Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

I was really hoping for many reasons this Hobart stadium would be sensibly knocked on the head.
I also don't want a 19th team in the AFL competition.
I still live in hope that someone from Labor or Liberal upset the cart on Thursday's final vote

Today Tasmanians now have a big debt problem and will pay for this for a very long time.
Moodys dropped their credit rating recently and i suspect all the others will follow now.

I was really hoping for many reasons this Hobart stadium would be sensibly knocked on the head.
I still live in hope that someone from Labor or Liberal upset the cart on Thursday's final vote

Today Tasmanians now have a big debt problem and will pay for this for a very long time.
Moodys dropped their credit rating recently and i suspect all the others will follow now.

What are your reasons against it?

It’s interesting to note that plenty of Lions AFLW assistants have stepped up into senior coaching roles across the league, yet not a single one from North has managed to make that leap.

I reckon a lot of Tasmanians are thinking it is now or never.

Tasmania is stuck as a bit of a dead-end state. Young people move away, nobody wants to move there, and there aren’t many reasons for either to change.

While this is an enormous investment and a massive risk, it is probably the only real chance Tasmania has of turning things around. No clue if it’ll work or not, but a successful AFL team based there could be the thing that revitalises the whole state.

It’ll either be the best or the worst thing they ever did. Time will tell.

And to date they've tried not much (although what's his face with MONA is on a winner, no real thanks initially to the state), so at least they're trying something.

What are your reasons against it?
18 AFL teams is enough.
19 creates a bye round each week. Another fixture issue. Who gets the early, middle or late bye.
What are the benefits of a late bye over an early bye round.
Years of disruption for the fixture until another team is added or deducted from the competition.
Another state to travel to for interstate teams and of course the Victoria teams have the shortest trip of all.
The draft will have many more years of disruption than the fixture, as likely another team is added than deducted.

Is Tasmania really an AFL mad state. No more so than the Gold Coast when it came into the AFL in 2012 and they finally made the 8 some 13 years later. A basket cast by most people's standard, but it was always going to come good with a growing population in the GC and surrounding area.

That's the big difference between the Gold Coast and Tasmania. In 2011 when granted the license the GC had a population of 515K it is now 753K but is also quite close to Brisbane with 2.8 million.
Tasmania's population in 2022 was 570k and in 2025 is 576K. So just a 6k increase in 3 years. The problem is also the population is split between the north and south with 200k separating the arears.
People may travel initially but i doubt it will continue long-term.
So, Hobarts population of 254k will have to support the Devils and the Stadium long term and i don't see it being viable.
Canberra has 474k and would be a much better option.

Finance
Sponsorship dollars are hard enough to get in an area with a big population.
This will be extremely difficult in a state split in two with the main stadium located in Hobart.
Initially they will get sponsorship, but can they keep it and will it be enough even if they can.
I doubt the Devils make much money on gate receipts less game day outlays.
Most likely stadium games start running at a loss in the 3rd year onwards until they become successful.

Government Debt:
The Tasmanian Government is in a lot of trouble with debt. The people just have not been hit with anything big yet to reign it in.

To get their 2 votes votes in the Senate.

Ms Thomas was one of several uncommitted independents prior to Wednesday but confirmed her support with a list of "safeguards" agreed to by the government.

These included a $875 million cap on state government funding — the state's current publicly-stated commitment — and that any blowouts would see the government seek more funds from the Commonwealth, AFL or private sector.

It could also require another vote in parliament to release further funds, or to have the stadium "reduce in scope" if further funding cannot be secured.

"Mr Harriss told parliament he needed a promise from the government that it was "fair dinkum" on addressing the state's finances, including considering tax increases before he would support the stadium.
It looks like they are also proposing taking $500 million from one area and putting it towards the stadium. That won't go over well with some people.

Planning Commission.
Key findings of the Planning Commission report
  • Negative cost-benefit ratio: The TPC found that for every dollar spent, the project would only generate about $0.45 in return.
  • Insurmountable planning issues: The commission argued that the city planning challenges associated with the project were too significant to overcome.
  • Other concerns: The report also warned about potential future impacts such as tax increases and cuts to other services.

This is a mess the government could have avoided but politicians do strange things to keep their seats
Meanwhile the AFL sit back and wait with their measly $15 million commitment into the stadium.
Sure, they have committed more money, but everything is reliant on the Stadium construction going ahead first

And to date they've tried not much (although what's his face with MONA is on a winner, no real thanks initially to the state), so at least they're trying something.

Mona has lost $408M since 2011. Not exactly a "winner" financially.

Was talking about value to the state - as Walsh says in that very article he doesn't care about MONA's internal profit/loss statement, he's more about the "$135 million per year in direct and indirect economic activity in Tasmania" (and he's been clear on that since Day 1 of the museum). MONA's also been open long enough that there's actual reliability about those numbers.

When I saw MONA being referenced as a reason why young players would be interested in going to Tassie I thought it might have been an acronym referencing hiking, fishing, hunting, lifestyle etc that I wasn't familiar with ... did a search and the only thing I found was the museum and thought nah it can't be that (as why it would be a beacon to young players???) ... nope that is exactly what was being referred to.

Shrug

When I saw MONA being referenced as a reason why young players would be interested in going to Tassie I thought it might have been an acronym referencing hiking, fishing, hunting, lifestyle etc that I wasn't familiar with ... did a search and the only thing I found was the museum and thought nah it can't be that (as why it would be a beacon to young players???) ... nope that is exactly what was being referred to.

Shrug
Not sure who was talking about young players, must have missed that. Me bringing it up was in reference to PattyK's comment about revitalising the state as a whole - MONA is about the only thing that's brought new life to Tassie in decades.

That and Dark Mofo I guess, although pretty sure that's dead now.

I've heard people are reinventing themselves in Deadloch! 🤣

MONA a quick search
Number 1 on one site and number 15 on the other.

Overall, i think Tasmania is a place to visit that's nature related.
If you fly to Hobart i would think MONA is possibly on some peoples list.
Personally, i don't think the average person would fly to Hobart with visiting MONA being in their top 10 reasons.

Wrest Point Casino was the first legal Casino in Australia (1973) and that was a destination point at that time.
Wrest Point is still operating, and the other Casino is in Launceston being the Country Club Tasmania

That and Dark Mofo I guess, although pretty sure that's dead now.
Dark Mofo is basically MONA expansion pack.

MONA a quick search
Number 1 on one site and number 15 on the other.

Overall, i think Tasmania is a place to visit that's nature related.
If you fly to Hobart i would think MONA is possibly on some peoples list.
Personally, i don't think the average person would fly to Hobart with visiting MONA being in their top 10 reasons.

Wrest Point Casino was the first legal Casino in Australia (1973) and that was a destination point at that time.
Wrest Point is still operating, and the other Casino is in Launceston being the Country Club Tasmania

People have been going to Tassie for years for the natural elements. It's a bit of a captured market, and it's also not a substantially distinguished market as it can be substituted by other markets around the country and world. However people can and do travel to Tasmania specifically for MONA, as crazy as it sounds to some. It's created a brand new market for people coming to Tasmania.

Shrug
My speculation. Friends in Tassie report that the MONA crowd are pretty wild ( ie 1930s Hollywood). A young bloke on a million a year could find plenty of entertainment if he got in with that crowd.

PS MONA well worth the visit.

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2