Footy Comentators, who are your faves and most hated?

• Thread starter RICE80
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

R

RICE80

Seems that from various posts I've read everyone hates all comentators and special comments guys, except maybe Rexy, am I wrong?
Here's my view.

Best Commentator - TV and Radio Combined.
1. Tim Lane - even though I get sick of his love for Carlscum, yeah I know it's in jest but the jokes over.
2. Bruce McAvaney - I think I'm alone here but I love the guys passion.
3.Eddie McGuire - everyone hates him 'cause of the Pie conection but he's one of the most unbiased going around I reckon. Also last years Prelim. I knew exactly what was happening in the dying moments, very hard to do.
4.Dwayne Russell - good entertainment, always clear and passionate. Knows what he's on about.
5. Steve Quartermain - Always clear again and great passion.

Best Special Comments:
1. Dermie - gotta love him (as a Dons supporter that's an achievement) always controversial of course knows his stuff.
2. Malcolm Blight - doesn't give a s**t who he pisses off, great insights into the game.
3. Sam Newman - Pretty entertaining especially when he gets into the umpires.
4. Robert Walls - always good insights.
5. Gerard Healy - Used to hate this guy but he's improved heaps, no longer an AFL boy.

Worst Commentator:
1. Sandy "figjam" Roberts - fairdinkum this guy should shut up with his opinons and just commentate, you know nothing dickhead.
2. Denis Commetti - ever reliable for biased illinformed diatribe.
3. Rex Hunt - if you aint there don't expect Rexy to fill you in on what's happening, never forgiven him for the draw in '93.
4. Drew Morfett - another 7 tosser who should do the right thing and resign.
5. Brian Taylor - what a w***er.

Worst Special comments.
1. John Russo - even though he's gone (thanks to the Bombertalk campaign) the memory remains.
=2&3. SOS and Jim Stynes - what are ABC thinking, these guys are so boring there comments are being taped by insomnia specialists, get rid of 'em.
4. John Longmire - not quite as boring as 2&3 but he's getting there. What a great compare for Gameday NOT!
5. Stan Alves - this guy used to be my fav. but since coaching the Saints he's turned senile, gave all three votes to Carlton players when they played the Don's, go figure.

Give us you thoughts.
cool.gif

Blight - Great

the rest - ordinary

Russo - Get sick you B------ !!!!!!!
I hope your'e digging ditches somewhere or maybe cleaning septic tanks etc. (sorry I find it hard to forgive)

I think the best commentator by a mile is Dennis Cometti. And for all those who say im biased because he is a West Australian, who gives a %&*$. The fact is the guy supports the Western Bulldogs, yes did you know that Vics? No you didn't, prolly because he is the most unbiased commentator out the lot.

Bruce never shuts up about carey and North.

Drew Morphett is terrible, i turn the radio on if he ever commentates.

Tim Lane I never really hear as I don't listen to ABC.

Ian Robers is another with a love affair of Carlton.

Sandy Robert just gets waaaaaaaaay to excited, especialy over games involving the SA teams.

Doug Hawkings can't even speak properly, he sounds pissed half the time.

Jim Stynes is another shocker, like someone said earlier he is boring, and is accent makes it hard to understand what he says half the time.

John Worsfold still continually talks about his past experiences with West Coast.

That John Russo "The Fouth Umpire", was an absolute tool, glad Seven got rid of him.

Neil Kerley has the worst voice ever heard on TV, and why does he alays wear a stupid cap.

Adrian Barich is so full of himself it's not funny, those in WA who have seen him on Basils Footy Show will know what I mean. I have to admit he is funny though.

Iv'e heard Rex Hunt a few times, is he calling Footy or World Championship Wrestling, another absolute tool.

Gerard Healy seems ok.

Malcolm Blight is the most negative person I have ever heard. Does he ever say anything good, he continually moans through the whole game.

Dermot Brereton is pretty smart acually, in relation to footy that is. He is quite brilliant when it comes to tactics.

Jason Dunstall is soooooo funny now. He keeps on trying to get a word in on Friday Nights, to try and justify his position in the commentary team. He is finished, I think he knows it to.

Chris Mainwaring does some special comments for the WA games. He tries hard but i don't think he is suited to that sort of position.

Kevin Bartlett is hilarious too. Why does he wear those stupid hats. We all know's he bald, he doesn't have to try and hide it. He always get stuck with Morphett, so i don't listen to him.

Anyway if i have missed any of the commentators, not much i can do about it. I'm sure many of you will disagree with me on some of the commentators. I'd like to hear what the others have to say.

I would have to say I think Bruce would be one of the best commentators going around - for the simple reason is that he loves his footy and is very passionate about the game. He has an interesting clear voice and is quick to pick up on whateveris happening during the game.

Can someone please tell me who the heck Anthony Hudson is? This guy has the wierdest face I have ever seen and personally I think he should be shot for his commentary work!

On the radio, I would have to say Rexie Hunt and Eddie Maguire are the best - but if your over here in the west you do have to admit Karl Langdon is a good commentator (must be from his loud, obnoxious mouth)

Graham Cornes is the worse special comments man going around by a street.

I cringe every time he opens his mouth.

If someone else says its white then Cornes says its black. If someone says its day then according to Cornes its night.

He says "look at this again" when there is no replay.

He sucks.

Sandy Roberts is the best commentator, closely followed by Anthony Hudson

Gerard Healy is the best special comments man by a long way. Paul Roos is a distant second

Bruce 'I want to go to bed with Wayne Carey' McAvaney is the worst followed by Jason 'I'm a smart arse' Dunstall and Dermot 'I know everything about every set play and every player' Brereton are next

In other words, I can't stand listening on Friday Night.

Thank God they got rid of Russo

Drakey

what I don't like about Graham Cornes is that he is always having a go at the umpiring - always looking for anti-SouthOz bias in the umpiring where none exists.

It just follows on from his time as coach of the Crows when his anti-umpiring attitude bordered on the paranoid.

And I must say he is as wacky and downright weird as he always was.

BA

Cornes certainly couldn't call the umpiring in Crows v Hawthorn game bias towards the Vics. It was the single most inept display I have ever seen & it went almost entirely our (that is the crows) way.

If I was a hawk supporter I would have kicked the TV in. What a pity Russo wasn't there to tell us that we dont know the rules & that the umps did a good job.

Best TV Commentator.

1. Anthony Hudson
2. Rex Hunt (when on)
3. Bruce McCavaney
4. Sandy Roberts

Best Radio Commentator
1. Rex Hunt
2. Eddie McGuire

Best Special Comments
1. Jason Dunstall
2. Dermott Brereton
3. Neil Kerley

The best TV commentators are definately Anthony Hudson and Sandy Roberts. They keep the excitement up for the game but without Bruce's spe-e-e-ecial gushing.
On radio, the best I've heard (but unfortunately he's not on the ABC anymore so we rarely get to hear him in the eastern states) is George Grljusich doing the WA games. Great to listen to. Rex Hunt's not bad either.

The worst are Kevin Bartlett (bitter and twisted individual) and Dennis (centimetre perfect) Commetti. And thank God Don Scott and John Russo are no longer there.

Neil Kerley's incredibly biased, but at least he admits to it. Unlike Graham Cornes.

Dennis Cometti and Sandy Roberts are my favorites, especially when Sandy Roberts once described a ball kicked into the air as an 'aerial biscuit'. Anthony Hudson is sadly wasted at Seven, he should return to 3AW (and i've heard whispers that he will at the end of the year) until Seven get rid of the dead wood, ie Ian 'Carlton boy' Robertson, Drew bloody Morhphett and a couple of others. I don't pay much stock to special comments really, i can read about the insightful aspects of the game in tommorow's paper

Tim Lane is clearly to me the best all round sporting commentater going around, for the footy cricket and anything else he turns his hand to, just a legend.

Mcaveny is okay for the footy but his real calling "specials" athletic are his passion and im actually looking forward to him calling at the olympics this year.

Commetti is okay and at least he has that voice. Sandy is a dag but seems like a nice guy so he is okay too. I like Peter Donegan whenever I hear him, is he still doing the pay tv stuff this year?

Of the special comments guys Dermies goes on to much but, hey he is Dermie as a Hawk I got no choice but to love him
biggrin.gif
Dunstall is in the same boat. Dougie might not sound the best but listen to his ideas and he does know what he is saying when talking about the footy. Dwayne Russell, Quartermain and Taylor (just his calling of the game not summarys or anything else) Leonard and Slamming Sammy Kecovich (got you with that one I hope)
tongue.gif
are okay.

All the rest are useless to varying degrees, but special mention to the South Aussie Grusome Twosome of Cornes and Kerly, and Drakey I have bought a new TV since the Hawks vs Crows games thanks for asking haha.
Seriously Kerly is just WOEFUL, how many players does he actually know that dont play within SA, I heard refer to "the boy -insert number- of -insert team of your choice from outside of SA- is doing nothing today" in other words he doesnt know who they are! Its not only ignorant but shows disrespect to not only that team but also to the fans in general.

Rex and Sam Newman are egomaniacs both not worthy of mention, even though I just did.

I suppose my ideas on commentators may seem a little strange.

My favourites are Sandy Roberts, particularly when working with Gerard Healy. Perhaps not when my team are playing, but they work well together and are entertaining. Dennis Cometti has really grown on me over the past 2 or 3 years. One of the more clearer commentators and again has a good sense of humour. Anthony Hudson seems to have made the step from 3AW to Chan 7 OK and deserves more of a chance. I don't mind Bruce McAvaney either but he does have a bit of a leaning towards certain players which is quite irritating. Steven Quatermain and Tim Lane are the best two radio commentators IMHO.

On the other side, I believe Robbo is past his use by date. His use of statistics is ridiculous and does seem to favour certain sides. Not a fan of Rex anymore but that is more from a St Kilda supporters perspective.
I also don't understand why the special comments people have to be from their own state. Listening to Plugger and Roos in Sydney, Cornes in Adelaide, and Mainwaring in Perth does not provide the objectivity that we should have. I agree with the posts above that Kerley should actually know some of the players on the opposition if he is to be a boundary rider.

Just my thoughts

best commentators:

1. Anthony Hudson - 7
2. Bruce McAvaney - 7
3. Rex Hunt - AW
4. Tim Lane - 3LO
5. Tony Leonard - AW

worst commentators:

1. David Hookes - just really annoys me
2. Dennis Cometti - i cringe every time i have to watch a game from perth
3.Sandy Roberts - stick to tennis

best special comments:

1. Gerard Healy - very informative
2. Sam Newman - the classic entertainer
3. Garry Lyon

worst special comments:

1. (with a bullet) Jason Dunstall - one of the most self-centred, arrogant people in the australian media
2. Robert Walls - couls he possibly love Richmond any more?
3. The entire 6PR Perth team - how much more biased could they be???

what's everyone got against plugger and roosy commentating in sydney? I'll tell you one thing that they know that the other commentators don't--THE NAMES OF ALL THE SWANS PLAYERS! After years of listening to commentary subtly biased against us, it nice to hear some commentary that's actually biased in our favour!