Fong

• Thread starter Thread starter chook2734

With Neale Fong's departure from his government post today after the CCC's recommendations, how long before he is removed from the Commission? If he does go, who are the likely replacements and is there any chance of it being someone who is not involved (at the very least not officially anyway) with the mob up the road?

I reckon it should be some who is familar with Football but does not have any close alliences to west coast or freo. This person should also be able to make quick decise decisions that are in the best interests for Football WA. aka the new stadium debacle!

You have hit the nail on the head Raiders. I was thinking that whilst looking at the board list, there are a lot of suits! Get someone with some football passion, and the brains to go with it. Ian Taylor is the deputy, so he would most likely take over. Oh and looking at the current members I would say more are aligned with Freo than the Eagles.

So, who would you guys suggest runs the WAFC? someone like Ron Alexander, current DG of sport and Rec? I don't really know, don't have a ready answer to this one.

You have hit the nail on the head Raiders. I was thinking that whilst looking at the board list, there are a lot of suits! Get someone with some football passion, and the brains to go with it. Ian Taylor is the deputy, so he would most likely take over. Oh and looking at the current members I would say more are aligned with Freo than the Eagles.

So, who would you guys suggest runs the WAFC? someone like Ron Alexander, current DG of sport and Rec? I don't really know, don't have a ready answer to this one.

Wouldn't that be a great!!

An ex Eagles coach in charge of the WAFC.

Back to the future!!!

Ron Alexander and Graham Moss are both knowledgeable in relation to footy and business matters. Shane Parker has time on his hands, he would be good at mediation and taking on big or small wouldn't worry him.

If you are a listener to the ABC, you will understand that Dave from Albany would sort all these issues out in quick time ....

Ian Taylor might do a good job as he is a long time grassroots footy supporter ( Black Ducks ) and is far enough divorced from his former profession to logically work on issues like the stadium.

Wouldn't that be a great!!

An ex Eagles coach in charge of the WAFC.

Back to the future!!!

But if you read my post Bushie, I was merely posing a name, admittedly the first that came to mind, as I admitted not having any ready answers. However, he was also an East Freo great, so wouldn't you see some semblance of balance there? Again, I don't know. All I do know is you guys claim the WAFC has done you no favours (I'm not disagreeing) but I certainly know the WAFC has done no favours to the WAFL, IMO.

You do make a very good point here. There is way too much focus on the 2 AFL teams, particularly given that both are financially sound (let's face it, that's all the commission cares about - they haven't so much as batted an eyelid at the goings on at west coast of late). Perhaps if we can find someone who has the knowledge and understanding of the WAFL and some vision to help bring it back to a reasonable competition would be the best outcome for WA football. Someone who is a little more flexible on the stadium issue would be nice too - we might actually have some chance of getting one before Subiaco falls down then.

Fair call buddy....the bitterness of the past runs deep with me. However, East Freo or not....I'm a sowfs man;)....I don't think Ronny is the right choice.

And I agree with what you say about the WAFL being left to rot on the vine.

I think we have to get far, far away from embedded bureacrats and look for someone from St Georges Terrace who can play both sides of the fence.

This is all, of course, on the supposition that Fong jumps from the WAFC or he is pushed.

!!! :eek:

ting tong tink dat wong fong!

.. no but seriously we are not getting bent over (again) by the WAFC and with all respect, Ron Alexander would not be the right choice for the job. you may as well give it to freakin dennis one eyed eagle boy!

(yes i am also still bitter..)

No experience, but I'll give it a crack. What do you reckon peeps....??
NiGHTFuRY for Footy Commish.. :p;):D

Got my vote mate. Just aslong as you make it illegal for those 92.9 clowns to MC the live games.

Ron Alexander and Graham Moss are both knowledgeable in relation to footy and business matters. Shane Parker has time on his hands, he would be good at mediation and taking on big or small wouldn't worry him.

Moss was ruck coach at the Eagles for many years too.

As suggested by others, we need impartiality.

Is that clown Grant Dorrington still on the board? That guy is a complete dufus!

Geez that is the nicest thing said about him for the past 2 decades ...., I don't know about the board, but he runs the WAFL. Incompetant is a polite term for him.

I will back Nightfury if he negotiates to get full strength beer back on the menu, and ban Lachy Read, Barich, Zemplis and Banfield from the oval on game days.

Surely Banfield wont be given another contract to be the boundary rider this year. The guy couldn't string 2 words together! I would honestly be amazed if he got another gig. I think even Eagles supporters would agree with me on this one!

The WAFC have given Fong a ringing endorsement as Chairman.:thumbsd:

He has done nothing wrong at all in their opinion.

Well how about having recommendations of criminal charges for breaching the ACCC's laws boys??

How about colluding with a known criminal??

If Fong doesn't fall on his sword....or the government intervene to sack him, it will be a travesty and a blight on all W.A. football.

Well how about having recommendations of criminal charges for breaching the ACCC's laws boys??

If Fong doesn't fall on his sword....or the government intervene to sack him, it will be a travesty and a blight on all W.A. football.

Disappointing but certainly not surprising. Is it any wonder what was allowed to go on at west coast if this is the attitude of the commission. Hopefully the minister for Sport and Recreation (John Kobelke) might send a suggestion Fong's way.

What a disgrace.

Would like to see how quickly he'd last if he wasn't tied to West Coast.:thumbsd:

What a disgrace.

Would like to see how quickly he'd last if he wasn't tied to West Coast.:thumbsd:

Absolutely!!

The fact that he wasn't even accused of a conflict of interest during the "Eagles saga" really says a lot about the WAFC and who is running it.

The Chairman...The Chaplain...The Confidante and The Coward!!

But we all know the WAFC is incompetent, so that's not a surprise really, although at least 3 of the board members are tied to Freo, so I'd say they are more protecting their own.

On another note, isn't the current governement run by a Freo member/supporter? Surely he can give some direction on this, I just think it's wrong that Fong stays!

NightFury, if you have even a slight interest in directing the WAFL in a forward direction then you have my vote. Otherwise, what about Maumill?

But if you read my post Bushie, I was merely posing a name, admittedly the first that came to mind, as I admitted not having any ready answers. However, he was also an East Freo great, so wouldn't you see some semblance of balance there?

Good point. Maybe Jako, or Matera, or one of the Worsfold boys. Benny may have some time on his hands?; Just so that there is both Freo and Eagles included in the makeup of the person.

I liked the suggestion of someone who has nothing to do with either club.