Footy Fans Shafted Again

The AFL and media creaming over Super Saturday footy. Load of Crap! So during this cost of living crisis...lets screw the fans and force them onto streaming services as opposed to free to air tv. Total bullshite!
The AFL/Foxtel don't care about the cost of living crisis, their aims as businesses are to make money.

Sorry to burst that bubble for ya

While I get your frustration, in the AFL defence, they have long term gone out of their way to make sure matches are on FTA. Anti-siphoning laws only cover the finals.

If the AFL wanted to & they probably get more money doing so, then every in season game could be behind a paywall. Most major domestic competitions around the world are & Australia is the outlier.

There is also a commercial reality for channel 7, that reality is why they were so keen on Thursday night, Saturday day doesn’t rate. It’s the same production costs as Thursday, the return on a next to nothing broadcast of a 1980’s midday movie, in many cases makes more financial sense for them. So the amount they are willing to pay to secure that match is far lower than PayTV.

We also complain about the price of food at stadiums. But go overseas, by comparison it’s ridiculous cheap, not to mention the cost of tickets to games here is also unbelievable cheap. Go to a NFL game in season in the US & you are remortgaging your house just for the ticket.

Reality is FTA is dying, just look at the ratings. Sport is the one thing they are hanging onto, but subscription sport services such as Kayo are only increasing their penetration. This is going to be turned around. Within the next couple of decades, it’s realistic that FTA TV will be a thing of the past

It’s fun to kick the AFL, but commercial reality & trends say that they can only do so much

The AFL and media creaming over Super Saturday footy. Load of Crap! So during this cost of living crisis...lets screw the fans and force them onto streaming services as opposed to free to air tv. Total bullshite!
Do you get paid for your work or do you provide it free of charge but offer ads of other business?

While I get your frustration, in the AFL defence, they have long term gone out of their way to make sure matches are on FTA. Anti-siphoning laws only cover the finals.

If the AFL wanted to & they probably get more money doing so, then every in season game could be behind a paywall. Most major domestic competitions around the world are & Australia is the outlier.

There is also a commercial reality for channel 7, that reality is why they were so keen on Thursday night, Saturday day doesn’t rate. It’s the same production costs as Thursday, the return on a next to nothing broadcast of a 1980’s midday movie, in many cases makes more financial sense for them. So the amount they are willing to pay to secure that match is far lower than PayTV.

We also complain about the price of food at stadiums. But go overseas, by comparison it’s ridiculous cheap, not to mention the cost of tickets to games here is also unbelievable cheap. Go to a NFL game in season in the US & you are remortgaging your house just for the ticket.

Reality is FTA is dying, just look at the ratings. Sport is the one thing they are hanging onto, but subscription sport services such as Kayo are only increasing their penetration. This is going to be turned around. Within the next couple of decades, it’s realistic that FTA TV will be a thing of the past

It’s fun to kick the AFL, but commercial reality & trends say that they can only do so much
Wonder why a Sunday night game wouldn't garner the same tv audience as Thurs/Fri night?

NFL even does it on a Monday night.

Wonder why a Sunday night game wouldn't garner the same tv audience as Thurs/Fri night?

NFL even does it on a Monday night.

Cause most of a cowering in bed petrified of whatever shit we are walking into Monday morning at work haha. I love the Monday night games tho, pick me up after day one of the work week.

Channel 7 will be showing live VFL games on Saturday nights - so those who don't want to pay for Foxtel/Kayo can watch some form of footy for free.
Fair enough. I live in South Australia. So it's the 10 teams in the SANFL here.

No Saturday AFL free to air games? Fine, I will head to a local footy game in the SANFL.

I wouldn't mind an occupational Friday night or Saturday night SANFL free to air game to be fair

I get that, why then claim supporters and members are the backbone of footy? When in reality they are just cash cows!
Because both are true.

Without people buying memberships and watching footy - it doesn't exist.

So they're both the backbone of it, and cash cows.

I've said it a million times....don't watch it, and don't buy memberships.

That is the only way the AFL will ever actually pay attention and listen to fans.

But people don't do that. They whinge on forums, then just keep giving them their money - which is seen by the AFL as direct validation of what they're doing.

There is more fta footy now than there was before paytv yet people whinge more. 🤣
More live perhaps, in Victoria.
Back in the 90s we could get up to five games a round in Tassie, even with a delayed Saturday afternoon to protect the TFL. Not all were live, and often it was more like 4.5 games.
Friday night, delayed Saturday, Saturday night, delayed half Saturday night, Sunday, delayed half game Sunday or sometimes full game delayed late or sometimes live "rest of game" if from Perth.
And a Monday game on public holidays. There was certainly more on FTA, less of it was live.

The difference is, all games have coverage now. Whereas back then games not on FTA had no footage, or maybe 1-2 cameras used for clips in sports programs and news segments.

edit: Of, and the other big difference, the games are on the AFL site 24-28 hours afterwards. So, they are all available for free, if you can avoid spoilers in the meantime.

If you can't afford $25 per month, them you have bigger issues than worrying about watching the footy...

Channel 7 will be showing live VFL games on Saturday nights - so those who don't want to pay for Foxtel/Kayo can watch some form of footy for free.
The AFL app provides all VFL,SANFL ,WAFL and VFLW games live for free,but you need a Chromecast and also from this Season the Binge streaming service will have the AFL channel
Think Binge is around $10 a month

Maybe this is a shit take but isnt a good kayo subscription only $30 a month? Like... It is the best watch on TV and that's not that expensive considering the massive amount of content you get for it.

Even if you are a derro bogan (this was my experience) you can afford that to watch your fave team.

EDIT: Premium 4k Kayo will be $40 a month from 25th March and Kayo Basic will be $25 as it is now.

Maybe this is a shit take but isnt a good kayo subscription only $30 a month? Like... It is the best watch on TV and that's not that expensive considering the massive amount of content you get for it.

Even if you are a derro bogan (this was my experience) you can afford that to watch your fave team.

EDIT: Premium 4k Kayo will be $40 a month from 25th March and Kayo Basic will be $25 as it is now.
$40 a month you can split it with 3 people, $13 is very affordable. I have spilt with two mates since day 1 of Kayo with no issues at all.

Footy Fans Shafted Again