Footy cards in chips

This was where it was at kids. The BEST

footy-memoribillia.jpg

Oh now that's impressive!

And serve as a decent musical instrument!

You young'uns.
Before cards in chips there were the football pins, shaped like a footy in team colours. Dangerous if you weren't watching the chips as you scoffed them down.
Mate of parents took me to Coll vs Stk in the early 60's. Dad always working never could. When I arrived home with Collingwood badges all over my coat from all the chips eaten, and a scarf, my dad promised to take me to the footy the following week. So glad he did or I would have spent my life on the dark side.

And what did that number mean?
As a kid nothing, you just tried to collect all the numbers. When your pocket money was enough to buy cigarettes you would turn over the flap to see the number, count across the pack to find that number cigarette, turn it upside down because that was the lucky cigarette and you would smoke that last.

**** this thread made me feel nostalgic, had to find and pull out a childhood memory right here

IMG20200503211724.jpg

How the **** I found them in the garage so quickly beats me. Remember getting half mine stolen by a school mate. Found a box full of Yugioh cards, Pokemon cards, Dragonball Z cards and random Tazos while I was there.

What a time, wish Sega would make a comeback, the Dreamcast was a wonder for its time.

Glad to see this thread got a bump, when I was growing up I loved the Tazos in packets of potato chips, in fact I remember going to a match early in the season and they were handing out Tazo albums. Another time I remember going somewhere with the family in the car with a Tazo packet of chips, and pulled my favourite player, Gary Ablett Jnr. I was actually that thrilled, it was insane

Loved these packets with the strip advertising the Tazo's, although I prefer Original

AFL Footy Tazos: Branded Chip Packets | Australia | spakatak.com ...

Around the same time I collected heaps of these ones as well, again, preferred Original flavour

The Simpsons TV Tazos: Branded Chip Packets | Australia | spakatak ...

Weird. Never knew they did that. Only remember the footy cards with the chewies.
I think I collected them at primary school. In fact it seemed like everyone did then.

No doubt in our current nanny state the chip companies would be scrutinized heavily if they tried to market unhealthy snacks to children..