Ritchie8

Aug 29, 2004
Liverpool, Pittsburgh
Howdy, I know a lot of people on here play footy fanatic. I e-mailed Matthew Bretag but he hasnt replied yet, he usually does. Anyway I just wanted to share my views.

It's a great game but it needs a makeover. I'm not much of a coder but I did some work to another game (Eastside Hockey Manager) and I substituted AFL into it. The result was brilliant. I havent released it because all that's on it is the design not any actual gameplaying or coding.

If you dont understand check out EHM, download it. It's probably one of the best freeware sports sims ever made. They're making a comercial version for it as well.

Substituting Footy Fanatic into that game would make it by far the one of the sports sims out there.

I used visual basic. Sorry mate but I deleted it after I finished it because it wasnt doing anything. Sorry.

Some of the things that i thought would make the game better is having the players juniors teams, Like in EHM. Also the potential. In EHM a player with a potential of 75 would usually get to somewhere in the overal ratings of 75. so they'll mostly stay like that, unlike in Footy Fanatic where thier career might last only 6 years. there are also a lot of other attributes that come into it to affect players development. Which was Footy Fanatic's main problem I think. I wont go into detail unless you want me to go over everything that could be substituted in. :eek:

Eastside Hockey was a terrific freeware game

If only SI Games would pickup footy fanatic like they did to ehm and out of the park baseball. That would be awesome!

Ritchie8 said:
Can you all see how good AFL would be subbed into that game?

I hate Ice Hockey but I played it for about 2hrs straight!

It's so frustrating seeing these games that people have made ie. hockey, bball, soccer - seeing how in-depth they are with drafting, scouting etc.

If only someone could go nuts like that with a footy game. :(

I can tell you know I'd fork out $80 for it, no worries.

(ps - I'm not having a go at FF at all, it's a pearler)

bomaz said:
Are you the one who makes footy fanatic, because you sure know alot about it.

Christ no, i couldnt make a game if i was paid to!

To the guy above me.

-Go onto the site.
-Go to the link "EHM Game"
-Download the setup file, then just in case the OCX and VB files.
-instal the game.
-then go back to the downloads. Get version 1.16 or 1.17, they are the best.
-Then go back to the main page and find "add-ons and updates"
To get the latest updates download "latest rosters" however inserting them requires a bit of knowledge with editing the game files. so if you want an easy way to get the latest rosters download "JayzinSmith's Save Game File" it should tell you what to do with it.
-Then you can go and download any other add-ons you wish. eg: Stadium pics, player pics, team logos or even a few self explanitary utilities.
-If you have any troubles go to "EHM 101" it has tutotials on ANYTHING you need. if it doesnt start up check out the known bugs and it tells you how to fix them.

if you have any other questions, ask!
PS: Join the forums there as well!

everyone talks about footy fanatic and it sounds ok. im a total aussie rules boy, but i wanna try footy fanatic because an afl manager game is the best possible idea for a game i can think of. Can someone chuck us a link for footy fanatic please??? thanx.

Footy Fanatic