Flogs of Perf

Assuming no one sneezes in China and you shut your borders again I am visiting your s**tstain of a city in just over a weeks time. I have the Sunday afternoon free and want to know what I can do that a) involves a good pub/bar maybe on the beach and b) doesn't get me killed (you Wolf Creek mother****ers). Is visiting FreLOL worth it? I have only even been to Perf city a few times before for work and haven't ventured beyond your (LOL) CBD.

Give me recommendations campaigners.

Ocean Beach Hotel
Gage Roads Brewery
Little creatures
Indian Ocean Brewing/the boat
Cannington greyhounds
The Amberton
Metro maddington shopping centre
The queens
The inglewood
Gosnells (scratch that forgot you said you didn’t want to get killed)
McDonald’s north baldivis
That markets in Morley that just burnt down.

Ocean Beach Hotel
Gage Roads Brewery
Little creatures
Indian Ocean Brewing/the boat
Cannington greyhounds
The Amberton
Metro maddington shopping centre
The queens
The inglewood
Gosnells (scratch that forgot you said you didn’t want to get killed)
McDonald’s north baldivis
That markets in Morley that just burnt down.
Little Creatures I've been to. The Amberton looks good :thumbsu:

For a unique experience:

Get on the train to Armadale. Along the way check out Maddington, Gosnells, Kelmscott and Armadale, which is the end of the line. A nice station at Armadale, also check out the great shopping centre there.

Pubs, check out the Sixty 30, you can read some good comments here:

Also Midland is quite nice. Just leave your car unlocked. They will just smash the window to get in anyway. You can also get there by train. Also a nice station with plenty of activity.

Morley Galleria is great also.

Now if you do all or most of the above we probably won't see you in Perth ever again.

Now for a "I would like to leave this place alive" experience:

Um, I will think about that one. :think:

Freo is worth it but if you only have the afternoon you wont have the time.

Perth Mint has some tours and you can buy some gold and fancy stuff.

Beach? Well Cottesloe is the one that always get mentioned. Plenty of places to eat around there.

If you are into nudity (I know you are) check out Swanbourne Beach. Just watch out for DanWA who is always snooping behind the sand dunes there.

Le Vietnam in the CBD has a reputation for its Bahn Mi. I've never tried it but everyone carries on about it:

If you are into French food check out Chez Pierre in Nedlands. You've probably already heard about it on this board.

Avoid this place though, they found rodent shit in the rice trays FFS:

I should have specified I don’t do public transport :$
I once caught a train to go to the tennis at Perth arena, still had to drive to get to the station though. By the time we had finished the trains had stopped running and there were lots of scary people around but they left us alone, most were passed out drunk. I had never used Uber before so in the darkness I someone managed to download the app, figure out how it worked and somehow GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE! We managed to get home without any incident.

So you have a hire car? What area of you staying in?

I once caught a train to go to the tennis at Perth arena, still had to drive to get to the station though. By the time we had finished the trains had stopped running and there were lots of scary people around but they left us alone, most were passed out drunk. I had never used Uber before so in the darkness I someone managed to download the app, figure out how it worked and somehow GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE! We managed to get home without any incident.

So you have a hire car? What area of you staying in?
Staying in rivervale. Will walk and uber around. There for a trade show starting on Monday

So you will be very close to Victoria Park and East Victoria Park. There are a HEAP of pubs and eateries along the Albany Hwy stretch. Every cuisine you can think of.

If you want a laugh you are very close to Lathlain so you can go and make fun of the Eagles as you watch them train.

Of course you are also near Crown, there is a Nobu (Japanese) there, plus a few pubs and other places. Just make sure your credit card isn't maxed out. I would avoid Rockpool Bar & Grill there. While I have never been the people I know who have weren't that impressed. And the casino if that is your thing.

Also Optus stadium do tours. I think there is a roof climb one.

The closest beach probably is Cottesloe which would be around 20km. But to get there you would need to go through the CBD so it may take a while.

If you want to go swimming Belmont Oasis has pools, gyms, saunas etc. but you probably have that at your hotel. Belmont Forum is the closest shopping centre. Some say it has a bad rep but I've never had any problem. It is clean and well maintained but I don't go there often. Avoid Bentley, but again, never had a problem.

Riverview is next to the casino so you'll feel right at home with the methheads who've lost everything on the pokies. Try not to get stabbed

Pubs, check out the Sixty 30, you can read some good comments here:
Friday skimpys at the 6030 from 3 pm, walking distance from mine.

Lucky dip though, some days some beauties and others not so good.

The rep is a bit overboard though, yeah it's a tradie pub. Not a pub you walk into and everyone wants to blue ya like the impression given

Friday skimpys at the 6030 from 3 pm, walking distance from mine.

Lucky dip though, some days some beauties and others not so good.

The rep is a bit overboard though, yeah it's a tradie pub. Not a pub you walk into and everyone wants to blue ya like the impression given
I've never been. I was just going on the rep. Are there worse in Perth?

6030 is like all the suburbs north on Joondalup, full of meth head FIFOs. Obviously some will have nothing better to do than have a scrap

The Scarborough ones were pretty bad. That was a while ago, no idea if they've cleaned the place up.

The day I arrived my plane was late (of course :rolleyes:) and the weather was shite so I abandoned my beach pub idea and just went to the Generous Squire. I was there back in 2018 or 19 and remembered liking it. Not sure if my memory was hazy (most likely) but this time I felt like if I wasn't saying ****ing campaigner every 10 words I wasn't welcome.

That and sleeve tats and a mullet :$

I've never been. I was just going on the rep. Are there worse in Perth?
As usual the rep is overblown. Yeah sure there's drongo flogs around the burb but by and large you're not gonna run into meth heads tryna stab ya with a used omo injector, let alone the pub.

6030 is a tradies pub, yeah tradies get pissed and swear n shit, whoda thought? Pretty sure a lot of burbs have similar pubs.

Flogs of Perf