foj 1 Mock Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter foj1

Interesting you only have us using 1 pick in the draft + rookie upgrade...this is actually against the rules as teams must use 3 picks incl rookie upgrades.

We will be using minimum 5 picks in the draft...one of those will be a rookie upgrade, but Ben Speight not Marcus White (this has already been announced). we have also said we will use the compensation pick, so atm the picks would be 17,28,70 & 72.

mate as always a great read and the one I look fwd to the most hence your views on the below.

Hamp
Lester
Harvey
Mullett
Horlin-Smith
Steinberg
Casley
Cope
Mellington

mate as always a great read and the one I look fwd to the most hence your views on the below.

Hamp
Lester
Harvey
Mullett
Horlin-Smith
Steinberg
Casley
Cope
Mellington

Hamp was in the next few and seeing I missed a couple of picks reckon I would have had him late.
Lester is a solid defender- if a team is looking for a lock down sort he is the man-more rookie for mine.
Harvey is a fantastic athlete but kicking and decision making questionable for mine. I dont think natural footballer and i would rookie.
Mullett- There abouts- could easily be drafted instead of Schroeder or Lawrence. He is in a big glut of 30+ talent for mine.
Horlin-Smith- I know you like this bloke- I have only seen clips of him and his testing was poor. I may have missed one there but from limited viewing I prefer others.
Steinberg- fair bit of hype on this bloke see Mourish from a couple of years ago. In this draft may get picked up. I would wait until rookie or even encourage as a 19 year old next year in TAC.
Casley- with Hamp next off the rack. Casley is a good solid citizen and is in the same bracker as Schroeder, Mullet etc Performances at VFL level may help him- solid rookie in the mould of Tom Hunter or Jordie Mackenzie
Cope- Best thing going for him is his height and shape. Barely get a kick in a kungfu film for mine. However his size could get him drafted. A long term prospect better suited to rookie list for mine.
Mellington- I reckon these blokes are hard to rate. He will need a club to really like him or he will need to follow a similar path to Rockliff who plays like him. Could be drafted. This draft is all about eveness and recruiters finding something to separate blokes.

I like how you have drafted based on your view of talent. Particularly early.

Very happy to see I'm not the only one to take Lynch at 6!

Smedts is a really interesting pick for Essendon. Has the talent and I like it.
I think he is more talented than Gaff/Heppell/Atley/Caddy/ others anyway so he could develop into something special. Toyed with him going higher in mine but I went slightly more conservate and put him at 14 to Adelaide as a little bit of a gift.

Smith and Darling I'm not convinced will go quite so high and they are probably the two I see as sliding. Both very talented and both potential stars, but just my feeling is they could both land in the teens-20s.

Harper and Jacobs are probably the two I think will go in the 9-15 type range and probably don't see sliding quite so low. Both have the talent and particularly Jacobs I think will be able to play early, and Harper I'm probably a little more sold on the talent.

I.Smith I think is a near lock in the first round. I'm not convinced as to how good he will be at AFL level, and I don't like taking those mature age guys early, but I do see him as a 1st round lock.

Really like the interpretation overall and like your work. Full marks for including Michael Hutchinson. Not convinced he will go in the national draft, but as a rookie I see him as one of those guys who will develop into a quality player if given time.

Why does Hawthorn need Tape and Wilson to join Schoenmakers, Birchall and Stratton?

They're crying out for a player such as Isaac Smith to partner Rioli, Burgoyne and Young up the ground.

The Hawks are slow.

I hope Carlton goes tall with two of our first three picks, but I'd jump at Cripps for Carlton if he slides to our second pick. Pace and run and carry is one of the strengths of our game plan.

Even a gun inside player at 18 if one has slid that far.

I expect another club to take Watson before 18, so I'd like your pick 20 thanks.

Mitchell would ultimately push O'hAillpin off the list next year.

LM might be too similar to big Levi Casboult, but we lack big power forwards, so he'd be worth the risk for our list.

Carlton needs skill and KPP more than we need Cameron O'Shea...Rhys O'keeffe will be rookie listed if he isn't drafted by another club.

Cameron Delaney with pick 41/67 thanks.

Why does Hawthorn need Tape and Wilson to join Schoenmakers, Birchall and Stratton?

They're crying out for a player such as Isaac Smith to partner Rioli, Burgoyne and Young up the ground.

The Hawks are slow.

I hope Carlton goes tall with two of our first three picks, but I'd jump at Cripps for Carlton if he slides to our second pick. Pace and run and carry is one of the strengths of our game plan.

Even a gun inside player at 18 if one has slid that far.

I expect another club to take Watson before 18, so I'd like your pick 20 thanks.

Mitchell would ultimately push O'hAillpin off the list next year.

LM might be too similar to big Levi Casboult, but we lack big power forwards, so he'd be worth the risk for our list.

Carlton needs skill and KPP more than we need Cameron O'Shea...Rhys O'keeffe will be rookie listed if he isn't drafted by another club.

Cameron Delaney with pick 41/67 thanks.

Tape is a quality defender who could play key position- hardly a role Birchall would fill. Wilson is a long strong kick and pretty hard at it- Hawthorn best when they play unsociable footy for mine. Shoenmakers is a key position prospect but Hawthorn did delist Dowler. Stratton is an exciting talent. OShea would be a nice addition to any list imo. He is ultracompetitive and will develop into a great AFL size- not a shabby draft pick imo in the 30s in a comprimised draft.

Good draft from our perspective. I have an inkling we'll draft at least one ruck late. Might be rookie though. Nice balance overall.

At the moment I'm tossing up between outside mid/just any good mid and KPP, if it is that it seems out of Polec, or Heppell or someone similar and Lynch. I still think our midfield needs polishing but I can appreciate where you're coming from and I think it's possible.

Overall though I think Riewoldt might push up the ground, Griffiths might go up and Lynch would play as a dual CHF type playing around that 50 meter arc position. Sounds incredibly tempting to be honest. To be honest as I've said before as long as it's not Gorringe I'll be happy. The second pick is smart too.

A certain tiger thinks we'll be snatching Pitt, but with Polec and Heppell who have been described in similar tones, is this an unnecessary reach? And is it a reach in general?

I am big fan of Pitt taking him at 10 in trial draft. (was keeping cards close to chest though) however 6 for me is a big reach. I liken him to Mcmillan-Pittard from last year which puts him in the 12-20 range. Surely the Tiges would take one of Gaff, Polec, Heppell or Lynch.