Football Cards

I haven't for ages but I have heaps from the 80s and early 90s. I may start doing it again if I can remember to look for them.

-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------

I have been since 94 but I am only going to start collecting seriously this year. Have got the the 95 and 97 select series and have the 94 Players Choice.

I havent collected or even looked at them for a couple of years now, but Ive got thousands and thousands of them in my cupboard and in the garage.
Ive got just about every set made between 1988 and 1998 and stacks of inserts.

Ive also got a lot of older cards from about 1970 onwards. Nearly a full set of 75 and 77.

my family has a collection of footy cards from the 60's or 70's, im not 100% sure until about 1996

------------------
"Beware of Mark Williams"

"Give McCabe a well deserved payrise"

http://hfchotspot.homestead.com

I've got plenty from the early 80s. I lost interest when the flash new-look sets came out in the mid 90s, and you could actually go to card shops and buy the sets whole. Took the fun out of collecting.

I ONLY COLLECT COLLINGWOOD ONES I USUALLY LAUGH AT THE OTHERS BEFORE I THROW THEM OUT ...LOL

------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
http://www.mp3.com/joffa

Mum threw all my cards from the 60's and 70's out years ago, but I have most cards from 93 onwards of football and cricket especially. I have managed to collect some older cards, but no full sets. I am always looking for anyone who is interested in swapping, as I have lots of spares and extra completed sets. There are hardly any serious collectors of AFL cards here in Sydney. Maybe I'll get lucky here.

personally i have collected from 87-97, then i sort of grew out of it

my uncle collected cards when he was a kid and has heaps from late 50's through to about 1985, he has most sets

he also got a lot of the old cigarette cards from the 30's-40's and earlier as they were still around back then and resonably cheap

ive got a lot of signed cards aswell as a jack dyer and newton chandler redemption card, ablett gold, limited edition daicos legend card, dunstall gold, some special jezza card, phil baker gold cazaly card, wanganeen gold card amoung others

Originally posted by walshy1993:
personally i have collected from 87-97, then i sort of grew out of it

my uncle collected cards when he was a kid and has heaps from late 50's through to about 1985, he has most sets

he also got a lot of the old cigarette cards from the 30's-40's and earlier as they were still around back then and resonably cheap

ive got a lot of signed cards aswell as a jack dyer and newton chandler redemption card, ablett gold, limited edition daicos legend card, dunstall gold, some special jezza card, phil baker gold cazaly card, wanganeen gold card amoung others

What is the Ablett gold card worth nowdays Walshy or anyone who knows?

I haven't bought a beckett in years.

------------------
"We shall fight on the beaches. We shall fight on the landing grounds. We shall fight in the fields, and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills. We shall never surrender!" -Winston Churchill

I have all sets from 1992-2000, and will be collecting this year's set as well. I have plenty of sets, singles, inserts & signature cards to swap or sell too. So if anyone is interested, let me know.

yeaah... been collecting them since I was eight... now I have a complete North/Roos collect back to 1965... I too laugh at the other team caard before I toss them in the bin...

Welshy does your Uncle have a 1964 Aylett???

In 1989, I collected the entire set of Scanlan's Footy Cards.

There were a couple of toughies to get. Paul Salmon was one. In the end I bought an entire box of the bastards just to get that one bloody card!

At least I had a decent supply of bubble-gum for a while after!

Still, it was worth it. I've now got that set of footy cards for life. It's got Fitzroy and all! Something to show the kids/grandkids later on I expect . . .

I've also been given/collected other miscellaneous footy cards over the years. Mostly Fitzroy ones. Got given a cigarette card by a Roys mate a while back - Alan 'Butch' Gale. I'm not sure when the card was from - the 50's, I think.

If anyone has any Roys cards (or other memorabilia) that they are looking to sell, or pass on, or knows of anyone in this situation - feel free to contact me! Cheers!

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP:
I havent collected or even looked at them for a couple of years now, but Ive got thousands and thousands of them in my cupboard and in the garage.
Ive got just about every set made between 1988 and 1998 and stacks of inserts.

Ive also got a lot of older cards from about 1970 onwards. Nearly a full set of 75 and 77.

Phoi! If you're every looking to pass those on to someone else . . . you know how to contact me, mate!

Originally posted by Hawkeye2001:
I have all sets from 1992-2000, and will be collecting this year's set as well. I have plenty of sets, singles, inserts & signature cards to swap or sell too. So if anyone is interested, let me know.

What type of Roys (Fitzroy) stuff have you got??

This is a good topic, btw!

If any Sydney fans are interested, I have the 'Anthony Lockett' first year card from '84 I think, and the limited edition Tony Lockett 1300 goals card. I've been thinking about selling them as a pair - anyone interested?

Does anyone else have club card sets from 1981 put out by Ardmona? I bought the North Melbourne set when they first came out, and lost a few and ther rest looked pretty shabby after a while, then around 5 years ago I found a (North Melbourne) set in mint condition (original box too) at Melbourne Sports Books for about $2!!! I was just curious to see if anyone else had them, because apart from my original set and the one purchased later, the only other card I've ever seen in that format is one of Val Perovic from about the same year.

[This message has been edited by Darky (edited 14 March 2001).]