and some good Draft & Rookie draft pick ups. Don't expect to be beaten in the NEAFL by GWS again.

I think a coupole of young guns from the reserves coming in to the Seniors will make a heap of difference.

Don't forget Daniel Robinson. Looked very confident out there till he got injured.

Yes Dan was very good until he got injured. I think he will be even better this year. He is calm, confident and has a wonderful sidestep. Hi delivery is generally good and he is a great tackle. He hunts the player with the ball. I think we are in great shape.

As to those that believe Cats are going to be better than GWS. No way. do you know why? Depth. Cats have shallow depth. They proved that last year and only just limped into the finals. Lucky not to be shoved out by an injury ravaged Hawks. In fact should have been had Smith kicked straight. too few put in for a whole match at the Cats. Then there is the problem of whether players from 14-30 are actually up to the pace of AFL level. I think not. Their depth is shallow.

GWS are a good side but they have also lost depth. they come back to the pack this year as their list equals out with every other team. No more salary cap concessions. No more extra players. No more first round draft picks for nothing. GWS need to get it done in 2017 because they will probably lose at least four players next year that are in the top 12 players. Shiel, Devon Smith, Patton (although he is committing apparently), Whitfield, Tomlinson and Adam Kennedy all come out of contract. They need to either lock them in, which I think will be difficult considering what other sides will be offering as the salary cap will restrict them to only being able to keep half of them, or bank on them going. If they lose more than four they will have to have won the premiership as the next year will be difficult again.

I think the Bullies did it on pure emotion this year. Not to mention the AFL (Gillon McLachlan) approved throws. Had they been penalised for the amount of incorrect disposal they made during the year and in the finals they wouldn't have made it. If, as the other coaches want, the incorrect disposal actually gets umpired next year expect them to come back to the pack. But I don't expect it to be umpired, as Gillon McLachlan says it is too hard. Maybe because Bullies and his team, Saints just throw the ball all the time. GWS too.

As to our chances I'm not even going to speculate except to say we will be around the mark. i believe our depth to be far greater this year than at any time since we came to Sydney.

Don't knock Sinclair, he's very good depth. Far better than Derrickx. To replace Derrickx, Toby & Galloway with one mature age ruck who kicked 36 goals in the WAFL last year is pretty good really. The thing about Darcy Cameron is he is ready to go.

I was mystified on the night about Cameron, but the more I think about it the more I like the selection. He's a KPP but he's a multi position one that can play KPD/KPF/Ruck. H's ready to go as well. Perfect if Naismith goes down or Tippett.

Grundy is playing the best footy of his career. Even if he broke down and suddenly aged into Mr Burns we could replace him, not easily, but young Talia is a player and Maibaum is body ready.

Buddy is in the best form he has been in for a long time.

Kizza had the best year in 4 years last year. He has had several seasons of injury and finally got injury free.

No, Reid hasn't played for a year and will require a few reserves games but when he is ready look out. At his top he is one of the best KPP in the game. If he is allowed to play KPP. This is the mistake we made in trying to turn him into a swing man. His best position is CHF.

We managed to replace several players who everyone said were irreplaceable before the start of last season. This year we will replace X, who was only minding the spot for Reid & Dawson. McGoo who was finished but did quite well until the GF which he seems to always, twice, stuff up. I'm sure Rose, Towers, Murray, Sexy Tyrone and the new boys are quite capable of replacing him. Mitchell is the hard one but a mix of Heens, Mills & Foote should suffice.

As for the half back line and Macca. If he goes down then Newman is ready and waiting. The only reason he didn't get a gig last season is because he was a Rookie and there was no place open for an upgrade. He made the emergencies several times and there looked to be a spot but players came good faster then expected. So look forward to this bloke sliding the ball 50-60 metres onto teammates chests.

The future is rosy. Do you know we lost the NEAFL GF by only one point to GWS. The reason was that we could only play 17 listed players to 18 and those in GWS were supposed to be highly superior to our players. We should have won but a last minute free kick won the game. If GWS were so superior they should have spanked us and they didn't. We are far better this year minus Galloway, Hiscox etc. We will be boosted by two first round draft picks and some good Draft & Rookie draft pick ups. Don't expect to be beaten in the NEAFL by GWS again.

I think a coupole of young guns from the reserves coming in to the Seniors will make a heap of difference.

Ok firstly I am optimistic about our future but lets play a bit of devils advocate it gets the discussion going.

1- Agreed Grundy had a great year, but how can we say Talia is a player? he has not even demonstrated any sort of commitment culturally to AFL in the last 2 years, he is no way a replacement for Grundy nor is Maibaum right now

2- Buddys form is sensational but he is still getting older and we still rely on enormously to deliver.

3- Kizza had a good year but again he is still a year older and has still declined in the last few years overall, you cannot beat father time.

4- Reid is the biggest over hyped player in swans history there is NO WAY HE IS ONE OF THE BEST KPP in the game he has NEVER come close to even getting near delivering on that statement, I am sorry but that is simply delusional

5- Who did we replace who was irreplaceable this yeaR? Goodes (arguably the greatest of all time at our club) was past it, ditto shaw. Also doing something this year does not automatically guarantee it happens again that is just false logic.
I agree XR is more than replaceable, however as of our most recent game he was regarded as best 22 (for various reasons) and still need to replace him. Reid I commented on, Dawson has never played a game

Mcglynn i agree was cooked in the end but he was still picked in the best 22 when it mattered ahead of half the players including Towers and Rose whom you advocate to instantly step up and replace these guys. Yet they were not considered near good enough in 2016 but suddenly not only replace guys but exceed their output and get us a flag? seems unlikely.

Newman looks very promising but again has not played a senior game so why does he elevate the sides output

6- yes we lost the reserves grand final by a point to GWS, exactly and they have improved their list. The GWS seniors spanked us so based on your logic here our seniors are in big trouble.

In fact on reflection a lot of what you said makes little sense, Its just optimistic hope of a fan which I love dont get me wrong, but apply all that logic to other teams and the improvement they cant expect.

Also you ignore Tom Mitchell leaving, he is a gun!!!!

As to those that believe Cats are going to be better than GWS. No way. do you know why? Depth. Cats have shallow depth. They proved that last year and only just limped into the finals. Lucky not to be shoved out by an injury ravaged Hawks. In fact should have been had Smith kicked straight. too few put in for a whole match at the Cats. Then there is the problem of whether players from 14-30 are actually up to the pace of AFL level. I think not. Their depth is shallow.

GWS are a good side but they have also lost depth. they come back to the pack this year as their list equals out with every other team. No more salary cap concessions. No more extra players. No more first round draft picks for nothing. GWS need to get it done in 2017 because they will probably lose at least four players next year that are in the top 12 players. Shiel, Devon Smith, Patton (although he is committing apparently), Whitfield, Tomlinson and Adam Kennedy all come out of contract. They need to either lock them in, which I think will be difficult considering what other sides will be offering as the salary cap will restrict them to only being able to keep half of them, or bank on them going. If they lose more than four they will have to have won the premiership as the next year will be difficult again.

I think the Bullies did it on pure emotion this year. Not to mention the AFL (Gillon McLachlan) approved throws. Had they been penalised for the amount of incorrect disposal they made during the year and in the finals they wouldn't have made it. If, as the other coaches want, the incorrect disposal actually gets umpired next year expect them to come back to the pack. But I don't expect it to be umpired, as Gillon McLachlan says it is too hard. Maybe because Bullies and his team, Saints just throw the ball all the time. GWS too.

As to our chances I'm not even going to speculate except to say we will be around the mark. i believe our depth to be far greater this year than at any time since we came to Sydney.

Lucky we have never had talented players squeezed out by cap pressure

when is Heeney signing?

If GWS have no depth, what have we got?

They have 23 players on their list who have played 50+ AFL matches, we have 15. They've got 30 players on their list who have performed at least decently at AFL level, not counting their top picks in Taranto, Perryman and Setterfield.

Yeah. Probably was a bit wrong tying their firesale to their depth. I stand corrected.