Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

As a bit of an amateur WW 2 History Buff, when Ken heard they were making a film called ‘Barbie’ he initially thought it was going to be about Klaus Barbie. He couldn’t have been more wrong.

Bit of Mitch Robinson

Sam McClure on Footy Classified re Ray Chamberlain not being selected to umpire in the first week of finals.

Not selected because he is not a good bouncer of the footy:rolleyes:, would much rather Razor than Nathan Williamson, give me good decision makers over good bouncers any day of the week.
I love the bounce, it is something that is only in our game, but give me someone who is prone to a shit bounce over some ****wit who couldn't umpire correctly if his ****ing life depended on it.
Was Williamson the one who bounced it, it went straight to Ports favour, wasn't recalled when it should have been and resulted in an easy Port goal? Because that would be irony.

Sam McClure on Footy Classified re Ray Chamberlain not being selected to umpire in the first week of finals.

Not selected because he is not a good bouncer of the footy:rolleyes:, would much rather Razor than Nathan Williamson, give me good decision makers over good bouncers any day of the week.

The bounce is theatre. Use it to start each quarter, and then throw it up.

IMG_6712.png
The Supporter In the Lion Mask. 🦁
Spotted them in the crowd when we beat Richmond in the Elimination Final last year. Great to see them at the footy this year having fun.

I say no recalled bounces. the bad bounces will even out. Call play on if the ball goes outside the circle.
100%.

Bouncing an oval ball is meant to be an unpredictable restart to play, not a weird ritual precursor to a, fingers-crossed, even ruck contest.

The people running the game have already ceded enough control to coaches (have you noticed how long it takes for boundary umpires to throw the ball in?). Footy needs chaos!

100%.

Bouncing an oval ball is meant to be an unpredictable restart to play, not a weird ritual precursor to a, fingers-crossed, even ruck contest.

The people running the game have already ceded enough control to coaches (have you noticed how long it takes for boundary umpires to throw the ball in?). Footy needs chaos!

Problem is, they bring in new rules, which end up creating other problems. Just have the centre circle, make sure the rucks start on their side and let them play.

Daniel Rich on Kick Ons today said that he will be working at the club next season "a mix between upstairs and downstairs" didn't say exactly what his role would entail though.

Great news that Richy will be staying at the club.

Daniel Rich on Kick Ons today said that he will be working at the club next season "a mix between upstairs and downstairs" didn't say exactly what his role would entail though.

I hope it involves junior development. Over his career he would have been to just about every junior footy club in Brisbane to have a kick with the kids and give out autographs and selfies.

Problem is, they bring in new rules, which end up creating other problems. Just have the centre circle, make sure the rucks start on their side and let them play.
I'd get rid of the centre line and let the rucks start wherever they please. Worked OK until the 1979 Preliminary Final.

Was speaking to a mate Monday who is not an AFL follower but regularly sees Richie around where he lives, occasionally speaking to him and cannot speak too highly of him Reckons he is just ripper bloke.

100%.

I think it has become more important though since the introduction of the larger diameter centre circle. We had one on the weekend that wasn't recalled and ended up in an easy Port goal because O couldn't make the contest which meant Lycett dropped it straight into a runners path.
We didn't get one going the other way though.

Downstairs = runner + some coaching duties such as kicking coach, and also kicking to contests in drills etc as a coach?

I think it has become more important though since the introduction of the larger diameter centre circle. We had one on the weekend that wasn't recalled and ended up in an easy Port goal because O couldn't make the contest which meant Lycett dropped it straight into a runners path.
We didn't get one going the other way though.
If the footy bounces outside the outer centre circle, anyone should be able to contest it.

What happened there?
I agree btw, let the rucks start where ever they want.
Gary Dempsey and Peter Moore nullified each others ruck work by engaging in a "wrestle" at centre bounces. The VFL was so alarmed by this, the next season they introduced the line across the middle to keep the ruckmen separated.

Match, in part, is on youtube

Not quite getting it?

Been awhile since I followed the cricket ... is he still considered partially a cheat ref his bowling action (and is that why his shoulder is dodgy?)
Nah enough time passed and they watered down the throwing rules so much after it turned out so many bowlers technically bent their arm that it became pretty academic to give a shit.

Was speaking to a mate Monday who is not an AFL follower but regularly sees Richie around where he lives, occasionally speaking to him and cannot speak too highly of him Reckons he is just ripper bloke.
Ye, but has your mate seen Richie with a kebab in his hand? He turns beast mode. Stay away.

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2