Footy Fans Shafted Again

I'm almost certain that the games on Binge will only be the games that Seven are also showing but with Fox's commentary and no ads. Binge is something like $6 a month for the cheapest plan while Kayo starts at $25 a month.
Binge don't seem to make it clear, which along with the pricing suggests they are not showing all games but only Seven simulcast ones. That may, or may not, include the Saturday night games shown outside Vic/Tas.

How did Rugby Union go once it got punted of channel 7 and onto pay TV?
Obviously a smaller market than Aussie Rules but I recall it had it's fans. Never see or hear anything about it anymore.
It is absolutely cooked, however, FTA is only part of the reason.

Binge don't seem to make it clear, which along with the pricing suggests they are not showing all games but only Seven simulcast ones. That may, or may not, include the Saturday night games shown outside Vic/Tas

In the original release it’s Thursday, Friday & Sunday. So the 3 games also on 7.

It’s then all the shows through the week.

It won’t be streaming “Fox Footy” rather streaming at certain times & allowing you to watch on demand the Fox Shows.

Unclear if you will be able to watch replays on demand though - seems Kayo minis will be available though

I'll start giving a stuff about the Pensioner's, the Poor's & the Less Fortunate not being able to afford Subscription TV to watch Footy when I'm no longer being extorted into paying for the ABC.

But mUh MuRdOcHz
Extorted? It's just called paying tax.
You don't want your tax dollars to go to the ABC, vote for and support parties that want to cut it. Same as any other public funding.

Fair enough. I live in South Australia. So it's the 10 teams in the SANFL here.

No Saturday AFL free to air games? Fine, I will head to a local footy game in the SANFL.

I wouldn't mind an occupational Friday night or Saturday night SANFL free to air game to be fair
As an ex South Aussie, I do miss not going to SANFL games.

If free-to-air TV and legacy media in general were on the way out as much as people think it wouldn't billionaires still owning it.
It's more it gets access to Politicians & Government as 'Journalism' is kinda like an extension of Government where only a select group have access to Politicians etc... at Media Conferences

Sport in FTA isn't a huge money maker, if it was they would be bidding on all sorts of Sports. Cricket, AFL, NRL & Tennis are only bought by FTA, so they can flog all their Reality TV advertising to the plebs during breaks.

7's Money from AFL comes from their ability to advertise their reality TV

You don't want your tax dollars to go to the ABC, vote for and support parties that want to cut it. Same as any other public funding.
Do I have choice? No therefore Extortion
However, you can choose whether or not you want to support Evil MuRdOcHz though
Also I don't think ANY media organization should be receiving Public Money. You compete in the Free Market & the best product survives

Do I have choice? No therefore Extortion
However, you can choose whether or not you want to support Evil MuRdOcHz though
Also I don't think ANY media organization should be receiving Public Money. You compete in the Free Market & the best product survives
I mean, by that same definition I'm extorted to pay money for schools, police and military which is frankly ridiculous.

Comparing the ABC to the Military which is vital for our Property Rights good one
I hope the next Government that get's elected later this year, brings in Policy to start Funding Murdoch's empire

I don't know. If free-to-air TV and legacy media in general were on the way out as much as people think it wouldn't be billionaires still owning it.
Why do you think they are doubling down on streaming? 9 own Stan, that’s their future. Ten owners (& Ten has been losing money for over a decade) own streaming platforms as well.

7 is the outlier, it has been slow moving into streaming, but you will notice on their promos now they heavily push “also on 7plus” & pushed hard to get the rights to stream their matches under the new TV rights which previously outside of the GF was owned by Foxtel

If they thought FTA was the future like you claim, they wouldn’t be aggressively heading into streaming

The AFL and media creaming over Super Saturday footy. Load of Crap! So during this cost of living crisis...lets screw the fans and force them onto streaming services as opposed to free to air tv. Total bullshite!
Kayo is now owned by a corrupt Russian oligarch and they have already pumped up their subscription price.

I urge all footy fans to email their local MP and voice their displeasure at this.

I mean its a tough **** situation but yeah like, just go to a pub and watch it for free if you have to?
Yeah that seems the common idea, pub or casino or some similar establishment.

It sucks for the 1st 9 rounds no Saturday free to air games.

Glad I was young enough to appreciate that 2002-2006 tv rights period of Foxtel getting most of the. Tv rights.

Channel 9 had the one Friday night and Sunday Arvo free to air game.

Channel 10 made a full day of AFL having the one Saturday Arvo game and Saturday night game

How did Rugby Union go once it got punted of channel 7 and onto pay TV?
Obviously a smaller market than Aussie Rules but I recall it had it's fans. Never see or hear anything about it anymore.
I didn't mind Rugby union games having that one free to air game. They had a Saturday night game showed on Sunday afternoon. Better than nothing I guess

ABC isn't a great free to air channel. SBS isn't brilliant either. But at least ABC and SBS are alternatives.

Channel 7, 9 and 10 have money and are owned privately by wealthy people or companies.

It's like saying Coke and Pepsi are profitable soft drinks brands. They are not good but we consume them.

Yet the alternative of coke and Pepsi on the soft drinks choices is a cheaper option of generic Coles and Woolworths coca cola. It's not good but it's an alternative and a cheaper option.

The AFL and media creaming over Super Saturday footy. Load of Crap! So during this cost of living crisis...lets screw the fans and force them onto streaming services as opposed to free to air tv. Total bullshite!
I literally just signed back up to Kayo and in less than a week got an email that my plan price was increasing due to 'Super Saturday'

Get on Board indeed

Footy Fans Shafted Again