Banter FOOTY Banter! - Who will be better in 2025? Carlton or Collingwood Part 6

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton?

• Collingwood

Votes: 109 85.8%
  • Carlton

Votes: 18 14.2%

3 ‘pressure’ forwards 😂 you blokes are hilarious, WHE plays in the best ‘pressure’ side in the comp. Proven on the big stage and has been to the top. Utility is the keyword.
I watch plenty of footy, I’m just able to take my bias goggles off when having a debate.

Again, you’re welcome to continue to applaud mediocrity good sir.
'I'm just able to take my bias goggles off when having a debate'

Totally...
1000005732.png

3 ‘pressure’ forwards 😂 you blokes are hilarious, WHE plays in the best ‘pressure’ side in the comp. Proven on the big stage and has been to the top. Utility is the keyword, I watch plenty of footy, I’m just able to take my bias goggles off when having a debate.

Again, you’re welcome to continue to applaud mediocrity good sir.
You're new to this thread, but it shouldn't take too long to see the delusion from these Bloosers.

A durable, versatile and reliable player who is approaching 200 games with a team who has contended for the premiership as often as they haven't, wouldn't be in the best 23 of a team that hasn't contended for the flag in more than two decades.

For the record, who would know what Carlton's 'Best 23' is, but from the weekend's team, WHE gets a game ahead of:
Haynes
Binns
Lord
O. Hollands
Acres
Durdin
Young
Cowan
Evans
White
Motlop

So basically half of Carlton's team.

You're new to this thread, but it shouldn't take too long to see the delusion from these Bloosers.

A durable, versatile and reliable player who is approaching 200 games with a team who has contended for the premiership as often as they haven't, wouldn't be in the best 23 of a team that hasn't contended for the flag in more than two decades.

For the record, who would know what Carlton's 'Best 23' is, but from the weekend's team, WHE gets a game ahead of:
Haynes
Binns
Lord
O. Hollands
Acres
Durdin
Young
Cowan
Evans
White
Motlop

So basically half of Carlton's team.
Will Hoskin Elliot would be playing ahead of Haynes ya reckon...

Haynes took 7 intercept marks vs the Saints
WHE had 7 touches vs the Dockers

But we're the 'delusional' ones... 😂

So Will Hoskin-Elliot who plays as a utility flanker would take the spot of 3 pressure forwards despite being allergic to tackling... A KPD despite being half his size or a lockdown back pocket who also likely wouldn't be playing if the team had full availability?

I recommend watching a game not involving the Pies before commenting on other teams
You've got two star tall forwards and no one else with an aerial game. No one other than Curnow who can hit up and turn and race back into 50. It's a massive tactic against tall defences to have a couple doing that - Carlton just can't employ it.

You're playing 4 blokes for the air in defence, none of whom can run because none of your running defenders have an aerial game.

You're crying out for a few mediums who have an aerial game and can run and use the footy.

He'd be a shrewd recruit if we do let him go - which is a definite chance

Carlton are one of the few lists that are bad enough for Haynes to be on.

He was done as an AFL Footballer two years ago.
Nick Haynes has more intercepts and intercept marks than anyone on the Pies list this year including their peroxide hair single bed captain.

Not bad for a bloke who's was done two years ago

Nick Haynes has more intercepts and intercept marks than anyone on the Pies list this year including their peroxide hair single bed captain.

To be fair, the ball has spent a lot more time in the Carlton backline than it has Collingwood's...

Mate if Carlton’s list is so good.. why are they so shit?

Coach? Culture? Club? Anyone would think you’ve done the three peat and are sitting 9-0!

To think a bloke that’s kicked 173 career goals, including 42 in a year his team lost a grand final by a kick, wouldn’t get a game in the current Blues team is madness.

PROVEN player, you can’t understate that kind of experience.

Can’t have too many of those pressure forwards I guess!!!

Coach? Culture? Club? Anyone would think you’ve done the three peat and are sitting 9-0!
And that, my friend, is how they operate.

You should have seen them over the off-season, when all teams are equal and 'next year is going to be different'!

To be fair, the ball has spent a lot more time in the Carlton backline than it has Collingwood's...
Really now... Does it actually?

Blues average 55.7 i50s a game
Pies average 53.2 i50s a game

Blues concede 47.2 i50s a game (#2 in the AFL)
Pies concede 48.2 i50s a game

Average differential is

Blues +8.4
Pies +5.0

Carlton is unbalanced. No mediums who can run at either end. No small forwards. No runners who can kick.

Makes you really predictable, and overly reliant on your star forwards starring.

To think a bloke that’s kicked 173 career goals, including 42 in a year his team lost a grand final by a kick, wouldn’t get a game in the current Blues team is madness.

PROVEN player, you can’t understate that kind of experience.

Can’t have too many of those pressure forwards I guess!!!
I remember when Sam Docherty was a gun player. Now he's racking up the pill in the VFL.

WHE was a good player once upon a time. Those days appear to be but a distant memory now.

You've got two star tall forwards and no one else with an aerial game. No one other than Curnow who can hit up and turn and race back into 50. It's a massive tactic against tall defences to have a couple doing that - Carlton just can't employ it.

You're playing 4 blokes for the air in defence, none of whom can run because none of your running defenders have an aerial game.

You're crying out for a few mediums who have an aerial game and can run and use the footy.

He'd be a shrewd recruit if we do let him go - which is a definite chance

You keep going on about his aerial prowess but he’s taken 1 contested mark for the year.

Stats are about role, not just skillset. Membrey in means we aren't using him for that this year. When he's being used that way, he launches. Times it well. Occasionally takes a hanger but lots of other halved contests when we're using him for that. Really nice hands on the lead too.

Seriously, you guys are off your nut.

You defend Will Hoskin Elliot getting 7 disposals a game by dismissing stats as an example of effectiveness, then bring up stats to talk down Cerras.
You poor Baggers still don't get that you blokes use poor stats to back up poor arguments.

DE% doesn't talk to whether a player is a good user or not.

How many disposals a player has, doesn't talk to how impactful a player is.

Collingwood doesn't over possess the ball and rack up nothing disposals like Carlton does...it is why deluded Bagger fans think their players are so good...look how many STATS they have!!

Meanwhile our midfielders actually hurt opposition with our ball use, and they also can have scoreboard impact themselves.

I remember when Sam Docherty was a gun player. Now he's racking up the pill in the VFL.

WHE was a good player once upon a time. Those days appear to be but a distant memory now.
He’s 31 big fella, not 40.

Gee the modern footy fan is a fickle entity.

I’d love to spend the rest of the day trying to convince you on this mate but I’ll be honest, I genuinely couldn’t give a stuff.

I’m not Looking forward to seeing Carlton win the Three-peat, I had no idea their list batted so deep!! Dire times ahead it seems 😔

He’s 31 big fella, not 40.

Gee the modern footy fan is a fickle entity.

I’d love to spend the rest of the day trying to convince you on this mate but I’ll be honest, I genuinely couldn’t give a stuff.

I’m not Looking forward to seeing Carlton win the Three-peat, I had no idea their list batted so deep!! Dire times ahead it seems 😔
Well with the Pies carrying spuds like Quaynor lucky for us we don't have to worry the Pies doing anything meaningful any time soon.