Cole Dammett

Backyard Cricket Hero
Apr 7, 2007
The Bay
Bays - Giants - Bite
In the last year or so, we have been driving from our house to a bus stop near South Road along Port Road, and getting the Footy Express to the game. This works really well; gets us to the game 20 minutes earlier than if we had parked and walked, and never have to wait more that about 10 minutes for a bus.

But getting home is completely the opposite. Long queues; long waits for buses coming infrequently etc.

Does anyone else think that the footy express buses after the game could be improved?

Footy Expresses are brilliant, been a real timesaver. Free run in and out missing most of the traffic is awesome.

Improvements - some more buses wouldn't go astray, and they really need to do something about making some more room and a better queuing system. It was obviously designed when it wasn't such a popular method of transport.

I'm surprised that while they've been trying to promote people to use the FX services, they haven't done anything to make some more room for the ques.

Getting some bus drivers who pay attention when passengers push the stop button would be a good start.
Last night a lady in her 60s was on the FX6 (with her young grandson) pushed the stop button to get off at Whites road shops in Salisbury North and the driver didn't stop despite who calling out to the driver. He didn't stop until the final stop at the Salisbury North Footy club. The lady and her Grandson would have had to walk through Salisbury North at 12am for 30 if it wasn't another Crows supporter offering her a lift back to her car.

Finding alternate routes when there are road works on their usual routes.That happened last night and we got caught up in it for just over 30 minutes.

Normally I rate the service very highly.

Getting some bus drivers who pay attention when passengers push the stop button would be a good start.
Last night a lady in her 60s was on the FX6 (with her young grandson) pushed the stop button to get off at Whites road shops in Salisbury North and the driver didn't stop despite who calling out to the driver. He didn't stop until the final stop at the Salisbury North Footy club. The lady and her Grandson would have had to walk through Salisbury North at 12am for 30 if it wasn't another Crows supporter offering her a lift back to her car.

Finding alternate routes when there are road works on their usual routes.That happened last night and we got caught up in it for just over 30 minutes.

Normally I rate the service very highly.

I think with Southlink it comes down to which depot the bus is from. If you get one from the Elizabeth depot the drivers are outstanding, and I've seen them make unscheduled bus stops on the FX6 for example. If it's a Lonsdale bus, their drivers are shocking. Sounds like this example was a Lonsdale driver considering he completely ignored the passenger.

I've been catching the FX for the last couple of seasons. Getting there is excellent - leave an hour later to get there around the same time. No hassles parking and walking a mile to the game. Luckily normally getting the FX6 means getting on a bus post game is not normally an issue (and I'm happy to stand), but I have seen the big lines for alot of the other buses (mainly the Torrens Transit routes).

Maybe it's a Torrens Transit issue - no wonder they've conceded they won't be getting their contracts renewed.

I think with Southlink it comes down to which depot the bus is from. If you get one from the Elizabeth depot the drivers are outstanding, and I've seen them make unscheduled bus stops on the FX6 for example. If it's a Lonsdale bus, their drivers are shocking. Sounds like this example was a Lonsdale driver considering he completely ignored the passenger.

I've been catching the FX for the last couple of seasons. Getting there is excellent - leave an hour later to get there around the same time. No hassles parking and walking a mile to the game. Luckily normally getting the FX6 means getting on a bus post game is not normally an issue (and I'm happy to stand), but I have seen the big lines for alot of the other buses (mainly the Torrens Transit routes).

Maybe it's a Torrens Transit issue - no wonder they've conceded they won't be getting their contracts renewed.
Last not was a once off but it didn't sit well with the woman in question. She said it she would never catch the bus to the footy again.
Last night was the only time I've faulted the FX bus drivers.

YES!!!!!!

I use to catch the bus from Seaford, and coming home always took 3x as long as getting to the match, I could never work out why the routes on the way back were so different to those on the way down.

It was taking us up to 2hours to get home!! Definitely put me off going to any late night games, you were getting home at around 12

Would be good if it just had a few set stops like the normal bus routes do

YES!!!!!!

I use to catch the bus from Seaford, and coming home always took 3x as long as getting to the match, I could never work out why the routes on the way back were so different to those on the way down.

It was taking us up to 2hours to get home!! Definitely put me off going to any late night games, you were getting home at around 12

Would be good if it just had a few set stops like the normal bus routes do

I normally catch the FX6 right from the start of the route at the Salisbury North Football Club. Benefit of that is it's pick of the seats getting in, and it's not too bad heading in as the stops seem to be few and far between.

On the way home it's alright until you hit Hollywood Plaza. Then it's the slow boat to China - reckon it takes just as long to get from Hollywood Plaza to the Salisbury North Football Club as it does to get from AAMI to Hollywood Plaza! Having a route that's been shockingly planned doesn't help either.

We ended up meeting up at Hollywood Plaza, leaving one car behind there then head back to my place in the other car. We'd then take the full route to the game, but on the way back, get off at Hollywood and then drive the rest of the way home (saving about 40 minutes).

Yesterday took the FX5 from Playford Alive Oval (as I was at the Centrals v North trial match yesterday arvo). Getting there was a breeze - was only about 40 minutes with only 2-3 stops. Getting back took twice as long as it was stop-start all along Salisbury Highway.

One improvement should be that buses only service dedicated stops (ala the old Transit Link services). That way they become true express services and efficiency is improved getting from games in particular.

I normally catch the FX6 right from the start of the route at the Salisbury North Football Club. Benefit of that is it's pick of the seats getting in, and it's not too bad heading in as the stops seem to be few and far between.

On the way home it's alright until you hit Hollywood Plaza. Then it's the slow boat to China - reckon it takes just as long to get from Hollywood Plaza to the Salisbury North Football Club as it does to get from AAMI to Hollywood Plaza! Having a route that's been shockingly planned doesn't help either.

We ended up meeting up at Hollywood Plaza, leaving one car behind there then head back to my place in the other car. We'd then take the full route to the game, but on the way back, get off at Hollywood and then drive the rest of the way home (saving about 40 minutes).

Yesterday took the FX5 from Playford Alive Oval (as I was at the Centrals v North trial match yesterday arvo). Getting there was a breeze - was only about 40 minutes with only 2-3 stops. Getting back took twice as long as it was stop-start all along Salisbury Highway.

One improvement should be that buses only service dedicated stops (ala the old Transit Link services). That way they become true express services and efficiency is improved getting from games in particular.

Thats what I dont get? It was like individuals were saying drop me off here and the bus drivers were acting as personal chauffeurs.

Im talking about massive divergences from routes. Very frustrating especially when youre 2 young girls who have parked at the Seaford Shopping centre (not the nicest place to be alone in, in the dark!!). Then we had another 20-25min drive to Willunga!!

I now live in Perth, and, though I havent been to a game at Subi since Ive moved here, its great doing your shopping in the city and seeing all the guys in their guernsys getting ready for the game. Provides business to the city and a nice atmosphere all round. People can simply walk to Subi from the city or catch the train straight there.....This is why we need to do something about Adelaide oval!!

:):)

I now live in Perth, and, though I havent been to a game at Subi since Ive moved here, its great doing your shopping in the city and seeing all the guys in their guernsys getting ready for the game. Provides business to the city and a nice atmosphere all round. People can simply walk to Subi from the city or catch the train straight there.....This is why we need to do something about Adelaide oval!!

:):)

Out of curiosity, how long does it take to walk from the city to Subi?

I'd say 45 minutes, I think it's around 4km away (though I haven't done it, just passed the oval on the train.) The Perth CBD isn't much chop anyway (right now, it's on the upswing though.)

Footy Express After Matches